Benbow KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 11, 2018
I was very disappointed in my stay, as we walked in the cabin it looked very run down. Overpriced for dirty conditions/ants. Last year we rented a cabin here and was very happy, but 2 days ago This cabin had a very bad ant problem, ants in the microwave, we woke up at 4am with ants on us in our beds, moldy shower curtain, and the base of the toilet was had urine and hair on it, dirty floors etc

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am very sorry about the ant problem. We have had the exterminators in regularly but we often cannot spray inside the cabins because guests are there. We did comp your room by way of apology and I hope you will give us another chance.
Aug 11, 2018
Great place. Great facilities. Would stay again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you again. ll return soon.
Aug 11, 2018
The location near Benbow park, Benbow Inn, the Eel River, and the Avenue of the Giants is desirable. There's nice spacing between sites and quite a bit of trees. Near fwy but feels isolated.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Please keep us in mind for your next visit to Redwood Country.
Aug 10, 2018
Aug 09, 2018
We only stayed one night on our way to the Oregon Coast. It is a lovely park.
Aug 09, 2018
The staff was very helpful and polite. The restroom could have used a clean up on Sunday and the shower floors under the mats could use a good scrubbing. That is the only reason it was not a 5 and only a 4. Thanks for a great vacation!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Glad to hear your enjoyed your stay at the Benbow KOA. I passed your comments along to maintenance and regret that we disappointed you; it will not happen again.
Aug 09, 2018
great time,great staff

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Benbow KOA and we look forward to seeing you again.
Aug 09, 2018
Very pleasant!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your nice comments; glad you enjoyed your stay.
Aug 09, 2018
Overnight stay enroute from Reno to Oregon coast. Beautiful setting next to the Eel River and close to the California redwoods. Very clean, quiet and comfortable, but also very expensive.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay. If you camp frequently, you might check out the KOA Value Kard; it reduces your camping expense.
Aug 08, 2018
Aug 08, 2018
The staff was great. the pool and facilities were OK. we asked for 50 amp power, but was only able to run at 30 amp because of problems with electricity at the park. the golf course (lost water system) was totally out of play. greens were dirt, fairways were dirt and brown grass. the freeway noise was slightly bothersome. sites had grass & were level. Baths were clean.
Aug 08, 2018
Very nice location. Well maintained. Zero complaints.
Aug 08, 2018
Brought our 18 month old for her first camping experience. Joined 2 other groups with young kids and had a great time. Campground is clean, quiet, and has many amenities perfect for kids. Bummer the splash pad was broken though, but sounded like it was going to be getting fixed. My husband had a good time golfing too!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

it's nice to hear that you introduced your daughter to camping at the Benbow KOA. The Splash Park is up and running.
Aug 07, 2018
The campground was clean and quiet. We just stayed one night, so we didn't get to spend much time, but if we are in the area again we would definitely stay again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your nice comments; we look forward to seeing you again.
Aug 07, 2018
Stayed one night. Camped in the tent section with an RV. Felt like the forgotten section of the campground. The drive through sites were well maintained with grass and fire pits. The back section has dead grass and squeezed between cabins. Lots of flies all around the area. Bathrooms were clean and the staff super nice. Pool needed cleaning as it was heavily used. Full of hair and bugs.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry the pool did not meet your expectations. I passed your comments along to maintenance to insure that it does not happen again.
Aug 06, 2018
Aug 06, 2018
The cabin had, obviously, not been well cleaned for an extended period of time. The floors were all extremely dirty. I had to get staff members to acquire a coffee pot for us, after our arrival. The well was not working, so the campground and golf course were very Brown and unattractive. I can get more for my money at a good Motel.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I regret that your stay did not meet your expectations. I hope you will give us another chance to make things right.
Aug 06, 2018
Very clean and people where very friendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Aug 05, 2018
Aug 05, 2018
Aug 05, 2018
We have been staying at this KOA for about 10 yrs as it is a halfway point on our trip to Oregon! We have recommended it to many folks over the years. We were extremely disappointed at our recent visit as they have let the grass die in many of the RV sites as well as trash in our deluxe site, the entire golf course is bone dry and dead. Also some huge trees dying due to lack of water.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The pump that supplies all of our irrigation water died and the repair was far more difficult and challenging than I can explain here. With the summer heat, the lack of water caused almost immediate damage. We have corrected the major problems and hope to have the well back on line by the end of the month. Please come back and see the difference.
Aug 04, 2018
We were there with our granddaughter for a three night stay. She loved the activities and we loved the grassy shady site.
Aug 04, 2018
Nice setting. The bathrooms need to be upgraded, though. There should be both hot and cold running water in the sinks and working soap dispensers. In the women's bathroom we used, only one dispenser worked to service four sinks.
Aug 04, 2018
The sites need to be level and some of your turn aren’t wide enough given how cars have to park.
Aug 04, 2018
Nice camp ground
Aug 04, 2018
Aug 03, 2018
Unique
booked a night for 2 in 2 person room. Should have booked a 4-6 guest cabin for us instead... Live & Learn!! We will be back!
Aug 03, 2018
At the back of the park the restrooms in the woman's side had major plumbing problems..
Aug 03, 2018
Aug 03, 2018
Aug 02, 2018
Park is nice well maintained. Fellow campers let their dogs bark constantly for hours at a time, some people did not clean up after their dog and there was a group , with kids that let the kids run and scream around our part of the park until 10:30 pm. You cannot be responsible for guest conduct but that is why my rating is lower. Connie Kelley
Aug 02, 2018
I was there only one night and the staff was awesome. I was in a shady spot and was close to showers and restrooms. I will be back on August 14th. See you then�
Aug 02, 2018
Aug 02, 2018
Everything was good.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope you will return soon and often!
Aug 02, 2018
Location is beautiful & kid areas (park & pool) are clean & good shape. Our cabin however was not fully stocked. There was a major ant problem. They were in the kitchen, floor, & closet. The cabin hadn't been swept & the counters & edges of sinks & faucets haven't been properly scrubbed in a long time. Finally, I couldn't tell if the sheets had actually been cleaned because we found hair on them

