Campground Reviews

Jul 15, 2020
Booked side-by-side cabins, followed with 2 phone call confirmations, but separated once we got there. Cabins were trailer look alikes on the inside. Campsites on top of each other. Grounds very well maintained. Staff very cordial. Obviously, the main attraction, The Bay and it's beaches, were a wonderful experience. Cabins are perfectly placed close to the beaches.
Jul 15, 2020
we reserved our stay early with three other couples that we like to camp with. I was told by the reservation center that we had 4 sites in a block (217,218,302,303) in Pearl Point. When we checked in not only did we not have those sites, one of our group was not even in Pearl Point! When we asked how this happened the girl at the check in desk said they don't communicate with the Reservation Desk.
Jul 15, 2020
WE HAVE BEEN STAYING EVERY YEAR SINCE THE FIRST CAMPSITE OPENED..LOVED IT AND RECOMMENDED HIGHLY TO OUR FRIENDS BUT THIS YEAR THE PLACE IS RUN DOWN, NEEDS MAINTENANCE, FRONT DESK / STORE NEEDS BETTER FLOW, INSUFFICIENT STAFF AVAILABLE AND ABOVE ALL NOT BEING ABLE TO RESERVE A PARTICULAR SITE IS UNACCEPTABLE. UNLESS THINGS CHANGE WE WILL NOT BE COMING BACK. WHAT A SHAME BECAUSE CAMPING IS HOT NOW
Jul 15, 2020
We have stayed at this campground two times prior. We love the location. Due to the current situation I understand the new Jackspot hours but didn’t understand why they were not open for lunch at least on a Friday. The grass was not cut at our site when we arrived and by the time we left it was really long. Though not, KOA’s fault I did not care for people walking thru our site.
Jul 15, 2020
The sites are to close together. You need more golf carts. I could not reserve one and was mislead on when one would be available. You need a second sign on the gates for the dog park to say please close the gate. I found the gates open several times.
Jul 15, 2020
Our 3rd year coming here and we really like it. Very clean and every one is so nice. However it would be nice to be able to reserve a golf cart when you reserve a spot. Also needs steps built down to beach other than at restaurant. Hill is very steep and I burnt bottoms of my feet even with shoes on. Stairs would help. Think of the dogs too.
Jul 15, 2020
We loved it! We were in one of the blue sites...it was a little tight but we would come again.
Jul 15, 2020
Jul 15, 2020
First of all we love the campground. But....While we were there 7/9-7/14 my wife wanted to sit on a white bench on a hill at the beach to take a picture of the sunset. When she sat on it it flipped up in her direction and she fell about 5 feet to the ground and was injured and is still in alot of pain. When we reported it, the front office said we'd be receiving an "email". Not Happy
Jul 15, 2020
Jul 15, 2020
Jul 15, 2020
Very tight back in sites. Very expensive.$100 per night before any discounts! $177 for a pull through. Lady next to us did not want to move her car back 2 ft so we could access our site. She was here first... obviously not a nirmal RVer. Many sites appear to be for LONG term stay. Very junky area. Nothing to do out of camp for miles. Beach is okay. Staff were grumpy.
Jul 14, 2020
It was awesome. My family and friends loved the time we spent there....
Jul 14, 2020
My family and I had a great time. We enjoyed the campground and the amenities but our rooms were not so clean, very dirty.
Jul 14, 2020
Our initial site was too small for our RV, a 42 ft. fifth wheel. The front desk staff checked the availability of other sites, including ones in a higher price bracket, which was okay with us. She made a list and one of the hosts took my family to various sites via golf cart so we could personally pick the site we liked the best. This was phenomenal customer service.
Jul 14, 2020
Jul 14, 2020
Amazing camping at this location, clean premises and the staff were helpful and friendly. The only negative is that not every camper was compliant wth social distancing and mask wearing.
Jul 14, 2020
Jul 14, 2020
We rented an RV and a Patio site. The registration person was far less than friendly. The rented RV was filthy and came with about 50 flies upon arrival. We had to clean the RV from top to bottom and ask for clean bed linens. The patio site was okay except there was spilt food all in the grass area that our dogs and ants got into. Pool was challenging because of children allowed to rough house.
Jul 14, 2020
Overall happy with our stay. Have stayed there several times before and we understand everything is crazy with the pandemic and all. But we were wishing the grass was cut on the sites {ours and the vacant ones around us all had very tall grass (bugs!)}. Wind picked up out of nowhere on our last day and we lost an awning on our rv. The staff (Art especially) was very helpful and even took away the
Jul 14, 2020
Had a very nice time. The only issue I saw was the individuals who guided the campers in were not very helpful. We observed this continuous over the week.
Jul 14, 2020
Jul 14, 2020
Excellent
Jul 14, 2020
Our stay was great, however, we want to come back for another extended stay. Doesn’t look like accommodations are available. Aren’t any sites set aside for extended stays. Weekends are full while lots of sites stay vacant during the week. Makes sense to set aside a few slots for people who are willing to give you three or four straight weeks instead of just three days.
Jul 13, 2020
You need to post a channel guides with the campground map The workers trying to help back in trailers are not very good at backing campers in their sites.
Jul 13, 2020
When we arrived the cottage was extremely dirty. Filters in air conditioners are so full of gunk that it barely cools. We didn’t bring pots and pans because was supposed to be fully furnished but no one checks any of that because pans were unusable. Walls were completely covered in black hand prints. Rest of campground seemed fine just really disappointed with room.
Jul 13, 2020
Site was more adequate than expected, had enough room for family meals and fun. Distance to beach and pool was great. Loved Jackspot!
Jul 13, 2020
We absolutely enjoyed our first trip to KOA Cape Charles. The beach and pool were fantastic and love it has a little restaurant with outdoor seating by the water. Only downfall was the campground is tight so backing in a larger toy hauler was tricky, other then that, no complaints.
Jul 13, 2020
Too many sites, too close together. Quiet time not enforced which made it difficult to get my grandson to sleep, dog park too close to the road and on the opposite end of the park from the dog beach. Campground is not setup well.
Jul 13, 2020
The staff here were amazing. Any problems that arose, were fixed quickly and all questions were answered. Bath houses were clean. Pool was clean. The beach was beautiful and does get crowded at points, so go out early to secure your spot. We rented one the RV's on site and it was fine for our stay. They escort you to your rental and show you the in's/out's of the RV. We had a blast.
Jul 13, 2020
Wish the pool at the hotel was clean. I would have rather taken the kids to that one instead of the other one.
Jul 13, 2020
Excellent and friendly staff. Beach scenic and pleasant. Low rating for following: No enforcement of rules. Very young kids driving golf carts across other people's sites. Very limited hours of Jackspot and beach rentals. The horrible smell from the sewage treatment area throughout the park. People blocking up the beach by leaving tents up all week (usually empty). Areas in disrepair.
Jul 13, 2020
Nice campground with beautiful location. Very nice pool and sunbathing area! Park was clean and well kept.
Jul 13, 2020
Our first camping trip as a family and what a great choice! First, the website was easy to use. We were helped by very knowledgeable staff, given a guided tour into the facility and help backing into our spot. Proximity to the beach was excellent, the amenities (even given COVID 19 restrictions) were great. We loved the sunset views and super calm waves on the beaches!
Jul 13, 2020
Jul 13, 2020
Positives: Beautiful place nice staff clean bathrooms/houses sites level negatives: Pricey The sites were not groomed. High grass all around the hookups causing big ants to inhabit. Water hook up on my site was so close to the ground that I had a hard time getting my nozzle attached.
Jul 13, 2020
Jul 12, 2020
If I’m not mistaken, there are strict guidelines in VA for COVID safety and sanitization. This KOA followed little if any guidelines. When I brought it up to the front desk, specifically regarding bathroom cleaning and sanitization the response was “oh I know. We are short handed. We need to do a better job”. ABSOLUTELY UNACCEPTABLE! If you would like to call me 6106572431. If you care abou
Jul 12, 2020
Loved location, facilities and ability to have dog on beach. Didn’t love so many young unsupervised golf cart drivers at night
Jul 12, 2020
We rented an RV from KOA. It could have been cleaned a little better. But, the park, beach and pool area was clean. We were there mid-week, and it wasn't overcrowded. I would recommend that the schedule of amenities such as kayak rentals, Café, Restaurant be updated daily on the site, or through email,as some of these things did not open at all (Covid19 Restrictions).
Jul 12, 2020
nice place very accomadating staff but way over priced for camping
Jul 11, 2020
Atmosphere is awesome. Staff pleasant. Love the beach and the pool. One issue with another camper moving my stuff from the washer and out in a table wet that was my only negative. We visit this campground several times a year. We love it
Jul 11, 2020
Jul 11, 2020
The spot we stayed at had not been mowed. The weeds were long which brought bugs.
Jul 11, 2020
The grass hasn’t been cut the whole time I was here even after people leave. Their are 8 and 10 year olds driving golf carts almost running into people walking or parked cars in the 4 years we’ve been coming this has been the worst!
Jul 11, 2020
The size of the beach is very appealing, however, there is lots of grass that washes up and stays and we even found a dead seagull one morning that washed up. Also, the mens and womens bathhouses, specifically the toilets, were constantly dirty/messy (for lack of a better term).
Jul 11, 2020
It was a very busy weekend during these trying times. The site I was given was not suitable for my motorhome and I was given another one that worked out perfectly. The outdoor deck and beach were enjoyed by everyone. The employees were so helpful and went out of their way to accommodate all of us. I have stayed here before and always plan on staying when I travel up and down the east coast!
Jul 11, 2020
Campground was great. Amenities adequate although not all open due to pandemic. Nothing else to do close by as I like to get out and about. Not a big fan of the beach there. Cancelled my last night a couple days prior with no refund not sure if that’s the rules as they’re not really clear. Probably be my only stay at this campground.
Jul 11, 2020
The grounds were spacious and thought the pool area was clean. The beach needed more cleaning- there were cigarettes and trash in the sand every day. Our site was pretty uneven. On our final night, we were walking our dog near the seasonal rentals. Our dog went to the bathroom directly on the rocks near the road, which we picked up. A gentleman came from a camper across the road and yelled at us.
Jul 10, 2020
We loved the location of cabin 735. We will be back!
Nov 28, 2020
Very accommodating awesome Place friendly people badass sunset
- James Conklin on Google
Nov 05, 2020
Nice and clean facilities. Of course we are some of about 15 other campers here. Like a ghost town. It could be the time of year, but I feel the beach area could be kept up a little better. Sites are small but have everything we need. It would be tight if the place had more campers. Would come back a see what it's like in peak season.
- Frank Sigismondi on Google