Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA Reviews

Thanks for a great season! Book now for 2020!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Jul 28, 2019
Had a super time!!!!!! Rented for my family a Deluxe Cabin, RV site, King Suite And King Room. Everyone was happy with their accommodations. We all had a great time. The staff was just wonderful. So glad you honor the Armed Services with a discount. The only negative thing I can say is that many picinic tables need to be replaced. The campgrounds itself is extraordinarily clean. We will be back
Jul 28, 2019
Nice friendly staff. No shade for RV parts. Preference given to hotel guests. Didn’t use restrooms. Jackspot restaurant only partially operational due to air conditioning not working. Overall, decent place.
Jul 27, 2019
We loved it! Stayed 13 days and didn’t want to leave, if there spots available we would have stayed longer! Will be back again and again!
Jul 27, 2019
We had a great time during our mid week stay. Will certainly be back.
Jul 27, 2019
Gorgeous water, beach, facilities very clean. Nice place over all. I would have no probable returning to this site
Jul 26, 2019
One of the best campgrounds we have stayed at.
Jul 26, 2019
Jul 26, 2019
Spent a few days mid week. It was exactly what we were looking for! Great place on the bay!
Jul 25, 2019
It was amazing being so close to the beach & pool. The beach rentals were wonderful, the staff was great. Karaoke night was a HUGE hit for our teens. The hammock pavilion was a favorite. The cabin was constantly swarming with ants despite staff spraying the outside & one of our air conditioner units broke the last night & hardly any towel hooks & no door mat to control sand but we still rebooked!
Jul 25, 2019
Love the quiet family friendly environment!
Jul 25, 2019
we had a great stay, the staff at the campground were great ! we enjoyed the facilities especially the beach and the pool due to the 100 plus temps. we will definitely be back!!! Thanks, Glenn & Moe Ebaugh.
Jul 25, 2019
Have stayed at many KOA's during my years of camping and unfortunately, site I booked online did not say postage stamp size. May want to make it more clear what is being supplied on the site information pages. Had some rain and the place was flooded in a few spots...but that's nature. May want to look for remedies for the standing water in areas. Second stay at this campground and probably las
Jul 24, 2019
Enjoyed our stay. Family also had their campers. Hot days but the Bay & pools were a Great relief. Sunsets the best. We will all be Back
Jul 24, 2019
Great time. Love the beach. Our site was perfect
Jul 24, 2019
Jul 24, 2019
Jul 24, 2019
Jul 24, 2019
Been camping here many times. Staff is great. It was particularly crowded and very hot when we camped in July so it was difficult for staff to monitor and ensure cleanliness of bathrooms. That was disappointing! Campground was overcrowded with many very young children darting in and out of roads on bikes, scooters, playing ball etc. Hard to drive safely through the campground.
Jul 23, 2019
Jul 23, 2019
Great campground. Lots of things to do here. Everything was clean and the staff was great!
Jul 23, 2019
Large spaces and when the trees grow a little there will be great shade. The beach was incredible, we particularly liked the dog beach, our dog loved it. The staff was very friendly and helpful and kept the grounds and bathhouses very clean.
Jul 23, 2019
Restroom/bath house are showing a downward trend when it comes to cleanliness. Same with the main pools water quality. Doesn't appear folks are maintaining proper chemical levels as water was very cloudy this past weekend. Employees that we can in contact with were fantastic, helpful and friendly
Jul 23, 2019
Nice spot. Staff was the best. Beach clean.
Jul 23, 2019
Wifi was very difficult to connect to and stay connected to. Unnecessarily so. Bathrooms tended to get dirty quickly which is understandable, but keeping toilets clean and flushing should be a higher priority. Grounds keeping needs improvement. Beach was poorly maintained. Amenities were very nice and overall a good value. Overall, we enjoyed the experience very much and have booked again.
Jul 23, 2019
I love this resort, this was our second trip here and had a blast. It was during the heatwave and we pretty much spent all our time on the beach or in the pools.. We will be back again! The staff of the Jackspot was very accommodating when we rolled in after a 4.5 hr. drive and they were about to close but they made it happen and fed us and the four hungry teenagers with us. Much Appreciated!
Jul 23, 2019
Such a beautiful view Love it there!
Jul 23, 2019
It was a nice weekend
Jul 22, 2019
Horrible smell coming from bathroom inside camper. When I ask the front desk - was told that’s camping life. Horrible sewage smell by tents and outside bathrooms. Front desk people were not very friendly. Inside of camper not very clean in the bathroom.
Jul 22, 2019
Everyone was so courteous and professional. Lisa was such a pleasure to deal with when I booked. Loved the pool and the bay. Didn't need to leave for anything. Hopefully we'll be back next year.
Jul 22, 2019
A great location. The sites are small. The staff is friendly and helpful. The place is well kept and clean with nice pools and beach. The restaurant is too pricey. Of course we stayed during a heat wave that broke all records and their is no shade.
Jul 22, 2019
great place . could be more things for kids to do . ill be back
Jul 22, 2019
Great place to be during a heatwave! Enjoyed the big pool and beach, especially since we could walk really far into the water to just cool off. Our dog loved running in the water on the sandbar. The Jackspot restaurant and its friendly team is also great! Enjoyed drinks, 2 meals (way too out hot to grill or cook in our RV) and the live music during a beautiful sunset. Would absolutely stay again!
Jul 22, 2019
Great family campground! Enjoyed our stay.
Jul 22, 2019
The glamping tent was extremely hot and humid, so I was not able to sleep well. Moreover, there was a stench around the tent, because it is located very close to the sewage works and restrooms. There was a fan, but it is not enough to bear the heat. In light of these factors, the price of accommodation is set too high.
Jul 21, 2019
The Jackspot is very nice and the sites are fairly big and level.. The pools were nice however it was 95° and there were only 4 tables with umbrellas for a very large number of campers. The wifi was spotty at best. The beach is nice but should be raked off in the morning. For what little we used them the restrooms were relatively clean.
Jul 21, 2019
Jul 21, 2019
We love it! I think u could add a water slide and a bouncing pads would be great for kids! I dont think they should use weed eater in ur site and throw grass all over everything
Jul 21, 2019
Fun place for families. Kids were able to ride bikes all around the campground. Also recommend making a trip down to Cheriton. The beach is so nice and the little town is super cute!
Jul 21, 2019
Jul 20, 2019
The private beach was awesome. I would recommend raking it each morning to get rid of all the seaweed that builds up overnight to make it more comfortable and less fishy-smelling for the guests. The large pool was nice, but frustrating that it was closed for almost a whole day when it was 90+ degree weather. Campground is clean...very few organized activities for kids (bingo, crafts, etc)
Jul 20, 2019
Every part of it was great! Very friendly staff!
Jul 20, 2019
Clean place. Rv spots are roomy. Nice pool area. Improvement ideas would be a gentler access to beach. Possibly rentals of chairs and umbrellas on beach and the Sunshine radio needs more music choices and updated music. Same songs played each day over and over.
Jul 20, 2019
Very nice RV Park. Extremely friendly people. Bathroom spotless and had answer study questions I had. Also jackspot is winter food is good drinks are better. Nothing better than sitting by the beach having a few pops. Bring everything you need don't bother leaving once you get here.
Jul 19, 2019
Great campground with nice beach and pool. There were cabanas at the pool that were reserved for hotel guests. But often they went unused for days at a time while young families sweltered in the sun. Perhaps if they aren’t used by 1:00 campers could signup to use them? Or some other system. Maybe charge hotel guests a nominal fee like $10 so they are held for people who intend to use them.
Jul 19, 2019
what a great and beautiful park we loved that the pool was open until 10:00 and how beautiful to go to the beach and watch the sunset. The Ice cream shop was a plus with the heat. This was our first time there and we already booked our time for next year and we cannot wait.
Jul 19, 2019
The overall cleanliness is excellent. We planned on staying an entire week, but we left 3 days early. I told the clerk upon check out that we thought there was more to do as indicated on the website. She said, "OK you can leave whenever" I was disappointed she did not ask for more of a detailed reason. No lifeguards on duty and nobody to watch the out of control guests using the pool near beach.
Jul 19, 2019
Plenty to do. Very helpful staff. Need trees
Jul 18, 2019
Great campground.
Jul 18, 2019
Jul 18, 2019
We stayed in a slipjack site and it was perfect for us. Close to everything, yet quiet as well. Can't wait to visit again.
Nov 19, 2019
Can't wait to go back!
- Lori H on Google
Oct 31, 2019
Well run campground on the Chesapeake Bay.
- Elizabeth DelFranco on Google
Oct 23, 2019
Great views, great food, great staff!
- Martin Cohen on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.