Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA Reviews

Start planning your summer escape!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Jun 29, 2020
The managers were very rude and un accommodating
Jun 29, 2020
Jun 29, 2020
Jun 29, 2020
During the COVID 19, the stay was to be expected. I would have loved to see your camp sites sizes larger & planted tree locations a little better planned out. Also I would recommend a good phone # for direct communications to one of your staff , in an event of an emergency while in your camp grounds.
Jun 29, 2020
Awesome!
Jun 29, 2020
We had an amazing time! We booked the KOA patio site and loved having a pre-setup outdoor area to start enjoying right away. The beach was perfect four our 3 year old, especially at low tide. Staff was also friendly and helpful.
Jun 29, 2020
Manintance was helping to fixer water heater no problem thank you !!! Have a gooday
Jun 29, 2020
Smaller campground so it was quieter and only a quick walk to anywhere you wanted to go. Campsites were nice. The beach access was great and the beach itself was wonderful. The kids spent all day out there! We also watched the sunset over the bay and it was beautiful. We will definitely return in the future!
Jun 29, 2020
Too crowded and you allow young children to drive around there on golf carts like maniacs without pay parents somebody is going to definitely get hurt in that Park Plus Things foreclosed it doesn't offer much of anything other than the beach what you charge
Jun 29, 2020
Jun 28, 2020
Would’ve been nice for them to either discount our stay due to some amenities not being available or waive the “Resort” fee.
Jun 28, 2020
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jun 28, 2020
Charged resort fee when amenities not available. Lied and said they were renting kayaks when they weren't. Lied said they would put our 2 campsites together, when arrived told the computer picks sites they don't control it. Maintenance guy rude about our disabled friend not helping himself to get camper level. Never ever come here again.
Jun 28, 2020
Jun 28, 2020
Jun 28, 2020
We LOVED the campground - the staff were super friendly and the campground was well maintained. The Jackspot was intermittently open, which was awesome (and I totally understand the caution with which they operated with) and I highly recommend the pina coladas! The highlight of our evenings was going down to the beach to watch the INCREDIBLE sunsets! We'll be back for sure!
Jun 28, 2020
Camper didn’t fit in the site recommend by staff ( 15” off camper behind, front 1’ into the road). site covered in dog crap. Camp smelled of sewer, beach was the best part.
Jun 28, 2020
Jun 27, 2020
I was upset that no one was wearing face mask. There were large gatherings with no face mask.
Jun 27, 2020
We did not bring food as we planned to eat out nightly. Our jeep would not start and Ryan, employee, was most helpful but could not fix it. Consequently we had no food until Jackspot opened up on Wednesday (a day early).No shuttle service and store not open. The beach was wonderful and staff nice. We were not given any information when we checked in. Usually get that. We love Cape Charles KOA
Jun 27, 2020
Jun 27, 2020
The campground itself was good. Bathrooms were beautiful and very clean. Staff and Manager,Jeff Clark, were much less accommodating. Prior to our arrival, we received no less than 3 emails from the campground one even including sample checklists! None of the emails noted that most of the amenities, were closed! There was no additional discount either!
Jun 27, 2020
Given the restrictions from COVID-19 it was a nice week. I did not agree with charging an amnesties fee when they were all closed
Jun 27, 2020
Stay was great the only thing I didn't like was weak wifi and bad cell reception in the area
Jun 27, 2020
This campground is definitely geared toward RV camping. We were one of two tent campers during our stay, and the placement of the tent sites was poor. There was no shade whatsoever, so while the other RV campers were in their air-conditioned spaces we were having the sun beat down on us. There is a section in the campground that is lined with trees and would be better for tents.
Jun 27, 2020
Enjoyed the stay very, bathrooms extremely clean, will return for full experience, pools n Jackspot closed due to Covid-19. Only down side sites are tight. Locationof trees on sites difficult open side outs and awning, couldn't use our pop up canopy.
Jun 27, 2020
I would NEVER NEVER NEVER come back. Worst KOA in the WORLD!!!! Fireworks at night so bad my dog had to be drugged!!!!! Music, drugs and drinking until after midnight. No beach distancing with about three times the safe amount of kids and adults running around . Dogs on beach with no leach or clean-up. Hard to understand why this KOA has no safety or rules. Party hard and somebody will die...
