Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA Reviews

Thanks for a great season! Book now for 2020!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Jul 08, 2019
A health inspector arrived at the pool and advised me the to get my kids out of the water because the pool was not up to code. Front desk sent down the pool lead and he also said he would not have his kids in the water because it needed to be drained completely and start over with the water. Said his boss didn’t care. They shut down the pool after my kids swam in it for hour.
Jul 08, 2019
Jul 07, 2019
Love this campground, especially the private beach that is dog friendly year round. The biggest con-the laundry facilities. Of the eight of each machine, only 5 washers and 4 dryers were working. This campground was packed for the 4th if July holiday with most families staying at least a week at a time and folks struggled to wash and dry their towels and clothes.
Jul 07, 2019
We were at one of the premier sites and everything worked out just fine. Your platforms are at the correct height along with hookups. Could have done better with the upkeep of some of the individual areas. Everyone was polite and helpful throughout our stay.
Jul 07, 2019
Jul 07, 2019
KOA was very clean. Staff did a great job of monitoring the grounds. Pool and beach were very kept. JACK Spot staff were extremely friendly. Food was just okay except for smoked ribs/chicken special.
Jul 07, 2019
It was the best place so far to be that I all ready book for next year
Jul 07, 2019
We LOVED our stay and will be back!! Thank you for a great experience!
Jul 06, 2019
We reserved a camping spot last year but they didn't honor it. They said they couldn't honor it, because it was for 5 nights When they checked the site we reserved, those people were only staying 5 nights. The golfcart story is ridiculous. My daughter came on Wed. n wanted to rent a golf cart for 24 hours. They checked in at 4p n they said she could.When we went back there was 3 day minimum.
Jul 06, 2019
This was our first long trip with the rv. Everybody was pleasant and helpful. We did have vehicle problems and Francine at the front desk steered us to a garage that did an excellent job helping us out. And a young lady at the ice cream counter told us about the fireworks in Cape Charles since we were leaving before the koa fireworks. The little town of Cape Charles is a gem, very cute!
Jul 06, 2019
The beach is nice; however there aren't as many kids activities as there are at other KOAs. Also, there is no shade which makes it incredibly hot during the day. I wouldn't return simply for the fact other KOAs have so much more to offer.
Jul 06, 2019
The sites are way too crammed together. No shade on the sites either. Minimal activities during our stay (6/30-7/5). The movie on the beach was a great idea and fun! The beach and pool are nice but pool needs tables with umbrellas.
Jul 06, 2019
Desk staff could have done better. Acceptable performance.
Jul 05, 2019
It was wonderful lots of things for the children to do wonderful clean bath houses beautiful beach great food the ghost crabs on the sand at night are wonderful to catch can't wait to come back
Jul 05, 2019
We rented a site and a cottage. Everyone enjoyed the pool as well as the beach. Staff is helpful and friendly.
Jul 04, 2019
Love this campground but wasnt really impressed this time. My site had a lot of small pieces of trash left on it. Pool area seemed to not have as many reclining chairs and tables as last year. We had to move our truck on request of staff member after 11pm due to someone coming into site across from us. My truck was 2 feet from stones on side of road. No enforcement of dogs not on leashes either.
Jul 04, 2019
Great beach access although I did not like having all the boats moored in so close to the swim area. It greatly reduced the view of the Chesapeake and limited swimming.
Jul 04, 2019
Jul 04, 2019
Beach is beautiful, awesome pool stays open until 10pm, all the facilities were new and clean. Had a family movie at the beach that my entire crew enjoyed. The restaurant had wonderful food and drinks. No shade on sites, but trees are planted. Would have given 5 stars if there was more for kids to do, like a basket ball court, volley ball nets, jumping pillow etc. We have already booked again!
Jul 03, 2019
Had many members of the family both in rv sites and hotel rooms. Everyone had a blast. Only complaint would be drunk golf cart drivers driving too fast but even that only happened a few times.
Jul 03, 2019
Very enjoyable
Jul 02, 2019
had an awesome time staff was very friendly accommendations were great
Jul 02, 2019
Sites to close together n it seemed staff had no idea the length of their sites. Put us in a small site to begin with n had to move us. No speed limit so cars n golf carts would sometimes go pretty fast for a campground full of kids n dogs. Bathhouse was very good. Beach was nice.
Jul 02, 2019
Staff is super friendly and very helpful. Loved the beach area - will definitely be back!!!
Jul 02, 2019
Jul 02, 2019
We have had our RV for about two months, live in FL and have stayed here twice and are planning to return. We like it because it is so dog friendly, for the beach and the very nice staff.
