Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA Reviews

Basecamp for the great outdoors!

Campground Reviews

Nov 05, 2019
We thoroughly enjoyed Halloween weekend festivities at the KOA. The wine tasting was great, too. I would definitely consider coming back again next year. My only negative feedback was the cost of the cabin- it was overpriced. I haven't stayed at this KOA during the year, so I don't know if the price was high because of the special weekend festivities or if it is that cost all year.
Nov 05, 2019
Had a 34' RV and was given a sight that had a big drop that my levelers wouldn't come out. We had to change sites at dark and was given a terrible one that was all mud. I know things happen but they should know what sites can handle a certain length.
Nov 05, 2019
Camp sites are way to small
Nov 04, 2019
Nov 04, 2019
We have stayed here several times and every stay has been perfect. This time the cabin refrigerator has blood in it, there was food and ants all around the bed as well as dirty socks and underwear at the side of the bed. There was also ALOT of trash (broken toys, cans etc) around the cabin. Not sure what changed but was very disappointed.
Nov 04, 2019
It was excellent we started a family camping trip last year and loved it here this year .We will be back it was 12 of us this year
Nov 04, 2019
We had a wonderful time and definitely will be back. The only thing that we had an issue with is our cabin had a thick layer of dirt on the floor. It looked the the cabin may have flooded and the dirt from the rain water was left behind. Other than that everything was great!
Nov 04, 2019
The floor of the cabin we stayed in was extremely dirty. There was such a thick layer of dust that it got all over everything. A couple of cob webs are to be expected, but theres just no reason for that dust. There should be better upkeep, as that’s a cheap, simple quality control step. There was also a significant gap under the door so pests could come in. Showers were also incredibly run down.
Nov 04, 2019
Fantastic stay! Our cabin was great and we loved the amenities.
Nov 04, 2019
Everything about the campground was great except for the bathrooms and bath houses!! Even after going in after they had been clean they were still disgusting. This is my third trip to this KOA with the same experience.
Nov 03, 2019
Nov 03, 2019
Nov 02, 2019
Nov 02, 2019
We really enjoyed our stay & will definitely come back again. Easily accessible and close to a lot of history. Great location, clean & well maintained
Nov 02, 2019
Nov 02, 2019
It's a lovely park. I just object to the $10 resort fee. We didn't have to pay it because the amenities were closed, but I would be very unhappy to have to pay it. We stay at KOA because they're mostly very nice but we NEVER use the pool etc. How about a wristband for those who want to use them and pay the fee. After about 30 different KOA stays, this is the first to have a resort fee.
Nov 01, 2019
Overall experience was good, we loving Halloween camping. We reserved a year in advance and were still out in a crappy spot right at the front parking lot though, which was disappointing. Kids activities were meh & there weren’t many. Haunted house was great! Kids on the jumping pad were allowed to misbehave, fight, & target black guests, also very disappointing. Playground is also meh.
Nov 01, 2019
All of the workers and managers go above and beyond. The facilities are kept in great shape. There is tons of things to do for children and adults alike. We tend to stay at Harpers Ferry in the spring and the fall. Their fall festivities are awesome. from hayrides to haunted houses to costume contest to pumpkin carving, and as usual the free pancake breakfast!
Oct 30, 2019
Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Nice camp store. Clean bathrooms. Convenient location.
Oct 30, 2019
Love it hear. We return every year. This was our second time this year !?.. I call it our home campground.
Oct 30, 2019
Fast check in, friendly helpful staff, enjoyed learning Harpers Ferry history and campground located where some artillery encampments. Two nits, sewer hookups not threaded so hard to stack wood on top to hold elbow stationary and purchased wood did not burn. These are not big deal but sewer hookup improvements prevent accidental spills
Oct 29, 2019
I was only able to stay for one night, but even so, my contacts with various staff were helpful, positive and friendly. The facilities were awesome and I was pleased and surprised by your location right next to the National Park Visitor Center and Civil War battlefields. I will be back!
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
We had a ground of 6 come in on Thursday. Maintain lot had camper already on it. I went to office to check it out and the gentleman I talked to was very rude. He Shrugged his shoulders and said she didn’t book until Friday. We all was in the office last year and booked for 2019 so that wasn’t a true statement. Not sure if we are coming back. My aunt to to leave Thursday night with her camper a
Oct 29, 2019