Jun 27, 2020
Awesome place
Jun 26, 2020
Everything OK except left a phone message to the front desk and got no answer
Jun 26, 2020
Jun 26, 2020
I've stayed here the last three years it has been great. This Time started off with them putting me on the wrong sit. I was part of a group that was supposed to be together. I called two weeks prior to check on it and all was good. I Was told Tiffany was the only one who could help and she would not get up to talk to me. Was also over charged. I was able to move sites on Monday. No one ever apolog
Jun 26, 2020
We enjoyed the beach very much especially since we could bring our dog. The food was good at restaurants. Limited hours and pools and amenities closed I think a discount was appropriate but not provided. Bath rooms were hit or miss. I would come again when pool is open.
Jun 26, 2020
Even without the pool area, music and water sport rentals, we had a great time AS USUAL. The weather was great. The beach and water were perfect. Great bike ride trail across the street. The food and drinks were very good and the service didn’t miss a beat. Just a typical awesome stay Thank you for helping us feel normal while still dealing with COVID-19!! Please allow site reservations
Jun 26, 2020
We were there for three days before Jeff comes by our site and tells us to move one vehicle from the site, when we checked in we were told where to park 2 vehicles on the site. Other sites had 2 vehicles at them but Jeff said nothing to them. Jeff was rude, irrogant and very disrespectful to us. He was telling us to leave for 2 days so we left 1 day early. As long as he is there we won’t be back
Jun 26, 2020
Nice beach and beautiful sunsets. Paying full rate for limited amenities available was a downside.
Jun 26, 2020
We loved it here. Beautiful beach and swimming area. Sites were nice size.
Jun 26, 2020
Love this campground will comeback time after time.
Jun 26, 2020
The beach and trail had a lot of trash and no trashcan on the beach which would help prevent trash from going into the water. The few benches on the trail were broken as well as a lot of the fencing. It was nice that we were guided into the campsite after checking in. Trash was picked up from all campsites each morning.
Jun 26, 2020
Have had numerous people ask for the info on where I stayed I gave them all brochures Such an awesome hidden gem we found will definitely be back. If you have kids and dog this is the place to stay !
Jun 26, 2020
Great place to stay and relax!
Jun 26, 2020
Jun 25, 2020
Another great stay at Chesapeake KOA. Great facility, very well kept and friendly staff.
Jun 25, 2020
We rented a cabin & were very pleased with everything, but kind of surprised it didn't have a coffee pot. Very quiet and clean!!
Jun 25, 2020
Jun 25, 2020
Beach is wonderful, that's about it! Bathrooms are OK, but could be cleaned more often. Dryers were not working. We called the night before to see if we could get in and was told no, only to arrive the next day to a half empty campground. Office staff not very friendly. Store quite empty, not even essentials, which is somewhat understandable at this time, but the basics would've been nice!
Jun 25, 2020
Campground needs maintenance, quite a few broken things around campground. Bad storm lightning came in people still in the water no campground workers to warn people to get out of the water. Trash at the dog poop stations near beach not emptied.
Jun 25, 2020
Liked it well enough to reschedule from Myrtle Beach in August to come back to Cape Charles
Jun 24, 2020
We stayed in a tent and got flooded out by the winds and rain. KOA was wonderful in accommodating our switch to a camper, gave us a great deal. Not much going on related to quarantine, but still a lot of fun on the beach for the kids. ONLY complaint, no trash cans on the beach or anywhere off the beach. We had to carry our trash back to the site. We loved it there! Can't wait to come back!
Jun 24, 2020
Always a fantastic experience at this location!
Jun 23, 2020
great place! we come every year. The beach is wonderful, good food at the jackpot. Love the whole environment. couldn't be happier
Jul 12, 2020
We rented an RV from this resort. All the staff we encountered were amazing and helpful. Bathhouses and showers were clean. Beautiful location on the beach. Pool area was nice. 24 hour convenience store on site. Golf cart rentals available, but they do sell out quickly. Would definitely recommend this resort to anyone.
- Robyn Queenan on Google
Jul 11, 2020
Very nice wish I had more time to enjoy
- Terry Shedrick on Google
Jul 10, 2020
Great place. We love it here.
- Paul Eurice on Google