Kankakee South KOA Reviews

Set to OPEN May 29 for recreational camping!

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Aug 21, 2017
Thank you it was great and The staff was also great
Aug 21, 2017
My family visited last weekend and it was an amazing stay. We camp at various different camp grounds throughout the year and I would definitely put this campground towards the top. Bathrooms were clean, nice shower, friendly office staff, and lots of things to do with your kids nearby. btw, we were tent campers. Only downside: very strong mosquitos, bring your toughest mosquito repellents!
Aug 21, 2017
THE STAFF AT KANKAKEE KOA IS ALWAYS FRIENDLY. POOL AREA WAS CLEAN AND WELL KEPT. NEW SITES BEHIND GAME ROOM LOOK GREAT. ALREADY BOOKED NEXT STAY.
Aug 21, 2017
Campground was very nice and the staff was very helpful. We will definitely stay again.
Aug 21, 2017
Average campground. WiFi very limited. Clean but bathroom needed some attention. Staff was helpful giving directions to Chicago.
Aug 21, 2017
Checked in with no problem. Followed a golf cart to the site and parked. Hook ups were easy. Kids liked the pool however the water was very cold. Kids also liked the game room which is a 4 car garage. We met a few nice families there. On leaving I backed out of the pull through spot they gave me as the trees on both sides of the exit made it impossible for me to pull through but backing was easy.
Aug 20, 2017
Very friendly and accomodating ! Definitely a good experience. Pool area needs repairs on deck to make it safe. Would stay here again if in area.
Aug 20, 2017
Very clean and very nice people
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
One night. Booked on the internet. No problems. Quaint little park. Liked it.
Aug 18, 2017
We had a great 3 days. Loved how clean everything was. Did not like the boy mowing so close to our camp making us eat his dust and dirt
Aug 18, 2017
Pleasant campground for a overnight stay. Laundry was convenient and very clean. Will stay here again on our next trip north.
Aug 18, 2017
A highly pleasant stay. Quiet and friendly. We do have 2 mentionable issues that affected our stay. Your water is AWFUL! You call it 'country ' water. I was raised on "country" water and it was very hard but it did not smell of sulphur. Your roadways are extremely dusty. So bad that we had to find a truck wash get get the layers of dust off our coach. I understand it isn't easy to control.
Aug 18, 2017
Nice campground
Aug 18, 2017
Angenehmer Platz im Süden von Chicago. Sehr ruhig, aber doch nah zur Interstate. Freundliches Personal. Gerne wieder.
Aug 17, 2017
The KOA was okay. A little crowded and there was only one host trying to provide service to everyone. He seemed a little overwhelmed. It was located in the middle of a corn field.
Aug 17, 2017
KOAs are always our first choice for campgrounds when we can use them. We're glad we spent next to zero time in the campground ourselves - crowded narrow sites on a Saturday night, pitch black when we returned after dark and wound our way thru very narrow alleys. The water stinks from sulfur. However, very friendly staff and great help getting situated on our pull-thru site. 34-ft 5th wheel
Aug 16, 2017
Nice park, we didn't see much of it because shortly after we pulled in in the evening, a storm rolled in & we stayed inside. The staff was out & about the next morning, cleaning up the mess from the storm- nice job!
Aug 16, 2017
Everyone was friendly. The sites are spaces nicely with plenty of room on both sides. Campground was well maintained and clean.
Aug 16, 2017
Very polite, helpful staff. Thank you.
Aug 15, 2017
Easy access off/on to I-55. Fairly level gravel sites. Bathrooms old but clean. Nice clean pool. Helpful, friendly staff
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Staff was friendly, park was very clean. The activities: movie night, barrel train ride and wagon ride looked very nice for families. Pull through site was easily accessed. They have lovely permanent swings at some sites---hopefully they'll add more of those.
Aug 15, 2017
EXCELLENT STAFF, very, very nice camp ground, nice pet area, we would and WILL stay their again in the future
Aug 14, 2017
We have stayed at this KOA before and we had internet. We did not know that they added a new part to the park and we needed to stay in that part of the park to have internet or go to the office.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Great location as it's next to a cornfield so you feel like your in the wilderness and not camping in a backyard. Bathrooms were very clean, staff and people there were very nice plus a nice bundle of wood for only 5 bucks! My family and I are definitely going back!
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
We spent two months there this summer and were very pleased. The owners and staff are very pleasant and constantly improving the cAmpground and it was very clean and very well taken care of. Nice large sites. Our grandchildren loved the Saturday night wagon rides and the music made it fun, they loved the gameroom too! Plan on returning next summer! Thanks for the great stay!
Aug 13, 2017
Always a relaxing time. We live about 30 minutes away and enjoy coming out to unwind.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
This was a overnight stay. Bathrooms are clean. Nice shade trees. The recent rains might have effected this, but we had trouble finding a level site. The staff were very accommodating and found us another site right away.
Aug 08, 2017
Quiet time was supposed to be 10:00 our neighbors was still loud at1:30 including fireworks we were there with a small child so we didn't appreciate that.
Aug 07, 2017
My scout group has been tent camping at this KOA since 2010. We always have a great time.
Aug 07, 2017
Nice place with friendly staff.
Aug 07, 2017
Always a great place to camp. Staff is very friendly.
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
Great time every time will be back.
Aug 06, 2017
Aug 04, 2017
Campground needs some work. Bathroom stalls had no locks. Shower stall curtains were too narrow, so water sprayed out and all of your stuff gets wet. Showers have a stool that is so wobbly I was afraid to sit on it or put my stuff on it because it would colaspse. WiFi doesn't reach anywhere in camp but the 1st campsites near camp office and then is so slow you can't even check mail.
Aug 03, 2017
nice,clean, in process of updating .good location
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
Very laid back and simple. Was not over whelmed but still offered things to do around the camp.
Aug 02, 2017
Check out my full rating at www.cruisincondo.blogspot.com
Aug 01, 2017
Lots to do, clean, nice staff. Nothing negative to say, we will be back!
Jul 31, 2017
This location NEVER disappoints. We've stayed at several Illinois KOA's and have yet to find one that is as clean, friendly and fun. The staff are great here. Bathrooms, always clean. Pool=same. We'll be back in September for member appreciation weekend and then again in October for Halloween Campout. Love, Love, LOVE this KOA.
Jul 31, 2017
The pool was too small and not in great shape. The people sitting around the pool were loud and using inappropriate language for children. My daughter and granddaughter had to leave because of their language. The washrooms didn't have locks on the doors (someone had removed them).
Jul 31, 2017
Nov 07, 2019
Very peaceful and quite in the winter/fall unsure about summer they have a wonderful dog run area that is completely enclosed which is nice owners are very friendly as well
- Smalls Lyell on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.