Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA Reviews

Thanks for a great season! Book now for 2020!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Sep 05, 2018
our stay was very nice. It was nice having water on site and steps to the tent. the restaurant on site was very handy. The people on site were very helpful and pleasant. However, I 1st attempted to make the reservation by phone. The woman I spoke to was very rude (8/28 3:00 pm). she told me there was nothing available and hung up on me. I was also surprised that we had to make the beds ourselves.
Sep 04, 2018
Resort is nice and amenities are above average but the sites are too small for this type of resort. More pull throughs and or concrete pads are needed along with a barrier between neighbors or just larger sites.
Sep 04, 2018
I enjoyed my visit. The campground was clean, the beach and pool were lovely, the Jackspot had wonderful food. My only complaint would be that my neighbor's set up lights on top of their truck to light the corn hole boards they put out in the road. They played loud music and played and talked loudly until after midnight. Complaints were made but nothing happened
Sep 04, 2018
We had a great time and so did our kids except our sons sandals and scooter was taken by another kid at some point. Luckily his sister wears the same size and he had another pair for.the remainder of our weekend
Sep 04, 2018
Need more amenities for kids and need more space... everyone is on top of each other.
Sep 04, 2018
The sites are wide enough and deep enough for you to live in and outside of your RV. All of the staff that worked Labor Day Weekend were superfriendly and helpful. The sights on the beach are priceless.
Sep 04, 2018
We were very surprised to see that the place was packed yet the beach and pool were not as crowded. Very Friendly and welcoming.
Sep 04, 2018
Nice campground with a great beach and restaurant on the beach. Sites are VERY close but many are big rig friendly. Fortunately, we were on the far outside row and had a few trees to give us a break from the sun. For any other sites, an easy up awning or an awning screen are a must to help knock down the blazing sun. No other trees around. Facilities were fine.
Sep 04, 2018
Beach is nice. Staff was helpful. Camp store is lousy. The cafe is a joke. Was impressed with the bath houses being clean with the amount of campers. Golf carts need to be policed better. Food was above average at the Jackspot. Sights are too crowded for my liking.
Sep 04, 2018
Great staff, very friendly! Clean, lots of activities- even tho we couldn’t find “Sunset Bluff” for the golf cart decorating parade�Ϧ Loved the atmosphere- can’t wait for the trees to grow for more shade!! Would definitely return!!
Sep 04, 2018
Great location. Beach awesome. Jackspot is a great hangout. Too many golf carts driving around. Hard to walk without getting run over. Can’t people walk?? Campground is not big enough to need a cart. Very annoying. At night I really thought I was about to be hit several times.
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 04, 2018
We have never camped at this location.We LOVED it. All the staff were awesome. I loved how pet friendly the resort is. The beach was awesome. We will be back and recommending the resort to others!! Only negative was the sites were a little small.We got there before all the other sites were be occupied so it wasn't a problem getting it.Might have been difficult if we were the last ones there.
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 04, 2018
After making reservations for site 708 0n June 25 TO BE WITH MY GROUP OF FRIENDS for LABOR DAY, upon arriving was told I was changed the nite before with no reason given. I was put on a site other end of road where my trailer tung was 4 feet in air. WHY. The rig put in my reservation was the same size as mine. Causing inconvenience on us. Will have to think twice before next reservation.
Sep 04, 2018
We really enjoyed it. It was our groups first time there and will NOT be the last. Staff is amazing and stayed on top the campground the entire stay. The beach and pool were both well maintained and enjoyable. Thank you to all involved. The Hairfield’s
Sep 04, 2018
The sites are very close if that was not bad enough there was a tree in the middle of the site so we could not put out the awning
Sep 04, 2018
First, I loved the check in process you had in place for such a busy weekend and gentleman that escorted me to my site was awesome! Thank you. Now the down side: For a KOA the playground was unacceptable and there was no jumping pillow. Activities were also much fewer than we had been accustomed to for a KOA. There were also several security concerns that I would be glad to discuss if interest
Sep 04, 2018
Safari tent was nice but too loud because of close proximity to pool/live music. Also too hot during the day. The fan did not do much to help. I’d recommend getting a better one.
Sep 04, 2018
Nice facility, great location, plenty of staff in those yellow KOA shirts! The canvas tent layouts were nice, but my only feedback is that noisy teens and inebriated adults frequently passed by our tent in early morning hours. How about restricting carts after midnight? or locate tents further back where carts can't pass?
Sep 04, 2018
Just a one night stay travelling from Maine to home in pawleys island s.c. Pool, beach, restaurant, campground all super Thanks, Jim and Amanda Daugherty
Sep 03, 2018
Sep 03, 2018
Great location for beach lovers. Lots of friendly people. Special mention of the seasonal campers. Some of the best people. Facilities were clean. Scheduled events though were non events not happenkng or being changed or moved with little information. Packed to the rafters but we honestly couldn't feel it. Seemed outright quiet at times. Jackspot was great place for the adults come evenings.
Sep 03, 2018
Had a awesome time even though lightning storm fried electronics in camper on first night. Staff was super friendly place was real clean. Only things I can complain about is people flying around on golf carts after midnight with music blasting and boats tied up right off beach where you swim they didn't need to be that close to swimming area!!!!
