Kankakee South KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 31, 2017
Aug 31, 2017
We loved our site, all hook ups worked well. Staff was helpful and friendly. The only complaint we have is the poor WiFi service. We were in site 47 and were told that the wifi connection was poor because we were so far from the source. We did not ask for this site. When I pay for a deluxe site, I expect that all amenities offered for the campgrounds will be available to me. It was not.
Aug 31, 2017
Place is very orderly, friendly, clean, quiet and well run. Close to town. Spots are close together.
Aug 31, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
The campground was clean, the bathroom was clean shower water was hot. Employees was friendly & helpful Everything was rightthere. Free movie theatre was great. Thinking of coming back before it get cold.
Aug 29, 2017
Our big group of 60 people recently stayed at KOA Kenkakee South. We enjoyed our stay. The campground is kept clean, Has big, shaded tent sites with picnic tables. Bathroom/ showers are clean. People are friendly. We recommend this place.
Aug 29, 2017
We changed our reservation to an earlier night and the management was very accommodating. We arrived late and left early. I phoned ahead and everything was set-up and ready to go. Seemed very efficient. Didn't get to use the facilities etc as we were on the move but everything seemed very nice.
Aug 28, 2017
Always good people at the KOA.
Aug 28, 2017
Sad to see that more and more of the campground are having sites turn to permanent sites. They should have those sites clean and tidy. Takes away from the overall look of the campground.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Great people. Nice clean campground.
Aug 28, 2017
gre at place to stay Rob the owner is the best will be there more offen
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Very friendly staff, clean bathrooms, great dog run. My only recommendation is to get a heater for the pool. It was so cold my girls wouldn't swim.
Aug 27, 2017
Quiet at night
Aug 25, 2017
The staff was wonderful, the campsite very nice. We had a great time there.
Aug 24, 2017
Stayed just one night. Friendly staff, good level sites.
Aug 24, 2017
Took my grandchildren camping and was very pleased that they had a good time. Wifi was available for their iPads, swimming pool and even a dog park for my dog. Ice cream treats were available at the store at a very reasonable cost. Happy to have stayed.
Aug 24, 2017
Perfect size for us. Clean with many amenities larger sites have including an unadvertised dog park which was a pleasant surprise.
Aug 22, 2017
great time had by all in our group book another stay before leaving ..........only thing I would like to see in the future is screw in tops added to the sewer hook-up to avoid smell and accidental mishaps thanks again for a good time
Aug 22, 2017
They have really cleaned up the campground since the last time we stayed there. They have bought the property next door and expanded with new lots. Two negatives: The water has a distinctive odor; it is really bad! We had to go get bottled water for our entire stay. You can pick up several channels on your antenna, but we could not get CBS at all. I would love to see cable at this campground
Aug 22, 2017
We stayed in the "luxury" camping cabin. It was way overpriced. It was not cleaned. The toilet wasn't even flushed. The toilet did not work right. We were left a nasty surprise in the toilet. The kitchen sink was dirty. The shower curtain was so dirty we didn't even want to use the shower so we didn't. $90 for this? It made us wonder how clean the bed linens were.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Great management.
Aug 21, 2017
We had a great time. The cabin was very clean. We are definitely coming back again. There was a mixup with my brothers reservation but Chris in the office fixed the situation
Aug 21, 2017
Brought trailer here to do some check out, needed fill hookup to do so. i only expected to stay a couple of days, however i inked it so much i extended the stay by 2 additional days. Defiantly five stars, with only one issue, that being the internet signal was poor to non existent, it seemed the bandwidth was there but the signal strength was zero about half the time. More repeaters?
Aug 21, 2017
Very clean campground. I wouldn't allow dogs due to their barking. Location is not the greatest since you can hear the traffic from the near by highway Over all not bad-great for families
Aug 21, 2017
Thank you it was great and The staff was also great
Aug 21, 2017
My family visited last weekend and it was an amazing stay. We camp at various different camp grounds throughout the year and I would definitely put this campground towards the top. Bathrooms were clean, nice shower, friendly office staff, and lots of things to do with your kids nearby. btw, we were tent campers. Only downside: very strong mosquitos, bring your toughest mosquito repellents!
