Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3389

Reserve: 800-562-3389

Info: 928-524-6689

Info: 928-524-6689

Email This Campground

102 Hermosa Drive

Holbrook, AZ 86025

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jun 13, 2018
Was relaxing after a 24 hour drive. Showers were warm and clean. Nice sunset view over the highway. Like with most KOAs I stayed at this week I really like the distant hum of cars on the highway at night. Some may not but I do.
Jun 13, 2018
Rented deluxe tent site. Covered with ants, electrical boxed exposed. Only option was to move to lesser tent site with NO immenities, and got NO refund for the difference in price. Will never stay there again.
Jun 13, 2018
The staff was great, bathroom clean, pool was cool and refreshing, but definitely not a grass tent site as we hoped. I know it's summer in AZ, but we were really looking forward to actual grass (as advertised) after all the sand & wood chips. There were sites with more grass, and more shade against afternoon sun, not occupied when we left, so not sure why we weren't offered one of those instead.
Jun 09, 2018
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Holbrook/Petrified Forest. The tent sites were nicely situated with a great view of the desert surrounding the area. Our kids enjoyed the pool and playground, especially after the long drive we had done the day we arrived.
Jun 09, 2018
Well-maintained facilities, but the noise from the highway is pretty hard to ignore.
Jun 05, 2018
Nice campgrounds, wonderful staff
Jun 05, 2018
No cover or shade, bathrooms were dirty, no toilet paper and shower faucet was broke. Wind storm came through and broke our tent so we left a day early, would not refund for the night we didn't stay. Nicely stocked store and the clerk who checked us in was really nice. (She just started that weekend). Would not come back.
Jun 04, 2018
stopped in for a night on our way to phoenix nice location close to amenities, too close to hwy, a lot of hwy noise at night in a tent but all in all it was a good night stay
Jun 04, 2018
This place needs upgrades badly. Everything was run down or did not work. The tent grass area was crap and smelled like dog poop and had dog poo on it. People would take their pet by the tent are to poo and pee and never pick it up. The showers were crap and did not work that great. Grass area for tents was uneven and picnic tables were broke. Only thing nice was the pool. Never stay again
Jun 04, 2018
The campsite itself was fine. I would have preferred to not be assigned the campsite directly under the streetlight when there were nearly a dozen others available.
Jun 03, 2018
Jun 01, 2018
My wife and I enjoyed staying at this KOA very much. The host are really nice. We loved the stay.
May 30, 2018
the staff were polite and helpful, the bathrooms are clean. however, the free wifi was weak.
May 29, 2018
Everything great,except the sprinklers going on at 5am and soaking all of our gear.
May 29, 2018
Very friendly staff, very clean bathrooms and showers that were easy to get to from tent sites. Cheap, delicious breakfast on site.
May 29, 2018
We enjoyed our stay!! Clean showers and restrooms! The campground was clean and organized. Everyone was friendly and helpful.
May 29, 2018
Have to check out by 11:00 but pool doesn't open till 11:30! Arrived at dark so wanted to swim in the morning and not possible! Not a happy camper! All KOAs rules are different cause of independently owned. Never know what to expect! If it is a franchise they should be about the same! Some wont let you set up a tent in a rv site! we just like to set a small one up for storage to make more room.
May 26, 2018
Very noisy as this campground is right by the highway.
May 25, 2018
May 20, 2018
The tent site A13 was not a lawn as advertised, the faucet did not work and the power outlet was occupied with some gadget, and the bench was in ruins (no roof, etc). The camp host was nice and put me to A14 which had at least some lawn. Bathroom is worn down, etc. You can get a lot of campsites for 10-15$ but for 33 dollars you would like get something: lawn, clean bathroom with toilet paper (!
May 19, 2018
I was a little disappointed with our tent spot which had some ruts in it (T11) so my girlfriend and I had to move the tent to the patch below the designated area. We hadn’t had a problem like this at other KOAs. The staff was friendly. The bathrooms were clean which was a huge plus. We needed the shower.
May 14, 2018
May 14, 2018
May 14, 2018
The entire facility is very clean and our campsite was perfect. The surrounding area is very pretty. There is no Kamp Kitchen or dishwashing sink and that was a major inconvenience. The noise through the night of the airplanes and trains was also not very pleasant.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

