Mackinaw City / Mackinac Island KOA

Open May 1 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-1738

Reserve: 800-562-1738

Info: 231-436-5643

Info: 231-436-5643

Email

566 Trailsend Road

Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations, Cabins

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 11, 2017
The camp hosts were beyond kind and helpful, bathrooms were extremely clean, and camp grounds were beautiful. We were glad we came in the fall and saw the changing leaves. Our only "complaints": a bit pricey for tent camping, and our fire pit was so deep in the ground we had to dig little holes around it in order to give it enough air to keep a fire going
Oct 09, 2017
The sites were clean and so were the bathrooms!!
Sep 25, 2017
Sep 23, 2017
Very nice and clean
Sep 22, 2017
Very helpful staff. Clean easy to back in space. Quite no load traffic nearby. Short stay but we really enjoyed it.
Sep 17, 2017
love my site. they provide all you need to camp. will be back every year for the bridge walk . thank you
Sep 07, 2017
Cleanest camp ground restrooms I've ever seen!
Sep 06, 2017
Great place to say restrooms were very clean and the owners were very friendly they even delivered wood and ice to camp sites if we needed them to.
Sep 06, 2017
Nice place to stay, clean and very friendly staff!
Sep 05, 2017
Love how you pickup trash and deliver wood and ice! You dont get that everywhere.
Sep 05, 2017
The camp ground is really nice. Bathrooms were clean. Showers are too small and the camp sites are too close together. Also, the rule of only using commercially wrapped fire wood is ridiculous and seems a ploy to make you purchase fire wood from the site instead of all the stands around town.
Sep 05, 2017
Very nice staff. I have stayed at the Gaylord KOA and I would say they could learn a lot from the Mackinaw City KOA in customer service. Nice showers, friendly staff, quiet campground.
Sep 03, 2017
Campground was clean and pleasantly very quiet. Loved the bike path and access to town. The staff was very helpful courteous and attentive. The only thi g holding us back from a perfect rating was the theft of our grill during the night. We realize it was not the Staffs fault but quite upsetting to us nonetheless.
Sep 01, 2017
We had an amazing stay! We were on a tent site with electric/water hookups and it had awesome shade. The people were so friendly and helpful! The bathrooms and showers are well kept. I loved that there was a pool and a game area to play ladderball and bean bags. I only wish they offered larger bundles of wood at a discount. We will be back though!! :)
Aug 30, 2017
wonderful, hard working, considerate people there at the Michigan City KOA. They were so kind and helpful.
Aug 28, 2017
100 perenct that best stay staff was super friendly
Aug 27, 2017
loved this campground. the staff was wonderful, the camp is clean, quiet and has everything to make your stay enjoyable. will definitely be back!
Aug 24, 2017
I can't live without a hot shower!! Everyone was very nice and always there to help! I can say without a doubt my girlfriend and I will be back!!
Aug 22, 2017
We stayed a couple nights with our dog George and had a great time.
Aug 22, 2017
Everything was great. Bathrooms were always kept clean and the outside facility was maintain. The staff was great, friendly and very helpful.
Aug 22, 2017
The best campground I've been in in Michigan so far
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Very nice place
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
The staff was great. Bathrooms could have been cleaner. Also, I had the unfortunate experience of trying to brush my teeth in the bathroom one evening while another guest was openly smoking in the bathroom regardless of the No Smoking signs.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
The staff at this KOA to a great job keeping the campground and amenities in great shape.
Aug 15, 2017
Always a pleasure! Love the amenities and the staff are super friendly! This is our go to campground! Thank you!
Aug 14, 2017
Awesome stay at this location. Park was beautiful and clean, and staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Will definitely be returning.
Aug 13, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at KOA Mackinaw City. All of the staff werefriendly the entire campground was kept very clean. The only problem I had was finding out last moment (as in, the moment I was heading into)the showers were cosex. The showers have doors with locks but it was still a bit unnerving to share a shower area with strange men. That's just my peraonal feelings on it though.
Aug 12, 2017
The location of the KOA is great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool and kids play area was great. However we prefer campgrounds with blacktopped roads. The campsite was a little small for our big tent and vehicle with leaving room for the fire pit and lots of roots in the ground to place a tent. Did not like that there was a code for the bathroom.
Aug 11, 2017
There's nothing bad about the campground, very good for tent sites, we enjoyed our site a lot. Staff was friendly. The only negative about our stay was the cleanliness of the floor in the shower. But there was heavy use, and only cleaned once a day, so that could be why. Very convenient for those going out to the island. We would stay again if we end up that way. Overall, we enjoyed it.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
Great location! Hardly any mosquitos so they must spray and that is so appreciated! Clean bathrooms and friendly office lady. First time at a KOA and glad we made the choice to stay! When we find ourselves up that way again we will be staying there!
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
Sites are too close, no privacy. Had a severely sloped site that made leveling very hard. Bathrooms need serious updating. Had dryer on delicate cycle and it burned my husband's Aleve. This one is not what I expect from KOA's. Glad we only stayed one night. Won't stay at this one again.
Aug 07, 2017
Great location to Mackinaw. Great showers.
Aug 06, 2017
You need a second bathroom/shower facility. One is not enough to cover the amount of people and if you're in the back it's really a long walk.
Aug 05, 2017
Horrible storms, our tent blew away while we were with little to no help from staff. Had to go get a hotel and no offer of refund or help from staff. Will never be back and will not recommend to anyone
Aug 02, 2017
Very clean, pleasant place to stay. Owner was visible and hands on
Aug 01, 2017
Great staff, clean bathrooms, tents sites had forest behind them, fun for kids, pool was if a good temperature
Jul 31, 2017
We were a little concerned when we arrived how small it was, thinking it would be loud,especially because we were in a tent, but it was a quiet relaxing experience. The staff patrols regularly to ensure everyone is being quiet and respectful in the evening and that was VERY reassuring. Very friendly staff and clean facilities. It was a lovely stay for our trip.
Jul 31, 2017
Check-in person was very helpful and accommodating. Facilities were well-kept.
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay at the KOA! Very convenient location just a short bike ride to downtown. Showers/bathrooms were very clean & well kept. Will definitely be coming back!
Jul 31, 2017
My first camping experience since I was little. Was a bit nervous with just me and my 7yo daughter. But by the end of our stay we didn't want to leave. The staff is wonderful and friendly, bathroom/showes clean and easily accessible. Great play area for the kids and family's. Pool kept up nicely. It was a great stay and I've already passed the info to other campers I know!
Jul 31, 2017
I was only there for one night but didn't spend much time there to begin with. But it was a great campground! Everything was very clean and the staff very friendly. I would definitely stay here again.
Jul 25, 2017
We loved the cmpground and had a great time. The only thing we were not happy about was the coed showers the night our teenage daughter was showering and a couple was in the shower next to her.
Jul 25, 2017
Great visit! Do wish for more FULL hookups.
Jul 24, 2017
The folks working there were really great; clean facilities and great location, but not really a good place for tent camping. This was more of an RV park than campground. Sites were small and at times felt like we were camping in a RV storage lot.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award