Barstow / Calico KOA Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 08, 2019
Near Death Valley. Bathrooms could be cleaner and the pool area is in need to renovation. Totally okay for one night.
Aug 18, 2019
Aug 01, 2019
The campground and facilities are awesoPM. And the nice lady that booked us was very accomodating. The area is just too hot. It was still 90° at 10:00 pm. Pretty tough to enjoy it when it's that hot.
Jul 12, 2019
Nice tent sites with privacy fencing around them available. Lots of picnic tables with roofs over them for sun protection too. The showers were not good. I’m sure built a long time ago but the stalls were very small. No place to put your soap or shampoo except the floor of shower. Racks or something would be easy to install. If there was a bench in them you couldn’t get by it hardly.
Jul 08, 2019
My daughter and I were traveling across country and needed a place for the night. Everything was very clean. The staff was friendly. One drawback was that there were a number of semi-truck cabs that seemed to be stopping for the night. This seemed more of a stopover site than a family-type campground. It was summertime, so it might be different another time of year.
Jul 03, 2019
Camping pas très bien entretenu, l'accueil pas très chaleureux.
Jun 28, 2019
Great facilities and the perfect start for a Bryce visit. Sorry, I could not stay longer.
Jun 25, 2019
Our stay in the tent site was nice and quiet. The only downside was that one of the bathrooms was out of order while we were there.
Jun 17, 2019
We are used to cleaner bathrooms and swimming pools at KOAs. Also lots of things were broken or out of order. Least nice KOA we have stayed at. We did enjoy the game room and our shaded tent site.
May 28, 2019
My family made the decision to stay there based on the pool, playground, and jumping platform photos and call outs on the website. The pool was in no condition for use, and was not open. The jumping platform was a mess. It's not just wrong, its false advertising. People make vacation plans based on your site. Having such misleading information is shameful. Actual photos will be posted though.
May 19, 2019
May 17, 2019
May 14, 2019
Friendly and quiet place to stay, bathrooms and showers are very clean, I wish they'll have more trash cans trough the camp ground
May 14, 2019
May 13, 2019
We love staying here. Bathrooms are clean. Staff was helpful in setting us up with bikes and fun activities for the kids. Easy access off the freeway and close to Calico and Peggy Sues. Great weekend away.
May 04, 2019
pleasant staff at check in. the place is worn a bit. shower was cramped. but on the brighter side it looks as if up grades are starting to happen. all in all it was a pleasant one night.
May 04, 2019
pleasant staff at check in. the place is worn a bit. shower was cramped. but on the brighter side it looks as if up grades are starting to happen. all in all it was a pleasant one night.
Apr 21, 2019
Great staff, they were a lot of help.
Feb 12, 2019
Actually, the facilities that worked were clean and functional. However, I was tent camping and I was near the facility that was closed. I really did not like having to walk 50 yards in the middle of the night, (several times) in 30 degree weather. Otherwise, it was a convenient place to stay.
Jan 11, 2019
Great, always like this place. Lots to do for kids although this was a quick stop on the way home.
Oct 29, 2018
Great, very quiet compared to Calico campground even though it was crowded, trees and covering for table made great shade. I thought freeway noise would be loud and a problem but it wasn't bad at night and we slept fine. I didn't know that our tent site didn't have fire pit but we didn't have time for fire anyway. Camp workers were very friendly.
Oct 22, 2018
The lady checking us in wasn't very friendly. The jumping mat wasn't up to do. The sites are to close together and tiny for the price. I probably won't stay here again just because there are much better options and a lot cheaper. When you say quiet time at 10:00pm you should enforce it or don't make it a rule. the scavenger hunt was fun though.
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 15, 2018
bathrooms in poor condition...showers locked up in main building....combo 2007 did not work.... used handicap shower.....deplorable unsafe condition.....contacting ADA attorney.....no telephone # for assistance..... have stayed before, what happened here? please contact me for a fee adjustment.
Oct 15, 2018
Love the campground miss the pancake breakfast!
Oct 15, 2018
You Campground was great nice and clean plenty of room bathrooms were nice and clean people with friendly service was good will come back and stay again anytime recommended.
Oct 14, 2018
Oct 10, 2018
More expensive than other KOA’s even those in popular areas. Bathrooms in the back were not clean or very appealing (grungy color at bottom of toilet) but toilets and bathroom by the office was updated and better. I was at a tent site -they were all pretty close together and I had a pile of old wood stacks next to me. Lady at the counter was not too friendly compared to others. Ok for 1 night.
Oct 01, 2018
We almost always have an enjoyable stay in KOAs. Was saddened to hear Barstow couldn’t have a pancake breakfast anymore. But as always the staff was very friendly and helpful. The back restrooms are under going remodeling, so that was a little awkward. Site was very clean and left a little rustic (the way we like it). The dump station was clean as well. We always enjoy Barstow/Calico KOA. Than
Sep 29, 2018
Good campsite. Extremely compacted dirt so really hard. No soft sand.
Aug 24, 2018
Aug 23, 2018
Beautiful setting, well stocked shop, friendly staff
Aug 21, 2018
piscine ok abri table et arbre tres bien jeux enfants correct Vetusté des wc, nettoyage insuffisant ainsi que le nombre billards et baby foot payant
Aug 20, 2018
Camping beaucoup trop proche de l'autoroute.
Aug 20, 2018
the campground itself was nice, the playground was awesome! the pool was nice, the bathrooms at the front are nice and clean (NOT the ones at the back though!). but the campground is right off the freeway. it was SOOO loud!
Sep 06, 2019
today we arrived in Barstow Koa. a very welcoming welcome and a great place. even popular and clean. I will certainly recommend this campsite to Dutch people traveling in CA. very professional set up!
- Rob Karremans on Google
Sep 06, 2019
Great place nice spot. Lots of shade, nice staff.
- Dee Pellandini on Google
Sep 03, 2019
First stop in our RV on our road trip on route 66. Good KOA, very clean, lovely staff
- Kris Jones on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.