Jul 02, 2019
Pricey for the site. Stayed at cheaper and nicer. Just because it is at the location that it is does not mean that $80/night is acceptable. bring downthw price and maybe the camping area would be more full. $60/ day for a golf art is also ridiculous.
Jul 01, 2019
Beautiful well-kept campground. Very helpful staff. I would go back anytime.
Jul 01, 2019
Everyone from start to finish mad our stay hrear! We will definitely be back!
Jul 01, 2019
Excellent stay at cape Charles friendly clean large sites. Will be back every year.
Jul 01, 2019
Nice campground and everyone was very nice. Would definitely stay there again
Jul 01, 2019
We loved the beach and the restaurant. Bathhouses were fairly clean for such heavy use. However, our site was very cramped. We had a 42 foot fifth wheel, and even though we booked weeks in advance, we were put in a spot that was so tight we could not walk around the back of our camper—at all. Slides of different campers almost touched at corners, and moving our rig in and out of site was hard
Jul 01, 2019
We had a wonderful stay! Beautiful grounds, pool, and beach with lots of activities and things to do. The private beach was great and would only be made better by a walkway that extends further into the HOT sand and has handicapped access. Very clean, attractive facility, and we frequently saw staff out and about. We will definitely return a few times each year since we are close by.
Jul 01, 2019
Had to back-in on a hill. My front two tires were off the ground when I used my levelers. Emptying and flushing my tanks was extremely difficult and time consuming, as the sewer pipe was uphill and at least ten inches off the ground. I have two full bathrooms (two black and two grey tanks) and use a "Y" connection for my hoses which made it twice as difficult. The resort swimming pool was dirty.
Jul 01, 2019
Just returned from the weekend. Great campground...pool and beach were very nice. Sites were a little tight, but not too bad. Bathhouses were nice and usually clean, although they could probably work on that more. I would return for sure.
Jul 01, 2019
Always love staying at this resort.
Jul 01, 2019
The first impression wasn't the lasting impression thank goodness. When we first saw the sites, we almost left. However, we stayed and had a wonderful stay. The people are great, the beach was so nice, the dog beach was perfect for us, the beachside restaurant was typical comfort food but well prepared. So glad we stayed
Jul 01, 2019
Great staff, Very Clean and well maintained facilities. Could use a little more space between campers and a few trees for shade.
Jun 30, 2019
Jun 30, 2019
Jun 29, 2019
Our stay was amazing! I love how the beach it right there! Best of all is the sun sets!!! Best view ever!!! The only thing I would say to try to change would be, trying to keep the bathrooms/showers clean. And maybe add a mini golf somewhere. That would be awesome.
Jun 29, 2019
Jun 29, 2019
Very friendly and efficient staff. Ours was a nice large lot that our 42 foot toy hauler fit with plenty of space for the truck. Also nice spacing between sites. Private beach on the bay is a nice touch that you don't find every day. Water was warm and pleasant on very high humid and hot week. Wifi was adequate and majority of sites work for satellite. Pet and golf cart friendly. Nice stay.
Jun 28, 2019
This was our first time here and we had a fabulous stay with our friends on a buddy site. The location right on the Chesapeake Bay is great. The beach and the rental activities (paddle boards, etc) were great fun. The girls that registered our paddle board rental were very nice and helpful. Bathhouse super clean. Pool looked nice but we did not use it.
Jun 28, 2019
Our stay was great! The facilities were clean, campsites were amazing and the host folks were very helpful! We will be back!
Jun 28, 2019
Staff is amazing! Camp ground is clean and extremely well run! One of the nicest KOA I’ve stayed at yet
Jun 28, 2019
The main bath/shower rooms were very clean. Friendly staff. Lots of amenities!
Jun 28, 2019
We had a great time and have already booked another stay
Jun 28, 2019
Love this KOA! Great pool, beach, restaurant/bar, store and staff!! Look forward to returning next summer.
Jun 27, 2019
Place and people are nice. The bathrooms and showers near 401 need work. One of the shower seats is broken, the showers are not getting clean (saw old soap and large gobs of hair for two days straight), and stalls ran out of paper even though Housekeeping came by every day. Pools were great, beach is kept up, relatively quiet, cart rentals is too expensive ($60 for 24 hours?). Site was clean.
Nov 19, 2019
Can't wait to go back!
- Lori H on Google
Oct 31, 2019
Well run campground on the Chesapeake Bay.
- Elizabeth DelFranco on Google
Oct 23, 2019
Great views, great food, great staff!
- Martin Cohen on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.