we have a kamping kitchen with sinks and grills and stove burners, also there is a dishwashing sink next to the restrooms and we have no airport do not no what you heard.
May 13, 2018
It was ok, staff was friendly. Bathrooms were lacking, garbage were overflowing. Store was full and taken care of.
May 12, 2018
Rented a tent site, but was disappointed to find lots of dog waste all over the grass area intended for tents. Not a pleasant place to pitch a tent. Also, there was a bright overhead street light on the northeast side of the tent area, which lit up the tent's interior. Bathroom/shower facilities were clean, and has a nice convenience store.
May 07, 2018
Great campsite, clean facilities, loved having a sink in our tent site. Camp was quiet at night (except for traffic and trains). Kids loved the playground.
May 04, 2018
Only complaint was that we couldn’t pull directly up to the electric at the tent site. Problem solved with and extension cord. Awesome KOA
May 02, 2018
May 02, 2018
This was a stop on route not a destination and for one night it was great. The amenities, check in and personnel were better than we are used to having. However, the tent sites are very exposed to the ever present wind and it was quite strong! Unfortunately, this site is right on the highway and it a tent the truck noise was miserable. Hence the rank of 6/10.
Apr 30, 2018
Clean bathrooms
Apr 21, 2018
Clean conditions. Roomy spots. Clean restrooms. 2nd restroom could have been opened, quite a few campers, and restrooms were very busy in the morning. Left a day early, I asked for a refund, but was refused.
Apr 16, 2018
Worst ever KOA —I pre reserved saying I had dogs and giant signs everywhere —even in the campsites I rented -saying No Dog! Unhelpful staff and had to leave —-cause it was such an unpleasant and rude place. Ugggg huge waste of money.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Must be wrong campground. We have a grassy dog park plus a dog run. Dogs allowed in every RV site.
Apr 06, 2018
Very enjoyable
Apr 03, 2018
The facilities we're nice. I booked a super tent site near the facilities. When I arrived I found out that my reservation had been changed to a normal tent site, as all but one super tent was under maintenance, and the last one was rented out. The bathrooms near the normal tents we're locked down because they "would be too cold at night" so we had to cross the grounds in the cold to use the others
Mar 30, 2018
Made reservations online for a tent site. Upon arrival I wanted another site other than one assigned (two others were available). Host would not accommodate, said they were reserved. Paid $2 more and moved to a “super tent” site. Next morning the site we were originally assigned had a tent on it and other two tent sites were empty. Felt I was lied to. Man in chair behind counter was rude
Mar 27, 2018
Mar 25, 2018
It was an okay campsite, it would've been nice if the tent campsites were further away from the highway so I could get better sleep.
Mar 21, 2018
Toilet paper was lacking in men’s washrooms for more than 2 hours in morning!
Mar 19, 2018
Campsite was really nice, and the campground is close to the park. The office was helpful and very friendly. The only thing that I didn’t enjoy was the road noise from outside the campground.
Mar 07, 2018
nice clean restrooms, hot showers, safe and secure. Nice place to set up a tent. Thank you.
Feb 11, 2018
Great site for a tent. Office people were very nice. The restrooms were very clean. Great place.
Jan 29, 2018
Do not camp until their construction is complete so they can give you accurate information.
Dec 18, 2017
Nice and clean!
Nov 27, 2017
The campground hosts were very kind. The bathrooms were immaculate. The price of firewood was reasonable. The site (ST-1) did not have hot/cold running water as advertised. We understand the water was turned off due to low temperatures and concerns about freezing. Please express our gratitude to the hosts! A Happy Family from Tucson, AZ.
Nov 25, 2017
great service and stay
Nov 23, 2017
Nov 15, 2017
Nov 11, 2017
Camp spot did not have advertised amenities. Also super campspot is next to another lot with bright lights all night. Not good for a dark tent. Place was run down. Main sign had tear, urnal was out of order, and camp bench was very flimsy.
Nov 04, 2017
Nice grass tent site. Easy access to food places. Clean washrooms and shelters. Easy access to I40.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals