Mitchell KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 29, 2019
it was very good. clean, quite and close to everything i needed. staff was very helpful. looking forward to next stay.
Oct 29, 2019
Nice campground, nice people.
Oct 27, 2019
Oct 26, 2019
Great KOA
Oct 25, 2019
The only problem was when we arrived at 1:30 pm there was a sign stating office would reopen at 2:30 pm, when checkin is at 2;00pm. The office did open at 2:15pm with the comment "we went for lunch" ,and I could check in anytime. That would have been great but we didn't know what space we were in.
Oct 24, 2019
Nice park!
Oct 23, 2019
The stay was very brief since we were traveling from Alaska to Florida. This was a nice place to stay. Very windy and end of season so we did not utilize the amenities accept the clean bathrooms and Laundry facilities. Thanks for being there in the right place. The Cows were fun to watch and not a bother at all.
Oct 21, 2019
Pulled in for an overnight stay with a large 41” coach. Plenty of room and decent amenities at the end of the season.
Oct 20, 2019
Oct 19, 2019
The campground was quiet and convenient with a pleasant, helpful staff.
Oct 18, 2019
We always depend on this CG for our trip out west and back for past 3yrs. Peaceful and quiet. Great place to stop and let our dogs stretch their legs!
Oct 18, 2019
Oct 17, 2019
Quit and nice
Oct 16, 2019
Always stay here as halfway point between where we live and where our daughter lives. Beautiful park with gorgeous trees. Service is good and personable.
Oct 14, 2019
Extremely accommodating, spacious sites and close to all campground amenities. Will definitely stay there again.
Oct 13, 2019
The campground is close enough to the freeway to be easy to get to and far enough away not to be too loud. We checked in late and the camp host, Jim, left our info out for us to find it was perfect. Thanks!
Oct 12, 2019
We were warmly welcomed. We were escorted via golf cart —- in the rain —- to our site. Our escort made sure we were far enough away from a large tree so our slide would fully open. At the office we were told of two locations to swing wide to avoid a tree.
Oct 11, 2019
One of our favorite places. Wonderful hosts!
Oct 10, 2019
good stay great hosts
Oct 10, 2019
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 07, 2019
Oct 07, 2019
Great service while there and getting us into the right camp spot, Checking and socialized with use while there and making us feel welcomed besides helping to put the group we came with in a close area for easier and better socializing as well as to help use be able to monitor the youth members.
Oct 07, 2019
I enjoyed my stay. However, I would like to know why at all KOA's are the site so close together? There is barely enough room for a picnic table. Your neighbor is right next to you. Not much room to put a chair out or to have a camp fire.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Remember that this is a sixty year old campground, campers didn't have slides back then, and were a lot smaller. That is just the way the old campgrounds were designed.
Oct 05, 2019
Staff very friendly Sites good Close to highway
Oct 05, 2019
Fire pits are a hazard, sites are to close together, was almost impossible to fit in the site and have everything reach.
Oct 05, 2019
Oct 04, 2019
Oct 04, 2019
Oct 04, 2019
Campground is well maintained. My only complaints: pricey considering there is no cable TV; my sewer and water connections were in a mud hole because of recent rains. I know you can't control the weather, but If you own the park, it's easy to see where the mud holes are. Seems to me those areas could be built up with pea rock so your guests don't have to slog though mud to use the hookups.
Oct 04, 2019
Oct 03, 2019
Nice and quiet, kind & polite staff.
Oct 03, 2019
Run down
Oct 02, 2019
Excellent campground, friendly, helpfully staff
Oct 02, 2019
Oct 02, 2019
Good overnight stop. Friendly owners.
Oct 01, 2019
The staff was very nice & helpful; there are the usual, well-maintained amenities + miniature golf for the kids. Only downside for us was the stockyard (don't know that it's an actual stockyard but there were cattle haulers & loading chutes) directly to the west, resulting in flies & other flying pests of almost Biblical plague proportions. I would recommend this KOA but only for east side sites.
Oct 01, 2019
Friendly staff nice camp ground. Right off I90
Oct 01, 2019
Nice campground, very friendly.
Sep 30, 2019
We stayed Thursday - Sunday am. We did not use any of the facilities available (mini golf etc). The fire ring was not on the pit but had been pushed aside. grass was long and unmowed around our campsite and the sites were closer together than I like.
Sep 30, 2019
Always a nice place to stay!
Sep 29, 2019
As expected, Jim and Jerry are great hosts. They provided everything we needed. Super clean restrooms, nice quiet campsite. Only comment is it seems the wind turbine may have a bearing going out or some similar issue. Last year we couldn't even hear it. This year when it would weathervane in the right direction, it had a low humming sound. Hope its okay. Other than that our stay was perfect.
Sep 29, 2019
Well-maintained Campground ....KOA is the best. I especially love the beautiful touches in the ladies bathroom. Easy access to Mitchell South Dakota
Sep 27, 2019
Clean and beautiful campground. Very nice people in the office also. Very quiet, beautiful grass and trees. Storm shelters also, thankfully we didn’t need them when we were there for one night.
Sep 26, 2019
Nice people and campground. They have made a lot of improvements to the campground. New nice fenced dog run, have dog poop bags in several locations, several storm shelters through out the park. Always enjoy staying at this KOA. Also they helped out with news about the flooding in the area and what highways were open or closed.
Sep 26, 2019
The KOA in Mitchell is nicely situated. It is quiet and there are plenty of sites that are easy to get in and out of with my 38 ft fifth wheel. My only complaint was that the fire rings on either side of my site were dirty, and as I walked around the park I found this to be not unusual.
Sep 26, 2019
great place to stay, clean, friendly staff and breakfast for sale every morning! the cook even gave me a rose made out of pancake batter! good location to visit Mount Rushmore, Keystone (1880 train to Hill City) and Custer state Park!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I think that you have me confused with one of the campgrounds in the hills.
Sep 25, 2019
Very nice and clean campground. We didn't spend as much time there as we would have liked, due to attending a wedding in Mitchell, and definitely plan to camp there again next year. We highly recommend this campground.
Sep 24, 2019
Real Quiet place, cabin was nice. Spouse loved the washrooms re Aztec chips.... Showers-washroom very clean. AC was great in cabin for the hot day.. Dog walking area was large, good place for the night......
Sep 24, 2019
Clean facilities and friendly staff.
Nov 11, 2019
Loved it
- Gypsy Yarbough on Google
Nov 01, 2019
Stayed and enjoyed
- seth palser on Google
Oct 26, 2019
Awesome park, so Beautiful. Great internet connection! Loved it. Had a great pet area.
- Jeannette Brewer on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.