Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA Reviews

Book your fall escape today!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Oct 21, 2020
Absolutely wonderful!! The campground is laid out spaciously, the restroom and showers are spaced close by, there are Tent Rentals, as well as a beach. The restaurant is on the beach and they have a "Paw Beach" for dogs! The Dog Park is HUGE and our pup really enjoyed running in it. I would have loved to see some activities for the dogs in the dog park, tho.
Oct 21, 2020
The stay was okay however the camp site was in with a lot of people that stay for a long time and it was like we were on top of each other. There was lots of places that we could have been placed the cost to get there was $24.00 one way and if you have anything to break on your camper you have to pay another $14.00 one way to go get the parts. The campground is nice and well kept.
Oct 20, 2020
Loved the camper, loved the beach and water access. Halloween activities were fun. Only complaint was how poor the WiFi was. We all constantly had to reconnect and sign in.
Oct 20, 2020
Oct 20, 2020
Activities for kids that were safe to do. Nice relaxing stay. Very clean campground
Oct 20, 2020
Had an amazing time at this camp ground. Staff was super friendly and very helpful. Everyone at the site treated each other with dignity and respect, everyone spoke, waved, and greeted one another with a smile. The sites all seemed very level and easier to get in to get your vacation started. We really enjoyed the restaurant, 24hr shopping store, and not to mention the beach time! Thank you :)
Oct 20, 2020
This was our first KOA stay. Just one night. Next time we'll stay longer. It was clean, quiet and really well laid out. Chose weeknight to avoid weekend crowd. I imagine it's a popular spot!
Oct 20, 2020
Speed thru the campground needs help. To many kids for the speed including golf carts.
Oct 19, 2020
We love going to Cape Charles KOA. Relaxing place and beautiful sunsets. The only issue this last trip is that the staff needs to pay better attention to the bath houses. Do not believe they cleaned them in a couple of days.
Oct 19, 2020
Cabins heat was a mess, just saying. Security came to help, and he didnt wear a mask and seemed annoyed when I asked him to put a mask on in our cabin.
Oct 19, 2020
Enjoyed our stay in a rental camper except that the heat didnt workand our 2 year old did not sleep well because the camper got down to 59 degrees each night. Notified the desk when we realized the heat was not working. Maintenance was not available this time of night but staff came and verified we had no heat and offered more blankets. Stated maintenance would follow up next day but never did
Oct 19, 2020
The stay was great the first rv we got in the heat didnt work then the second one was great but had ants and the hot water goes out fast but over all it was good
Oct 19, 2020
Even though we got a rain day the stay was incredible! Stayed in the Safari tent and we will be back! Restrooms were very clean and staff was great! Wish there was a dishwashing station but it didn’t limit our enjoyment.
Oct 19, 2020
Oct 19, 2020
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. There have been a lot of improvements here during the October month of festivities. The new haunted house was awesome! Definitely will be back!
Oct 19, 2020
Staff is great. prices are rediculous thought we would give it a try going back to cherry stone next door
Oct 19, 2020
We had a great stay for our first time theee .We will be back again I’m sure thank you
Oct 19, 2020
Good morning. We did enjoy our stay. We found the campground clean and well equipped. We were impressed with someone leading us to our site AND help guide me into the space. Ray even called the office and secured us a better site.
Oct 19, 2020
A very disappointing KOA stay. From the check-in experience that was uninviting, the bathroom large trash can was overflowing, one toilet was plugged up and a mess and it was obvious that no one had cleaned the bathroom recently. This would ordinarily be bad enough without the Covid situation. The internet is advertised as "advanced" but was nearly impossible to use as it was off more than on.
Oct 19, 2020
The location is nice, with 2 beaches on the bay and beautiful sunsets. Also, the staff members were pleasant. Other services were sub-standard. The bathrooms were not very clean, and I never saw anyone tending them. We specifically changed our reservation from the state park (at HALF the price) to this KOA because WiFi and cable were provided, but neither worked properly. Will not return.
Oct 18, 2020
It was very nice and clean. We would have appreciated having WiFi service since work still must go on but apparently it wasn’t working. We were there a week. Each day we hoped it would be fixed but never had any luck. An employee told us it was down. ����
Oct 18, 2020
I have stayed at KOA's across the country, and this is one of the best. We stayed in a deluxe patio site and rented a cabin for family. The patio site was huge with plenty of chairs, a table, firepit, and large patio. The property has a beach, a restaurant at the beach, a resort style pool with a children's shallow splash area, two playgrounds, a place to clean fish, and on and on. Great KOA!
Oct 18, 2020
Great service and amazing beach!
Oct 16, 2020
The location is amazing. The employees are very helpful and friendly. The cabin was distrusting! The trash cans, linen, floors ect. I see a blow dryer touching a plunger. Mice under the house. Yuck! I think the place has tons of potential but I am really disappointed in the sanitary conditions. I won’t be back. Hope this helps.
