Benbow KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 05, 2019
Over night stay, washer stopped working, but money-back worked. Lovely grounds but cost more than expected for over night stay.
Jun 02, 2019
We were bummed as we missed the ice cream social both nights we were there & planning to go. On Saturday, it got moved up 1 hour because of rain. I don't think this was widely known or communicated, though, and there were quite a few disappointed kids. On Sunday night it was cancelled all together thought it wasn't even raining. The pancake breakfast was great & the girl running it did fantastic!
May 30, 2019
May 29, 2019
May 29, 2019
May 29, 2019
May 29, 2019
Was able to get a site just before Memorial Day weekend with any problem, much to my surprise. They also had plenty of things to do if I was going to stay longer. I was just passing through and just needed to stay one night.
May 25, 2019
Ar4ived to find assigned site occupied. Office staff had chang d assignments without upd@ting the computer. Sites not very level. Pavement very worn down.
May 24, 2019
The park is nice and well maintained. The laundry needs to be upgraded as the machines are old and many are in disrepair. The staff is friendly and helpful. As with all KOA’s, the price is high. The store has practically nothing in it. All staff should be trained in the basics of RV’s.
May 24, 2019
Our stay was good after a little paperwork was straightened up. We received someone else’s reservation workup. Really wish the weather had been better to enjoy the area.
May 22, 2019
We loved the area of the campground. We would stay here again. The cabin we had was clean. The last night we stayed there someone in a trailer pulled in late and used there generator until after midnight, sounded like they where running a car without a muffler right next to our cabin.
May 21, 2019
WE CAN NOT WAIT TO GO BACK !!! LOVED THE PLACE AND THE STAFF ALL WONDERFUL !!!
May 21, 2019
Our site and service were great. My only complaint was that we declared a pet when we made the reservation and were charged for her, but when we got there and said we left the dog at home with our kids they didn't credit our card for the extra charge. Oh well.
May 20, 2019
May 20, 2019
Stayed as a stopover on a longer trip. Ice clean and fairly quiet. Had some highway noise from US 101 in the morning
May 20, 2019
May 20, 2019
I have stayed here twice before my last stay without any areas of concern. On my last overnight stay - 5/15 -, I was charged $3 for my 15 lb dog. It was the first time I was ever charged for my pet at ANY KOA. Also, the pool closed at 7:45, rather than 9 pm, which I think is too early for a pool to close when they informed me that the rate was now seasonal. I won't be coming back here.
May 18, 2019
May 16, 2019
Loved it! The cabin was clean and comfy. I only wish the golf course had been open. But mother nature had other ideas. We'll be back!!
May 15, 2019
Campgrounds were clean and everyone was very nice.
May 15, 2019
Staff was wonderful. Offered inside tips re: local things to do. Golf course was closed and had been closed since last fall and did not tell us when we booked in March. Golf was the reason we picked this campground.
May 14, 2019
IT was GREAT!!
May 14, 2019
The "premium" spaces - the ones you pay more for - are not all that. Just because you have a 6 person patio table & chairs instead of a picnic table with benches, and a "firepit" doesn't make it "premium. The furniture was not cleaned after the previous occupants left and the firepit was filled with ashes - as well as lots of ashes on the slab. I had to do my own housekeeping before we could use.
May 14, 2019
I don't know how to say it without sounding like a commercial But I'll do it anyway You're in a Valley were the East branch Of the eel river meets the eel river. The views are just beautiful new can hike walk bike they had a swimming pool the people were fabulous I highly recommend It'
May 14, 2019
Just stayed 1 night. Was clean and staff was very helpful. We will be going back for a longer stay soon
May 13, 2019
Had a great stay once again and will be back next year. Than campground is very nice and clean. Great people
May 13, 2019
There were some large, aggressive dogs in the park and that could be a deal breaker between staying here again or going somewhere else. Otherwise...we loved the park.
May 11, 2019
Had a good time there .... helpful and polite staff. Benbow Inn nearby was a nice diversion. No Sprint coverage, though .... hopefully that will change over time. Overall pleasant.
May 11, 2019
May 11, 2019
Very nice campground!
May 08, 2019
Great place! High price for camping but I loved it!
May 03, 2019
Apr 29, 2019
We enjoyed our 4 day stay at KOA. Great place to stay while visiting Shelter Cove, Giant Redwoods, Fortuna, Eureka etc. Very relaxing & fellow RVers were very friendly. Staff Members were also helpful, hard working & friendly. Only negative: the bottom of the fire pit in our Premium Site was eroded & the lawn needed to be cut.
Apr 25, 2019
Apr 25, 2019
Nice park, would stay there again.
Apr 22, 2019
The kitchen wasn’t well equipped. Too restrictive on data and it smelled like cigarettes.
Apr 21, 2019
Bathroom codes changed very frequently. We could never get into the bathroom without asking for the code. Otherwise friendly staff & great resort!!!
Apr 21, 2019
Friendly Staff Clean Park
Apr 21, 2019
the people here were awesome our reservation got screwed up but they made it right because the the old system and the new system didn't work together but she put us in a nice little spot we enjoyed our stay
Apr 19, 2019
The manager did a great job!
Apr 19, 2019
The cabins are for the employees of the Inn across the freeway, and some other employees have trailers mixed in with the guests which really changes the campground feel. Some of the employee lodgings were furnished very messily and did not make the place look or feel nice. The inside where you pay was very sparse and left something to be desired. The grounds were kept very nice.
Apr 18, 2019
Apr 17, 2019
Space had lots of mud in the driveway and around the cement pad. Had to use three of our welcome mats to keep from getting mud into the 5th wheel. Park lets the nearby hotel use the laundry facilities. They had all the washers and dryers full. I told the front desk ladies and they took the clothing out so I could do mine. The hotel staff still hadn't come to finish after my 2 hours doing laundry.
Apr 17, 2019
The place was looking like it needed some work. I had to ask them to turn on the hot water so that I could have a shower. The grass was in serious need of cutting. It was just an “okay” KOA Campground. There was nothing special about this place.
Apr 15, 2019
There was a little confusion about sites that were unusable, we had to change sites once. Everything was clean, very nice area. A little outdated but a good stay.
Apr 15, 2019
Iceley, a woman working behind the main desk, helped immensely. Her patience, clear answers and alternatives were perfect for my situation. Even helped me with the propane beyond filling. Great person! AND fun. Mike, a Superintendent, was also informative and fun though Iceley had everything completely handled perfectly. Thanks to Iceley from original phone calls to my arrival!
Apr 15, 2019
Spaces too small, only koa I have ever been to that charged extra for pets and more than token wifi. Overpricd
Apr 14, 2019
I was told I was getting a 2 br. 1.5 baths with a riverfront view, on the phone about 1 week before I arrived. I was given a 1 bedroom with a loft and couch bed, no riverfront. The cabin was furnished poorly, mix match chairs, dishes, not enough towels. Customer service was not good either. They didn’t even have milk in their store. Please don’t go there, not worth it.
Apr 14, 2019
We arrived at 7pm and went to dinner and were dismayed that the restrooms and showers were not opened until 8am the next am. For the price of our space, the lack of accessibility was not acceptable.
Apr 13, 2019
Muddy,overpriced,people coming in at all hours,ice was 5.00$ for heavens sake
Oct 08, 2019
One of my favorites! Great splash park for the kids nice pool well maintained.
- Me Too on Google
Oct 07, 2019
Such a lovely place. Staff were great and friendly.
- Rachel Stark on Google
Sep 22, 2019
Awesome view
- Rudy Sotello on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.