Barstow / Calico KOA Reviews

Tent Reviews

Nov 22, 2019
My only complaint is the showers. There are no benches in the shower stall area to set anything. Luckily there was one outside the stall, but it really makes it hard.
Nov 04, 2019
My stay was great. My only issue is that I never got my confirmation or my receipt emailed to me. This is a great spot for camping over night and spending the day at Calico Ghost Town with a stop at Peggy Sues on the way out. Our second time coming here. We want to bring the nephews back with us next time.
Oct 29, 2019
My family of 5 was comfortable sleeping in the Safari tent bunkbeds, but the tent is getting old and really needs a lot of TLC between other things in it. There was no free ride to Calico Ghost town like it said in the website. Next time we will try the cabins, they look nice. Overall it was a nice experience.
Oct 22, 2019
We had intoxicated neighbors who kept my young family up late at night with loud vulgar language and vomiting from alcohol consumption. We had many brown widows on our table and one made it into our luggage. Roaches came out one night and got into many things. The tent sites are too close together. Loved the close distance to Calico. Staff was friendly. Bathrooms were clean. Kids loved playground
Oct 21, 2019
Oct 14, 2019
Great place for family and the staff was all kind & friendly. They were all so helpful and help me setup with a safari tent because I forgot to pack my sticks for the tents. We will be back before October ends for the Calico ghost town Halloween scare.
Oct 03, 2019
Sep 30, 2019
We were only there for one evening. Upon check in we were given a space which was very small. Our tent and van would barely fit. I asked for another site, and was offered a much bigger site. Thank you. My only other thought was the highway traffic was loud because we were in a tent with no windows to close.
Sep 30, 2019
Tent sites were small. Playground structures were unsafe. Campground was very clean. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. Dishwashing station had a large sink and lots of hot water. Maintenance staff member was very friendly and helpful.
Sep 08, 2019
Near Death Valley. Bathrooms could be cleaner and the pool area is in need to renovation. Totally okay for one night.
Aug 18, 2019
Aug 01, 2019
The campground and facilities are awesoPM. And the nice lady that booked us was very accomodating. The area is just too hot. It was still 90° at 10:00 pm. Pretty tough to enjoy it when it's that hot.
Jul 12, 2019
Nice tent sites with privacy fencing around them available. Lots of picnic tables with roofs over them for sun protection too. The showers were not good. I’m sure built a long time ago but the stalls were very small. No place to put your soap or shampoo except the floor of shower. Racks or something would be easy to install. If there was a bench in them you couldn’t get by it hardly.
Jul 08, 2019
My daughter and I were traveling across country and needed a place for the night. Everything was very clean. The staff was friendly. One drawback was that there were a number of semi-truck cabs that seemed to be stopping for the night. This seemed more of a stopover site than a family-type campground. It was summertime, so it might be different another time of year.
Jul 03, 2019
Camping pas très bien entretenu, l'accueil pas très chaleureux.
Jun 28, 2019
Great facilities and the perfect start for a Bryce visit. Sorry, I could not stay longer.
Jun 25, 2019
Our stay in the tent site was nice and quiet. The only downside was that one of the bathrooms was out of order while we were there.
Jun 17, 2019
We are used to cleaner bathrooms and swimming pools at KOAs. Also lots of things were broken or out of order. Least nice KOA we have stayed at. We did enjoy the game room and our shaded tent site.
May 28, 2019
My family made the decision to stay there based on the pool, playground, and jumping platform photos and call outs on the website. The pool was in no condition for use, and was not open. The jumping platform was a mess. It's not just wrong, its false advertising. People make vacation plans based on your site. Having such misleading information is shameful. Actual photos will be posted though.
May 19, 2019
May 17, 2019
May 14, 2019
Friendly and quiet place to stay, bathrooms and showers are very clean, I wish they'll have more trash cans trough the camp ground
May 14, 2019
May 13, 2019
We love staying here. Bathrooms are clean. Staff was helpful in setting us up with bikes and fun activities for the kids. Easy access off the freeway and close to Calico and Peggy Sues. Great weekend away.
May 04, 2019
pleasant staff at check in. the place is worn a bit. shower was cramped. but on the brighter side it looks as if up grades are starting to happen. all in all it was a pleasant one night.
May 04, 2019
pleasant staff at check in. the place is worn a bit. shower was cramped. but on the brighter side it looks as if up grades are starting to happen. all in all it was a pleasant one night.
Apr 21, 2019
Great staff, they were a lot of help.
Feb 12, 2019
Actually, the facilities that worked were clean and functional. However, I was tent camping and I was near the facility that was closed. I really did not like having to walk 50 yards in the middle of the night, (several times) in 30 degree weather. Otherwise, it was a convenient place to stay.
Jan 11, 2019
Great, always like this place. Lots to do for kids although this was a quick stop on the way home.
Oct 29, 2018
Great, very quiet compared to Calico campground even though it was crowded, trees and covering for table made great shade. I thought freeway noise would be loud and a problem but it wasn't bad at night and we slept fine. I didn't know that our tent site didn't have fire pit but we didn't have time for fire anyway. Camp workers were very friendly.
Oct 22, 2018
The lady checking us in wasn't very friendly. The jumping mat wasn't up to do. The sites are to close together and tiny for the price. I probably won't stay here again just because there are much better options and a lot cheaper. When you say quiet time at 10:00pm you should enforce it or don't make it a rule. the scavenger hunt was fun though.
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 15, 2018
bathrooms in poor condition...showers locked up in main building....combo 2007 did not work.... used handicap shower.....deplorable unsafe condition.....contacting ADA attorney.....no telephone # for assistance..... have stayed before, what happened here? please contact me for a fee adjustment.
Oct 15, 2018
Love the campground miss the pancake breakfast!
Oct 15, 2018
You Campground was great nice and clean plenty of room bathrooms were nice and clean people with friendly service was good will come back and stay again anytime recommended.
Oct 14, 2018
Nov 23, 2019
Clean and quiet. Great Hosts!
- Mary Eaton on Google
Dec 04, 2019
We had to change our reservation because 58 was closed due to bad weather. They were very accommodating and the woman at the front desk was personable and friendly. Park has RV sites, tent sites, safari tents, and cabins along with a fully stocked convenience store, propane and plenty to entertain young and old (game room, archery, horseshoes, basketball court and seasonal pool). It seems very popular with off-roaders as the park was full of people and their Jeeps, dune buggies and dirt bikes to ride on adjacent trails. They and their gear were smeared out into the roads and they were hollering late into the night (well past quiet time). They rode their off road vehicles through the park but were not excessively loud during daylight hours. We had a space without sewer so had to use the communal dump which lacked the water pressure to rinse our tank—maintenance man was polite and apologized for the lack of pressure.
- MarilynB1313 on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.