Aug 21, 2017
THE STAFF AT KANKAKEE KOA IS ALWAYS FRIENDLY. POOL AREA WAS CLEAN AND WELL KEPT. NEW SITES BEHIND GAME ROOM LOOK GREAT. ALREADY BOOKED NEXT STAY.
Aug 21, 2017
Campground was very nice and the staff was very helpful. We will definitely stay again.
Aug 21, 2017
Average campground. WiFi very limited. Clean but bathroom needed some attention. Staff was helpful giving directions to Chicago.
Aug 21, 2017
Checked in with no problem. Followed a golf cart to the site and parked. Hook ups were easy. Kids liked the pool however the water was very cold. Kids also liked the game room which is a 4 car garage. We met a few nice families there. On leaving I backed out of the pull through spot they gave me as the trees on both sides of the exit made it impossible for me to pull through but backing was easy.
Aug 20, 2017
Very friendly and accomodating ! Definitely a good experience. Pool area needs repairs on deck to make it safe. Would stay here again if in area.
Aug 20, 2017
Very clean and very nice people
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
One night. Booked on the internet. No problems. Quaint little park. Liked it.
Aug 18, 2017
We had a great 3 days. Loved how clean everything was. Did not like the boy mowing so close to our camp making us eat his dust and dirt
Aug 18, 2017
Pleasant campground for a overnight stay. Laundry was convenient and very clean. Will stay here again on our next trip north.
Aug 18, 2017
A highly pleasant stay. Quiet and friendly. We do have 2 mentionable issues that affected our stay. Your water is AWFUL! You call it 'country ' water. I was raised on "country" water and it was very hard but it did not smell of sulphur. Your roadways are extremely dusty. So bad that we had to find a truck wash get get the layers of dust off our coach. I understand it isn't easy to control.
Aug 18, 2017
Nice campground
Aug 18, 2017
Angenehmer Platz im Süden von Chicago. Sehr ruhig, aber doch nah zur Interstate. Freundliches Personal. Gerne wieder.
Aug 17, 2017
The KOA was okay. A little crowded and there was only one host trying to provide service to everyone. He seemed a little overwhelmed. It was located in the middle of a corn field.
Aug 17, 2017
KOAs are always our first choice for campgrounds when we can use them. We're glad we spent next to zero time in the campground ourselves - crowded narrow sites on a Saturday night, pitch black when we returned after dark and wound our way thru very narrow alleys. The water stinks from sulfur. However, very friendly staff and great help getting situated on our pull-thru site. 34-ft 5th wheel
Aug 16, 2017
Nice park, we didn't see much of it because shortly after we pulled in in the evening, a storm rolled in & we stayed inside. The staff was out & about the next morning, cleaning up the mess from the storm- nice job!
Aug 16, 2017
Everyone was friendly. The sites are spaces nicely with plenty of room on both sides. Campground was well maintained and clean.
Aug 16, 2017
Very polite, helpful staff. Thank you.
Aug 15, 2017
Easy access off/on to I-55. Fairly level gravel sites. Bathrooms old but clean. Nice clean pool. Helpful, friendly staff
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Staff was friendly, park was very clean. The activities: movie night, barrel train ride and wagon ride looked very nice for families. Pull through site was easily accessed. They have lovely permanent swings at some sites---hopefully they'll add more of those.
Nov 07, 2019
Very peaceful and quite in the winter/fall unsure about summer they have a wonderful dog run area that is completely enclosed which is nice owners are very friendly as well
- Smalls Lyell on Google
Oct 13, 2019
Loved the people-so friendly, the sites-we'll maintained,and Halloween there can't be beat!
- MarcyJo Chachakis on Google
Sep 30, 2019
Nice campground
- Lonnie Netzel on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.