Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA Reviews

Basecamp for the great outdoors!

Campground Reviews

Nov 12, 2019
Nov 12, 2019
It was a "Campgiving" weekend with friends! We enjoyed our stay so much that our group of 12 are planning on making KOA at Harpers Ferry a tradition!
Nov 12, 2019
It was EXTREMELY and uncomfortably crowded.... However, we got the best possible spot in the entire campground! A cute little cabin on the end up against the woodline, away from the chaos of all the other guests. It was quite wonderful. I loved the breakfast offered, but unfortunately it's only offered amidst an intense throng of people. The wine and coffee shop there was UNBELIEVABLE!!!
Nov 12, 2019
Cabin's heater was broken - they gave us a space heater but it didn't really do the trick. the Wi-Fi is horrendous. Camp store was out of stock of a lot of items. In the summer it might be a nice place, but after Nov 1 the place is a ghost town and it shows in the people working there.
Nov 12, 2019
Very nice, well maintained campground. I have stayed here several times.
Nov 12, 2019
We called to ask if they sold firewood before we got there. Left a message and never got a call back. Our 50 amp site we had issues with the power going out. Electric box was hot. So when we left we called to let them know to have maintenance check out the electric box. Site 38.
Nov 12, 2019
Lots of great activities for the kids, and we loved the pancake breakfasts! Super close to the National Park and Battlefields. My only complaint is that the sites are really jammed together and difficult to get into. We had a back in site (which in itself was great), but had to ask our neighbours in front to move their vehicle as we couldn't get in the spot.
Nov 12, 2019
We had a great time! First time to the campground, the staff was friendly and the sites were clean.
Nov 12, 2019
We live in central Maryland and were looking for a late fall getaway with our pop up camper. The Haprer's Ferry KOA was a perfect destination and was only an hour from home!
Nov 12, 2019
Wonderful site for a last minute overnight Thanks so much We will be back!
Nov 11, 2019
Great location and place.
Nov 11, 2019
The stay was nice enough. I had reserved 3 sites and had to cancel one on Thursday, the day before we were to arrive due to two medical emergencies affecting our friends. I realized there would be a penalty for late cancellation, but didn't think it would be the entire deposit - especially since the site was occupied by others when we arrived so the KOA made twice the money on the same site.
Nov 11, 2019
Nov 11, 2019
we had a great time and the staff was wonderful
Nov 11, 2019
Our cabin that I paid a lot of money to be in for two nights - didn't have working heat. They had to bring us heaters. A fuse blew - they had to come over for that, then in the middle of the night the toilet stopped working so had to open up and fix that. Just not an overall good weekend.
Nov 11, 2019
We had a great time! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Common areas and bath houses were always clean and stocked. The sites were spread out and for the most part it was quiet during quiet hours. Our spot was not even so it took a little leveling on our end to get it right, but next time we'll read the descriptions better and look for a level spot. Overall great trip!
Nov 11, 2019
As most of the amenities were not available I don't understand why we were charged the same rate as peak times. The cost to stay at this time of year should be at least a quarter less dollar amount. Very disappointing . I feel I deserve a partial refund. Also, leaf blowing should stop by 4pm and not disturb dinner hour. Our than that I enjoyed my stay at the KOA and in the general area.
Nov 11, 2019
Loved our stay, good site alot of people. Looking forward to next season of camping
Nov 11, 2019
The hot water at the lower bathhouse was not the greatest but overall everything was clean and staff were friendly.
Nov 11, 2019
For our first time staying in our new RV, it was fabulous!! Great accomodations, great people, great time!
Nov 11, 2019
Nov 11, 2019
Great stay at cabin. The cabins are heated. Clean. No bugs late fall camping. Best time to camp.
Nov 11, 2019
Nov 10, 2019
I had to change my dates and staff there made it very easy. Cabin was clean and comfortable.
Nov 10, 2019
Very helpful staff. Location was perfect for hiking. Need a ladder to do some repairs on the rv and staff brought one to us in minutes.
Nov 08, 2019
Clean, and well maintained, and great location. I will definitley stay here again.
Nov 08, 2019
Nov 08, 2019
Easy checkin. Friendly staff. Site 29 was level although the gravel needs to be smoothed. There were puddles at both the door to the rv and the car doors where the gravel had been pushed away, making it a little muddy at our site.
Nov 08, 2019
Beautiful, historical place, wish id had more than a night here
Nov 07, 2019
Great campground and great staff. I have been to this KOA 10 times and it keeps getting better. Hope to get back next year.
Nov 07, 2019
Site 162 was very disappointing. Not nearly large enough for our 5th wheel. Site 161 Water, Electric and sewer lines were too close to our trailer. We had to unhook the neighbors sewer line in order to get into the site. Otherwise we would have to run over it. Also, just noticed that my VIK membership discount was not applied. Usually love your camp but not this time.
Nov 07, 2019
Very nice and clean, great camp store, sites are tight in some areas but not all. Employees very helpful. Went in fall and was very pretty.
Nov 07, 2019
Wonderful area, beautiful surroundings. Unfortunately, found the camp store staff unpleasant. No smiles, poor information when checking in. Not very helpful with additional questions. The back in sites are very un-level, several with trees directly in the center of the sites or staggered inconveniently. The distance between a tree on our site and the electrical pole was a very tight squeeze.
Nov 07, 2019
Nov 07, 2019
Friendly staff, great location. Most sites are to close together. Lots of large group partiers as neighbors. Nice camp store. Enjoyed full hook up, wifi and laundry facility.
Nov 06, 2019
We had a good time, a lot of the 30 amp sites are narrow unless you are on the end. When we called and made our reservation we told them how big we were and that we had slides on both sides. The first site that we got was very narrow and we couldn't open the slides all the way. They were very accommodating and moved us to an end site so that we could have more room.
Nov 06, 2019
Nov 06, 2019
Overall, our stay was great. The only complaint I could make is that, in any 99% empty campground, we had neighbors in the cabin directly behind us. Even that would have been OK, but their fire ring was only a few feet from out back window. They were very polite, and tried to keep their conversations low, but it was a little tough to get our grandkids to sleep.
Nov 05, 2019
Nov 05, 2019
Great time only thing I find wrong with the campground are the roads are very narrow
Nov 05, 2019
Sight was clean and people were very friendly.
Nov 05, 2019
Always our go to KOA for a weekend getaway. Love this place
Nov 05, 2019
Fantastic! !!! We truly enjoyed every aspect of our stay. Friendly staff. Clean reatrooms and a lot of things to do. Location was perfect with shuttle to Harpers Ferry. We"ll ne nack!
Nov 05, 2019
The campground was very well kept. The kids enjoyed the activities.
Nov 05, 2019
We thoroughly enjoyed Halloween weekend festivities at the KOA. The wine tasting was great, too. I would definitely consider coming back again next year. My only negative feedback was the cost of the cabin- it was overpriced. I haven't stayed at this KOA during the year, so I don't know if the price was high because of the special weekend festivities or if it is that cost all year.
Nov 05, 2019
Had a 34' RV and was given a sight that had a big drop that my levelers wouldn't come out. We had to change sites at dark and was given a terrible one that was all mud. I know things happen but they should know what sites can handle a certain length.
Nov 05, 2019
Camp sites are way to small
Nov 04, 2019
Nov 04, 2019
We have stayed here several times and every stay has been perfect. This time the cabin refrigerator has blood in it, there was food and ants all around the bed as well as dirty socks and underwear at the side of the bed. There was also ALOT of trash (broken toys, cans etc) around the cabin. Not sure what changed but was very disappointed.
Nov 04, 2019
It was excellent we started a family camping trip last year and loved it here this year .We will be back it was 12 of us this year
Nov 10, 2019
Always a great place for a weekend get away.
- Richard MacWilliams on Google
Nov 08, 2019
Very nice campground just outside of Harper's Ferry. All different kinds of sites, deluxe with concrete patios, full hookup with 50 amp, no hookups, cabins, and deluxe cabins. Does not have concrete pads, all are stone/gravel. Plenty of amenities on site for kids and adults including mini golf, pools, arcade, basketball, volleyball, playground, movie theater.
- Mark Swift on Google
Nov 02, 2019
Our first RV camping experience happened here. The staff were great and the amenities were excellent. Its the only campground I know of that is also a battlefield. The gift shop was great also. This KOA is about a mile from Harpers Ferry town and right next door to the parking area for the historical park transit system. We will definitely return.
- only1kirk on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.