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize that the cabin did not meet your expectations and hope that you will give another chance.
Jul 31, 2018
Brief, only stayed 1 night it was hot & full so really didn't get to check it all out.
Jul 31, 2018
We visited Benbow, CA for a pleasure trip, and had a wonderful stay. The entire Staff was great, and the facilities/amenities were very nice. It's a lovely area!
Jul 31, 2018
No effective WiFi. Insufficient signal to even get a ping off their server. The young employees seem effective at their trained tasks, but are unable to think on their feet or outside-the-box to solve problems. Sprinklers at night. Mud and standing water in site in the morning. Does KOA mean Kennel-club of America. The people with their menagerie of Kanines is getting out of control
Jul 31, 2018
Worst KOA I’ve Stayed at and the golf course was terrible
Jul 31, 2018
many flies and other flying insects in the cabin
Jul 31, 2018
The north end of the campground needs some attention and water. The golf course is unplayable due to no water anywhere on the greens or fairways. Other wise it is ok for a short stay.
Jul 31, 2018
Useless internet poor cell service Nice sites good laundry good store Friendly staff
Jul 31, 2018
Golf course is a mess. Staff is unknowledgable. Septic backs up. Worst I've seen it we have been going for years. Last two times we have been the pool has been closed at least one of the days.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The irrigation well broke and has been very difficult to repair. It should be back on line by mid-August and the course will gradually return to normal. I regret the inconvenience.
Jul 31, 2018
Had a difficult spot to back in.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry to hear that backing-in was a challenge. Once you were parked, I hope that you enjoyed your stay.
Jul 31, 2018
Nice place in a pretty location. This KOA stand up for my standards as ones I’ve stayed in the past.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

thank you for your comments. I'm that you enjoyed your stay and hope you return.
Jul 30, 2018
Good stay and easy access to Avenue of Giants.
Jul 30, 2018
So clean and fun!! The best campground we have ever visited!
Jul 30, 2018
EEl river was amazing! Kept us cool on very hot day
Jul 30, 2018
This is the perfect place to stay when traveling highway 101. The only drawback is that there's no Wifi.
Jul 30, 2018
The golf course is soooooo dry. There is no rough anymore and the entire course is hard as a rock. They charged us less than normal because it was in such bad shape but we golfed all last summer and it was no where near the conditions that exist now. Ruined my Benbow adventure.
Oct 25, 2019
Excellent place
- Jorge Luna on Google
Oct 08, 2019
One of my favorites! Great splash park for the kids nice pool well maintained.
- Me Too on Google
Oct 28, 2019
Power to the wheel town was out, nice place to retreat to
- Jacob Beaumont on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.