Sep 03, 2018
My wife, and I had a wonderful time, excellent location and the staff was terrific. A very friendly atmosphere to all; that was staying in the campground. We made friends and hope to come back next year.
Sep 03, 2018
Staff so very friendly and accommodating; campground is very clean Need to resolve parking and golf cart charging dilemma at the cottages Find it ridiculous that Jackspot does not have a telephone and that they do not serve iced tea! Steps to beach should be cleared of sand daily Great place to stay
Sep 03, 2018
Stay was good problem with site. Pool needs to be kept up with more
Sep 02, 2018
This was a very poor KOA the sites were tiny very unleveled no shad bathhouse was dirty the tolets were clogged people rideing around in golf carts all night long way to many sites for shuch a small place
Sep 02, 2018
I have contact the manager. I also spoke to her during my stay. The cabin was very dirty and I have taken pictures on my phone for verification. I told the manager and counter staff the second day. Manager had a wrong extension on her business card so I could not get an answer on her phone. The restaurant did not have the food on the website listed. Their was dog feces right outside my cabin
Sep 02, 2018
Sep 01, 2018
Sep 01, 2018
We rented a cottage. #732. We were upset that the steps into the cottage were NOT even. On Wednesday of our stay I tripped on the top step and was bed ridden the remainder of our stay! The bed sheets were NOT fitted and kept "creeping off". Only ONE roll of toilet paper was available. We had to go to the office to get trash bags. Our bedroom floor was covered with water from a rain storm. $325 ?
Sep 01, 2018
very plesant stay until the last night. There is always one camper to make it unplesant.. We paid for the deluxe site. New campers came in Friday. They were loud that night and left there outside tv on all night..Could not sleep that night.. Glad to leave next morning..
Sep 01, 2018
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Campground offered lots of amenities. Entire campground including the beach was clean and well maintained. Bathrooms and showers were clean with plenty of hot water. Our family had a great time and will definitely be returning. Thank you!
Sep 01, 2018
Great family vacation. We stayed for 6 nights. On our last day we were bothered by staff bc apparently THEY wrote the wrong site number on our parking tag. We were supposed to be 1 site over. That was in no way our fault, I’m unsure why they knocked on our door to ask us about it since our tag was clearly hanging in our truck & they could see it. But, we had a very nice time overall.
Sep 01, 2018
The campsite is so beautiful, clean and friendly that before leaving, we made a 4 day reservation for Sept, Love it!!!!
Sep 01, 2018
Average. Monday morning leaf blowung the pool, Tuesday morning they start to cut the lawns at 7am. ..after a long 15 hr drive to get there not nice to be making so much noise the first 2 mornings there. Other than the beach and the pool nothing else to do here. Recommend changing the music playing all day, same songs everyday get old
Sep 01, 2018
Aug 31, 2018
The golf carts speeding everywhere was a big bummer. Never once saw any employee remind the drivers of the speed limit. Also, not sure what could fix the beach area, but it was completely over ran by boats during our stay. I counted over 60 boats anchored! Those boats were full of people who came ashore to utilize the amenities I was paying for! And they were not very friendly about it either.
Aug 31, 2018
Aug 30, 2018
Glamping was great!! Clean and updated facilities. The grounds were also clean and maintained.
Aug 30, 2018
The room was not ready until 5:30. The walls and floorboards are dirty. The beds did not have sheets. The carbon monoxide detector went off and on starting at 6 am. I asked for a late check our in light of all of the problems and was given until 1pm. The cottages are awesome but will not be if housekeeping neglects their cleaning and painting. The pool and beach are perfect. More activities needed
Aug 29, 2018
We enjoyed our stay but there are a a few items I would like to point out. We were disappointed in the housekeeping service - or lack thereof - especially when it came to towels and toilet paper. For $300/night I would expect this service, especially when we requested it at the office on day three of our stay and we didn’t get the towels we requested. TP was requested each day.
Aug 29, 2018
We had a lovely time at the Cape Charles KOA. The facilities were clean, the sites were nice...just not a lot of shade. My only complaint would be the aggressive flies that liked to join us for meals...bring your bug spray!
Aug 29, 2018
Very relaxing.
Aug 28, 2018
Nice place, friendly staff, but no one to enforce rules! Kids driving golf carts ,drunks acting stupid on golf carts, Pitbulls that they say are not allowed. Even saw one camper that had seven dogs , beaches could of been keeped a lot cleaner ,lots of broken glass on the beach. saw the same pair of socks laying under a outside food table at the Jackspot restaurant for 8 days. smoking at the pool..
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
Had such a good time we stayed two extra nights.
Aug 28, 2018
We loved it! Beautiful! Stayed in the safari tent and would definitely stay again. Husband said the bathroom could have used a little TLC. Otherwise, very nice!
Oct 31, 2019
Well run campground on the Chesapeake Bay.
- Elizabeth DelFranco on Google
Oct 23, 2019
Great views, great food, great staff!
- Martin Cohen on Google
Oct 19, 2019
Good
- Julia Kellam on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.