Benbow KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Dec 31, 2018
Hot tub was not working, that was one of the reasons we came back to Benbow
Dec 31, 2018
Excellent winter rate. Park is quiet except for the semi trucks climbing the freeway hill of the adjacent highway. Super service. Will stay here again.
Dec 30, 2018
A quick overnight while traveling from CA to Oregon. Because of darkness I could not appreciate your facilities. No problems, however.
Dec 24, 2018
Everything was great - just as we expected/ that’s why we stay at KOA - consistency of quality & courtesy of staff
Dec 24, 2018
Dec 23, 2018
Unique
Staff is amazing! We rented a cabin right on the river. It was perfect. Well maintained park. Landscape was on point!
Dec 18, 2018
Dec 18, 2018
Talk about you all the time to friends. Love the drive to you and the stay with you!
Dec 11, 2018
They did not have a dog park like they advertised, but the proximity of the state recreation area next-door more than made up for it. Just a beautiful area
Dec 01, 2018
staff helpful - all in good order - enjoyed having a laundry room and lounge, and watched the kids enjoy the pool. Great place!
Nov 30, 2018
Nice level pull through sites. Long enough to not have to unhook from tow vehicle
Nov 28, 2018
My partner shared a wonderful Thanksgiving Holiday at the Benbow KOA! Will definitely return again!
Nov 28, 2018
It was a short little getaway during off season, place is very clean and in a good location. We had a good time with full hook ups
Nov 27, 2018
Nov 26, 2018
Unique
Room was only half clean. Two towels were soaking wet. Floor was dirty. Lock on the door was extremely hard to use. Arrived on a very dark night and had a hard time finding the number on the cabin. Have stayed at many KOA camgrounds, this was my least favorite. Would not stay there again.
Nov 26, 2018
Wonderful, although cold stay. Great place, went over to the INN for dinner, PERFECT.
Nov 26, 2018
Nice campground, even in the pouring rain!! A lot of nice amenities, easy off and on the highway, plenty to do and see around the area
Nov 26, 2018
Very nice park. Clean and easy access.
Nov 25, 2018
Very nice place, the personal are fantastic. Brian, Vicki, and Dalton, were great but everyone was great and helpful and friendly were happy to help and treat you like they known you for years.. First time staying here, but will not be the last.
Nov 23, 2018
I was very pleased w/facility, cleanliness, activity choices, & organizational standard. But most of all, I commend the staff. They were friendly, informed, & very polite, down-home folk. Loved that. Must mention staff members Eddie & Blaine, who helped get my TV working for cable. They were funny, knew what they were doing & could not have been nicer. I commend the choice of staff you made.
Nov 21, 2018
Only stayed one night
Nov 21, 2018
Friendly staff, clean camp sites, easy access to a variety of activities!
Nov 21, 2018
Unique
The employees were very nice. I prefer the cabins like in Mt. Shasta. These cabins were clean and comfortable but so close to others that it was noisy.
Nov 20, 2018
We had a great stay. Campground well maintained and cared for. Staff helpful and courteous.
Nov 20, 2018
Site had many leaves that could have been blown away prior to arrival however failed to do so. As usual very pleasant experience there - was some smoke from the fires however that could not be helped by the park - highly recommend this place again.
Nov 20, 2018
Staff is very friendly, store well stocked, bathrooms very clean(but back bathrooms were out of toilet paper) and the grounds are very well maintained. Only down side is the noise from the freeway...
Nov 16, 2018
Not as nice as it once was. Too many full time/permanent RV residents. People living in the cabins does not lend to a resort feel. Staff very accommodating. Overpriced considering the lack of campground maintanance.
Nov 16, 2018
Nov 15, 2018
Heating wasn’t working upon arrival. Since we arrived late, the issue couldn’t be fixed until the next day. There was not extra toilet in bathroom. Cabin sleeps 5 ppl but only 2 towels in bathroom. Had to ask for extra and never came. It was a beautiful place and nice ppl there tho. I wish the pool table area and hot tub were open a little bit later in the night to enjoy. Thank you!
Nov 15, 2018
Unique
11/10 said that the cabin 40c didn’t have a tv. I accepted. I was traveling to get away from the smoke in Oakland from the fires. 11/11 I called to extend my stay but I wanted a TV. That person said she could get me a TV delivered so I wouldn’t have to move rooms. At 6 pm when I returned there wasn’t a TV, I called, Told one would be delivered in the am. Am still No TV. Instead was now cha
Nov 14, 2018
Staff friendly and helpful.
Nov 14, 2018
The RV park fees are a little high for this time of the year and the space pads are very uneven. It is very difficult to get a large 42' motor home level without lifting the front wheels off the ground. Had to move to find a pad that would not cause the problem. Also feel that the cost of meals, drinks and almost everything at the Ben Bow Inn is VERY expensive The golf course is a joke & a mess
Nov 14, 2018
Unique
Hot tub closed earlier than listed and told when I booked. Cabin was nice but what's up with the $250 charge? You said it would be a hold that would be removed at checkout. Its 3 days later and my card has been charged $250? Plus the $76 stay fee, kinda BS really.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry your refund did not immediately appear. We refunded the deposit to your debit card on 11/10, a Saturday; it often takes several working days for the bank to process the refund.
Nov 13, 2018
the staff at this koa was amazing! we were there because of the smoke from the camp fire and my husband has asthma . the staff went out of there way to help us. we were able to stay day to day because we didn't know when we would be able to come home. i would stay there again and again. the park was clean including the showers. a huge thank you to them.
Nov 12, 2018
I like Benbow, it is a beautiful spot. The only thing to complain about was the hall, we used for group activities could have been cleaner.
Nov 12, 2018
Good Sam group campout. Club house not clean when we arrived (kitchen).
Nov 10, 2018
Nov 09, 2018
Honestly, the only negative we had was the Wi-Fi being so poor. But we were camping it was OK. The staff that checked us in and interacted with us were professional and knowledgeable and very polite. The grounds we’re very well-kept. The laundry mat was clean and easy to access. We definitely have this on our list to stay again.
Nov 08, 2018
Too expensive.
Nov 06, 2018
The campsite had campfire coals dumped by the electric box and dog poop on the ground. It seems that the permanent staff can let their dogs and cats roam around without a leash, but the campers animals MUST be on a leash. The water shut-off values leak, there are wires and what looks like broken old cable boxes laying on the ground. Questionable people roaming on the grounds.
Nov 06, 2018
I enjoyed the facilities at Benbow KOA, but I think their RV sites could use a little repair. When I plugged my 30 amp plug into the socket everything seemed OK, but during the night the power kept going on and off. The next day I had the park check out the socket, and he said it must be my cord. So I put my 20 amp adapter on and plugged it in and it went OK for the rest of our stay.
Nov 06, 2018
Nice facility. Easy hookups. Road noise can't be helped with freeway so close.
Nov 06, 2018
Nice facility we only stayed one night so don't know much more about the area. The food at the Benbow Inn was very expensive; nice place but I'm not sure it's worth the price.
Nov 05, 2018
After having reserved my site (by specific site #) a month earlier, I arrived at Benbow KOA to be told that there was someone in my space, and they wouldn't leave! WHAT? Maybe not such a big deal, if not for the fact that I had reserved a premium site, of which there were none available. Further, we were traveling with friends, and they had reserved the next door site. To be continued:
Nov 05, 2018
Nov 05, 2018
Nov 04, 2018
Unique
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Nov 01, 2018
The site we stayed in our ems kicked off power the 1st day then again the 3rd day. The park is nice and has many cabins, which seems to be regular housing for many. The area is pretty with the redwoods close. In the neighboring towns there seem to be a lot of people hanging out and many appear to be transient. Some road noise from hwy 101. We would stay here again. The staff is really friendly.
Oct 30, 2018
Oct 30, 2018
We stayed here a year ago and had no complaints. This year diff.We made reservations for back in spot. We were put in the very back of the park between 2 cabins. One was where a person lived full time. And near us was a fifth-wheel where a park employee lived. Didn’t feel comfortable. The bathroom/showers in the middle building were not cleaned and not well maintained. Probably our last stay her
Oct 25, 2019
Excellent place
- Jorge Luna on Google
Oct 08, 2019
One of my favorites! Great splash park for the kids nice pool well maintained.
- Me Too on Google
Oct 28, 2019
Power to the wheel town was out, nice place to retreat to
- Jacob Beaumont on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.