Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA Reviews

Book a Stay During Our Halloween Weekends...If You Dare!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Sep 13, 2019
Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The place is very clean.
Sep 11, 2019
Very nice place. Very helpful staff. Lance was especially helpful. Enjoyed the sunsets on the beach decks. Great drinks. Planning to return.
Sep 09, 2019
Sep 08, 2019
I would advise any future quests that if they stay at sunset beach to be prepared in the case of an emergency. Though the hurricane was no fault of sunset beach, basicly they shut the resort down without a word to any of the quests. We were lucky because we were only an hour away. But there were people from upstate NY and Long Island that really were upset. Your staff really needs training
Sep 08, 2019
Hurricane Dorian was on our heels. Wind gusts to 75mph were issued. Looking at the weather map, the cape Charles area was in red; indicating storm warning. Explained to office that dangerous conditions were due in a few hours and we need to leave. Francine was nice and put a request into “new” GM Jeff to please issue a refund or credit for a future date. We haven’t heard a word. Disappointin
Sep 06, 2019
Campground offered little to nothing for children. The pool was cool but other than that the whole experience was a little blah. We left early due to inclement weather (no refund given of course) and I was happy to see it go.
Sep 06, 2019
No refund even in a state of emergency. You just have to take your chances.
Sep 06, 2019
Sep 06, 2019
Manager not a people person.Site was small, 32 ft. motorhome when backed front was right on the edge of street, no room to move. Next site OK, problem with 50 amp service, plugged in site behind us, never got ours fixed. No shuttle, restaurant closed, no water in dog park. Due to hurricane, we tried to cancel, told no deposit refund. Went for restaurant; shuttle, did not have either. Not happy.
Sep 06, 2019
We enjoyed our stay there! Had to pack up & leave due to high winds we feel we should get a small refund as we were paid till Monday & left thurs! Hurricane Dorian was just getting too close & with our pop up we could not take any chances for our safety! Loved the beach sunsets & pool! Dad that The Jackspot was closed!
Sep 06, 2019
Disappointed that we weren’t told that restaurant was closing day after Labor Day. We didn’t go food shopping because we thought we could eat there. Instead we had to pay 28 bucks and drive 45 mins to Va Beach fo groceries. Lights over dog park would be a good idea Other than that great property and we will be back again
Sep 05, 2019
Love this campground!
Sep 05, 2019
I probably would have given this KOA a five star if the person at the front desk had not been so unfriendly, unpleasant and just plain rude. We had the same experience last year but figured we couldn’t get rudeness twice, wrong! We will not be returning to this KOA.
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
We loved our Labor Day weekend stay at the Cape Charles/Chesapeake Bay KOA! It felt like we were on a tropical island, the view was beautiful, and the sunsets were picturesque. The campground staff was friendly and extremely helpful when we got locked out of our RV. The campground was extremely clean. We enjoyed being able to have our dogs on the beach with us as well. Will come back!
Sep 04, 2019
Wonderful! We arrived late, got an escort to our site, cant say enough how wonderful a place it is.
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
This campsite is wonderful, but the bathrooms need to use chlorox to get rid of the shower and mold
Sep 04, 2019
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this KOA. The site we had was right along the tree line so we got good shade during the heat of the day. We absolutely love the beach and the dog beach as well. I recommend renting a golf cart during your stay as this campground is HUGE. The staff were EXCELLENT and the store is the best KOA store I have ever seen. We will be back!
Sep 04, 2019
Great
Sep 04, 2019
extremely disappointing with cleanliness of bathrooms. Clogged showers with water all over the floor making it unhealthy and unsafe. They are not being kept like the past years. Trash from 2 days sitting around in bathrooms. Please get it back the way it used to be, KOA at Chesapeake Bay is such a pleasant place to be left unattended.
Sep 03, 2019
Amazing!!!
Sep 03, 2019
Relaxing ! Staff was excellent staying two more times this year !
Sep 03, 2019
Excellent resort. Well maintained and friendly staff.
Sep 03, 2019
A surprise resort fee of $3 a day totaling $22 was annoying. While I don't understand the extra fee or why it's not just added to the nightly cost, I'd be ok w/ it if I was aware of the charge prior to arrival. The landscapers mowing wet grass created such a mess. We stayed here last year & loved it. This year, there were so many annoying new things that we probably won't come back next year.
Sep 03, 2019
Like the beach and the sunsets staff very friendly nice campsites always had a good stay
Sep 03, 2019
Wonderful staff and great activities! Loved the pool - everything was so clean! Loved that the staff was so friendly, and the lady that worked in the store in the morning was amazing with my 9 yr old (who wanted to go to the store alone like a big kid :-) ) She really helped her and was very patient! Thank you for an amazing weekend!
Sep 03, 2019
It was absolutely beautiful there! This was our first time there but have previoused the VB KOA which we also love, so we wanted to give this one a chance since it had a private beach that was dog friendly and I am so so glad we did. My dog loved it as much as we did. The only thing lacking was the KOA activities, they never seemed to be quite what they had advertised on their activities sheet.
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 02, 2019
Sep 01, 2019
The only issue we had were the prices / sur charges at the Jack spot & Kids with golf carts.........Every Thing else was Great Thank You
Aug 31, 2019
It was more of an RV park. Not too many activities except for beach and pool. Would have liked at least a small mini golf. Arcade was small. Not too much food in store fridge. Hot water switch should have said “don’t touch”. Needed things to do when it rains. Not many trees, very open park. Sunsets were very beautiful!! Pool was nice.
Aug 31, 2019
we LOVE the glamping tents. this was our 2nd time staying there. I don't remember if I requested one near the bathroom but we were in the furthest one. I have to use it every 2 hrs. during the night so I would have liked to have been closer. we love the Jackspot restaurant. Everyone was very nice and very helpful.
Aug 31, 2019
Friendly staff. Nice pool and beach. Large dog park. Overall, a really nice campground.
Aug 31, 2019
I think the grounds where very clean alog with the bath and shower rooms.pool area very nice.and a very nice dog park. Have no complaints about anything.if you like riding bikes go across the street and there are paved bike paths.will definitely will be back.
Aug 30, 2019
People working there are great. Onsite restaurant Jackspot has remarkably good (though not inexpensive) food. Only reason this KOA does not get five stars is due to lack of maintenance on lots of things: rental bikes poorly maintained; out of 6 dryers, 4 not working; 15-amp outlet on site was plugged up, same with next site over; half the already poor selection in game arcade were broken.
Aug 30, 2019
Our RV site was large and well done. Utilities were functional and setup was quick. Jackspot, pool, and camp store were very nice and Cape Charles was only about 8 miles away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Aug 29, 2019
Fun and friendly
Aug 29, 2019
The grass was not mowed or even weed sacked when we arrived at our site. We were told on the phone that all sites were the same size... that clearly was not true. The sites feel very crammed. We were hoping for more standard KOA facilities which are usually very nice. It wasn’t quite up to par with what we were expecting. Sunset Beach is a great spot though, so hopefully the KOA will improv
Aug 29, 2019
Had minor issues w/ the rental rv but the office was quick w/ trying to remedy the few issues. Very impressed & very satisfied! Will return again soon.
Aug 29, 2019
Aug 29, 2019
This is so far the most dog friendly place we have ever been with our fur babies. Thank you so much I have told my friends with fur babies to check you all out.
Aug 29, 2019
A beautiful setting! Views of the bay are awesome. Loved letting my pups swim in the bay too!! Even extended my stay it was so nice.
Aug 28, 2019
Booked cottage and RV Sites adjacent to each other in Jan 2019. Confirmed 8 days before arrival Aug 23rd. Upon arrival were assigned different cottage site. Could not resolve and had to accept another cottage not even visible from RV site. Upon entry cottage smelled musty as if someone had been smoking inside. Like facility location however attention to reservation details and conditions lacking
Aug 28, 2019
We love this campground and all of the friendly staff. Bathrooms are clean and updated, great camp store and the campground is kept clean. Never a bad experience when we stay here.
Aug 28, 2019
Very nice and clean. Loved the doggy beach.
Aug 28, 2019
The campgrounds is very well maintained and offers so many activities. We totally enjoy camping at your campgrounds. The only negative is the amount of golf carts flying around. Seriously flying, there needs to be some sort of speed control. It also appeared to be drivers of the golf carts that were not old enough to be licensed drivers. Seems to be safety issue. Maybe speed bumps would help.
Aug 27, 2019
Short stay but wonderful. Had a great time with the dogs and met other great people. Staff were friendly and the place was clean and fun, plenty to do.
Aug 27, 2019
Aug 27, 2019
Great location, great service and staff with a great view. Beach make it great for kayaking, fishing or just enjoying the water. The restaurant Jack Spot makes a good destination when you don't want to leave, but still want to go out. Definitely recommend this KOA.
Sep 04, 2019
I love the campground. Most of the lots are big and everyone is very pleasant. My only complaint is when my wife has called twice to pay in full , there seems to always be more owed when I get to the desk . If we want to pay in full shouldn't the fees and taxes be included? I think so
- James Binder on Google