Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA Reviews

Save on a Stay in an RV Rental!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Aug 29, 2018
We enjoyed our stay but there are a a few items I would like to point out. We were disappointed in the housekeeping service - or lack thereof - especially when it came to towels and toilet paper. For $300/night I would expect this service, especially when we requested it at the office on day three of our stay and we didn’t get the towels we requested. TP was requested each day.
Aug 29, 2018
We had a lovely time at the Cape Charles KOA. The facilities were clean, the sites were nice...just not a lot of shade. My only complaint would be the aggressive flies that liked to join us for meals...bring your bug spray!
Aug 29, 2018
Very relaxing.
Aug 28, 2018
Nice place, friendly staff, but no one to enforce rules! Kids driving golf carts ,drunks acting stupid on golf carts, Pitbulls that they say are not allowed. Even saw one camper that had seven dogs , beaches could of been keeped a lot cleaner ,lots of broken glass on the beach. saw the same pair of socks laying under a outside food table at the Jackspot restaurant for 8 days. smoking at the pool..
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
Had such a good time we stayed two extra nights.
Aug 28, 2018
We loved it! Beautiful! Stayed in the safari tent and would definitely stay again. Husband said the bathroom could have used a little TLC. Otherwise, very nice!
Aug 28, 2018
Very clean and helpful
Aug 28, 2018
Best KOA
Aug 28, 2018
All of the staff were pleasant and the campground grounds were well kept, but the bathhouse was a disaster and Jackspot was a huge disappointment. I ordered the "hand breaded chicken sandwich" only to be served 4 frozen chicken fingers on a bun. Plus, I waited more than an hour for my food. It was a beautiful view, though. I don't know that we would head back to this location.
Aug 28, 2018
well kept campground with a great staff. Thanks for a great stay can't wait to get back !!!
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
Probably one of the best RV sites we have stayed at so far. Clean restrooms, clean park and very clean beach area. The staff/personnel are very friendly and accommodating. Grover in particular should be acknowledged for his customer service and friendly and uplifting attitude. Grover was there to give me directions to back our camper in and he also drove and gave great tips about Cape Charles.
Aug 27, 2018
The site was excellent, so much so we have booked again for 2019 on the same site.
Aug 27, 2018
We really enjoyed our week long stay. The staff were all very nice and extremely helpful. The bathrooms were all very clean. Can’t wait to return again soon.
Aug 27, 2018
Loved our stay at the campground. The entire family was pleased. For those unfamiliar with the area, familiarize yourself with the somewhat steep toll road (consisting of 2 tunnels and 3 bridges) to get to the campground if you’re coming from VA Beach direction. Sites could use some new gras planted and I wish the site didn’t slope as strongly to the road, making leveling of the RV easier.
Aug 27, 2018
VERY COMFORTABLE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME
Aug 27, 2018
We really enjoyed our stay and probably will come back next summer. Really like the music, the beach and pools. the bathhouses were some of the cleanest we have seen. We just wish there was more activities for kids and families to take part in.
Aug 27, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
The new cabanas at the pool are a game changer! They were perfect for our family. Nice addition!
Aug 27, 2018
Nice place wish for a little more shade trees, insect's not as bad as I thought it would be going off other reviews.
Aug 27, 2018
Aug 26, 2018
Everything was great and we had a blast. Only complaints are with the bathhouses which were often out of toilet paper, paper towels and the showers were always slimy and in need of a cleaning.
Aug 26, 2018
Loved pool area and bay access. Only thing that would enhance stay would be a better access to launch kayak or paddle board
Aug 26, 2018
Lots of fun had by all... definitely coming back
Aug 26, 2018
We had a great time. Interesting area. The only down side to me was getting there. Through the tunnel.
Aug 26, 2018
Great facility with very helpful staff. We will be back. One of our new favorite campgrounds.
Aug 25, 2018
We enjoyed our stay but don’t rent jet skis from Posidon Sports that there on the beech. I had a bad experience of being stranded and had to radio the coast guard for help and the owner Ray was very displeased that I radioed the coast guard and demanded extra money from me which I refuse to pay. Other than that it’s a great location but the weather can get very stormy in August so be careful.
Aug 25, 2018
We were overall satisfied with the campground with the exception of the shuttle service advertised online and in the brochure at check in. Although we were able to get a shuttle into town one day after my husband went to the front desk in person as we were told there was no driver available when we called, we called a couple days later and were told again there was no driver available
Aug 25, 2018
Aug 24, 2018
Had another good stay. Only issue was that the bathrooms could have used some more frequent cleaning.
Aug 24, 2018
this koa is great never have to leave campground!!!
Aug 23, 2018
The campground is nice, my family and I stayed in safari tents which was a different experience. It was a nice size but way to hot wouldn’t recommend staying in one during the peak of summer, would suggest staying in spring when the nights get really cool and if you turn the fan on it’s still comfortable. Other than that the place, and customer service was good.
Aug 22, 2018
Aug 22, 2018
Our stay was great! The campsite itself was well lit and well maintained. The beach access was second to none; sunsets were gorgeous, and we were able to rent kayaks and jet skis right on the beach. The pool was a wonderful respite and the cabanas offered shade when needed. My only suggestion would be not to cluster the RVs/trailers so closely together (back to back) when the campsite is not ful
Aug 22, 2018
The stay was average. It felt like an average camp site that they just stuck the KOA name on and didn't do anything to make it special. The cherrystone campgrounds down the street is so much better that I don't see the point of staying at this KOA again. I think adding mini golf, a bounce pillow and other kid friendly activities would be a good start to help you compete with other camp grounds.
Aug 22, 2018
Too crowded and very close to each other. Laundry room near beach was super dirty, no one was sent to clean after a call to front desk.
Aug 22, 2018
We were only there for one night. Beautiful place. I like that you like dogs. Great place to eat on the beach.
Aug 21, 2018
We love this campground and the beach. We will continue to camp here in the future. We were very disappointed with the lack of cleaning to the laundry room. The trash was beyond overflowing, the folding table was filthy and the floors were very dirty. It seems the grass is cut by an outside contractor that came in the middle of the week. So our site had grass about 4 inches tall when we checked in
Aug 21, 2018
Me ,my wife,my brother and his wife were there on two sites.We were there from an earlier reservation we could not use .It had a wristband you needed to buy but our new date did not .I do not think we should have had to pay 100.00 for bands we did not get!!!!!!!!!!!
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 21, 2018
We had a wonderful time. Our dog enjoyed the paws beach and we will be returning next year just for our dog to have a good time. The restaurant Jackspot had delicious food.the cottages were clean and comfortable.
Aug 21, 2018
Had an amazing stay, grounds, office, pool and gym are very clean. My only issue is I wish there were more shade throughout the park.
Aug 21, 2018
Rates are to high. Nothing else in the area to do. Nice facility. Food good at Jackspot but limited. Overall would rate stay as vert good.
Aug 21, 2018
Great campground, lots of activities and extremely pleasant staff. Thanks you for a relaxing long weekend. Be back soon.
Aug 21, 2018
It might be fun if you offered more activities such as mini-golf, shuffleboard, horseshoes. Otherwise it is a great place and we are looking forward to our next trip.
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 21, 2018
Jul 20, 2019
You make this place what you want.
- Lisa Becker on Google
Jul 20, 2019
Very nice enjoyable place.
- pmarmugam pmarmugam on Google