Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Email

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 11, 2017
They did a really nice job on the Halloween decorations somethings need upgraded like the golf course need some work being done before someone trips and falls
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 11, 2017
Rocky campsites with no place to put tent donor does not overlap neighboring sites. We were harassed by our neighbors most of the night for having our tent overlapping into their site a small amount when they had a very small tent and only 2 people. They were so rude that half our party packed up and went home, because they didn't feel comfortable camping with such rude threatening people.
Oct 11, 2017
Would cautiously suggest it for a novice or inexperienced campers or campers with small children. Still not sure if the price is worth it compared to other campsites. I typically camp at state parks where sites are around 20/night. Also, the grounds can be very crowded though it seems like Monday thru Thursday might be okay during offseason.
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 11, 2017
There are two individuals who work the front desk that should be replaced. We wanted to book a cabin for next year, the only large one which could accommodate our group. As we were booking it, we told the guy at the desk to hold on a minute while we got a bag of ice ( 2 minutes at the most). When we came back to check out and pay for the cabin, he had rented it to the party behind us in line !!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have spoken about this issue. Sites and cabins are rented first come first serve. There was a lapse of more than 20 minutes when you left the store and returned to book the cabin you had inquired about. We cannot "hold" any site or cabin because you might want to book it later. We are glad you booked another weekend that was available, we will see you next year!
Oct 10, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
They need employees to take you to your camping site, had to return to the office to get different sites. camping site were too hard to find. Every thing else was good , I had a good time
Oct 10, 2017
Great stay. Great activities for the kids. Only complaint is the roads are tight.- making getting out difficult.
Oct 10, 2017
No issues with facilities. Staff was friendly. Sites were quite close together, but, we still had enough privacy. Only complaint is the price. For the cost of staying the night, the camping fee plus the "resort fee" was too high. It would most likely prevent me from wanting to stay there again.
Oct 10, 2017
Had a great time as per usual. Guests staying in bunk house kept trucking right through the middle of our camp site to get to the showers. They even touched stuff on our picnic table. The Water pressure in rest rooms near bunker house was very low but there were alot of people there. What happed to the bark park? All the fun stuff was missing. Kids had a great time!
Oct 10, 2017
Great stay! Loved all the activities that were planned for Halloween. Will definitely be back.
Oct 10, 2017
Been camping at this location for over 23 years and its always been my 1st choice. However the cost is much more which was shocking. I even had friends cancel their reservations due to the price hike.
Oct 10, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
I was pleasantly surprised to receive a bundle of firewood and tablecloth for my reservation. I had not ever received that before.
Oct 10, 2017
I used to camp here as a kid, there was a lot of space. We couldn't even park our truck properly. I just felt that it was very cramped & they have shut down a lot in town. My husband & I were both disappointed however we did enjoy ourselves. Also having cabins on top of the "playground" areas was a bit much especially for hours in the evening while we were trying to relax, to listen to screams.
Oct 10, 2017
We stayed for the zipline at river riders. Great stay and great ziplining. Also my granddaughter got to go trick or treating and had a great time.
Oct 10, 2017
Great location. Lot of amenities. Felt like I was being price gouged everywhere I turned. For one adult and 2 kids, I got slapped with an extra child fee (for a tent site). Seriously?? Also, this facility is clearly an RV Park first and foremost. The tents are an afterthought and pushed to the edges. Iâd rather stay in a quieter place more focused on camping in future stays.
Oct 10, 2017
All and all we had a good time, but the site felt a little cramped. Tents were too close together. The floor was very rocky and uneven so it was hard to put the tent together. Bathrooms were clean.
Oct 10, 2017
Had a wonderful time. First time using and staying in an RV and it couldn't have been easier. Great environment and plenty to do.
Oct 10, 2017
the campground was great and we really enjoyed our visit
Oct 10, 2017
We had a great time and WILL be returning.
Oct 10, 2017
Very good amenities. Showers/bathroom, sink station, nice, lots of fun for kids-playground, blob, free pancakes, etc...I didnât really like the actual tent area very much. It was pretty crowded and our spot wasnât nice (on a hill, all rocks). Fire rings and picnic tables were good. So this is a good spot for staying and doing family stuff but not so much for natural beauty. Local trails are gr
Oct 10, 2017
Your hidden fees made our 2 night stay go from $53 per night to almost $100. Never explained during us calling and making on-line reservations. Reservations for 3 campsites, asked could we be together, Answer "sure" were never told that "sure" was worth $20 per site.$10 per site for an additional "free night"..we did not use but were billed. called left message got no return call,,got me once.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

All of our additional fees are included in each quote and estimate. A first night deposit of these rates are required to make any reservation. Each of your deposits were around $70 per night.
Oct 10, 2017
Nice enough location. Not very good tent camping facilities. Tent camping was at the upper end of average prices to start with, but then there are ridiculous hidden extra fees that are normally included elsewhere: sneaky business and not very good value.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

