Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA Reviews

Book a Stay During Our Halloween Weekends...If You Dare!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Jul 18, 2019
Jul 18, 2019
We stayed in a slipjack site and it was perfect for us. Close to everything, yet quiet as well. Can't wait to visit again.
Jul 18, 2019
Jul 18, 2019
Jul 17, 2019
This KOA is nice in the trees, but needs to be run better. All offices shutdown at 5 and 6 o'clock when others are open to til 11pm. Management needs to look at other KOA's and learn the ways of camping and having more things to during your stay. Other campers felt the same way C-
Jul 17, 2019
A very nice place very large open sites, but has a few drawbacks. There were lots of dead rotten fish (very smelly) and old rotten fish carcasses on the beach, several people in our party got fish bones stuck in their feet. The grass when we pulled in was very tall, tall as my calf. The pool up front was full of dead bugs it didn't appear that the pump was working.
Jul 16, 2019
Entrance and exit need to be greatly improved. Not convenient at all. Grass/weeds on sites needs to be cut more frequently.
Jul 16, 2019
This was the second time we camped at Cape Charles. The site was great, the beach, sunsets, bar and grill-all amazing. The only complaint I have is the new practice of reserving pool cabanas for hotel guests. These cabanas sat empty every day of our stay, while people at the pool were unable to sit in the shade. Since the hotel has its own pool, this seems discriminatory toward campers. Bad idea!
Jul 16, 2019
We stayed for 5 days in the campground and while we enjoyed our stay, our family was very discouraged by the apparent catering to the resort/hotel guests and will likely look into neighboring campgrounds on future visits to the Eastern Shore. The cabana reservations for hotel guests and not campground guests provided ZERO shade at the pool and they stayed empty all weekend!
Jul 16, 2019
Totally Awesome
Jul 16, 2019
Dogs were observed pooping on the beach, near the stairs. Bring back the dog beach. Cabanas were unavailable to campers and were mostly unused (7 of 9 vacant all day-7/12)by the families that KOA staff reserved them for, need a new system to reserve them. No umbrellas at the pool and very few tables. We had to bring our own umbrella to get any shade. Observed children under 16 driving golf carts.
Jul 16, 2019
THUMBS UP! :-) EVERYTHING WENT VERY WELL AND WE ABSOLUTELY ENJOYED IT VERY MUCH!
Jul 16, 2019
Lots of activities for the kids, awesome beach and pool area. Bathrooms always in good condition. Highly recommend this campground and we will be back next year. Just bring an easy up for shade!
Jul 16, 2019
Jul 16, 2019
Relaxing and quiet great staff
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
Awesome stay. Looking forward for another summer stay next year 2020.
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 14, 2019
Awesome view, great beach, amazing staff, can't wait to come back.
Jul 14, 2019
Jul 14, 2019
Loved the beach, waterfront, and Jackspot. Staff were all friendly. Great bathrooms. Stayed in deluxe patio site, which would be ideal if not facing opposite site and sharing the area. Suggest some of those sites and other pull throughs could be made into more private sites. Pool area was beautiful, but needs more lounge chairs and umbrellas
Jul 13, 2019
The beach and pool were awesome. Campground was quiet and very clean. Thought the bathrooms could use a little more attention. Overall it was amazing and would definitely return. Best sunset around!
Jul 13, 2019
Jul 12, 2019
Cottagers were great.
Jul 12, 2019
Had a great stay. It's a beautiful location and beach with lot's of well maintained amenities. We plan to go back.
Jul 12, 2019
Jul 11, 2019
This is a beautiful campground -- the waterfront amenities really make it special. We loved floating in the bay every day. The beach is lovely! The pool was clean and well maintained. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The only issues we had were with kids trashing the bathrooms, and it happened several times during our week there, to both men's and women's facilities, unfortunately.
Jul 11, 2019
Jul 11, 2019
Outstanding camp ground! Great staff, great location, definitely headed back soon.
Jul 10, 2019
Out of all of the KOA’s we’ve stayed at, this one was by far the worst. The bathhouses were completely disgusting with gobs of hair all over the walls everyday, the pool was cloudy, green, FULL of hair, and black mold all over the pool. Most of staff was very unpleasant and seemed very irritable. The grass was pretty much dead and full of thistles making it impossible to be barefoot.
Jul 09, 2019
Great place to spend the 4th of July weekend at. All staff very nice. Clean bathrooms any the one by the pool is very cold!!
Jul 09, 2019
We had a great time. This is by far the best camp site I have ever been to. I will return every year.
Jul 09, 2019
Reservations need to learn their job, I'm a 33' 5th wheel, they had me listed as a 25' motorhome. They had the folks next to us were in a 40 plus 5th wheel backed into a site with power box, he was sticking into the road. They a better understanding of soze. On site people are fantastic
Jul 09, 2019
A few things I would like to see addressed before I return (which I will: 1. No smoking in the public areas. Nothing like walking down to the beach and have a waft of smoke blown right into my face. 2. Designated golf cart and bike areas. lease install some bike racks. 3. Resort fee, need to alert the client before making the reservations and not at check in. 4. Dogs in the pool? In the bathro
Jul 09, 2019
Jul 09, 2019
It was horrible
Jul 09, 2019
Campsite itself was fine. The pool was discusting, clearly not properly taken care of. Bathrooms were filthy. Laundry had broken machines and was also filthy.
Jul 09, 2019
First a SHOUT OUT to Lexi, Anna, and Raven! They were incredible with our children and their passion for people truly shined! Our only complaints would be that the rv spots were not level at all making it extremely hard to level our travel trailer. The other thing is that several times we used the bathroom facilities they were not very clean.
Jul 09, 2019
We really enjoyed our stay! We traveled from Ohio and stayed six nights. We enjoyed the pool and beach, the rental at the beach were a good price but were not always available . The Jackspot was in a great location and had great food. The staff in the camp store were always friendly and helpful. Our 9 year old can’t wait to come back!!
Jul 09, 2019
Everything was easy to get to. Everything was clean. Lance lead us to our site, helped backed in, and explained everything we needed to know... he was amazing! Everyone was friendly. The shop had lots of goodies. This stay well surpassed our expectations
Jul 08, 2019
Specific end site was requested on 8/20/2018 for 6/27/2019 thru 7/4/2019. I was told the site was “locked” When we arrived we had been put in an inside row. No one in the office could explain how it happened. This is NOT the type of service we have come to expect from KOA.
Jul 08, 2019
Next year your pricing is way to high. $180 a night I will not be coming back next year
Jul 08, 2019
It’s a shame really. We love the place and have stayed with you about 14 times in the last three seasons. The issue is your new pricing models. $200 per night next year over the 4th of July??? That’s insane. I just refuse to pay that for a dirt lot. Maybe others will pay but you have priced us out I am afraid.
Jul 08, 2019
They need to post signs to where the dog beach is and have families with dogs use that part of the beach instead of the dogs being everywhere on the beach.
Jul 08, 2019
Very nice camping experience. The fireworks show on the beach was just unbelievable . The bands they had at the jackspot were great. We have made reservations for next month !
Jul 08, 2019
Jul 08, 2019
This was our second year at the KOA. We stayed in a cabin last year and Safari Tent this past weekend. Both were amazing experiences. It is a very friendly environment overall. Our only downfall was the belief that sparklers were considered to be fireworks at our neighbors campsite. A fire is ok, but a child with a sparkler was not. Aside from this we are already planning for next year!!
Jul 08, 2019
Awesome place to stay. The beach was great, Jackspot has great food, watched the sun set at the bay everynight. Campsite was nice Brian even helped us figure out our cable situation. Thanks!
Jul 08, 2019
Facilities are nice and have great activities for campers. My only concern is campground was not very secured and anybody could gain access. As a camper you want to have secure grounds so you do at have to worry about theft of your items
Sep 04, 2019
I love the campground. Most of the lots are big and everyone is very pleasant. My only complaint is when my wife has called twice to pay in full , there seems to always be more owed when I get to the desk . If we want to pay in full shouldn't the fees and taxes be included? I think so
- James Binder on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.