Mitchell KOA

Open May 1 - November 4

Reserve: 800-562-1236

Reserve: 800-562-1236

Info: 800-562-1236

Info: 800-562-1236

Email This Campground

41255 South Dakota Highway 38

Mitchell, SD 57301

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 08, 2018
The only negative was having the water shut off the day before we left and having to use the internal tank.
Nov 06, 2018
Nice rural area yet close to town; clean, well-maintained campground; long, roomy camping spots; friendly check-in; easy in and out
Nov 01, 2018
Incredibly nice people. We had mechanical problems on the road and wound up getting there after dark. We needed to dump our tanks and the gentleman followed us to the dump area and shinned his lights on the area so we could see and then had us follow him to the site. We would have never gotten it right. Also, ladies room was SPECTACULAR!!! Decorated like a fine hotel and very clean.
Oct 30, 2018
Oct 27, 2018
Well run, nice layout, very clean
Oct 26, 2018
it was great. clean,quite,friendly. easy to get around in. good store very helpful personal. it was close to town. look forward to staying at the Mitchell koa again.
Oct 26, 2018
Oct 24, 2018
Excellent Park host one of the cleanest nicest Parks I've stayed in 2 years staff willing to help do anything and really cared about people we will return because of these particular people I will renew my KOA membership that I wasn't going to renew
Oct 24, 2018
I’d been traveling all day from northern WI and stayed the night to move on to Rapid City. I don’t remember the guys name who checked me in but he was wonderful! I am a new RV owner and was freaked out about hauling and hadn’t eaten. After getting parked he made me a frozen pizza and showed me where the dog park was! Clean and friendly place!
Oct 23, 2018
The gentleman who checked us in was great!He was the 1st KOA owner/worker of many who knew just how to apply our KOA reward points(to give us a discount on our stay).MANY other KOA people have charged us & then we had to await a refund.This gentleman applied the credit at the start & we were only charged the balance.Thank you!All was great when I called to check on an open spot & when we arrived.
Oct 21, 2018
Friendly hosts, well kept grounds & bathrooms, lovely setting. Wish we could have stayed more then one night. Definitely will stay again if we are in the area.
Oct 20, 2018
Oct 19, 2018
Oct 19, 2018
Friendly folks & clean accommodations.
Oct 17, 2018
A little rustic, but on a scale of 1-10, at least an 8. It was October, so very few people staying here. The wind blows almost all the time, but it was generally callm while there. Best part was the temperature: mid-50s (after twelve degrees in Rapid City the previous couple of mornings). Very nice proprietor. Will stay again
Oct 17, 2018
I always stay at this KOA when I have to travel across South Dakota. Very clean and well maintained with very thoughtful hosts. Great showers!
Oct 16, 2018
Great camp run by couple of outstanding gentlemen. They make the stay a joy providing any help needed. Campsites are complete and better than the average KOA camps we have stayed at over the past couple years. Will stay there again!
Oct 15, 2018
Oct 15, 2018
We only spent 1 night while traveling to Custer, SD. Both hosts were friendly & helpful even giving our 2 dogs a treat.
Oct 13, 2018
Nice park, gravel sites. Usual koa amenities. would stay here again.
Oct 12, 2018
Oct 12, 2018
Pretty campground. A bit muddy around our site due to the weather and electric improvements at our 50 amp site which required some digging for new equipment.
Oct 12, 2018
Oct 10, 2018
very nice campground, close to corn palace
Oct 09, 2018
Very nice park and the staff was great! Will stay again when going that direction �
Oct 09, 2018
Oct 09, 2018
Beautiful campground, bathrooms very clean, nice decor. Easy on and off access to highway. Will use again.
Oct 09, 2018
Jim and Jerry are outstanding hosts. They are very friendly and the campground is neat as a pin. We greatly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this park.
Oct 08, 2018
Nice pool, good Wi-Fi service. Prettiest Ladies Bathroom of any KOA we have seen - pottery sinks and colorful tile decor! Short drive into Mitchell to see the Corn Palace.
Oct 08, 2018
Pretty ladies bathroom, with huge square rainforest showerheads!
Oct 08, 2018
Oct 07, 2018
Owners are fantastic in creating an atmosphere for great camping experience from welcoming to leaving. Have stayed multiple times traveling through South Dakota.
Oct 06, 2018
Love this place! Super clean and easy access to the highway. Second time staying love it!
Oct 05, 2018
Campground is very nice; sites are shaded. Unfortunately, it tends to be very windy - not the campgrounds fault, obviously.
Oct 05, 2018
Super host! Lovely setting! Our stay was short, it we’ll be back!
Oct 05, 2018
Quick registration. Good location. Nice grounds. Close to freeway
Oct 04, 2018
We had run into a bad wind and rain storm on our way to go south on I 29. My wife checked our koa guid book and found your camp site. We drove in to your koa camp and was treated very nice and every one were so helpful. We just loved our camp site with all the trees thank you for everything..
Oct 04, 2018
Mitchell was just a beautiful and well maintained park. Level sites and not too close together and very nice dog walks. Would live to stay there again when we are up that way.
Oct 04, 2018
guys always do a good job are very friendly and helpful
Oct 04, 2018
Beautifully kept grounds. Wonderful bathroom/shower.
Oct 03, 2018
Just 1 nite, bathroom and showers were excellent. Shadey, Grassy.
Oct 02, 2018
We mainly went to see the Corn Palace, but found much more to see and experience in Mitchell. Small town atmosphere, very friendly. Corn Palace was amazing. Worth a return trip in the future. The campground had all the amenities we needed for a couple days stay. Not too far outside of town in a peacefull setting. Will stay there again if in the area.
Oct 01, 2018
Good stopping point for traveling to Mt. Rushmore. Clean site, bathrooms. Customer Service was good as well. Met our needs.
Oct 01, 2018
Mitchell KOA is a gem. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and meticulously maintained. Our site was level. It is a very dog-friendly park. The bathrooms are clean and also pretty! It was a pleasure to stay there--our favorite KOA stop on a long road trip that had us staying at many KOAs.
Oct 01, 2018
Manager was very nice. I was able to pull an easy since I was running late and it was already dark. Had no problems and left at 8:30 next am.
Oct 01, 2018
Sep 30, 2018
We just loved staying at this campground. We enjoyed the Corn Palace while driving through the Badlands. So scenic. The campground was very enjoyable.
Sep 30, 2018
Great place! Very clean ! Owners were super nice!
Sep 30, 2018
Great campground and staff!
Sep 29, 2018
Our 3rd stay since June. It is quiet, clean, east to find and the staff are great.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy