Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA Reviews

Plan your escape today!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Aug 11, 2020
We arrived Thursday evening around 6, but didnt get to our campsite until 730. The first site we were taken to was occupied, guy goes back to office and comes back with a new tag for a new site, which was also taken!! Finally after a 3rd try we were put on a site that wasnt taken. Overpriced for what's there. Only good thing was the beach and the recreational lady, Anna. She was fantastic!
Aug 11, 2020
We rented an RV. We had our fur baby with us. The place was very dirty! The linens on the bed had hair on the sheets,bedspread had stains, the floors were dirty, storage areas had trash in them. Our last night the air conditioner broke. I spent 2 hours cleaning I brought my own supplies. I thought I would here from a manager I did not. Would not recommend this to anyone.
Aug 11, 2020
The location is beautiful and the bathhouses were clean. Pool was damaged from tropical storm unfortunately during our stay. Great campground but if using the RV rentals they were pretty beat up and a bit dirty. Otherwise a very fun location for families!
Aug 11, 2020
The location of the cabins are right near the beach, pool, and restaurant. This was all a plus along with the staff being friendly and attentive. However, on really hot days it’s better to just sit outside and enjoy the ocean breeze as the a/c didn’t work all the time. The cabin could also use a little paint. Also no individual grills so you should bring table top grill.
Aug 11, 2020
Aug 11, 2020
I have always enjoyed staying at Sunset KOA until this visit. The bathrooms were filthy, I told the office twice. They stayed dirty for 3 days after we arrived before someone cleaned them. This is unacceptable especially during Covid. The bathrooms should be cleaned at least once a day. In previous years this Campgroud was much cleaner.
Aug 11, 2020
We were put into a site that our camper did not fit on , and were asked to move midway through our stay . The bathrooms were not clean , showers were very dirty.
Aug 11, 2020
The registration process was not the best. No one told us that the pool was closed, we found out from other campers. Also, we were told to wait until someone escorted us to our spot. After about 10 minutes we parked ourselves and a little while later someone drove by in a golf cart laughing... obviously they were supposed to escort us. The campground itself was nice but probably not coming back.
Aug 11, 2020
Great location!
Aug 10, 2020
It was wonderful as always.
Aug 10, 2020
Family rented a RV site. Enjoyed the experience however we were disappointed because we couldn’t get a golf cart rental. Seems like with price of RV site golf cart should be included as well like the hotel packages. I kept checking in due to first come first serve, but I feel that there should be a list to keep track of who wanted one first. Disappointed that pool was closed too. Overall good.
Aug 10, 2020
Aug 10, 2020
It was wonderful except the pool was close.
Aug 10, 2020
Was very disappointed no pool was open. Also site was not mowed. For the price paid thought campground would be nicer. The access for the beach could have been maintained for the guests.
Aug 10, 2020
We always enjoy our stay. Clean friendly and love the beach access and jacksspot
Aug 10, 2020
Some of the staff were very unpleasant but not all. Only one person was doing check in, golf cart rentals and ringing up merchandise so the line was very long and took forever. Overall it seemed very unorganized and poorly run. The resort was nice and the beach was awesome. Golf cart rental was first come first serve, you were never guaranteed a chart and had to check multiple times a day.
Aug 10, 2020
Great time. We have stayed before. This time our site was a bit on the small side and was dissapointed the pool in the back wasn't open as we were hoping to use it this time but assuming something happened from the hurricane is why it was closed. Overall we love the campground. Enforcement of golf carts riding around playing loud music is not really handled.
Aug 10, 2020
Aug 10, 2020
Disfrute, lugar lind pero no habia bicicleta d agua, comio decian además no hay caritos d golf suficiente pues quise rentar uno cuando llegue y ya no hubo por los días. Ademas el rv estaba sucio, cafe en el counter, telas arañas, polvo y el baño muy pequeño. Las camas literas son más para niños y esi no se sabe hasta q lleg y eramos adultos y no se duerme bien los adultos. La piscina cer
Aug 10, 2020
Aug 09, 2020
the cabin was in serious need of a deep cleaning both inside and out.  There was dust and grime accumulated over a long period of time, including black finger prints on the refrigerator, sliding doors (interior and out) and in the bunk ladder and railing.  Outside the patio furniture was black and required wiping several times before you could even sit on it or use it without being covered in di
Aug 09, 2020
The setting is great but it's poorly managed. Same garbage was sitting around near the beach the entire week. Pool was rarely opened and was green. No control over people flying around dangerously on golf carts and there was no enforcement of mask wearing anywhere. Most employees didn't wear them even. Friends rented a cabin which whey cleaned themselves because it was filthy.
