Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA Reviews

Book a Stay During Our Halloween Weekends...If You Dare!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Jul 23, 2019
It was a nice weekend
Jul 22, 2019
Horrible smell coming from bathroom inside camper. When I ask the front desk - was told that’s camping life. Horrible sewage smell by tents and outside bathrooms. Front desk people were not very friendly. Inside of camper not very clean in the bathroom.
Jul 22, 2019
Everyone was so courteous and professional. Lisa was such a pleasure to deal with when I booked. Loved the pool and the bay. Didn't need to leave for anything. Hopefully we'll be back next year.
Jul 22, 2019
A great location. The sites are small. The staff is friendly and helpful. The place is well kept and clean with nice pools and beach. The restaurant is too pricey. Of course we stayed during a heat wave that broke all records and their is no shade.
Jul 22, 2019
great place . could be more things for kids to do . ill be back
Jul 22, 2019
Great place to be during a heatwave! Enjoyed the big pool and beach, especially since we could walk really far into the water to just cool off. Our dog loved running in the water on the sandbar. The Jackspot restaurant and its friendly team is also great! Enjoyed drinks, 2 meals (way too out hot to grill or cook in our RV) and the live music during a beautiful sunset. Would absolutely stay again!
Jul 22, 2019
Great family campground! Enjoyed our stay.
Jul 22, 2019
The glamping tent was extremely hot and humid, so I was not able to sleep well. Moreover, there was a stench around the tent, because it is located very close to the sewage works and restrooms. There was a fan, but it is not enough to bear the heat. In light of these factors, the price of accommodation is set too high.
Jul 21, 2019
The Jackspot is very nice and the sites are fairly big and level.. The pools were nice however it was 95° and there were only 4 tables with umbrellas for a very large number of campers. The wifi was spotty at best. The beach is nice but should be raked off in the morning. For what little we used them the restrooms were relatively clean.
Jul 21, 2019
Jul 21, 2019
We love it! I think u could add a water slide and a bouncing pads would be great for kids! I dont think they should use weed eater in ur site and throw grass all over everything
Jul 21, 2019
Fun place for families. Kids were able to ride bikes all around the campground. Also recommend making a trip down to Cheriton. The beach is so nice and the little town is super cute!
Jul 21, 2019
Jul 20, 2019
The private beach was awesome. I would recommend raking it each morning to get rid of all the seaweed that builds up overnight to make it more comfortable and less fishy-smelling for the guests. The large pool was nice, but frustrating that it was closed for almost a whole day when it was 90+ degree weather. Campground is clean...very few organized activities for kids (bingo, crafts, etc)
Jul 20, 2019
Every part of it was great! Very friendly staff!
Jul 20, 2019
Clean place. Rv spots are roomy. Nice pool area. Improvement ideas would be a gentler access to beach. Possibly rentals of chairs and umbrellas on beach and the Sunshine radio needs more music choices and updated music. Same songs played each day over and over.
Jul 20, 2019
Very nice RV Park. Extremely friendly people. Bathroom spotless and had answer study questions I had. Also jackspot is winter food is good drinks are better. Nothing better than sitting by the beach having a few pops. Bring everything you need don't bother leaving once you get here.
Jul 19, 2019
Great campground with nice beach and pool. There were cabanas at the pool that were reserved for hotel guests. But often they went unused for days at a time while young families sweltered in the sun. Perhaps if they aren’t used by 1:00 campers could signup to use them? Or some other system. Maybe charge hotel guests a nominal fee like $10 so they are held for people who intend to use them.
Jul 19, 2019
what a great and beautiful park we loved that the pool was open until 10:00 and how beautiful to go to the beach and watch the sunset. The Ice cream shop was a plus with the heat. This was our first time there and we already booked our time for next year and we cannot wait.
Jul 19, 2019
The overall cleanliness is excellent. We planned on staying an entire week, but we left 3 days early. I told the clerk upon check out that we thought there was more to do as indicated on the website. She said, "OK you can leave whenever" I was disappointed she did not ask for more of a detailed reason. No lifeguards on duty and nobody to watch the out of control guests using the pool near beach.
Jul 19, 2019
Plenty to do. Very helpful staff. Need trees
Jul 18, 2019
Great campground.
Jul 18, 2019
Jul 18, 2019
We stayed in a slipjack site and it was perfect for us. Close to everything, yet quiet as well. Can't wait to visit again.
Jul 18, 2019
Jul 18, 2019
Jul 17, 2019
This KOA is nice in the trees, but needs to be run better. All offices shutdown at 5 and 6 o'clock when others are open to til 11pm. Management needs to look at other KOA's and learn the ways of camping and having more things to during your stay. Other campers felt the same way C-
Jul 17, 2019
A very nice place very large open sites, but has a few drawbacks. There were lots of dead rotten fish (very smelly) and old rotten fish carcasses on the beach, several people in our party got fish bones stuck in their feet. The grass when we pulled in was very tall, tall as my calf. The pool up front was full of dead bugs it didn't appear that the pump was working.
Jul 16, 2019
Entrance and exit need to be greatly improved. Not convenient at all. Grass/weeds on sites needs to be cut more frequently.
Jul 16, 2019
This was the second time we camped at Cape Charles. The site was great, the beach, sunsets, bar and grill-all amazing. The only complaint I have is the new practice of reserving pool cabanas for hotel guests. These cabanas sat empty every day of our stay, while people at the pool were unable to sit in the shade. Since the hotel has its own pool, this seems discriminatory toward campers. Bad idea!
Jul 16, 2019
We stayed for 5 days in the campground and while we enjoyed our stay, our family was very discouraged by the apparent catering to the resort/hotel guests and will likely look into neighboring campgrounds on future visits to the Eastern Shore. The cabana reservations for hotel guests and not campground guests provided ZERO shade at the pool and they stayed empty all weekend!
Jul 16, 2019
Totally Awesome
Jul 16, 2019
Dogs were observed pooping on the beach, near the stairs. Bring back the dog beach. Cabanas were unavailable to campers and were mostly unused (7 of 9 vacant all day-7/12)by the families that KOA staff reserved them for, need a new system to reserve them. No umbrellas at the pool and very few tables. We had to bring our own umbrella to get any shade. Observed children under 16 driving golf carts.
Jul 16, 2019
THUMBS UP! :-) EVERYTHING WENT VERY WELL AND WE ABSOLUTELY ENJOYED IT VERY MUCH!
Jul 16, 2019
Lots of activities for the kids, awesome beach and pool area. Bathrooms always in good condition. Highly recommend this campground and we will be back next year. Just bring an easy up for shade!
Jul 16, 2019
Jul 16, 2019
Relaxing and quiet great staff
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
Awesome stay. Looking forward for another summer stay next year 2020.
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 14, 2019
Awesome view, great beach, amazing staff, can't wait to come back.
Jul 14, 2019
Jul 14, 2019
Loved the beach, waterfront, and Jackspot. Staff were all friendly. Great bathrooms. Stayed in deluxe patio site, which would be ideal if not facing opposite site and sharing the area. Suggest some of those sites and other pull throughs could be made into more private sites. Pool area was beautiful, but needs more lounge chairs and umbrellas
Jul 13, 2019
The beach and pool were awesome. Campground was quiet and very clean. Thought the bathrooms could use a little more attention. Overall it was amazing and would definitely return. Best sunset around!
Jul 13, 2019
Jul 12, 2019
Cottagers were great.
Jul 12, 2019
Had a great stay. It's a beautiful location and beach with lot's of well maintained amenities. We plan to go back.
Jul 12, 2019
Jul 11, 2019
This is a beautiful campground -- the waterfront amenities really make it special. We loved floating in the bay every day. The beach is lovely! The pool was clean and well maintained. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The only issues we had were with kids trashing the bathrooms, and it happened several times during our week there, to both men's and women's facilities, unfortunately.
Oct 07, 2019
Was a great Resort
- Angela Paquet on Google
Oct 07, 2019
We toured the campground. Very lovely spot on the bay.
- Eugenie Macfarlane on Google
Sep 30, 2019
Friendly staff, loved the Jackspot place for food and drinks. Gorgeous views, great beach, and pool was great too. Will definitely be back next year.
- Megan Tudge on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.