La Junta KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9501

Reserve: 800-562-9501

Info: 719-384-9580

Info: 719-384-9580

Email This Campground

26680 Highway 50

La Junta, CO 81050

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations, Cabin, Camper, Deluxe Cabin

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

May 19, 2019
Great staff! Coffee shop right on the grounds. Clean bathrooms and grounds.
May 18, 2019
For a KOA journey they have quite a few amenities. It has a lot of long term residents and several really dumpy looking rigs there. The absolute worst thing for us was pulling into a flooded site when it hadn't been raining. I appreciate their attempt at having grass between sites but flooding a site that has a reservation for that night is not good. The side where the hook ups were was a swamp.
May 18, 2019
It was a good one night stay. The sites were close to each other and had s crowded feel. But they were friendly and clean.
May 17, 2019
nice long pull thru. friendly staff
May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
We have stayed at this KOA several times over the last 4 years. Something has changed -- I understand the importance to the bottom line of monthly or longer guests, but that should not impact the overall experience for the short term (Journey) guest. The campground seemed unkempt and the staff, other than the front desk clerk, were not at all customer oriented.
May 16, 2019
No parking .. place is too crammed up
May 15, 2019
Dirty, trash laying around, picnic table filthy, overgrown grass. Not enough hot water. Washing machines don't work properly and they know it! Pool not open. Advertised rec room is used as storage. Things in disrepair. This is nothing like it was advertised!! I have pictures of you're interested.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for taking the time to comment. Tomorrow 5/17 we will re-open our newly remodeled Rec Room -it looks great! The pool doesn't open until end of May. Our washing machines seem to clean clothes just fine for everyone else. Re. the hot water, if you are referring to our showers, we have not had any concerns from others. We did get behind on mowing but are now caught up. Trash - nope, not here!
May 12, 2019
May 12, 2019
The bathrooms were the cleanest we have ever seen!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! Our Housekeeping team takes pride in their work and we love them for it! We appreciate your noticing! Have a great summer of travel & be safe! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
May 10, 2019
Everything was fine, except there were no puppy poop mitts in either locations that we saw. Other than that, everything was fine. It was the first level site we had had in several KOA park stays, which we enjoyed.
May 10, 2019
I am not staying here to "camp" rather to travel& watch my son's college baseball team & work around games. Slow glitchy WI FI!!! If it's the best around then the bar is not set very high. There's no TV signal either, so bring a book. It is somewhat decent signal RIGHT next to the office in space 11 but couldn't stay online for 30 seconds in space 19

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for staying with us and we are sorry our WiFi was not up to your expectations. In site #19 you probably had nine campers between your unit and the WiFi output, so that may be part of the reception issue. We will keep working to have the best WiFi available! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
May 09, 2019
Very nice friendly staff, excellent stay!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you - we do have a wonderful team here! Have a most enjoyable summer of travel - be safe! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
May 07, 2019
May 06, 2019
The owner decided he needed to take a trip to Texas so he left a woman in charge who he trained for 2 days. She did her best and was really sweet so even though things in the park weren’t up to par, it wasn’t her fault. The billing is still incorrect. The sites are okay but picnic tables dirty. Location is great- near a Walmart and a couple of restaurants and near lots of history.
May 06, 2019
Friendly quiet
May 05, 2019
Great stay at the KOA
May 03, 2019
Friendly staff and nice location
May 03, 2019
May 02, 2019
We stayed for one night and couldn’t have been happier! Very friendly upon arrival, very nice grounds, nice bathroom and laundry facilities and a great location!! The only issue I encountered is that our neighbor that pulled in after us unhooked our water line to hook his up but that wasn’t the campground’s Fault. We will definitely be back the next time we’re staying in the area!!
Apr 29, 2019
Check in was smooth and efficient. Sites are narrow, but offered plenty of room for our 43’ 5th. Well maintained and the coffee/snack trailer was a treat. Close to Walmart and other shops.
Apr 27, 2019
Apr 22, 2019
Really enjoyed the site and the facilities. Bathrooms and showers were excellent. Really great to have the "coffee hut" on site. Good location to the town and surrounding areas including the National Park: Old Bent's Fort.
Apr 20, 2019
Apr 19, 2019
Spaces were nice , level, and well kept. No problem navigating with my 40ft 5th wheel. You could tell that the hosts take pride in the camp site. Brad and Nicole were very helpful and kind people. I had a little emergency with my camper when I first arrived and Brad was very quick to get me a very good mechanic to help me very quickly. I would stay here again.
Apr 16, 2019
Site wasn't very clean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comment and we will seek to do better. Spring is a challenging time in the campground business with new staff coming on each year and some learning their jobs faster than others - sometimes things get overlooked. We appreciate the reminder to get all sites checked everyday! Travel safe & have a great summer of travel! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Apr 15, 2019
Front desk was poor, not trained. Overcharged for site, no water on site not told

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We're sorry that we did not provide the experience you were looking for. I believe you caught a new staff member that had not been fully trained. She did correct your charges so you left without being overcharged. As for not having water, a yard faucet broke without telling us it was going to break & we have to shut off all the water to fix it!
Apr 11, 2019
very friendly Staff, very clean shower and restroom. We came back !! �

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your very kind words, and thanks for coming back! Travel safe & have an awesome summer! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Apr 06, 2019
The road / driveways need grading to smooth out the potholes. Signage is easy to miss. Driving EB or WB on Hwy 50, the small KOA Journey sign is easy to miss. I drove past it going EB on arrival.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments, and great timing! We just got in a long-awaited (expensive) piece of equipment, a land plane, for maintaining our roads & now they look AWESOME! We are soooo excited! Also, we are in the process of moving our marquee sign 20' closer to the highway, so that will help a bunch. We encourage our guests to call & we will gladly provide excellent directions to our oasis!
Apr 04, 2019
great campground to stay, best stocked parts dept I've seen yet. very helpful staff, will stay again

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your very kind comments and we would love to have you back! Travel safe & have a great summer! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Mar 17, 2019
Feb 04, 2019
Very friendly and helpful folks. No cable TV but have a powerful WiFi.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It was great having you stay with us on your maiden voyage! We hope you had a safe trip home and many more enjoyable journeys to come...! Cheers! from Your Friends at La Junta KOA
Jan 18, 2019
Helpful staff Clean restrooms Price reasonable

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Badda-boom, badda-bing! 1-2-3's of a good stay at our KOA! We love our guests from the Dakota's - they are so real! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Jan 05, 2019
Jan 02, 2019
Dec 14, 2018
Seemed odd to be limited to one or two sites when most of the spaces were empty.?. Else all was fine.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

To assist guests coming in after the office is closed, we put out a night registration site availability list of the 2 best sites of each site type. We consider other reservations that haven't arrived, that water at some sites is not winterized/open, that a site may have maintenance going on, to provide guests space between sites, etc. If a guest wants a specific site, we will try to make it work!
Dec 06, 2018
Very nice folks. Very helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! As was said in every Red Green show, "If they don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy!" Happy Holidays & travel safe! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Dec 02, 2018
As always, it was great. We stay here regularly and it is always clean and quiet. Brad is attentive to our needs and so kind! Will stay here again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you, and we always enjoy your visits! Have a wonderful holiday season and we'll see you next year! Happy Holidays from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Nov 20, 2018
Employees seemed very nice. That's the good. This KOA seems very tired. They need to pay more attention to cleanliness and maintenance. A badly wrecked truck was left there, trash laying around. Was told that one of the washers didn't work but they didn't know which. No out of order sign! Halloween decor was partially dismantled and left where it was, 3 weeks after Halloween.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Yes, we are behind on cleaning up after our Haunted Campground, including the wrecked truck, as we lost the staff person responsible for the event. All washers are working & our Halloween props have been returned to the crypt. Cheers! The La Junta KOA Team
Oct 31, 2018
Oct 24, 2018
Brad was very helpful and the sites are large.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Are you sure you don't mean that having the sites was helpful and Brad is very large...?!! LOL! I'm working on it! Seriously, thanks for your kind words - we appreciate 'em. Be safe on the road. Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 21, 2018
Your meeting room could be fixed up a bit. Nice friendly service, will try to stay again in the future.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You are so right! Sprucing up our Rec Room is one of this winter's projects, and it sure needs it! Thanks for staying with us and be safe in your travels! Cheers! from Your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 20, 2018
Confusing entrance and registration area.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It is indeed a bit crazy the last two weeks of October when we put on our Haunted Campground and put up the GIANT WALL OF STRAW! We appreciate everyone's patience. The Haunted Campground is a great community event and raises money for the high school drama clubs in our valley. It is a scary, ghoulish and yep, a bit confusing time! I promise you we are a bit more "normal" the rest of the year...!
Oct 19, 2018
We had about 18 friends there-- some were in RV's, some rented cabins, some stayed in tents. We rented the Deluxe RV site. It was a great experience and everyone enjoyed themselves. The campground was very nice and the owner Brad was helpful and friendly. It was clear the owners take great pride in their operation and we would encourage anyone and everyone to stay there.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

WoW! Thank you for them mighty kind words! We are doing our best, everyday, to make this a great place to stay. We have made a ton of progress in the past 2.5 years (all new fencing, 100+ new trees, upgraded tent sites & playground, added deluxe cabins & RV site, added night lighting, coffee stand & more!) but still have more to do! Travel safe & see you again - Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 18, 2018
very nicely maintained and centrally located camp ground - loved the halloween decoration and the espresso cart!! that's a game changer!!!! and it was open at 6 a.m.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks, and we're glad you enjoyed our coffee stand, The Daily Planet! Gotta get your Joe when your on the go, right! Travel safe. Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 17, 2018
Oct 17, 2018
WE HAD A GOOD TIME. HAD A GOOD TURN OUT OF OUR MEMBERS.ARAPAHOE SAMS CAMPING GROUP.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We love having camping groups here - they are truly a bunch of fun people! We look forward to having you back. Enjoy your winter season & travel safe! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals