Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 12, 2019
Cottagers were great.
Jul 12, 2019
Had a great stay. It's a beautiful location and beach with lot's of well maintained amenities. We plan to go back.
Jul 12, 2019
Jul 11, 2019
This is a beautiful campground -- the waterfront amenities really make it special. We loved floating in the bay every day. The beach is lovely! The pool was clean and well maintained. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The only issues we had were with kids trashing the bathrooms, and it happened several times during our week there, to both men's and women's facilities, unfortunately.
Jul 11, 2019
Jul 11, 2019
Outstanding camp ground! Great staff, great location, definitely headed back soon.
Jul 10, 2019
Out of all of the KOA’s we’ve stayed at, this one was by far the worst. The bathhouses were completely disgusting with gobs of hair all over the walls everyday, the pool was cloudy, green, FULL of hair, and black mold all over the pool. Most of staff was very unpleasant and seemed very irritable. The grass was pretty much dead and full of thistles making it impossible to be barefoot.
Jul 09, 2019
Great place to spend the 4th of July weekend at. All staff very nice. Clean bathrooms any the one by the pool is very cold!!
Jul 09, 2019
We had a great time. This is by far the best camp site I have ever been to. I will return every year.
Jul 09, 2019
Reservations need to learn their job, I'm a 33' 5th wheel, they had me listed as a 25' motorhome. They had the folks next to us were in a 40 plus 5th wheel backed into a site with power box, he was sticking into the road. They a better understanding of soze. On site people are fantastic
Jul 09, 2019
A few things I would like to see addressed before I return (which I will: 1. No smoking in the public areas. Nothing like walking down to the beach and have a waft of smoke blown right into my face. 2. Designated golf cart and bike areas. lease install some bike racks. 3. Resort fee, need to alert the client before making the reservations and not at check in. 4. Dogs in the pool? In the bathro
Jul 09, 2019
Jul 09, 2019
It was horrible
Jul 09, 2019
Campsite itself was fine. The pool was discusting, clearly not properly taken care of. Bathrooms were filthy. Laundry had broken machines and was also filthy.
Jul 09, 2019
First a SHOUT OUT to Lexi, Anna, and Raven! They were incredible with our children and their passion for people truly shined! Our only complaints would be that the rv spots were not level at all making it extremely hard to level our travel trailer. The other thing is that several times we used the bathroom facilities they were not very clean.
Jul 09, 2019
We really enjoyed our stay! We traveled from Ohio and stayed six nights. We enjoyed the pool and beach, the rental at the beach were a good price but were not always available . The Jackspot was in a great location and had great food. The staff in the camp store were always friendly and helpful. Our 9 year old can’t wait to come back!!
Jul 09, 2019
Everything was easy to get to. Everything was clean. Lance lead us to our site, helped backed in, and explained everything we needed to know... he was amazing! Everyone was friendly. The shop had lots of goodies. This stay well surpassed our expectations
Jul 08, 2019
Specific end site was requested on 8/20/2018 for 6/27/2019 thru 7/4/2019. I was told the site was “locked” When we arrived we had been put in an inside row. No one in the office could explain how it happened. This is NOT the type of service we have come to expect from KOA.
Jul 08, 2019
Next year your pricing is way to high. $180 a night I will not be coming back next year
Jul 08, 2019
It’s a shame really. We love the place and have stayed with you about 14 times in the last three seasons. The issue is your new pricing models. $200 per night next year over the 4th of July??? That’s insane. I just refuse to pay that for a dirt lot. Maybe others will pay but you have priced us out I am afraid.
Jul 08, 2019
They need to post signs to where the dog beach is and have families with dogs use that part of the beach instead of the dogs being everywhere on the beach.
Jul 08, 2019
Very nice camping experience. The fireworks show on the beach was just unbelievable . The bands they had at the jackspot were great. We have made reservations for next month !
Jul 08, 2019
Jul 08, 2019
This was our second year at the KOA. We stayed in a cabin last year and Safari Tent this past weekend. Both were amazing experiences. It is a very friendly environment overall. Our only downfall was the belief that sparklers were considered to be fireworks at our neighbors campsite. A fire is ok, but a child with a sparkler was not. Aside from this we are already planning for next year!!
Jul 08, 2019
Awesome place to stay. The beach was great, Jackspot has great food, watched the sun set at the bay everynight. Campsite was nice Brian even helped us figure out our cable situation. Thanks!
Jul 08, 2019
Facilities are nice and have great activities for campers. My only concern is campground was not very secured and anybody could gain access. As a camper you want to have secure grounds so you do at have to worry about theft of your items
Jul 08, 2019
No shade and an overcrowded beach with more than just campers there. Gates always open and people needlessly paying for guests that could just drive in.
Jul 08, 2019
We had a great stay. The park was very clean and there was a lot to do. My only real complaint was the lack of quiet hours.
Jul 08, 2019
A health inspector arrived at the pool and advised me the to get my kids out of the water because the pool was not up to code. Front desk sent down the pool lead and he also said he would not have his kids in the water because it needed to be drained completely and start over with the water. Said his boss didn’t care. They shut down the pool after my kids swam in it for hour.
Jul 08, 2019
Jul 07, 2019
Love this campground, especially the private beach that is dog friendly year round. The biggest con-the laundry facilities. Of the eight of each machine, only 5 washers and 4 dryers were working. This campground was packed for the 4th if July holiday with most families staying at least a week at a time and folks struggled to wash and dry their towels and clothes.
Jul 07, 2019
We were at one of the premier sites and everything worked out just fine. Your platforms are at the correct height along with hookups. Could have done better with the upkeep of some of the individual areas. Everyone was polite and helpful throughout our stay.
Jul 07, 2019
Jul 07, 2019
KOA was very clean. Staff did a great job of monitoring the grounds. Pool and beach were very kept. JACK Spot staff were extremely friendly. Food was just okay except for smoked ribs/chicken special.
Jul 07, 2019
It was the best place so far to be that I all ready book for next year
Jul 07, 2019
We LOVED our stay and will be back!! Thank you for a great experience!
Jul 06, 2019
We reserved a camping spot last year but they didn't honor it. They said they couldn't honor it, because it was for 5 nights When they checked the site we reserved, those people were only staying 5 nights. The golfcart story is ridiculous. My daughter came on Wed. n wanted to rent a golf cart for 24 hours. They checked in at 4p n they said she could.When we went back there was 3 day minimum.
Jul 06, 2019
This was our first long trip with the rv. Everybody was pleasant and helpful. We did have vehicle problems and Francine at the front desk steered us to a garage that did an excellent job helping us out. And a young lady at the ice cream counter told us about the fireworks in Cape Charles since we were leaving before the koa fireworks. The little town of Cape Charles is a gem, very cute!
Jul 06, 2019
The beach is nice; however there aren't as many kids activities as there are at other KOAs. Also, there is no shade which makes it incredibly hot during the day. I wouldn't return simply for the fact other KOAs have so much more to offer.
Jul 06, 2019
The sites are way too crammed together. No shade on the sites either. Minimal activities during our stay (6/30-7/5). The movie on the beach was a great idea and fun! The beach and pool are nice but pool needs tables with umbrellas.
Jul 06, 2019
Desk staff could have done better. Acceptable performance.
Jul 05, 2019
It was wonderful lots of things for the children to do wonderful clean bath houses beautiful beach great food the ghost crabs on the sand at night are wonderful to catch can't wait to come back
Jul 05, 2019
We rented a site and a cottage. Everyone enjoyed the pool as well as the beach. Staff is helpful and friendly.
Jul 04, 2019
Love this campground but wasnt really impressed this time. My site had a lot of small pieces of trash left on it. Pool area seemed to not have as many reclining chairs and tables as last year. We had to move our truck on request of staff member after 11pm due to someone coming into site across from us. My truck was 2 feet from stones on side of road. No enforcement of dogs not on leashes either.
Jul 04, 2019
Great beach access although I did not like having all the boats moored in so close to the swim area. It greatly reduced the view of the Chesapeake and limited swimming.
Jul 04, 2019
Jul 04, 2019
Beach is beautiful, awesome pool stays open until 10pm, all the facilities were new and clean. Had a family movie at the beach that my entire crew enjoyed. The restaurant had wonderful food and drinks. No shade on sites, but trees are planted. Would have given 5 stars if there was more for kids to do, like a basket ball court, volley ball nets, jumping pillow etc. We have already booked again!
Jul 03, 2019
Had many members of the family both in rv sites and hotel rooms. Everyone had a blast. Only complaint would be drunk golf cart drivers driving too fast but even that only happened a few times.
Jul 03, 2019
Very enjoyable
Jul 02, 2019
had an awesome time staff was very friendly accommendations were great