Campground Reviews

Jul 20, 2021
Bathrooms were clean and store open 24 hours only good part. Check-in Staff was worthless/signage also unclear. I was handed a map told about a code I needed to access gate. I had to ask where my spot was from where I stood. Asked about the entertainment that was promoted on the website, no one knew a thing and directed me back to website, which was useless. Huge cost matches disappointment.
Jul 19, 2021
Our stay was nice as usual. If I could make one suggestion, it would be nice if the grass on the beach could be raked up each morning. We stay at another campground that does this and it doesn't take them long at all. I over heard other folks mention it last week as well. Other than that, it's our favorite place to camp and get away.
Jul 19, 2021
I thought the place was nice. One complaint is when we were at the restaurant we waited in line for 30 minutes for drinks and were told they couldn’t take orders because the bartender was backed up. Need to be better prepared for the crowd you have.
Jul 19, 2021
This was our 2nd trip to Chesapeake Bay KOA and we loved it. A long drive for us, but worth it. The staff are nice and helpful. The place is clean, trash is picked up every day or 2x/day. The beach was wonderful and clean. It is a nice experience and a very relaxing time. We will make this a regular trip for sure. Thank you. Until next time! The Prince’s.
Jul 19, 2021
Jul 19, 2021
My camp site was not mowed. The weeds were taller than my dogs. We enjoyed the pool and restaurant. There is not enough shade where we stayed. I’m glad we only booked 3 nights.
Jul 19, 2021
Location and setting are great. Staff were very polite- BUT, if you needed anything beyond the most basic service they were completely unhelpful. If you are going to do your own thing and don’t need anything from staff, you’ll be fine. Also- 5 of 8 machines in exercise room not working when we were there. :(
Jul 19, 2021
Always have fun great spot.
Jul 19, 2021
Campground is very nice. Very friendly staff. I could not give 5 stars due to the fact that boats are permitted into the swim area. On the Saturday of our stay, one of the boats felt the need to blast their music for over 7 hours. Some of the music was quite explicit and not for younger ears. Due to this, I would not recommend this KOA for campers with younger children.
Jul 19, 2021
Jul 19, 2021
First time at this campground. Loved everything about it. We will definitely be back.
Jul 19, 2021
The most relaxing weekend ever. Had a beach day on Saturday and a cool band Saturday night. The rest of the time we just chilled out. Found a bike trail across the highway, road 5 miles. Coming back in August.
Jul 19, 2021
Nice beach and pools. RV sites were very tight. Advertised weekend live music, but it was only 3 hours on Saturday. Bar/restaurant not staffed adequately for the amount of campers.
Jul 19, 2021
Was here two weeks ago and returned at my families request last weekend. Staff is pleasant and the campground is clean. Hope to come back soon.
Jul 19, 2021
We really enjoyed the amenities and everything was very clean throughout the campground. We rented 2 RV's and the outside lights didnt work on both of them so we were not able to sit outside in the evening like we had hoped. In one of the RV's, the bathroom door didnt shut so that was a little uncomfortable to ask everyone to go outside when someone needed to use it.
Jul 19, 2021
Jul 18, 2021
I would rate the campground higher, however there are some issues that dissappointed me and my family. First, the Jackspot was not open on Monday. Second, the ice cream services at the Main Office were not offered for most of our stay. Third, there appreared to be no activities for the kids at all. Fourth, the boats are allowed too close to waders. Designated areas should be defined.
Jul 18, 2021
Loved everything except for the broken arcade games and not having the ice cream shop opened every day. If the jackspot is affiliated with the koa, then the one waitress we had was terrible.
Jul 18, 2021
The campground is wonderful and we enjoyed our 2nd trip there however we feel the store could have been run better. Soooo much potential. When we inquired about the shuttle instead of saying “oh we are sorry we are not running at this time” we were asked “who said we have a shuttle?” When I said your website, I was told everything on that site is outdated. Hmmmm - maybe NOT what you sh
Jul 18, 2021
Overall great stay. The pools were smaller than expected. Most of the arcade games were broken. It would be nice if the playgrounds were covered. I also expected more things for kids like a jumping pillow or putt putt. The bathroom floors needed to be mopped, but overall they were kept clean.
Jul 18, 2021
Jul 18, 2021
The beach was actually really dirty and compared to the pictures online when looking it up to the actual place it’s nothing like the pictures! Was dissatisfied!
Jul 18, 2021
I’m not trying to be mean. Perhaps they’re short staffed, but our campsite could have been cleaned up prior to our arrival. There were cigarette butts, flies etc., the beach could also use daily maintenance. Jackspot is convenient but very overpriced. Pool was cloudy and dirty too. To stay a few days was fine; we were there for the local sites, but nothing really special here. It’s okay at b
Jul 18, 2021
Thank you for a lovely stay.
Jul 17, 2021
Need more trees!
Jul 17, 2021
Kind friendly staff. Garbage pick up was a nice thing to do. Need to know about things too do in the area without crossing over the bridge.
Jul 17, 2021
While my family and I found the campground a nice place to visit an stay. The rental RV (28) was in terrible condition. The AC unit had mold in an around it. There were exposed nails on the upper bunk. The USB plug was torn from the wall cabinet above the booth. When we arrived there were many flies in the RV. The linens that were provided were in trash bags just laid on the bunkhouse bed.
Jul 17, 2021
Need better communicate on available sites. I saw several pull through sites vacant. I would have paid the extra for pull through site. KOA staff was helpful and friendly! Loved the beach and cafe. Relaxing environment!
Jul 16, 2021
We had a big problem with our campsite this last stay. We were set up in the “Buddy” sites and 3 out of the 6 only had 30 Amp. service. We really had to practice power management and still were uncomfortable for a good portion of the time. There was a crew out working on the problem,but were unable to fix the issue while we were there. We could not come to a resolution with park management.
Jul 16, 2021
The weekend stay was nice and staff was very helpful. However the sites are very close to each other.
Jul 16, 2021
Paid for deluxe patio site. Put in site furthest away from beach with construction occurring directly behind our RV while other deluxe sites were empty during our stay. Grass was not cut on arrival and was almost knee high around patio at spots. Caught KOA employee spraying vegetation killer around the patio two days after arrival without telling us (we had dogs with us). Not worth the money.
Jul 16, 2021
Second stay at the Cape Charles KOA. Really enjoyed the proximity to the Chesapeake Bay. A few issues that came up during our stay: Grass was tall at the campsite. Electric at the site kept cutting off and on. WIFI was non-existent at the campsite. Beach amenities(Kayaks etc.) were only available during the weekend. Other than that it was fine.
Jul 16, 2021
Check in process was easy, had someone escort us to our site, which I always appreciate. The beach is great, shallow with some low waves. Sharp shells, so bring your water shoes! Nice big grassy dog park on the property, and dogs allowed on the beach which was fun. No problems or complaints while we were there.
Jul 16, 2021
The bathrooms were clean, we loved the pool and the beach access
Jul 16, 2021
El lugar me parece impresionante pero el servicio y atención al cliente y la limpieza del lugar son fatales no podía dormir en un lugar tan sucio y apestoso así que tuve que limpiarlo y lo dejé implacable y desinfectado el próximo huésped se sentirá feliz Habia fugas de agua en el lavadero el baño era asqueroso así que será poco probable que regrese
Jul 15, 2021
We had so much fun! The kids enjoyed all of the activities (tie die shirts, scavenger hunts, chocolate slip and slide, karaoke) The staff if very fun and entertaining. The campground is very clean and well kept. We enjoyed the WiFi, full hook up and cable tv.
Jul 15, 2021
Jul 15, 2021
No bike rentals. Only two washers were working and needed quarters only. Front desk had no change. Had to get $20 in quarters. Golf cart was not available till the day after arrival. Our RV Rental had the patio pushed towards the rear of the RV which means we walked in and out onto a sandpit. Our BBQ was a flattop on cinder blocks. Sent an email about trip and never heard back from GM.
Jul 15, 2021
Not a resort by any stretch of your imagination. Don't waste your time or money!!!!
Jul 15, 2021
My family of 3 had a great time staying in an on-site RV. There was plenty of things to do for the whole family. We love the pools, amenities, beach and The Jackspot. We can’t wait to plan another trip
Jul 14, 2021
3rd time I’m going in there. I know it’s not the campground’s fault, but this time there was a lots of dog’s poop without pick up. A kid pooped in the pool and it took forever to the staff take care of the problem. Some of the sites are way out of level, a friend’s bus had the leveling motor burned out because of that. I have made the reservation for next year and could not get the same
Jul 14, 2021
This review has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 14, 2021
Jul 14, 2021
We stayed in the campground, area was very clean, bath houses were always clean, the beach is beautiful! 6 nights, we had a wonderful, relaxing vacation!
Jul 14, 2021
We did not take advantage of all the facilities available, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.
Jul 14, 2021
Chesapeake KOA is an amazing campground. The water is very clean, the beach is big and the food is good. The people in the office are friendly. We love it and try to go twice a year. We have a 41 foot fifth wheel and stayed there July 7 to July 13. Susan S.
Jul 14, 2021
Great accommodations, friendly staff. Jackspot had great food and drinks. Beach was clean. Local town of Cape Charles offered additional activities. Booked again for next year.
Jul 14, 2021
Had a great time loved the beach everyone was friendly.
Jul 14, 2021
Loved the location, loved the bay, loved the pool, loved the restaurant! Everyone was so nice! I can’t wait to come back!!!
Jul 14, 2021
Loved it!!! Highly recommend. Has everything you could want. Beautiful place to stay. Will definitely be back!
Nov 14, 2021
It was our first time here, and was a windy November weekend. We rented a Deluxe pet-friendly cabin. I was honestly impressed by how clean and fresh smelling the cabin was. The rooms are small but very cozy and they come with linens, individual cooling/heating systems, and the master bedroom has its own TV. The kitchen was very well equipped and clean. It even had a hair dryer, towels and some toiletries in the bathroom. The view is amazing and we are looking forward to coming back next season.
- Ramona Ciorcila on Google
Nov 11, 2021
Nice Campground, very clean facilities. We rented a cabin and it was lacking in some items. Sleep 6 but only had Linens and dishware for 4. Also didn't have a frying pan or a spatula so it was difficult to make some of the meals that we had planned. Otherwise the cabin was very clean and the staff was very friendly. It was a quick walk to the beach and although it wasn't I'll deal whether the kids still had a great time. A couple of playgrounds also were entertaining for the kids. I would definitely recommend and we plan on coming back. We will be more prepared this time with extra stuff.
- April Ford on Google
Nov 07, 2021
First time here. Nice place and friendly staff. Was easy and comfortable.
- kimberly furino on Google