All of our additional fees are included in each quote and estimate. A first night deposit of these rates are required to make any reservation.
Oct 09, 2017
Friendly helpful staff. Fun activities, great amenities i.e. Pancakes cable tv also the complimentary firewood and table cloth. l was disappointed with the WIFI it was so slow as to be unusable. Over all a nice weekend.
Oct 09, 2017
Was not pleased with some of the staff who appeared to be under the influence of drugs! At 1st morning Pancake breakfast, cashier appeared to be high!! Had trouble making change! That evening during the kids trick or treating - same employee was walking a dog, get in candy buckets which was for kid's!!! Sunday morning Pancake breakfast, employee was a no show! No register - no coffee or extas
Oct 09, 2017
Oct 09, 2017
Overall the campground was very nice and the staff very helpful.The biggest down side was the person next to us was a seasonal camper and she must feed the cats. There was cat crap all over the campsite and since we did not notice it since we came in at dusk, we had to clean our outdoor rug and pick up a bag full of cat crap.The other sites around were ok, only ours since we were right next to it
Oct 09, 2017
Oct 09, 2017
The staff is very friendly and we had a wonderful stay.
Oct 09, 2017
We stayed for 4 nights for our anniversary, everything was clean and accommodating and staff and guests were very friendly. Close to the park and Loudon County Wineries, and not that far of a drive to DC if you want to brave the traffic. Loved our 1st KOA stay here!!!
Oct 09, 2017
This place is way too crowded.
Oct 08, 2017
Oct 06, 2017
Very quite and peaceful...will be back next year !!!
Oct 05, 2017
We stayed a total of 3 nights. The staff was friendly and helpful and the grounds were well kept. We loved the closeness of the battlefields and accessibility. The downside was the bathrooms. The ladies lavatory was clean. The showers and men's lavatory left much to be desired. The showers, (walls/ceiling), were falling apart and there was mold. The men's toilets were dirty with waste left behind.
Oct 05, 2017
Oct 05, 2017
Camp sites are far too small and close to one another. Our picnic table was butted up against the next camper's septic disposal, we moved it, but only had a small area to move around in, so we were still in full view and very close. The $30 mandatory resort fee ($10 per day) seems to be a ridiculous imposition upon campers as we didn't use anything and this time of year the pool is closed anyway.
Oct 05, 2017
Our first stay at a KOA - we enjoyed friendly people, clean and accessible bathhouses/bathrooms, free pancakes, activities and amenities! We will return again!
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Oct 03, 2017
Loved the campground and all The activities Some Campsites very rough and rocky with crevacies from many years of rain water We loved our cabin Map not correct We thought 212 was next to k127-Not true There are two tent sites between Bathrooms clean Lots of showers Pancakes awesome Staff very personable I plan to bring my Girl Scouts to Camp next spring
Oct 03, 2017
Great campground with tons to do. Best store of any KOA we've been to (which is lots). Great game room and snack bar and the wine/coffee shop is really enjoyable. Only complaint is the sites are very cramped together with minimal separation and almost NO lawns for your door-side. Would be nice to reduce by a few sites to give more space.
Oct 03, 2017
Hello! We enjoyed that there were lots of fun things for the kids to do at this KOA. However, our tentsite, site 205, was NOT smooth- lots of rocks and acorns. For $56/night, it would be great if the tent site was on a place where it was already smooth- grass, perhaps? Also, the tables at the pancake hut were not cleaned between days and the bathroom in the activity building could have been clean
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
Love this campground... it is kid friendly and always some kind of activity going on... staff is so pleasent
Oct 03, 2017
First time at a KOA, i didn't like that i couldn't pre book a specific site, when we got there the campground was half empty and we were placed 5 feet from the toilets on a crappy site. I went to office and got us moved. I also didn't like a $10 activity fee, i have no children and didn't use anything there. I also didn't like a 11 am checkout,allothercampgrounds check out is 3. I won't book a

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It looks like you checked in at 2:36PM. If check out was at 3pm, you would have had to wait until 4 or 5 to check in. The previous guest would not have been gone. We do allow for sites to be guaranteed,there is a $20 fee to do so. We are sorry for any confusion.
Oct 02, 2017
Our stay itself was great. Staff was courteous and helpful. Campsites was roomy, clean, & level. Our problems developed several months earlier when we made reservations. The person on the other end of the phone had no idea what he was doing and didn't really care. Management finally straightened it out. Mini-golf course was deplorable 3 years ago and still is today.
Oct 02, 2017
Everyone at KOA was friendly, nice, and went out of their way to help with questions about the campgrounds and area attractions. Great pancake breakfast, clean facilities, bathrooms and showers. It was a great weekend for a large group of us that reserved several campsites. Thanks again KOA!
Oct 02, 2017
Easy in/out. Pull through site but no shade, not level front to back, fairly close to neighbor. Utilities fine. Laundry handy. Nice staff. No problem to stay an extra hour to make a repair. Clean CG with great location -- next to Harper's Ferry, not far to Antietam, Monocacy, Cedar Creek / Belle Grove, Shenandoah. Woke up to a barking dog and chickens each a.m., but would stay again.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals