Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA Reviews

Summer Safari Special | Stay in a safari tent for only $99 weekdays!

Learn More

Campground Reviews

Sep 24, 2018
we had a great time. The experience was extremely positive : and all the camp employees were very helpful !
Sep 24, 2018
Sep 24, 2018
Great staff. Very welcoming atmosphere. Park was clean and easy to navigate. The entertainment was very good on Saturday night. I would highly recommend this park to all my friends.
Sep 24, 2018
It was very nice. Personally I would have liked to see signs that said “Laundry” and “Bath House & Showers” on the buildings. Also Washer and dryers”Credit Cards Only”.Vacationing guest friendly. Seasonal guests were quite helpful..
Sep 24, 2018
Great
Sep 24, 2018
Had a great time. Bay was gorgeous. Site was good. Staff was helpful and courteous. We are planning our next visit already. Thanks!!
Sep 24, 2018
Love the place, beautiful park, great sunsets, glad we caught it at the end of the season, plenty of space, not crowded.
Sep 24, 2018
Another great quick getaway at a KOA. Grounds were clean, beach was clean, staff was hospitable.
Sep 23, 2018
The pool needs more lounge chairs, and also folks that DON'T lay towels out and save cabanas and/or chairs when they wint be there for hours. Some saved spots at the pool then took stuff to the beach too. Very unfair.
Sep 23, 2018
Very well kept pet friendly campground with a pool and private beach. Nice to have a café by the beach also. Friendly and helpful staff. We will be sure to bring the grandchildren on the next trip. Loved it!
Sep 22, 2018
I would give you 4.5 or higher, just not 5.0 because of green pool. Saw previous responses that it is paint issue not chemistry, but your posted Cl level was 5.6 which is way too high. Otherwise - great staff, nice site, really clean bathrooms. You do fine job keeping your very nice beach clean also. And you were amazing working with us to reschedule visit around potential hurricane.
Sep 22, 2018
Nothing but the BEST!!! This CAPE CHARLES /CHESAPEAKE BAY KOA is GREAT!!!! The view of the Chesapeake bay, and the tunnel bridge is PHENOMENAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Sep 21, 2018
pulled in ,no res. holiday week, speed check in said to ask desk if any openings, landed one, escorted to location, employee helped guide me in , PERFECT.
Sep 20, 2018
Nice campground, but Beach area is too busy and water isn't deep. Nice one time, but not interested in returning.
Sep 20, 2018
Sep 18, 2018
Beautiful campground too bad the toilets were grotesque filled with solids that couldn’t be flushed. Definitely plan to return, hopefully you will rectify the toilet situation.
Sep 17, 2018
We arrived on Sunday Sept 10th, unfortunately were evacuated because of Hurricane Florence. So really did not have a chance to get settled. But I will say this was a beautiful campground.
Sep 17, 2018
Sadly we had to leave a week early because of Hurricane Florence! Staff was very understanding and cooperative. We understand that the beach and campground were NOT significantly damaged and we are happy about that! We like the restaurant and beach...plenty of room and very pretty. We were disappointed, however, in the restrooms....just NOT as clean as we had experienced in the past.
Sep 17, 2018
Very enjoyable and relaxing time at the beach, pool and dogs love it also. Looking forward to coming back.
Sep 16, 2018
Our one week, (sa-sa) stay ended early, we had to leave Tuesday morning due to mandatory evacuation, for hurricane florence. Hope to return for another stay
Sep 16, 2018
Sep 16, 2018
Overall it was ok. The beach area was pretty dirty but the pool area was nice. The rain caused a massive pool of mud in our campsite. When I asked one of the staff if anything could be done he told me nope it's just supposed to rain some more. When I asked Mike however he jumped into action to see if he could help us. He did an awesome job! A lot of flies in our camp area as well!
Sep 16, 2018
Short. We were evacuated for Hurricane Florence. Prior to that it was nice!
Sep 15, 2018
By far this is my favorite KOA! The employees are kind and really go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The beach is great and the pool and bar are also. The bathrooms are very clean.
Sep 14, 2018
It is a nice park. The pool is clean and large. They have a nice private beach with a restaurant on site. We did not eat there, but members of our party did and said the food was good. We were a little disappointed when we first arrived because we didn't get the sites that they told us we had. The staff is nice, but almost seems like a forced nice. Even though we will return.
Sep 14, 2018
Sep 14, 2018
We Love the place ! only need to be more clean dust at the house- cottages , window shadow , curtain, fan at the light... Thank you, we will be back soon...
Sep 13, 2018
What a gorgeous resort. We enjoyed the spot and we have been by an attendee, for a problem in the laundry, so fast
Sep 12, 2018
A great beach resort! Lovely, well maintained campground, every one just a short 2 minute stroll to a private sandy beach. The Jackspot Bar and Grill, right on the beach, a great spot for a casual dinner and drinks. We'll be back!
Sep 12, 2018
Lots of trash on the beach, pool chairs needed a scrubbing too. Governor ordered the area evacuated ahead of Hurricane Florence and no one from the facility notified anyone that we are aware of. Good thing we don't totally unplug on vacation.
Sep 12, 2018
Beautiful campground, friendly staff, entertaining/informative driver who drove me into town, swimming pool beautiful and landscaping well maintained (thought I was in Florida)!
Sep 12, 2018
We travel in a Class A coach with TOAD. We found most sites to be grass,mud, and sand. We had to change locations due to mud and difficulty in leveling. We upgraded to a patio site which made life much easier with pets, but there is an additional charge. There is no shade and rv slots are narrow. Basically this is a nicely mowed field with water, electric and sewer.
Sep 12, 2018
Another wonderful time here to celebrate my birthday. This time we brought along four other couples, three campers and one couple that stayed with their two dogs at the hotel!! We were still able to enjoy the beach, the pool and the yummy food at Jackspot. Everything was great, including the sunsets! Easy access to the bike trail and nature center across the street too. We will be back!
Sep 12, 2018
nice/ clean / friendly staff / wish could of stayed longer due to mandatory evacuation for hurricane florence will definitely return
Sep 12, 2018
4 day stay with 3 grandkids and our granddog. Loved it. Entire staff was very pleasent and helpful. Spent most of our time on the beach just a few steps from our campsite. Great food at Happy Jack's Cafe. Staff was preparing for Hurricane Florence's arrival so no water sports rentals. Will try for earlier in the season next time. I hope they all stay safe.
Sep 12, 2018
You Campground is amazing....One of your staff helped me with a problem I had with our RV....Very well mannered.... We're coming back......
Sep 11, 2018
The facilities are great, that’s why it gets 3 stars. If it was rated on “security” guards you would get a zero! I have thought about how rudely our group was treated even after “security” even agreed we complied with his “order” to keep noise down. There was no one even around us. It’s unfortunate i and my group will not be returning because of this because it is a very nice place
Sep 11, 2018
Sep 11, 2018
From the time we entered the property everyone was very polite and helpful. Everything was very clean. The store was open until 10 for those late night items.
Sep 11, 2018
Very relaxing time. Everyone was very friendly. Will definitely stay there again. The pool was beautiful. The sunsets were out of this world. Food was awesome. Bathrooms were clean. Can't say enough good things about this campground.
Sep 11, 2018
Great stay and a great location. Everything was great except wifi was difficult at times where we were located in the part.
Sep 11, 2018
It was wonderful! Clean, friendly, romantic beaches at night, great pools for the day, and quiet during the afternoons. Can't ask for more when you finally hit PERFECTION! We'll be back for sure.
Sep 11, 2018
The campground, beach, and pool were clean and wonderful. We had a great time!
Sep 10, 2018
the cabin was nice the 2nd bedroom needs new mattress they are net comfortable at all. boats pull up to close to shore made for very scary swimming almost got run over they need to stay off shore more.
Sep 10, 2018
Great place...loved it!
Sep 10, 2018
The facilities are beautiful and Jackspot a wonderful restaurant, but the campground was horribly crowded. I will never return here. What i experienced here was exactly what I dislike about private campgrounds and the reason I frequent state and national parks.
Sep 10, 2018
We have stayed at the Chesapeake Bay KOA many times and have always enjoyed it!
Sep 10, 2018
I loved the whole experience. The only thing I think was lacking that there weren't any water fountains. I was in the safari tent so that would've been nice so I didn't have to buy bottled water. Otherwise, it was great and I will definitely be back!
Sep 10, 2018
We had a very nice time there until Friday night when some campers didn't adhere to your quiet hour playing loud music and loud mouths. No security came around to tell them to keep the noise down. We tried to call at 11:00pm the front desk to complain and could not even get an answer. The park is beautiful but need better security
Sep 10, 2018
I loved everything about our trip except for the black dog hair everywhere in our glamping tent!