Avila / Pismo Beach KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 12, 2019
Unusable wifi
Aug 12, 2019
We were greeted with a very warm welcome, told about all the things to know, and then escorted to our space. The facility was nice and the bathrooms were large and kept up well. First time at a KOA and will definitely be returning again!
Aug 12, 2019
We are very happy with the park. Spots are really tight, but everyone has been pleasant. I just wish we were closer to the beach or shopping.
Aug 12, 2019
Loved the outdoor movies with our grandson.
Aug 12, 2019
Personel was very friendly, nice pool, nice spa en very clean bathroom. Nice hike to the beach about 4 km without traffic, was a bike/foothpath. Nice beach. Close to highway so you can hear the traffic, but that is in all KOA-campings.
Aug 12, 2019
Aug 12, 2019
Clean well run friendly staff wish we could have camp fires
Aug 11, 2019
We only stayed 1 night, because we were on the way back to Los Angeles. Camping and restrooms looked nice. Pool was a bit small. We would have liked to make a campfire, but that wasn’t aloud.
Aug 11, 2019
Very nice place! Always improving. Staff helpful.
Aug 11, 2019
Staff were very helpful and friendly and willing to answer any questions we had. The park was clean, pool was wonderful and we loved the dog park area and play area. Hook ups were easy and all worked well. The only complaint we had was the noise of the freeway which was likely worse due to being at the back of the park, close to the freeway. Spaces were spacious and had great picnic tables.
Aug 11, 2019
Our first overnight stay ever at any campground. Loved it! We'll stay longer next time.
Aug 10, 2019
The sites are so close together it is impossible to spread out some chairs and enjoy an evening of making s’mores (gas fire). The recreation room is great for the kids but could use some tlc. We asked for a late checkout (2 hours) since our site was vacant the next night. We had a fishing trip the day of our checkout and would be a bit late. Our request was denied and we had to pay $75.00.
Aug 10, 2019
Unique
The cabin was very nice and clean. The employees were very friendly.
Aug 10, 2019
Very courteous and informative, area clean and neat, always friendly and a wave when drive by site... will return
Aug 09, 2019
My well behaved kids were not allowed into the hot tub. Apparently it is a 14 and up age rule here. I wish we would’ve known about this rule before we booked our family vacation here. We probably won’t stay here again if that is enforced. The regular pool is too cold in this climate for children.
Aug 09, 2019
Beautiful place staff very friendly and helpful. Only criticism and its really nothing sites are a little tight making it slightly difficult pulling in and out.
Aug 09, 2019
Unique
We had no issues. The cabin was cute... I expected it to be more camping like, but it was more hotel like. Staff was nice. Everything was clean.
Aug 09, 2019
New management is great. Bathrooms smell good cleaner grounds. Everything seems to flow better since last we stayed here bout a year ago Thank you!
Aug 09, 2019
Facility was nice, well cared for with good amenities. The site we stayed in was a pull-through, however the "thru" was such an incredibly sharp right turn with little clearance so we almost didn't get out. Complex is right on the highway, lots of road noise all day and night.
Aug 09, 2019
Aug 08, 2019
Staff was awesome! Helpful friendly and accommodating. Sites were clean bathrooms were clean and there was a lot to do for the kids playground, movie night, adults as well... we played shuffleboard use hung out by the outdoor fire pit, jacuzzi and Pool were clean and kept up and a great little gift shop, better prices than in town!
Aug 08, 2019
Aug 08, 2019
The sites are so close together there isn’t enough room to put out your chairs to enjoy the setting. The recreation room was great for the kids. We asked for a late checkout (2 hours ) but had to pay for an extra night. I found this to be unreasonable since the park had numerous vacancies ( including our site). For this reason I will be reluctant to recommend this park.
Aug 08, 2019
We stayed in a cabin by the pool. It was very clean and nicely decorated. Very limited storage areas or places to put luggage or clothing. Could have hooks in several places to hang clothing, and one by the sink for a towel. We couldn’t get our stove to work but we decided we didn’t need it so we never asked for assistance. Overall, the campground is very well kept and has nice options for kid
Aug 07, 2019
We LOVE staying in Avila. Location is great, staff is friendly and accommodating, and the grounds are nice.
Aug 07, 2019
Just an overnight stay. The staff was amazing.
Aug 07, 2019
The office staff was very unfriendly and unhelpful. We had asked for our sites to be close together when we booked. They couldn't have been farther apart. We arrived a few minutes early and we told to go wait in the dirt at the side of road. I would not stay there again.
