Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3389

Reserve: 800-562-3389

Info: 928-524-6689

Info: 928-524-6689

Email

102 Hermosa Drive

Holbrook, AZ 86025

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Nov 15, 2017
Nov 11, 2017
Camp spot did not have advertised amenities. Also super campspot is next to another lot with bright lights all night. Not good for a dark tent. Place was run down. Main sign had tear, urnal was out of order, and camp bench was very flimsy.
Nov 04, 2017
Nice grass tent site. Easy access to food places. Clean washrooms and shelters. Easy access to I40.
Oct 31, 2017
Nice spot at end of row was great. It was so quiet, much appreciated!!! Bathrooms were nice and clean, showers piping hot. Pleasant surprise that showers were free! Laundry very clean and well maintained. A great reprieve after being on the road and camping for several days. We don't typically stay at camps that are geared toward RV camping, but we felt comfortable and welcomed. Thanks!
Oct 27, 2017
Oct 25, 2017
We arrived late, and stayed short, but it was a nice experience. It was nice to have a dog friendly location and very nice people attending to the guests. Bathrooms were kept clean and maintained well. Also, good pricing!
Oct 21, 2017
Oct 05, 2017
Not private at all, smell of manure and the Hwy was very close. I perhaps should have known about the highway but the rest was disappointing. That being said the bathroom facilities were spotless! Nice hot and free shower
Oct 05, 2017
Asked for a camp near the showers - I was the last camp at the end, they had many open spaces nearer- So loud new hwy And a street light right into my tent all nite.
Oct 02, 2017
We were traveling by motorcycle . This was a first trip camping for one of us . The facilities were clean, the staff friendly . This facility offers meals . Great steak dinner with potato salad and baked beans. We had eggs and sausage for breakfast . Showers were hot and clean. This spot is on our list
Sep 29, 2017
They put us in T15 under the street light. The highway is closer than most and you hear trucks all night not only that but the train is a constant reminder it's near by. We left a day early even though we payed for two. On the good side the bathroom was clean and warm
Sep 28, 2017
TENT CAMPSITES ARE IN NEED OF UPGRADING: GRASS WAS MOSTLY DEAD AND THE PICNIC TABLES WERE IN POOR REPAIR. WE WERE ASSIGNED A SITE RIGHT UNDERNEATH THE STREET LIGHT MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO SLEEP AS IT WAS SO BRIGHT
Sep 28, 2017
Lovely campground and very friendly, helpful hosts and staff. The camp kitchen food was great, restrooms and showers were spotless.
Sep 25, 2017
Campsite was good, but the location is a little noisy as the highway and the trailway pass very near. Bathrooms and showers very clean and new, and very nice playground for kids.
Sep 21, 2017
We do the Pedal the Petrified ride. We stay here each time.
Sep 20, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
Tent camped-- tent sites were right next to main road which I was unaware of when I booked-- between the train running through and the trucks on the road all night--we had virtually no sleep. Owner/manager was unapologetic when we mentioned it on checkout.
Sep 10, 2017
We were pleased
Sep 05, 2017
We stayed two nights at the Holbrook/Petrified Forest KOA. The first night was not so good due to our tent site being right under a streetlamp and the tent sites were all booked. However, the following morning they were more than willing to let us change to a vacated site.
Sep 03, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Nice open area. Dog park. Little park area for the children. Basketball hoop needs a net, volleyball court is in rocks. Very clean restroom, and convenient dish washing stations. Close to highway, can hear traffic throughout the night. Friendly management. 30 mins to Petrified National Park ~ Grateful for our family experience.
Aug 23, 2017
Pool, great neighbors, fresh air. Star show par excellence. And Cowboy Cookout!
Aug 19, 2017
We were given a nice grass patch to pitch our tent on, unlike the past campground we stayed at that was on gravel. There wasn't much to look at as the entire place was flat gravel besides the tent locations. The bathrooms were very nice and had showers toilets 3 sinks, and some actually decent art on the walls. There even was breakfast in the morning, I grew up going to KOA and this one was okay.
Aug 15, 2017
Camping agréable, très propre. Bon petits déjeuners. Aire de jeu pour les enfants. Seul point négatif : le bruit de la route 66 et des trains. L'emplacement des tentes en est très proche.
Aug 11, 2017
Very nice facility.
Aug 11, 2017
Although the tent sites were nice, when we arrived at night, someone was on our site, using our electric box and table. When I spoke to the front desk in the AM, I was told that they had trouble the night before with that site and that I should have just taken another site. If the staff knew that this site was already an issue, a different site should have been assigned to me in the first place.
Aug 11, 2017
Personal is great, nice and clean showers. Campground for our tent on grass, nice. Take your earplugs with you, the highway is sounding close, only thing that was disturbing in the night.
Aug 10, 2017
Staff courteous and good. Steak at cookout was incredible. Only drawback is interstate noise and visibility (nothing hosts can do about that!). Great staging point for Petrified Foreset/Painted Desert day or two.
Aug 10, 2017
The campground was not as well maintained as most of the ones we have used in CO, WY and UT. It was nice and clean and there was no trash problem. Just seemed like they were in the middle of doing some repairs or upgrades.
Aug 06, 2017
The usually expected highway noise. Washrooms were great. Watch for nighttime sprinklers. Picked up a huge gob-full of nails, screws, schrapnel from where you are supposed to park. ...watch out for punctured tyres!
Aug 05, 2017
Campground was fine but I had a bad experience. I had a tent site and at 3 in the morning the automatic sprinklers turned on pointed directly at my tent for 2 hours.
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 28, 2017
BEEN A LONG TIME SINCE IVE CAMPED IN AN RV PARK, BUT THE SPACES SEEMED A LITTLE SMALL. OTHERWISE, THE RESTROOMS AND POOL WERE GREAT AND OVERALL, WE REALLY ENJOYED OUR STAY.
Jul 24, 2017
The person checking me in was wonderful, other then that it was terrible. It rain that evening (not there fault)but we were tent camping which where they have the tent area turned into a large mud pit which getting out in the morning was more like a mud race. It was very noisy all night, not the parks fault, due to placement near I40 & railroad. On the site it said grass area for tents, nope
Jul 23, 2017
Campground was overpriced for what it was. Tent sites had a view of a fence and highway. Traffic from highway was very loud all night long. Campers kitchen was very helpful during rain storm.
Jul 22, 2017
They can't control the rain! The Campground was grass, they prepare dinner and Breakfast, the showers were hot and I didn't have to wait. I have no complaints about this KOA.
Jul 22, 2017
Web site states tent sites with shade- however when we checked in, the manager was watering all of the tents sites that had shade/trees- leaving only unshaded sites. Paid extra for "prime" tent site- when we plugged in extension cord, the outlet kept tripping and needed to be reset. Did not make us feel safe to use the electricity.
Jul 22, 2017
The security lights are very bright. I had to move my tent to another spot away from the lights. Also, road noise is loud. I think the super tents sites are probably best for darkness and quite. The playground was great and the workers were nice.
Jul 20, 2017
Friendly hosts, even after hours. Nice campground and tent camping sites, and good kids play facilities.
Jul 16, 2017
We had a very good stay. The pool is nice and large and was very refreshing. The only thing that was a negative was getting soaked by the sprinkler system in the middle of the night. We were in our tent, but did not have the rain fly up because there was no chance for rain. We got soaked and had to cover the sprinkler heads. 5 or 6 other tents were affected.Other than that everything was great
Jul 08, 2017
This will be the last KOA campground I will ever stay at. Bright lights all night, loud highway noise all night, poor facilities - that sums it up.
Jul 08, 2017
Great experience. The campsite was well maintained and the bathrooms were clean. Easy to stay with my dog as well!
Jul 07, 2017
Loved everything but the showers. The shower headsdidnt turn making it hard to wash hair
Jul 03, 2017
Nice big campsites, bathrooms clean. Breakfast is nice too.
Jul 03, 2017
Everything was totally fine, except for that our tent was bombarded by sprinklers at 3 am, soaking us and the tent, as well as everything inside. We then had to sleep in our car for the rest of the night. Only giving a third star because they were kind enough to refund our stay. Putting A/C in the bathrooms as well would be a great addition to this KOA.
Jun 27, 2017
Perfect base for day trips or just traveling thru. Staff was great
Jun 24, 2017
This was a Great Place, service was great, we will definitely stay everytime we pass thru
Jun 24, 2017
Sprinklers we're on when I got there and asked to have them turned off. They soaked us again at 2:00am. Unacceptable! No sleep, should get refund.
Jun 24, 2017
Great park, great people, and pancakes!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy