Benbow KOA Reviews

Welcome to Redwood Country!

Campground Reviews

Jul 04, 2020
The rate was high. The store was plain. The golf course wasn't green and maintained. The staff was great.
Jul 04, 2020
4 days with 2 of our grandsons was really nice. We took advantage of the golf course as well as the short walk to the Inn for dinner on the terrace. Very nice experience and the staff was great. My only negative comment is the poor condition of the golf course. It is nearly 100 years old. a fun layout, and it would be a shame to see it continue to decline.
Jul 04, 2020
Jul 03, 2020
Overnight stay, KOA Team very nice, campground very well maintained.
Jul 03, 2020
Jul 03, 2020
It’s a very beautiful place to stay even though this time there’s not much activity because of the covid 19 we still enjoy our stay, we play golf and went to the river.
Jul 03, 2020
Great stop! Very clean and friendly staff.
Jul 03, 2020
Jul 02, 2020
We appreciate the helpful and friendly staff for making our Benbow time relaxing and enjoyable for our family.
Jul 01, 2020
Jul 01, 2020
Always fun and a great staff. Camp site could diffently be cleaned and racked after prior guest leave. Lots of cigarette butts on the ground.
Jul 01, 2020
Jul 01, 2020
Our stay was great! Staff very friendly. My only complaint is the cabin with the extremely loud bird.
Jul 01, 2020
First stay, will be back!....fantastic place for kids! Safe and clean. Some of best customer service I’ve experienced at a campground. The river flow and access to was perfect for kids.
Jun 30, 2020
Nice accommodations, great location, and very pleasant staff. Wonderful weekend.
Jun 30, 2020
Jun 30, 2020
The men's bathroom was not maintained well. There was no toilet paper in one stall (and this was after a morning cleaning), 2 of the sinks had no soap and one toilet looked like it had not been cleaned in days. Also, on Friday we were in the pool and noticed a light was detached from the inside of the pool and bobbing around in the water. Another person said they reported it on Thursday.
Jun 30, 2020
I love this KOA my only complaint was some lady in a cabin who works there has a parrot that she puts outside and it screeches until brought in. For hours. Being woke up by it was not cool. And then it continuing for hours is a deal breaker for us. Why this is allowed makes absolutely no sense to me. We will be back when and only when this is resolved
Jun 30, 2020
The view of the overflowing dumpster and garbage was unsightly. And it’s overflowing with Kamp Kabins that look a little rough. Used to be cleaner on previous visits, before it changed hands to KOA.
Jun 30, 2020
Jun 30, 2020
I go every year but this year the Corona virus you limited the pool to 1 hour a day and never told us at the time of booking. Both days there wasn't anyone else at the pool but we had to leave after an hour. I book every year in Sept. But if the restrictions are still in place I won't be going.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The pool was scheduled to be closed all summer but the health department recently gave us guidelines to follow to open to our guests. We are doing the best we can to accommodate everyone in the park and comply.
Jun 29, 2020
This site is very motorcycle friendly
Jun 29, 2020
Jun 29, 2020
Two major issues. Men’s restroom has two stalls, one was locked down. Quiet hours begin at 10pm and was never enforced! Revelers going well past 11:00. Spaces are fairly close together and during the summer windows remain open and all loud conversations and party goers are disturbing the ones searching for sleep.
Jun 29, 2020
Come here every year. In spite of covet issues we all had a great time.
Jun 28, 2020
Jun 28, 2020
Jun 28, 2020
Mostly due to Covid restrictions.
Jun 28, 2020
Nice quiet RV park with cabins and tent camping. Stayed in a riverfront cabin for five nights as base for visiting family in the area. Cabin was clean and had everything we needed. Great place to relax as long as you don't mind hearing the traffic on Hwy 101. Golf course in dire need of water, mowing, and TLC. Golf fee $51 too high for a 9-hole course in such shape.
Jun 28, 2020
They were supposed to have internet. The wifi worked but there was no internet and when I complained they told me to use a pay service that was available in the area. We run an internet business as we travel and connectivity is essential. All they had to do was reboot their system and it would have worked but they didn't care. Also there were cigarette butts, bottle caps, and bird seed in the site
Jun 28, 2020
Was a very nice campground
Jun 27, 2020
We reserved 2 sites next to each other and it had been confirmed over the phone that we had 99 and 100. When we arrived 100 was reserved to someone else and had a different occupant ever other day. The golf course was in horrible condition and way over priced considering the condition. Overall the camp ground could use better maintenance. Will definitely not come again.
Jun 27, 2020
We really enjoyed it, first time. Plan to go back. Love the size of restrooms, however could have been a little cleaner. We felt maybe facility was understaffed due to Covid. Very nice staff too! WE LOVED SITE for our little 15ft trailer, however ground needs to be either leveled, paved or tire stop barrier to keep trailer from rolling back over the bank. We had to detach close to street. �
Jun 27, 2020
Very well kept and managed facility. Wide clean spaces. Friendly staff that was concerned about COVID prevention and guest’s needs.
Jun 27, 2020
Wasn’t impressed with this KOA as with others in N Cal. Doesn’t have a good vibe. Our cabin, 44, had a nice layout and location on creek. But a trail to creek was in middle of our campsite and people cut through all day. No special cleaning inside for Covid. Stairs and deck not swept. Picnic tables filthy and debris left all over ground from prior guests. Public bathroom dirty. Crowded p
Jun 27, 2020
Very nice place and friendly people
Jun 27, 2020
Nice park however your pool needs cleaning and you WiFi sucked. Fix it

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our pool has been clean since we opened it so other than windy days that blow debris it has been good. And we do have a direct pay wifi option if you need more than our free wifi can provide.
Jun 26, 2020
Person next to us was long term, had a pit bull who he didn’t clean up after and smell drifted into our site. Another long term close by had a parrot she set outside all day squeaking. Beyond the long term people, the place seemed to be slowly Improving from our last visit.
Jun 24, 2020
We rented a lovely cabin just steps away from the creek! It was gorgeous and so much fun! The KOA is laid out perfectly so that we were close to all our friends. 10/10 would stay again!
Jun 24, 2020
Jun 24, 2020
We were traveling through, so only stayed one night, but the facility was clean, staff was friendly, and we loved hearing the water going over the little fall that was made.
Jun 24, 2020
2 staff members INSIDE the facility- at the front counter, were not wearing facemasks (to protect themselves AND guests from Covid) when I arrived despite state and local public health officer orders to do so. The grounds were nice, but this made me feel very unsafe, especially considering the number of travelers coming through. No-contact check in should be an option either way.
Jun 24, 2020
The showers/bathroom area was filthy. Mold and clumps of hair all over, one of the bathroom stall doors was off and just sitting there as a safety hazard. The actual campsite was great but with everything going on, they need to start disinfecting and cleaning the common areas.
Jun 23, 2020
2 night stay, everything worked, very clean. Pool is large, big play area. Exceptional restrooms and showers!
Jun 23, 2020
Such wonderful staff and facilities we had such a fun time with playing in the pool, golfing and biking riding around the park plus so close to the river!
Jun 23, 2020
Jun 22, 2020
Jun 22, 2020
Great cabin and location
Jun 21, 2020
The bathrooms/showers were not cleaned during our stay. Pieces of soap.and trash laying down around showers days and restrooms were dirty. Campsites old tree were.not trimmed and branches felt down on our heads and car multiple times.
Jun 20, 2020