Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA Reviews

Start planning your summer escape!

Book Now
Jul 03, 2020
Jul 03, 2020
The grounds and employees were great. The RV sites were less than impressive. They weren’t supplied or kept up well.
Jul 02, 2020
I rented a dirty RV with a broken table. When bringing this the manager Jeff’s attention he asked if I felt it was unsafe, I responded that I did. He then threatened to cancel my reservation and stated he couldn’t rent to me as I felt unsafe-horrible customer service and quite manipulative. So rather than driving home 5 hours with two kids, I begged to keep my dirty RV with a broken table.
Jul 02, 2020
Jun 30, 2020
It was very nice there. The cabin was absolutely immaculate and well stocked with everything we needed. It would be nice if people were not working on the cabin during the stay. Also, you definitely need some shaded areas.
Jun 30, 2020
Awesome experience, great staff. Our new favorite spot, will definitely be back!
Jun 29, 2020
Jun 29, 2020
Jun 26, 2020
Jun 26, 2020
Jun 25, 2020
We rented a cabin & were very pleased with everything, but kind of surprised it didn't have a coffee pot. Very quiet and clean!!
Jun 24, 2020
We stayed in a tent and got flooded out by the winds and rain. KOA was wonderful in accommodating our switch to a camper, gave us a great deal. Not much going on related to quarantine, but still a lot of fun on the beach for the kids. ONLY complaint, no trash cans on the beach or anywhere off the beach. We had to carry our trash back to the site. We loved it there! Can't wait to come back!
Jun 23, 2020
We really enjoyed ourselves. The only downside was that the rv trailer we rented there always has a horrible stench due to the holding tanks for the black and grey water. We were told to empty it every couple of days, but I emptied it daily in hopes of it not smelling so bad inside the bathroom. We relied on using the bath house as a result so that we would have no reason to use our toilet.
Jun 23, 2020
We really enjoyed our self the staff was great and the other camper's were very nice. I hope that the pool will be open when we come back. The only thing is that Jack's spot is a little expensive. We will be back!
Jun 22, 2020
It was our first visit to cape charles & staying at a KOA! Could not have had a better experience. We loved everything!
Jun 22, 2020
It was awesome, so peaceful. See you soon.
Jun 19, 2020
Location great, especially for seafood and craft beer fans. And fishermen; fishing opportunities are amazing. Do yourself a favor and wait for the Wuhan panic to be over, as many amenities are closed like the pool and on-site diner. The vibe is very impersonal; not nearly as welcoming and friendly as other KOA's. We won't be back but if you're a beach aficionado this place is probably for you.
Jun 18, 2020
Very nice staff. Beautiful view from dog cabin. It rained lots but we enjoyed the stay. Only item you may consider at things are more normal post covid are vacuum dog fur from porch area and check bathroom. It was clean but there was black stuff at base of bathtub.
Jun 17, 2020
Wonderful! Staff very friendly and helpful. Never stayed in a rv before but enjoyed it. Had a great time.
Jun 17, 2020
I was very pleased with the accomodations for our stay. The cottage was clean and fairly well stocked. It amazed me everytime I put a trashbag by the street and it was picked up five minutes later! Our golf cart had mechanical issues and it was immediately traded for another. Front desk folks were friendly and competent. If Mother Nature had cooperated, it would have been perfect!! Thank you, Sara
Jun 15, 2020
We had a wonderful time that cabin we stayed in was clean and had a great view. I would recommend that a Cape Charles Guide is created and provide directions for check in and check out.
Jun 14, 2020
It was wonderful, we pass a exelent time, everything very clean, the bathrooms nice set
Jun 14, 2020
The one thing I did not care for was that my family and I found ticks on ourselves during our staying. While I know its camping some warning would have been appreciated.
Jun 13, 2020
Cabins were dirty, dishes stained with dried-up food, smelly toilet, mold all around, had to keep asking for clean towels, trash bags, and toilet paper. For close to $300 a night, I expected the basics, not exactly room service, but at least clean towels. Especially now with the spread of a very serious virus, they should have been extra clean. They should have also kept the RV's spaced apart.
Jun 11, 2020
Everything was great! Only complaint I would have is that the website said that our lodging was pet friendly but when we got there we were asked to either leave, take the dogs back home or stay in another pet friendly option. But when I showed the employee the website, he allowed us to stay. So would would urge the company to fix the website so there is no confusion anymore.
Jun 10, 2020
Campsite was advertised with pictures of a gas grill. Found upon arrival a charcoal grill. I think something like that needs to be clarified in your advertising. I did not bring charcoal or lighter fluid with me and you were out of charcoal in the camp store. Also you charged me more than you initially quoted me. Also quiet time for rowdy, partying neighbors was not enforced. Very disappointing!
Jun 10, 2020
Jun 10, 2020
Jun 09, 2020
We absolutely had such an amazing time here this past weekend. The weather was perfect, the staff was so helpful. The cabin we stayed in was clean, had all the amenities needed for a comfortable stay!!! We will be booking again.
Jun 03, 2020
The campground is a wide open parking lot so it doesn’t feel like your camping. The camper we rented was clean/well stocked but the beds were terrible, basically sleeping on a board. The beach area was a nice but it needs to be cleaned up. We requested to be moved due to very loud, all day music playing neighbors but was told no even though the camp ground was basically empty, very disappointing
Jun 03, 2020
Staff is very helpful and friendly, a couple of things needed to be restocked in the shop but not too big of a deal. The beds are too hard in our opinion and with the amount of black flies around and in the RV and the hard bed made sleeping a challenge. Overall though, we really enjoyed ourselves this time again.
Jun 03, 2020
A great place to escape all the stressors going in right now. Beautiful beach, friendly staff, and a great beach bar. Accommodations are clean and great fir families!!!
Jun 02, 2020
Lance was one heck of a guy. He was Neat-O. He was right on the money! Lent us a hand when we needed and gave us a ride back to our pimp tent.
Jun 01, 2020
Our favorite place to stay!
Jun 01, 2020
Beautiful camp site, great atmosphere. The RV bed was like a brick and I couldn't walk after sleeping on it for one day. The RV was NOT properly sanitized. I had to clean and sanitize everything. The sheets were stained and the stove was dirty as well. I was very annoyed when I arrived that the staff nor guests did not have on masks or observe social distancing. It was like COVID doesnt exist.
Jun 01, 2020
Loud music all around us day and night. It was a group of camp sites around us. Loud music, rude behavior. We were going to stay another night but it was too noisy. We came with another family and they tried to change sites only to be told none available due to maintenance issues. With the cheery "It's a nice day at Chesapeake Bay KOA, have fun". So insensitive.
Jun 01, 2020
We came here for our baby moon and stayed in the safari tents. We loved every minute of it! it was clean and the whole staff was helpful from beginning to end, Especially Lance who gave us tips on how we could get firewood when the the store ran out.We loved having the beach so close and the bar was great! Loved the food and will definitely be coming back once we have our baby.
May 31, 2020
May 31, 2020
We enjoyed our stay overall but had a bad experience with the ladies working the front desk. I purchased my stay online and they attempted to charge me an extra $100 in person for no reason along with a few other things that were just disappointing. Overall customer service should just be improved
May 29, 2020
We have stayed in the hotel, rented an RV and our most recent stay was in a cabin. In a time like now when cleanliness is so important, i was really dissatisfied to see how dirty the cabin was when we arrived. Also its the little details that matter, if we check in with 4 people then there should be enough towels etc to get through a day for 4 people w/o calling. Details and cleanliness are key.
May 29, 2020
Stayed in one of the cabins near the bay. Great location to get to bay, beach and the Jackspot. Met some wonder campers. Grounds were keep very nice and was very relaxing! All the staff were very nice and welcoming! Will be staying there again for sure!
May 29, 2020
The cabin should have been much cleaner. We spent an hour cleaning it ourselves when we got in. The sea shells around the cabins produce a foul odor which is problematic for sitting outside and sleeping at night.
May 29, 2020
We stayed in a safari tent from Sunday May 24-26. The safari tent worked well for us, although the screen zipper on the front of unit was broken. No real way to keep bugs out. Bath house was my main concern during COVID. I do not think either bath house was cleaned very often. Toilets clogged in both men and women. Needed to be cleaned much more often then usual. I did not see this.
May 28, 2020
May 26, 2020
This was our second time staying here and we had a pleasant visit. Check in process was smooth, never had any issues with the site we rented. Love the Jackspot, food and drinks are great. Beach wasnt too crowded. Also, we have 4 children and they really enjoyed doing the tye dye with Anna, she was very fun and patient when working with the kids.
May 26, 2020
May 25, 2020
Everything was perfect except the cleanliness of the RV. I figured it would be very clean since the campground had just opened and we were the first gests. But there was dog food on the floor and brown smudhe marks on the walls and seats. Not cool.
May 23, 2020
Staff was unfriendly & seemed bothered when we asked about things to do & restaurants in the area they would recommend. Never received a map of campground or checkout instructionns. The beach had trash & glass on it which was unsafe for children or dogs. Dog waste bin was overflowing & not emptied the entire week we were there. Air units filthy & blowing dirt on beds & no coffee maker to use.
May 20, 2020
Nov 10, 2019
Jun 27, 2020
Very good.
- eder correa on Google