Aug 07, 2019
Great campground with lots to do packed into a small space. Some sites are really narrow.
Aug 07, 2019
Very clean facilities great location except for freeway noise but not much you can do about that. Cleanest pool and spa ever.
Aug 06, 2019
We enjoy the facilities, but the staff are sticklers. It seems they aren't too willing to go the extra mile to make sure you have a good time. We tried to get extra nights for a friend and they said there was nothing that could be done, yet there were empty spots the whole time. It seems like some of the staff feel they are doing you a favor by letting you stay at the koa.
Aug 06, 2019
Very clean park in a great location. Restroom/showers, while clean, needed to be updated. Very clean and modern laundry room. Staff was very friendly and helpful. As with many RV parks designed before today's larger RV's with slides, the sites are really small and close together. Don't miss the Farmer's Market at nearby Avila on Friday afternoon or the Bob Jones bike trail.
Aug 06, 2019
Unique
Great, friendly staff. We had a great time and will be back. Campground clean and well maintained. The only suggestion I would have, is to repaint the directions/signage on the pavement.
Aug 06, 2019
Aug 06, 2019
Great campground! Unfortunately we had site 40 that is like living in a fishbowl. We recommend a privacy fence between the bathrooms and campsite.
Aug 06, 2019
Everyone was very nice and helpful. This was our first time and we really enjoyed it! Thank you for the blueberry pancakes! �
Aug 05, 2019
This is one if the best KOA I've stayed at. The campground was very well maintained & the staff were very friendly. I will be returning to the camp ground this October & will be recommending Avila /Pismo beach KOA to my family and friends.
Aug 05, 2019
We had a wonderful time at the campsite. The staff was friendly and the grounds were very clean. Bathrooms/showers are in excellent shape. A lot of families enjoying the campsite. The pool area is clean and very inviting. The only thing I would change would be a small section of the path along the movie area were the plants are overgrown and covering the path other than that- excellent!
Aug 05, 2019
Great campground! Hardest part was my husband parking the 38' camper. :-)
Aug 05, 2019
Aug 05, 2019
Ok for overnight staying although very expensive for that purpose. Major downside: Big advertisment with free Wifi but it does work only at the registration.
Aug 05, 2019
We had heard some horror stories about employees being rude, and being kind of harsh on kids. But we had the best experience!! We loved it and will definitely be coming back!! Sights are a bit tight, but thank goodness my husband can back up our rig like a pro :) And I think considering the set up its wonderful and necessary that you have an employee escort and help you back in!!
Aug 05, 2019
Needed a quick stop over at the last minute, and was able to grab a spot here. I appreciated being able to book one night, many places have an annoying 2 night minimum. Easy on and off the freeway, people were friendly and helpful. The spots are very very small, and the WiFi was terrible. Those two factors were downers since I was counting on some connectivity, but decent place overall.
Aug 05, 2019
If you’re looking for a family friendly place, this is it. It’s not about real camping here, it’s glamorous camping. Too many rules and it was like a mini resort, no thank you.
Aug 04, 2019
Very well-kept rv park and friendly staff.
Aug 04, 2019
We stayed for 14 nights and were always greeted by friendly and nice staff. We enjoyed the new addition of miniature golf and the family room too! Our favorite place to camp at in Avila Beach.
Aug 04, 2019
We were 15 minutes early and were told to wait outside the facility. The lady at check in didn't check to see if our site was ready or anything. So we circled around and parked for 10 minutes to check in. The lot has a very steep slope and we heard two trailers scrape on the way in. Other than that the park is nice.
Aug 04, 2019
Nice place to stay 1-2 days !
Aug 04, 2019
GREAT TIME!!!!!!
Aug 03, 2019
The spaces were a little close together. And it would be nice if kids under 14 could use the hot tub. Location is great, with the bob jones trail so close. We will come again
Aug 03, 2019
Always love it!
Nov 30, 2019
Love it!
- Patty A on Google
Nov 12, 2019
Great RV park. Very nice staff. Clean facilities. Very quiet. There is a little freeway noise but we slept soundly.
- Pea Whot on Google
Nov 04, 2019
Stayed the weekend in a studio cabin. It was great! So clean, had most everything we needed to cook and eat, quiet, well maintained. The staff were all extremely helpful! Looking forward to or next stay there.
- Peg Rockwell on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.