Aug 09, 2020
The “managers” in the office are straight rude. My golf cart was taken by another camper and I am the one that finally found it. Grass was all long and suites are insanely small. Plus found out the rates were jacked up yet no new amenities.
Aug 09, 2020
Checked in on Monday. Everything was so nice and clean. The staff were friendly. By Thursday the bath houses were disgusting and completely out of everything. We left on Friday morning. It is also a very crowded campground.
Aug 08, 2020
This is our third trip we’ve taken. First, our escort forgot about us. Finally,On the way to the site he was driving crazy. Asked him about it and he informed me “gonna flip this *itch today”. I believe with every year we go, the property gets less desirable. That said we live the location and the beach. We have talked about going back next year but have not made up our minds. 6 night
Aug 08, 2020
It think it could be better. The pool was not open unfortunately during this time. I REALLY think there should be some discretion on what flags are being flown out. There were confederate & nazi flags; definitely not patriotic. As a US Veteran & a family person this is NOT acceptable. Please please start monitoring this. Beach during low tide had boats too close to shoreline/pot smokers there.
Aug 08, 2020
Great campground and staff, we will definetely be back.
Aug 08, 2020
Our 3rd and last trip back to this campground. Very dirty, trash all over the ground, trash cans overflowing, bathhouses were dirty. And on top of it all a minor tropical storm kept the pool closed 3 1/2 days. Meanwhile workers rode around in golf carts the entire time texting and playing in their phones. Management needs better order with the staff.
Aug 08, 2020
Aug 08, 2020
Except for a tropical storm we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.
Aug 07, 2020
LOVE!!! THE BEST TIME!!
Aug 07, 2020
Everyone was courteous, friendly and helpful,
Aug 06, 2020
Aug 06, 2020
Good qualities: access to beach, pool good for kids, cabanas at pool, Jackspot on the beach Needs improvement: safety and rules for the pool (kids were doing dangerous actions at the pool) , campground and beach were littered with trash, front desk help had problems (ringing up merchandise, getting our request for campsite correct- this could have been central reservations, but needs to be fixed
Aug 06, 2020
Had a great time
Aug 05, 2020
Loved the location, beach and restaurant. I was very disappointed in the amount of trash on the beach and in the pool. Also, the maintenance staff zooming around on golf carts with their cell phones out, not paying attention to where they are going. For the costs per night, i was expecting a better maintained campground.
Aug 05, 2020
Had a great time, loved the dog beach, but the trash cans and litter pickup could use more attention; that's the only reason we rated 4 and not 5 stars
Aug 05, 2020
Aug 05, 2020
Had a great time even during these tuff times can’t wait to return when operating at 100%.
Aug 04, 2020
When we arrived our campsite was covered with dog food… Disgusting. For the amount of money that you charge, you should be cleaning that up before guests arrive. Our site was too short. The beach was beautiful.
Aug 04, 2020
I'm giving a 3 star because our campsite was really small for our 36 ft rig. It was extremely difficult to park our camper in such a small spot. We barely had any outdoor space and there was barely any room to park our truck. However, I loved the beach, the jackspot café and the pool. I would love to come again, but stay in a bigger site.
Aug 04, 2020
We enjoyed the cabin, but it was in need of a deep cleaning and repair. The walls are extremely dirty, blinds were broken, sheets and beds could use some updates. All and All we enjoyed our stay. Thanks,
Aug 04, 2020
It was an awesome first time stay. And the convenience of the dog park, beach, and store right on the property was my favorites
Aug 04, 2020
To rent a golf cart it was very hard! it took us 2 days to get someone’s attention, till a young lady took our mobile number and She called us with an availability within few ours, everyone else we talked to was dismissive or annoyed.! the gentleman man that escorted us to our spot was very pleasant. Overall we had a great time! Thank you
Aug 04, 2020
We loved it so much that we extended our stay. The beach was inviting and the grounds were clean. We will definitely come back!
Aug 04, 2020
Aug 04, 2020
Everything was outstanding. The campsite was clean, and everyone was friendly and helpful. We will be back soon.
Aug 04, 2020
We love the beach and the pool and camping here but the problem is the noise other campers make after 11:00 pm. I don't believe this campground has a quiet time. If it does, no one is there to enforce it. Also we tried to call the front desk sevel times with no answer, that's a problem when someone is supposed to be available at all times. Otherwise it's a great place.
Aug 04, 2020
Sites are very close. Golf carts were driven by children, and KOA staff drove very fast on them. Dog poop wasn't picked up.
Aug 04, 2020
Aug 06, 2020
Very nice place , clean restrooms, spacious environment, ample parking, fantastic bar and restaurant and a very nice beach . Nice when they have a band but really wish they did karaoke nights too , the trivia nights are fun as well so keep those coming.
- Mike Scott on Google