Barstow / Calico KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-0059

Reserve: 800-562-0059

Info: 760-904-3069

Info: 760-904-3069

Email This Campground

35250 Outer Highway 15 North

Yermo, CA 92398

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jun 12, 2018
Jun 02, 2018
Music blaring upon arrival, back lot restrooms were filthy, two heavy wooden pallets, that I had to move, were in our site even though there were several other site sitting empty.
Jun 01, 2018
Smallish sites, close to the highway. Overall not the fanciest KOA. It gets 5 stars because it is the best campground in the area. I cancelled my original campground plans elsewhere, lost my $50 deposit and gladly did so. While Barstow KOA is not the fanciest, it is definitely better than other choices. Thank goodness!
May 29, 2018
May 29, 2018
May 28, 2018
It was fun, we loved it. We stayed in a safari tent and parked our cars next to us. We ended up parking in someone's space. I don't think the safari tent has it's own parking, and at the end we think there was a parking area/lot.
May 22, 2018
Check in was fast and easy. Tent site was a little small, and with no other tent campers in the park we were disappointed that the only other tent campers, who arrived at 1am, were assigned the site right next to ours. Could have spread us out a bit. Woke us up. Also, price was a little steep for the location. Not quite the oasis the website claims it is.
May 07, 2018
We stayed in one of the safari tents, it was clean and roomy. We also reserved the club house for my granddaughters birthday party. everything was great, the staff were very helpful, whatever we needed they made sure we had it. the pool is great, and the kids loved the playground and jump pad. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you all for making my granddaughters birthday so memorable.
Apr 15, 2018
The facility was really clean and most of the staff (all but 1) was very friendly and helpful. We loved the game room and playground.
Apr 10, 2018
Shower and bathroom near back of camp could use some remodeling. Also access to more than one bathroom would be better. Only one door was unlocked. But other than that. Place was clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Apr 09, 2018
Apr 09, 2018
I am a tent guy when I go camping. The bathrooms and showers are always clean. A nice place to stay. I stayed on a Friday, Saturday, and left on Sunday. Easy in and out.
Apr 09, 2018
Apr 04, 2018
It was very close to the freeway making it very difficult to sleep in a tent. It was over priced compared to much nicer KOA's is much nicer locations. $35 for a tent spot is crazy high. I can get a tent spot in a wooded area on a creek for $25
Apr 03, 2018
Online it said they would have an easter hunt . No egg hunt . They should have activities for kids through out the day especially if the pool is closed and it’s a holiday weekend . Kids look forward for activities.
Apr 02, 2018
I really enjoyed my stay here. Unfortunately we had very little time to enjoy it as it was a quick stopover on our way through.
Mar 28, 2018
Wonderful, peaceful, quiet. Rented a barrel for a fire and purchased firewood and the wood and the barrel directly to my campsite for me! Wished I had planned on a two night stay vs a one night stay.
Feb 23, 2018
Very nice staff. They also let us borrow a small space heater on a very cold night. Thank you
Feb 18, 2018
Richard was welcoming and very helpful despite the late hour. He needs a pay raise. ;)
Feb 14, 2018
Jan 22, 2018
Jan 02, 2018
Nov 27, 2017
The staff are very friendly and helpful �
Nov 26, 2017
Clean. Only thing was bathroom ran out of toilet paper and some were locked
Nov 14, 2017
Evening Place Longe is Not comfortabel
Nov 01, 2017
Oct 31, 2017
Always a nice stop on a longer trip. Have stayed here several times. Peggy Sues Diner is always a reason to stay here.
Oct 25, 2017
Oct 23, 2017
Love this campground! We have been coming here for the last 5 years and continue to come for the Calico Ghost Town Halloween events. It's clean, safe and the staff is wonderful. Campground continues to be upgraded every year. Really enjoy the magician and the fire girl show! The site decorating contest was so much fun! Thanks Barstow KOA for everything.
Oct 17, 2017
I have stayed here several times for an annual event and it seems like the maintenance was not as good this year. The main bathrooms and showers were very clean and well maintained but the other bathrooms are a broken down dirty mess. I usually rent an RV space but this year rented an Safari tent. The tents could use some repair and updating. They need to install working swamp coolers in them.
Oct 17, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
The bathrooms near tent sites are in unacceptable condition. Only two open. As a return tent site camper I note number of sites increased in same area. (Cramped now) Cost has increased approx. $12.00 per night. Over all experience since last year. Not improved.
Oct 08, 2017
I asked for our campsite tent with electric near the restaurant and he gave us a tent site at the back of the Camp and there was about 10 campsite where the electric closer to the restrooms being handicapped having to get up at the middle of the night that was not good
Oct 02, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
Very good Camping !!!! excellent staff, it's a good place to go to calico
Sep 22, 2017
Stayed overnight in a tent. Nice enough campground for that. Has all the features that one expects from KOA.
Sep 20, 2017
I've camped here several times. One of my favorite places. Being near Peggy Sues' diner is a plus.
Sep 19, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
Friendly staff, booked a premium shaded place and found myself in a bare wooden box with a tiny roof on one side, norhing to feel comfortable, and 100 degrees hot and loud because of the highway right next to the campground
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
very enjoyable stay, clean bathrooms and free showers. thank you.
Aug 14, 2017
I loved it just didn't like the bathrooms they never had paper and it gets hot in there
Aug 07, 2017
Easy late-check-in process. Friendly, active staff. Very comfortable visit. Can't wait to return!
Aug 07, 2017
Bathrooms dirty and unbearably hot. No air conditioning and bad smell
Jul 30, 2017
Toilets and showers were not standard compared with other KOAs. Tent sites were not very clean and prepared well.
Jul 27, 2017
Pretty disappointed with this KOA. I am a Mama traveling with kids and I called ahead the day of my reservation to confirm what to do with a late arrival...they put me on hold and then never answered the phone and when I tried to call back I got voicemail. Our campsite was full of cigarette butts and a little trash. The fella who did our late night check in was however very friendly.
Jul 25, 2017
I really like this KOA campground. It is really close to Calico Ghost Town. The pool was clean and refreshing. Nice play ground for the kids and game room. Bathrooms were clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was the toilet paper was not replenished. It seems like they stocked it once a day then did not check back to make sure there was enough.
Jul 16, 2017
Jul 09, 2017
Hmm...hut wasn't really clean. One toilet was blocked, no one seemed too concerned with fixing it. Some of the showers were out of order. Some of the showers you had to pay for, which really should be inclusive in price. Pool was good. Rec room was pretty disgraceful and hardly useable. Free wifi only worked next to the pool. Some of the huts had aircon, but ours didn't. It was very hot inside.
Jul 07, 2017
The bathroom and club room are disgustingly dirty. My six year old walked in and said "oh, yuck...it smells like when our dog had puppies". It was awful, we left after being there for 10 hours. It was the worst KOA we have stayed in.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals