Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA Reviews

Start planning your summer escape!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Jun 09, 2020
Great stay. Just wish pool had been open
Jun 09, 2020
AMAZING BEACH! PERFECT LOCATION. VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL STAFF!
Jun 09, 2020
We absolutely had such an amazing time here this past weekend. The weather was perfect, the staff was so helpful. The cabin we stayed in was clean, had all the amenities needed for a comfortable stay!!! We will be booking again.
Jun 09, 2020
Wonderful little beach, clean amenities and friendly staff.
Jun 08, 2020
Very nice stay, great location, clean, friendly
Jun 07, 2020
Couldn't have been nicer! Thank you
Jun 06, 2020
Beautiful location on Chesapeake Bay, great food at Jackspot and friendly staff
Jun 05, 2020
Great place to enjoy down time. The folks there are very friendly. We go a couple of times a year. Can’t wait to go back
Jun 05, 2020
Enjoyed a few nice days away from everything. The site is in a great location, is very well kept, and once open, the pool looks great. Due to the pandemic, the restaurant and club by the beach wasn’t open. It has a great patio though
Jun 05, 2020
First time here. Beautiful very clean bathroom and showers. And the beach was fantastic. Can't wait to bring the grandkids.
Jun 04, 2020
Enjoyed our stay. The staff was very nice and helpful !! A little disappointed that the quiet time was not enforced and the bathroom close to us was only cleaned once in 4 days, especially with covid-19. But otherwise time there was great !
Jun 04, 2020
We paid $165 for a deluxe patio site. We only stayed 1 night and had to pay in advance including taxes. When we checked in we were informed we owed another $5 for taxes. We showed our confirmation email that we paid the taxes, she said she didn't know but that we owed it. Our deluxe patio site was 3 feet from another patio. A couple with 3 kids and a Rottweiler. We couldn't be outside at all
Jun 04, 2020
We love Cape Charles KOA. Beautiful property and love the beach area. However, I must mention the fantastic staff. All of tHe ladies in the office/store (kudos to Karen from Jersey) were warm, friendly and all had a great personalities. They were a pleasure to deal with.
Jun 03, 2020
The worst ever at that location. With so many open sites you placed us next non RV owners in your rental campers. Renters don't know how to behave and only care of their enjoyment. We won't be going back and cancelled our future reservations.
Jun 03, 2020
Very relaxing
Jun 03, 2020
The campground is a wide open parking lot so it doesn’t feel like your camping. The camper we rented was clean/well stocked but the beds were terrible, basically sleeping on a board. The beach area was a nice but it needs to be cleaned up. We requested to be moved due to very loud, all day music playing neighbors but was told no even though the camp ground was basically empty, very disappointing
Jun 03, 2020
Very special thanks to Lance and Debby; Incredible costumer service, helpful, a standing ovation, thanks to them my family and I had a wonderful time. They deserve a raise!!!!!
Jun 03, 2020
Nice clean campground/resort. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We will stay there again.
Jun 03, 2020
Staff is very helpful and friendly, a couple of things needed to be restocked in the shop but not too big of a deal. The beds are too hard in our opinion and with the amount of black flies around and in the RV and the hard bed made sleeping a challenge. Overall though, we really enjoyed ourselves this time again.
Jun 03, 2020
A great place to escape all the stressors going in right now. Beautiful beach, friendly staff, and a great beach bar. Accommodations are clean and great fir families!!!
Jun 03, 2020
welcome to our koa resort....add the resort fee to the bill....by the way..pool and restaurant is closed...I only stayed 0ne night when passing by.....i'll be back when everything is open...
Jun 02, 2020
Jun 02, 2020
Our one night stay was very acceptable. However, the grounds and sites could use a little TLC [our site was uneven with dips and ridges, grass was so-so. Easy check-in procedures and all personnel we dealt with were very helpful.
Jun 02, 2020
Amazing place to stay. Staff are very friendly and helpful. HAve been coming here for 2 years now and will be coming back for many more years.
Jun 02, 2020
Very nice campground. It was very clean and staff was very nice and helpful. One negative was that I was charged an amenity fee of $4.99 per day. This fee was not apparent at the time of booking. Also, there were no amenities to charge for; pool was closed and all activities were canceled. I believe charging a fee like this is sneaky and just a way to nickle and dime customers.
Jun 02, 2020
Lance was one heck of a guy. He was Neat-O. He was right on the money! Lent us a hand when we needed and gave us a ride back to our pimp tent.
Jun 02, 2020
Lovely stay only reasons not 100% great are the following: 1) Store was not stocked on groceries. (blamed on Covid) 2) Pools not open again due to Covid Good things clean rest rooms, nice staff, great beach. (however I believe staff could have purchased groceries to sell at store, no eggs, no coffee, no creamer. Great dog park/wonderful dog beach. Didn't get a chance to go to Restaurant.
Jun 01, 2020
Jun 01, 2020
Jun 01, 2020
We went during COVID-19. Everything was very smooth and clean. I did ask for some coloring sheets that were offered and they were out. I also wish they could have worked out something for the chocolate lovers weekend events. I know the original plan wouldn't have worked but something else could have been fun or maybe let us know that there wouldn't be anything prior to coming.
Jun 01, 2020
Jun 01, 2020
Ran out of fire wood. Made us move sites and told us that the only available one was at the end of the lot . Other than management and scheduling issues the stay was nice.
Jun 01, 2020
Beautiful location and friendly staff will definitely be back in a few weeks.
Jun 01, 2020
Our favorite place to stay!
Jun 01, 2020
Beautiful camp site, great atmosphere. The RV bed was like a brick and I couldn't walk after sleeping on it for one day. The RV was NOT properly sanitized. I had to clean and sanitize everything. The sheets were stained and the stove was dirty as well. I was very annoyed when I arrived that the staff nor guests did not have on masks or observe social distancing. It was like COVID doesnt exist.
Jun 01, 2020
Loud music all around us day and night. It was a group of camp sites around us. Loud music, rude behavior. We were going to stay another night but it was too noisy. We came with another family and they tried to change sites only to be told none available due to maintenance issues. With the cheery "It's a nice day at Chesapeake Bay KOA, have fun". So insensitive.
Jun 01, 2020
Jun 01, 2020
Jun 01, 2020
Loved the dog beach!
Jun 01, 2020
We came here for our baby moon and stayed in the safari tents. We loved every minute of it! it was clean and the whole staff was helpful from beginning to end, Especially Lance who gave us tips on how we could get firewood when the the store ran out.We loved having the beach so close and the bar was great! Loved the food and will definitely be coming back once we have our baby.
Jun 01, 2020
Great stay great place
May 31, 2020
Very nice...very clean
May 31, 2020
This was are first time staying and we really loved it everyone was so friendly. We are even thinking about a permit spot there sometime in the near future
May 31, 2020
Escort was in a hurry, I was trying to make my backup adjustments, he was rushing me and being rude. I asked him to give me a moment a few times and he was just rushing me. Why I don't know not like anyone else was around. I didn't ask for backup assistance. I know how to handle my equipment.
May 31, 2020
May 31, 2020
Had the website had correct info on closed activities, another campground would've been chosen for our vacation. Absolutely nothing was open but the restaurant for 2 days for 4 hours. No water activity rentals etc. Such a disappointing stay for such a high price and long drive. Kiptopeke will have our business for future trips to the bay. Much cheaper for the same amenities.
May 31, 2020
We enjoyed our stay overall but had a bad experience with the ladies working the front desk. I purchased my stay online and they attempted to charge me an extra $100 in person for no reason along with a few other things that were just disappointing. Overall customer service should just be improved
May 30, 2020
Very convenient to have a designated host to help back me into my site! But due to Covid-19, most of the amenities were changed or closed but still the same price.
May 30, 2020
bathrooms dirty
May 30, 2020
Stayed during the pandemic. Pool closed. No activities. Staff were friendly. There was trash on the beach and out by the hammocks. The trash was there all week so that was disappointing. The food and drinks at the restaurant were very good but a little over priced. Overall great campground.
Jul 12, 2020
We rented an RV from this resort. All the staff we encountered were amazing and helpful. Bathhouses and showers were clean. Beautiful location on the beach. Pool area was nice. 24 hour convenience store on site. Golf cart rentals available, but they do sell out quickly. Would definitely recommend this resort to anyone.
- Robyn Queenan on Google
Jul 11, 2020
Very nice wish I had more time to enjoy
- Terry Shedrick on Google
Jul 10, 2020
Great place. We love it here.
- Paul Eurice on Google