Oct 16, 2020
Lovely and quiet early week 3 night stay. Your cabins are in need of a coat of paint and the kitchen utensils could use some upgrades. Overall, a nice experience! We will be back. This area is easy to reach but still feels like a million miles out of the way. Thank you!
Oct 15, 2020
Good stay again as we have experienced in the past. Only complaint I had this time is that we had the security officer telling us to quiet down on Fri night while we were very quiet to begin with sitting around a fire as a family, but yet Sat night, there was a party near us with people acting crazy, fighting, holding down on car horns at 4am, etc. Nothing seemed to be done about that.
Oct 15, 2020
Everything was fine .we stayed in a cabin the wy fi was very week had to go outside to get internet. But all went well.
Oct 15, 2020
Oct 14, 2020
Love the beach and love the Jackspot
Oct 14, 2020
Oct 14, 2020
NIce campground but was surprised by the condition of the bathrooms. clearly not serviced as often as need with COVID-19 around.
Oct 14, 2020
Oct 13, 2020
We understand that it was raining for most of the weekend. But there was nothing for the kids to do while they were at the KOA. Other than a pretty good haunted house, there were no golf carts available for renting even though there were tons of them sitting there. There was no activities scheduled or things to do for the kids like mini golf, mining or other activities.
Oct 13, 2020
We had a wonderful time site was nice would have been nice to have been given an agenda as to what time trick & treat was on Saturday also to have an emergency phone number to call for the disturbance we had 2 sites down didn't see a number to call in book or on receipt. All is was good weather could have been better but nothing you could do about that Looking forward to returning next year
Oct 13, 2020
We really liked staying there, however neighbors were permitted to encroach our spot with tents and cars. Played music loud into the night ie: midnight. Parked cars and walked through our camp site. There should have been more control.
Oct 13, 2020
Great staff and location. Activities kept our children occupied during rainy days.
Oct 13, 2020
Golf cart rental available, but not bike rentals. Did not understand this.
Oct 13, 2020
We had a wonderful time ... very friendly staff.. would recommend gravel on sites .. with amount of rain this past weekend it was muddy... also a pen washing station would me amazing idea
Oct 13, 2020
When I booked I asked for a specific site. Upon arriving I asked about the site since I was given a different one. I was advised that it was booked already for the weekend, problem was the site was empty for the entire weekend!! Do not know why when requesting a site, it cannot be arranged to have it. It would also been nice if the staff asked if I wanted to move if the other camper cancelled
Oct 13, 2020
The staff were very friendly. We loved the events that were planned.
Oct 13, 2020
The campground was nice. The beach is beautiful. The pools are beautiful. The campground was clean and so were the bath houses. Unfortunately it rained so we didn’t get to do a lot of the stuff we enjoy doing while camping. Hopefully we come back with better weather.
Oct 13, 2020
This was our first visit, and we will, definitely, be back. The customer service was fantastic and we loved this facility. The views, the restaurant. The spacing between RVs was great, too. We have been to other campgrounds where there was very little room between the RVS. Had a great time.
Oct 13, 2020
Came for Halloween festivities. Rain limited anything beyond trick or treat because of young child but had a blast!
Oct 13, 2020
This was our 2nd time visiting the Cape Charles KOA. We where invite by seasonal residence Kim & Dave. Because we enjoy our stay so much during our 1st visit, (July 2020) we decided to bring my son and his family, Plus my sister-N-law and her daughter. They rented one of Cape Charles KOA RV's which they enjoyed and now wishes to purchase an RV. This is a 5 star KOA and we will return.
Oct 13, 2020
Very nice koa. The beach was nice. Everyone was freindly on the staff. The food was great at Jackspot.
Oct 13, 2020
Oct 13, 2020
Wasn't able to do much it rained all weekend but I thought the place was great my dog enjoyed the beach and got to swim a little between the drops also I thought the dog park was great. Ordered from Jackpot one day was great we will be back for sure
Oct 13, 2020
This place is crowded, spots are on top of each other. The beach is nice though. We should have checked out the national forest instead.
Oct 12, 2020
Campground is amazing! Staff is very friendly. Cabin wasn’t the nicest place we have ever stayed, especially for the money. Comforter had stains, floors were very dirty, lots of dirt and marks on the walls.
Oct 12, 2020
Beautiful view. Nice beach. Great staff. Campsites are tiny and too close together. The place was crowded like Disney Land. Cabins are not designed for comfort, but for maximum capacity. This place was literally designed for maximum profit, not for camper enjoyment.
Oct 20, 2020
Gorgeous location right next to the beach. Jackspot restaurant right on the resort makes a convenient place to grab dinner. There is a paved biking tail across the road from the campground that we loved. Will definitely stop by again!
- Rhonda Martin on Google
Oct 09, 2020
My in-laws came into town and if this was a vacation spot for the beginning of October. It felt absolutely terrific. There was plenty to do. Even with my three babies🥰
- Aysha B on Google
Oct 05, 2020
One of the better KOAs we've stayed at. Bar and restaurant on the grounds, beach access, live music on the weekends and a helpful staff.
- Fred McCue on Google