Kankakee South KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 13, 2018
Sep 11, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
The campsite across from us must have been workers. They were smoking pot out in the open when they got back from working. I have children and didn't appreciate it. They also had a dog chained to a tree that they left outside the entire trip, even in the rain. It had a bucket of water that was dumped over right after they left and then they didn't come back for hours. No food either.
Sep 10, 2018
Friendly people working there
Sep 10, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
This place is a little gem! Small and intimate. Very nicely maintained. Friendly staff. Will definitely come here again
Sep 09, 2018
Nice clean and quiet campground with real friendly people. Great place to stay.
Sep 08, 2018
Sep 07, 2018
Shady and comfortable, lots of squirrels and birds. Staff was friendly and helpful, the laundry was clean and convenient. Bathroom and showers well maintained. Would definitely stay again.
Sep 06, 2018
Great campground and staff. Really enjoyed our stay.
Sep 05, 2018
Next time we would like a cement pad as the gravel site was not level . We enjoyed the park but much too hot 90’s to do much outside. Not the parks fault just bad timing for us. Also the moths were terrible and not sure what can be done about that but next time we will not be on the end by the field. Maybe that will help.
Sep 05, 2018
We love coming here and also really love the staff. The only issue we had this trip was that the person by us kept burning garbage and we called and nothing was done about it.
Sep 05, 2018
I loved this KOA compared to the first one we went to back in August. The sites were bigger and had more room to move vehicles through and had more staff working the park to keep it clean and the the KOA hosts didn’t complain if a vehicle parked on grass or if music got a little loud as long as it didn’t disrupt other campers. We loved it at this KOA because it was a laid back relaxing labor d
Sep 05, 2018
The campgrounds are well kept we had a great time. The only thing that I wish was different was the amount of grass on our pull though site. There was so much rock we really couldn't put a stake in the ground around camper because of rocks. Other than that, I will be back with my family just on a different sight. It was peaceful and the KOA people were frendly and accommodating. Thanks
Sep 05, 2018
Great place...
Sep 05, 2018
Clean grounds, very friendly staff, lots of fun activities for the kids. I have absolutely no complaints
Sep 05, 2018
Good grounds. Beautiful site. Butterflies galore. Friendly staff. Game room needs an update. Some games didn’t work. Just needed a lake for fishing and it was perfect!
Sep 04, 2018
This was a one-night only stay, which was a shame. We arrived late and had to leave early as we were just traveling through with a schedule to stick to. We loved the cabin we stayed in - very pleased to have a bathroom, a kitchen sink and fridge etc. The bed was comfy and much appreciated after a 12.5 hour drive from New Orleans. Would definitely stay there again. But longer!
Sep 04, 2018
Very good
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 02, 2018
Aug 30, 2018
Staff was very helpful and attentive. Campground was clean well maintained.
Aug 29, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
Excellent pool, friendly staff, nice pool table, clean well-stocked bathrooms and store, and all hook-ups worked well. But I felt like a sardine! Campers were right on top of one another. That’s a deal-breaker for me.
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
Made reservation in MAY for August stay requesting full hookup 50 amp, etc. Arrived and all available was a 30 amp spot and temp in the 89 with 85% humidity, one A/C just not enough. At check in , the young man could not have cared less. As others have reported this KOA is tired and needs lots of upgrading. Will not return and will not recommend. Worst KOA in our cross country trip.
Aug 27, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
We had a group of 11 softball players and their families at the KOA for a season kickoff cookout and camping. We were very happy with the space and had plenty of room for all to play eat, talk, beanbags, wiffle ball and much more. Kids loved the pool and gameroom. The facilities were very clean and employees were very attentive, kind and helpful. Overall great place to have a get together.
Aug 26, 2018
Great KOA!!! Staff was great!!
Aug 25, 2018
Tres bonne réception. Merci
Aug 24, 2018
The Staff was friendly and made us feel welcomed. We had an issue with our camper and they guided us to a local facility that could help us. Thanks for a comfortable stay in Kankakee!
Aug 24, 2018
This time our site was too close to another site our camper was small so we couldn’t pull too far in because of sewer line so we were literally right next to someone else’s sewer line so we cut short our stay there was another site that was a better one that was empty the whole time we were there so I only recommend this facility for overnight stays
Aug 24, 2018
Very friendly and accommodating. Nice camp ground. Also stayed at KOA in Granite City had electric issues and the lady at the desk was less than friendly about it. The person who checked us in however was very nice.
Aug 23, 2018
Camping experience was excellent. Easy access to the campground from the highway. The campground staff were real accommodating to insure an excellent stay. Thank you.
Aug 23, 2018
Great quiet park with very helpful staff. Park as all the amenities a family needs to have a great stay. Close enough to the highway to be convenient yet far enough away to be peaceful.
Aug 23, 2018
Stay was great even though my hitch was stolen. You can't help that. My only suggestion would be for someone in your employ to walk through the pool occasionally. There was a lady feeding all her kids Cheese Puffs and then letting them carry them into the pool yellow fingered or sometimes with the bag. Gross.....
Aug 22, 2018
One night only, OK
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
We had a blast, some of my Family, it was there first time & they had a blast also.
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
Clean, but very crowded. The tent sites had 2 cars parked in front of each site and the place was mobbed. Not their fault, but the water is absolutely horrible, sulfur smelling and brown. Bathroom badly needs an upgrade, but was clean. RV pull through was spacious, but others looked more crowded. Wifi didn't work, no cable. Pool & playground looked nice. Needs better signage coming from the south.
Aug 20, 2018
Very nice and clean. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Aug 20, 2018
The campground was clean, and I loved how dog friendly it was. The bathrooms and facilities were clean and nice. However, the site a few down from ours were obnoxious, drunk and super loud. They played music and kept singing loudly into the night (well past midnight). We saw the staff drive by a couple times on their golf cart (after 10pm, before 11pm) but did not see them say anything.
Aug 20, 2018
Came in a motorhome, stayed for a few hours. There was a family reunion there, walked through our campsite constantly, kids trashed the pool throwing water balloons and leaving their garbage everywhere, parents weren't there. Staff was nice but couldn't stop the clowns. Teenagers cussing and acting like idiots. It wasn't the worst I've experienced, and I'll say I expected it.
Aug 17, 2018
People were friendly, but the cabin was not very clean.
Aug 17, 2018
Aug 16, 2018
Wifi did not work. Sites are very close. Picnic table next to sewer of next camper. Fire ring very close to slides. Nice laundry. Nice staff.
Aug 16, 2018
Such an incredibly helpful staff! Had to cut our stay short due to camper breakdown. Will be back in October.
Oct 13, 2019
Loved the people-so friendly, the sites-we'll maintained,and Halloween there can't be beat!
- MarcyJo Chachakis on Google
Sep 30, 2019
Nice campground
- Lonnie Netzel on Google
Sep 21, 2019
What an awesome place.....the people are so polite.....would recommend to everyone!
- Denise Lowe on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.