Mitchell KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 12, 2019
We were warmly welcomed. We were escorted via golf cart —- in the rain —- to our site. Our escort made sure we were far enough away from a large tree so our slide would fully open. At the office we were told of two locations to swing wide to avoid a tree.
Oct 11, 2019
One of our favorite places. Wonderful hosts!
Oct 10, 2019
good stay great hosts
Oct 10, 2019
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 07, 2019
Oct 07, 2019
Great service while there and getting us into the right camp spot, Checking and socialized with use while there and making us feel welcomed besides helping to put the group we came with in a close area for easier and better socializing as well as to help use be able to monitor the youth members.
Oct 07, 2019
I enjoyed my stay. However, I would like to know why at all KOA's are the site so close together? There is barely enough room for a picnic table. Your neighbor is right next to you. Not much room to put a chair out or to have a camp fire.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Remember that this is a sixty year old campground, campers didn't have slides back then, and were a lot smaller. That is just the way the old campgrounds were designed.
Oct 05, 2019
Staff very friendly Sites good Close to highway
Oct 05, 2019
Fire pits are a hazard, sites are to close together, was almost impossible to fit in the site and have everything reach.
Oct 05, 2019
Oct 04, 2019
Oct 04, 2019
Oct 04, 2019
Campground is well maintained. My only complaints: pricey considering there is no cable TV; my sewer and water connections were in a mud hole because of recent rains. I know you can't control the weather, but If you own the park, it's easy to see where the mud holes are. Seems to me those areas could be built up with pea rock so your guests don't have to slog though mud to use the hookups.
Oct 04, 2019
Oct 03, 2019
Nice and quiet, kind & polite staff.
Oct 03, 2019
Run down
Oct 02, 2019
Excellent campground, friendly, helpfully staff
Oct 02, 2019
Oct 02, 2019
Good overnight stop. Friendly owners.
Oct 01, 2019
The staff was very nice & helpful; there are the usual, well-maintained amenities + miniature golf for the kids. Only downside for us was the stockyard (don't know that it's an actual stockyard but there were cattle haulers & loading chutes) directly to the west, resulting in flies & other flying pests of almost Biblical plague proportions. I would recommend this KOA but only for east side sites.
Oct 01, 2019
Friendly staff nice camp ground. Right off I90
Oct 01, 2019
Nice campground, very friendly.
Sep 30, 2019
We stayed Thursday - Sunday am. We did not use any of the facilities available (mini golf etc). The fire ring was not on the pit but had been pushed aside. grass was long and unmowed around our campsite and the sites were closer together than I like.
Sep 30, 2019
Always a nice place to stay!
Sep 29, 2019
As expected, Jim and Jerry are great hosts. They provided everything we needed. Super clean restrooms, nice quiet campsite. Only comment is it seems the wind turbine may have a bearing going out or some similar issue. Last year we couldn't even hear it. This year when it would weathervane in the right direction, it had a low humming sound. Hope its okay. Other than that our stay was perfect.
Sep 29, 2019
Well-maintained Campground ....KOA is the best. I especially love the beautiful touches in the ladies bathroom. Easy access to Mitchell South Dakota
Sep 27, 2019
Clean and beautiful campground. Very nice people in the office also. Very quiet, beautiful grass and trees. Storm shelters also, thankfully we didn’t need them when we were there for one night.
Sep 26, 2019
Nice people and campground. They have made a lot of improvements to the campground. New nice fenced dog run, have dog poop bags in several locations, several storm shelters through out the park. Always enjoy staying at this KOA. Also they helped out with news about the flooding in the area and what highways were open or closed.
Sep 26, 2019
The KOA in Mitchell is nicely situated. It is quiet and there are plenty of sites that are easy to get in and out of with my 38 ft fifth wheel. My only complaint was that the fire rings on either side of my site were dirty, and as I walked around the park I found this to be not unusual.
Sep 26, 2019
great place to stay, clean, friendly staff and breakfast for sale every morning! the cook even gave me a rose made out of pancake batter! good location to visit Mount Rushmore, Keystone (1880 train to Hill City) and Custer state Park!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I think that you have me confused with one of the campgrounds in the hills.
Sep 25, 2019
Very nice and clean campground. We didn't spend as much time there as we would have liked, due to attending a wedding in Mitchell, and definitely plan to camp there again next year. We highly recommend this campground.
Sep 24, 2019
Real Quiet place, cabin was nice. Spouse loved the washrooms re Aztec chips.... Showers-washroom very clean. AC was great in cabin for the hot day.. Dog walking area was large, good place for the night......
Sep 24, 2019
Clean facilities and friendly staff.
Sep 24, 2019
Sep 24, 2019
It was good. No problems. staff very friendly
Sep 24, 2019
Sep 24, 2019
Very nice and we'll maintained campground. Quiet. I would stay here anytime I was in the area!
Sep 24, 2019
Sep 23, 2019
I rented all 5 cabin's for my Granddaughters wedding. The staff was Great, cabin's very clean, camp ground in great shape, best shower I've ever seen with so much pressure. At this campground you really do get that small town feeling because everyone was so nice. We will be using the cabins again. Thank you all so much.
Sep 23, 2019
Absolutely amazing! We had reserved cabins and camper sights for a wedding near by, they put us all together and they were great. I will for sure be going back!
Sep 23, 2019
Very helpful staff, highly recommend
Sep 23, 2019
Sep 23, 2019
We have stayed there several times on our way home from Wyoming. The owners are always friendly they seem to enjoy their guests. Things are always clean and the campground is quiet. We always make it a goal to stay there!
Sep 23, 2019
Sep 22, 2019
only stayed one night but it was great thanks
Sep 22, 2019
Our stay was very nice and quiet. The KOA was very well managed. But the biggest draw is the lack of tv channels (1). Would greatly improve customers stay with the hook up to cable or satellite tv.
Sep 22, 2019
Sep 22, 2019
Sep 22, 2019
A great place to stay. I would have liked to have stayed longer but was on a schedule. Will be back for a longer visit in the future.
Oct 01, 2019
Quiet clean campground. Workers and owners were very nice.
- Michelle Smith on Google
Sep 27, 2019
Well maintained and beautifully shaded spots. Stayed 2 nights, would definitely stay again! Owner and worker very friendly and helpful! Love the bathrooms and their decorations! Finally a useable shelf in the shower !! Loved hearing the cows in the morning in the fields adjacent to the park. Very soothing
- JILLERNST on Trip Advisor
Sep 25, 2019
Excellent service, bathroom's extremely clean, heated very nice. The property is very well maintained. Hosts very accomodating. Will stay there again😊
- Cheryl Pease on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.