always a great time at the KOA, don't like to additional $10.00 Resort Fee, or $20.00 lock in fee, I feel as a KOA member shouldn't have to pay, it should be a perk of being a member, not all KOA's charge these fees.
Oct 29, 2019
Every thing was very good
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
We usually love the KOA in Harpers Ferry. It is one of our favorite campsites. However our last stay over the weekend for Halloween was not the experience we are used to. On Friday and Saturday nights there were several campers that were blaring music and being rowdy after 10pm quiet time keeping our two year old awake. I would also like to see the campground out in WiFi.
Oct 29, 2019
I had three camping sites for all my children and grandchildren. Everyone had a wonderful time.
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
Arrived on a Thursday- it was very noisy until 2am, even though quiet hours were supposed to be from 10pm. Campground was very crowded as it was Halloween celebration. Probably perfect for families with kids, but not for us, as we were also charged for activities that we did not want to attend. Sunday night was the only night that was quiet enough for us to enjoy a fire.
Oct 29, 2019
Good stay. Sites are a little tight. Halloween weekend was nicely done. Restrooms we're clean. Our site had the remains of a tree that had been cut down and the stump ground out leaving a bit pile of debris right next tonthe fire pit. Grounds responded promptly to our request to clean it up. He removed three large tractor bucket fulls but left two.
Oct 29, 2019
We did not know that Halloween camping was a "thing." We couldn't believe all of the decorations and the atmosphere of the campground. While this is definitely not our kind of thing (at all), we still enjoyed the beautiful weather and majesty of God's creation. Fall camping is my favorite and Harper's Ferry KOA is one of the very best places to stay.
Oct 29, 2019
Not very helpful staff. Garbage overflowing. Fireplace full of garbage.
Oct 28, 2019
Love this camp ground very family friendly only draw back I did have ants in my cabin but can’t stop Mother Nature if you want a place where kids can be kids then welcome home
Oct 28, 2019
Oct 28, 2019
Had a wonderful time. Enjoyed the people and the camp grounds. There was lots fun things to do, and the lodging was great as well. We will be back! Thanks for everthing.
Oct 28, 2019
Our family enjoy this KOA! The staff are always friendly and helpful. The store had everything we needed, each time we remembered that we forgot something else LOL It’s a great place to vacation.
Oct 28, 2019
We reserved to come back next year. Great time.
Oct 28, 2019
Oct 28, 2019
They would not make return phone calls. We could NOT use our fire ring. They had uprooted a tree and left a pile of dirt that we had to "walk around". Fortunately we camped with family and we used their fire ring. It rained one day and this pile of dirt was really muddy!! They should have completed the job and cleaned it up, such as leveled it off.
Oct 28, 2019
Oct 27, 2019
There was s so much for the kids to do at the KOA as well as options locally.
Oct 27, 2019
It was a very pretty campgrounds. All the employees was very helpful and friendly. Only bad thing was everything was shut down during the week. Our kids couldn’t jump and the air pad that was closed down because they didn’t have enough people on staff during the week man the air pad. The coffee and wine shop was closed also. All In all we will be back.
Oct 27, 2019
Great facilities. Friendly staff. Coffee and wine bar onsite. Halloween activities were super fun. Campers who decorated go all out!
Oct 27, 2019
Oct 26, 2019
The campground was mostly empty except for the "permanent" people. The grounds were maintained fairly well although, one of the outbuildings appeared as though part of a roof may fall off. The price/s are VERY EXPENSIVE +.$10 per night xtra "RESORT" fee...AND, the only amenity available for use is the mini golf!!! Sites were okay, roads waaaaay too NARROW. Safety sacrificed for more sites/$
Oct 26, 2019
We like camping. We weren’t informed of the buy two get one free night. If we would’ve been we would’ve taken advantage of it. In addition we are coming back this up coming weekend and had to pay an extra $20 to reserve a site next to our family members who had previously made reservations. As a member we shouldn’t have to pay extra to reserve a particular site as sites are assigned ra
Nov 17, 2019
The campground was great, only down side was trying to leave it's quite difficult with a larger RV!
- corey stiles on Google
Nov 10, 2019
Always a great place for a weekend get away.
- Richard MacWilliams on Google
Nov 08, 2019
Very nice campground just outside of Harper's Ferry. All different kinds of sites, deluxe with concrete patios, full hookup with 50 amp, no hookups, cabins, and deluxe cabins. Does not have concrete pads, all are stone/gravel. Plenty of amenities on site for kids and adults including mini golf, pools, arcade, basketball, volleyball, playground, movie theater.
- Mark Swift on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.