Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA Reviews

Summer Safari Special | Stay in a safari tent for only $99 weekdays!

Learn More

Campground Reviews

Sep 10, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
The staff totally neglected the bathrooms next to our tent the entire 3 days we were there. They were not cleaned even once. I contacted the front desk twice to request that the bathrooms be cleaned. Their response was: "We apologize, but we are short on staff."
Sep 09, 2018
Had a wonderful time at the beach!!! The pool was great and the restaurant as well. The men’s bathroom needed to be tended to more often. Would definitely recommend this KOA
Sep 09, 2018
Sep 09, 2018
We loved everything about our stay. The cabin was clean and really nicer than expected. It was fully stocked just as promised. Jerzy was able to answer any questions we had. We also loved the pool area, it was spectacular. The beach was nice and we enjoyed watching two glorious sunsets. We also had dinner at the restaurant and the food was great. All in all we loved it and will be back.
Sep 08, 2018
The grounds and sunsets were beautiful! Our cottage was very comfortable and quiet. The Jackspot restaurant was very good with a view overlooking the bay. We will be back!
Sep 07, 2018
Jerry could be a little more friendly.
Sep 07, 2018
We had a very relaxing time here.The campground was very clean and the beach was nice too. The store had a lot of items. We would have liked to order pizza but no one delivers there. Perhaps that can be added to the menu at the Jackspot. The staff was good but I would not say exceptional. When checking in they forgot to give us a site map or a car tag.
Sep 07, 2018
We loved this KOA! Wish we could have stayed longer. The only negative was the worker at the registration desk was a little short and no help at all. She just pointed us which way to find our site. We had to drive around in circles in the dark figuring it out for ourselves. A map would have helped. Otherwise, it was a great vacay spot.
Sep 07, 2018
Very nice sites and other amenities. I will definitely be planning a return trip there.
Sep 06, 2018
Overall the campground is one of the best we've stayed. Doing very well given how new the operation is. Very clean, with good sites. One recommendation is regarding the "rafting up" of boats from visitors. On the high volume weekends the water area near the beach is overtaken by non guests making it very difficult to enjoy the water and beach.
Sep 06, 2018
We loved it!!!! The beach is the best. You all had a lot of activities over the holiday weekend so there was plenty to do and see! We will be back for sure :)
Sep 06, 2018
This was my first time staying at Cape Charles KOA. I would stay again, however, we were unhappy with the WiFi as we kept loosing TV Channels and couldn't get on the Internet with our Lap Tops. The beach area was excellent and the Pool was beautiful. I'm sure the trees will grow to provide more shade in the near future. Overall we had a very good week there.
Sep 06, 2018
Close to home and convenient. Very clean with a nice pool and beach access to the bay. One thing the campground is lacking is any type of shade, new trees have been planted but will be years until they could possibly help out. For the most part pretty nice place except for one rude, disgruntled employee (Barb) in a Customer Service position.
Sep 06, 2018
Sep 05, 2018
It was very clean and a great place to stay. Coming back.
Sep 05, 2018
Our new favorite spot! We loved the campground, pool area, Jackspot, and beach. Everything is well maintained and the bathhouses are very clean. We will be back!
Sep 05, 2018
nice campsite wonderful dogs can go on beach. nicer if there was more of a breakfast selection I thought the prices at the Jackspot were a little too high on food need a simpler fare
Sep 05, 2018
Stayed Labor Day weekend. Loved it. Great entertainment, beach, food, everything. Well, except for the men's bathroom. Toilet paper and feces in toilets. Tried to find workers to fix problem, they said it the fault of people who use too much toilet paper. That bothered my husband. The only thing that I would change is that I would have more chairs by the pool, so much concrete, not enough chairs
Sep 05, 2018
Sep 05, 2018
Campground was beautiful, Bathhouses were very clean and the beach and pool were great. The sites however are way too close to each other and not alot of shade
Sep 05, 2018
Sep 05, 2018
Sep 05, 2018
nice campground with beautiful beach. My site wasn't big enough for my fifth wheel. It was supposed to accommodate a 45 ft trailer and mine is just shy of 43 ft. due to pole in back of site, the front of my camper was in road.
Sep 05, 2018
Great location. Loved the beach and pool. The only problem was how fast the golf carts drove through the campground. Children were driving the carts also. Too many people walking and riding bikes to have speeding carts.
Sep 05, 2018
Had a great time!! the Cable should be improved though. the picture was not very clear.
Sep 05, 2018
Nice Campground, easy to access cute little beach and bar. Friendly staff. Will come back next year!
Sep 05, 2018
Our campsite was small but comfortable. The amenities with the location was outstanding. The private beach, restaurant/bar, pool, activities and store makes it unique. Put it on your list to experience. The other down side to be prepared for is the errant camper who forgets to respect other camper’s quiet with loud music on their golf carts or at their site even into quiet hours.
Sep 05, 2018
It a very nice campground. Need more things for children to play on.
Sep 05, 2018
Super helpful staff in the park and the bars and restaurants.
Sep 05, 2018
our stay was very nice. It was nice having water on site and steps to the tent. the restaurant on site was very handy. The people on site were very helpful and pleasant. However, I 1st attempted to make the reservation by phone. The woman I spoke to was very rude (8/28 3:00 pm). she told me there was nothing available and hung up on me. I was also surprised that we had to make the beds ourselves.
Sep 04, 2018
Resort is nice and amenities are above average but the sites are too small for this type of resort. More pull throughs and or concrete pads are needed along with a barrier between neighbors or just larger sites.
Sep 04, 2018
I enjoyed my visit. The campground was clean, the beach and pool were lovely, the Jackspot had wonderful food. My only complaint would be that my neighbor's set up lights on top of their truck to light the corn hole boards they put out in the road. They played loud music and played and talked loudly until after midnight. Complaints were made but nothing happened
Sep 04, 2018
We had a great time and so did our kids except our sons sandals and scooter was taken by another kid at some point. Luckily his sister wears the same size and he had another pair for.the remainder of our weekend
Sep 04, 2018
Need more amenities for kids and need more space... everyone is on top of each other.
Sep 04, 2018
The sites are wide enough and deep enough for you to live in and outside of your RV. All of the staff that worked Labor Day Weekend were superfriendly and helpful. The sights on the beach are priceless.
Sep 04, 2018
We were very surprised to see that the place was packed yet the beach and pool were not as crowded. Very Friendly and welcoming.
Sep 04, 2018
Nice campground with a great beach and restaurant on the beach. Sites are VERY close but many are big rig friendly. Fortunately, we were on the far outside row and had a few trees to give us a break from the sun. For any other sites, an easy up awning or an awning screen are a must to help knock down the blazing sun. No other trees around. Facilities were fine.
Sep 04, 2018
Beach is nice. Staff was helpful. Camp store is lousy. The cafe is a joke. Was impressed with the bath houses being clean with the amount of campers. Golf carts need to be policed better. Food was above average at the Jackspot. Sights are too crowded for my liking.
Sep 04, 2018
Great staff, very friendly! Clean, lots of activities- even tho we couldn’t find “Sunset Bluff” for the golf cart decorating parade�Ϧ Loved the atmosphere- can’t wait for the trees to grow for more shade!! Would definitely return!!
Sep 04, 2018
Great location. Beach awesome. Jackspot is a great hangout. Too many golf carts driving around. Hard to walk without getting run over. Can’t people walk?? Campground is not big enough to need a cart. Very annoying. At night I really thought I was about to be hit several times.
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 04, 2018
We have never camped at this location.We LOVED it. All the staff were awesome. I loved how pet friendly the resort is. The beach was awesome. We will be back and recommending the resort to others!! Only negative was the sites were a little small.We got there before all the other sites were be occupied so it wasn't a problem getting it.Might have been difficult if we were the last ones there.
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 04, 2018
After making reservations for site 708 0n June 25 TO BE WITH MY GROUP OF FRIENDS for LABOR DAY, upon arriving was told I was changed the nite before with no reason given. I was put on a site other end of road where my trailer tung was 4 feet in air. WHY. The rig put in my reservation was the same size as mine. Causing inconvenience on us. Will have to think twice before next reservation.
Sep 04, 2018
We really enjoyed it. It was our groups first time there and will NOT be the last. Staff is amazing and stayed on top the campground the entire stay. The beach and pool were both well maintained and enjoyable. Thank you to all involved. The Hairfield’s
Sep 04, 2018
The sites are very close if that was not bad enough there was a tree in the middle of the site so we could not put out the awning
Sep 04, 2018
First, I loved the check in process you had in place for such a busy weekend and gentleman that escorted me to my site was awesome! Thank you. Now the down side: For a KOA the playground was unacceptable and there was no jumping pillow. Activities were also much fewer than we had been accustomed to for a KOA. There were also several security concerns that I would be glad to discuss if interest
Sep 04, 2018
Safari tent was nice but too loud because of close proximity to pool/live music. Also too hot during the day. The fan did not do much to help. I’d recommend getting a better one.