Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA Reviews

Summer Safari Special | Stay in a safari tent for only $99 weekdays!

Learn More

Campground Reviews

Sep 04, 2018
The sites are very close if that was not bad enough there was a tree in the middle of the site so we could not put out the awning
Sep 04, 2018
First, I loved the check in process you had in place for such a busy weekend and gentleman that escorted me to my site was awesome! Thank you. Now the down side: For a KOA the playground was unacceptable and there was no jumping pillow. Activities were also much fewer than we had been accustomed to for a KOA. There were also several security concerns that I would be glad to discuss if interest
Sep 04, 2018
Safari tent was nice but too loud because of close proximity to pool/live music. Also too hot during the day. The fan did not do much to help. I’d recommend getting a better one.
Sep 04, 2018
Nice facility, great location, plenty of staff in those yellow KOA shirts! The canvas tent layouts were nice, but my only feedback is that noisy teens and inebriated adults frequently passed by our tent in early morning hours. How about restricting carts after midnight? or locate tents further back where carts can't pass?
Sep 04, 2018
Just a one night stay travelling from Maine to home in pawleys island s.c. Pool, beach, restaurant, campground all super Thanks, Jim and Amanda Daugherty
Sep 03, 2018
Sep 03, 2018
Great location for beach lovers. Lots of friendly people. Special mention of the seasonal campers. Some of the best people. Facilities were clean. Scheduled events though were non events not happenkng or being changed or moved with little information. Packed to the rafters but we honestly couldn't feel it. Seemed outright quiet at times. Jackspot was great place for the adults come evenings.
Sep 03, 2018
Had a awesome time even though lightning storm fried electronics in camper on first night. Staff was super friendly place was real clean. Only things I can complain about is people flying around on golf carts after midnight with music blasting and boats tied up right off beach where you swim they didn't need to be that close to swimming area!!!!
Sep 03, 2018
My wife, and I had a wonderful time, excellent location and the staff was terrific. A very friendly atmosphere to all; that was staying in the campground. We made friends and hope to come back next year.
Sep 03, 2018
Staff so very friendly and accommodating; campground is very clean Need to resolve parking and golf cart charging dilemma at the cottages Find it ridiculous that Jackspot does not have a telephone and that they do not serve iced tea! Steps to beach should be cleared of sand daily Great place to stay
Sep 03, 2018
Stay was good problem with site. Pool needs to be kept up with more
Sep 02, 2018
This was a very poor KOA the sites were tiny very unleveled no shad bathhouse was dirty the tolets were clogged people rideing around in golf carts all night long way to many sites for shuch a small place
Sep 02, 2018
I have contact the manager. I also spoke to her during my stay. The cabin was very dirty and I have taken pictures on my phone for verification. I told the manager and counter staff the second day. Manager had a wrong extension on her business card so I could not get an answer on her phone. The restaurant did not have the food on the website listed. Their was dog feces right outside my cabin
Sep 02, 2018
Sep 01, 2018
Sep 01, 2018
We rented a cottage. #732. We were upset that the steps into the cottage were NOT even. On Wednesday of our stay I tripped on the top step and was bed ridden the remainder of our stay! The bed sheets were NOT fitted and kept "creeping off". Only ONE roll of toilet paper was available. We had to go to the office to get trash bags. Our bedroom floor was covered with water from a rain storm. $325 ?
Sep 01, 2018
very plesant stay until the last night. There is always one camper to make it unplesant.. We paid for the deluxe site. New campers came in Friday. They were loud that night and left there outside tv on all night..Could not sleep that night.. Glad to leave next morning..
Sep 01, 2018
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Campground offered lots of amenities. Entire campground including the beach was clean and well maintained. Bathrooms and showers were clean with plenty of hot water. Our family had a great time and will definitely be returning. Thank you!
Sep 01, 2018
Great family vacation. We stayed for 6 nights. On our last day we were bothered by staff bc apparently THEY wrote the wrong site number on our parking tag. We were supposed to be 1 site over. That was in no way our fault, I’m unsure why they knocked on our door to ask us about it since our tag was clearly hanging in our truck & they could see it. But, we had a very nice time overall.
Sep 01, 2018
The campsite is so beautiful, clean and friendly that before leaving, we made a 4 day reservation for Sept, Love it!!!!
Sep 01, 2018
Average. Monday morning leaf blowung the pool, Tuesday morning they start to cut the lawns at 7am. ..after a long 15 hr drive to get there not nice to be making so much noise the first 2 mornings there. Other than the beach and the pool nothing else to do here. Recommend changing the music playing all day, same songs everyday get old
Sep 01, 2018
Aug 31, 2018
The golf carts speeding everywhere was a big bummer. Never once saw any employee remind the drivers of the speed limit. Also, not sure what could fix the beach area, but it was completely over ran by boats during our stay. I counted over 60 boats anchored! Those boats were full of people who came ashore to utilize the amenities I was paying for! And they were not very friendly about it either.
Aug 31, 2018
Aug 30, 2018
Glamping was great!! Clean and updated facilities. The grounds were also clean and maintained.
Aug 30, 2018
The room was not ready until 5:30. The walls and floorboards are dirty. The beds did not have sheets. The carbon monoxide detector went off and on starting at 6 am. I asked for a late check our in light of all of the problems and was given until 1pm. The cottages are awesome but will not be if housekeeping neglects their cleaning and painting. The pool and beach are perfect. More activities needed
Aug 29, 2018
We enjoyed our stay but there are a a few items I would like to point out. We were disappointed in the housekeeping service - or lack thereof - especially when it came to towels and toilet paper. For $300/night I would expect this service, especially when we requested it at the office on day three of our stay and we didn’t get the towels we requested. TP was requested each day.
Aug 29, 2018
We had a lovely time at the Cape Charles KOA. The facilities were clean, the sites were nice...just not a lot of shade. My only complaint would be the aggressive flies that liked to join us for meals...bring your bug spray!
Aug 29, 2018
Very relaxing.
Aug 28, 2018
Nice place, friendly staff, but no one to enforce rules! Kids driving golf carts ,drunks acting stupid on golf carts, Pitbulls that they say are not allowed. Even saw one camper that had seven dogs , beaches could of been keeped a lot cleaner ,lots of broken glass on the beach. saw the same pair of socks laying under a outside food table at the Jackspot restaurant for 8 days. smoking at the pool..
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
Had such a good time we stayed two extra nights.
Aug 28, 2018
We loved it! Beautiful! Stayed in the safari tent and would definitely stay again. Husband said the bathroom could have used a little TLC. Otherwise, very nice!
Aug 28, 2018
Very clean and helpful
Aug 28, 2018
Best KOA
Aug 28, 2018
All of the staff were pleasant and the campground grounds were well kept, but the bathhouse was a disaster and Jackspot was a huge disappointment. I ordered the "hand breaded chicken sandwich" only to be served 4 frozen chicken fingers on a bun. Plus, I waited more than an hour for my food. It was a beautiful view, though. I don't know that we would head back to this location.
Aug 28, 2018
well kept campground with a great staff. Thanks for a great stay can't wait to get back !!!
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
Probably one of the best RV sites we have stayed at so far. Clean restrooms, clean park and very clean beach area. The staff/personnel are very friendly and accommodating. Grover in particular should be acknowledged for his customer service and friendly and uplifting attitude. Grover was there to give me directions to back our camper in and he also drove and gave great tips about Cape Charles.
Aug 27, 2018
The site was excellent, so much so we have booked again for 2019 on the same site.
Aug 27, 2018
We really enjoyed our week long stay. The staff were all very nice and extremely helpful. The bathrooms were all very clean. Can’t wait to return again soon.
Aug 27, 2018
Loved our stay at the campground. The entire family was pleased. For those unfamiliar with the area, familiarize yourself with the somewhat steep toll road (consisting of 2 tunnels and 3 bridges) to get to the campground if you’re coming from VA Beach direction. Sites could use some new gras planted and I wish the site didn’t slope as strongly to the road, making leveling of the RV easier.
Aug 27, 2018
VERY COMFORTABLE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME
Aug 27, 2018
We really enjoyed our stay and probably will come back next summer. Really like the music, the beach and pools. the bathhouses were some of the cleanest we have seen. We just wish there was more activities for kids and families to take part in.
Aug 27, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
The new cabanas at the pool are a game changer! They were perfect for our family. Nice addition!
Aug 27, 2018
Nice place wish for a little more shade trees, insect's not as bad as I thought it would be going off other reviews.
Aug 27, 2018