Avila / Pismo Beach KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 17, 2019
Stayed at 6 KOAs on a 2 week stretch this being our last stop. Was here a year ago and had a WAY better time. Staff put us in a cramped spot away from the playground, said everything was booked, saw space #64 right in front of the playground open the entire time we were there? Clearly no intuition or effort from the staff. They don't care. Grounds crew was helpful however at least.
Aug 17, 2019
Aug 17, 2019
Although the staff was very helpful and kind. The facilities were will kept up and clean. However the sites were far too narrow. Just enough for the trailer. No room to sit outside. could not put out my awning
Aug 17, 2019
Wonderful people. The entire staff is super friendly and helpful! They work tirelessly to keep the park clean, but it's so much more than clean! The flowers are beautiful every where, the bathrooms are very clean, we stayed 3 extra days, just because we loved the place. Our yorkie Hansi boy loved it as well. Thank you, everyone!!! We will surely be back.
Aug 16, 2019
We have been back for several years for our family reunions and are completely happy with the facility and the staff.
Aug 16, 2019
Was not impressed. Worst KOA I have been to. Poor service. Stuck us in a terrible site and wouldn’t move us even though there were many nicer sites available the whole time we were there. . The
Aug 16, 2019
Accommodations are a little tight but it's better than at a beach location. The staff is super friendly and helpful! The accommodations are really clean and well maintained. The pool, bathrooms, and dog run areas are really nice. We used all of them daily. The area has a lot to do for us with a dog. We'll be back to stay longer!
Aug 16, 2019
Nice, clean, friendly staff, good location, my only question was why not smoking since you are able to make charcoal fire? THANK YOU!!
Aug 16, 2019
Very peaceful and enjoyed the spa
Aug 16, 2019
Wasn't told campground was right next to the freeway. Was so noisy sleep was almost impossible.
Aug 16, 2019
Aug 15, 2019
Aug 15, 2019
Place ws fine but we had a spot nearbay the Highway. So iT was very noicy!
Aug 15, 2019
Very polite and helpful staff. Great stay.
Aug 14, 2019
This was our 2nd stay so we knew to request a spot that backs up to the playground. The day we came there were no avail spots but the next day a spot opened up & we asked to move & they wouldn’t let us. We were confused bc they said we couldn’t make reservations but we spoke to one of the RVers backed up to the playground & he said he requested his spot & the vacant spot stayed vacant for 2 da
Aug 14, 2019
Aug 13, 2019
Wifi never worked. When you could get on at all, it kicked you off before you could use it. The equipment and service really needs updating or they shouldn’t claim to have wifi service.
Aug 13, 2019
We loved our stay!
Aug 13, 2019
Aug 13, 2019
Loved it. Already wanting to come back.
Aug 13, 2019
It was a great stay! Jim was very helpful! The bathrooms were stellar - clean, large, good ventilation. The pool was colder than i would have liked. It was odd the jacuzzi is only for 14 and older. The sites were pretty close together. But we will go again.
Aug 13, 2019
Always a good time. My only request would be to clean up the cobwebs a little better.
Aug 13, 2019
We really enjoyed our stay at KOA, they are very friendly, responsive and are on site until late hours which is very helpful.
Aug 12, 2019
My son, daughter-in-law, and 3 grandkids had a great time staying here for the week. Lots of activities and lots of kids to hang out with.
Aug 12, 2019
Unusable wifi
Aug 12, 2019
We were greeted with a very warm welcome, told about all the things to know, and then escorted to our space. The facility was nice and the bathrooms were large and kept up well. First time at a KOA and will definitely be returning again!
Aug 12, 2019
We are very happy with the park. Spots are really tight, but everyone has been pleasant. I just wish we were closer to the beach or shopping.
Aug 12, 2019
Loved the outdoor movies with our grandson.
Aug 12, 2019
Personel was very friendly, nice pool, nice spa en very clean bathroom. Nice hike to the beach about 4 km without traffic, was a bike/foothpath. Nice beach. Close to highway so you can hear the traffic, but that is in all KOA-campings.
Aug 12, 2019
Aug 12, 2019
Clean well run friendly staff wish we could have camp fires
Aug 11, 2019
We only stayed 1 night, because we were on the way back to Los Angeles. Camping and restrooms looked nice. Pool was a bit small. We would have liked to make a campfire, but that wasn’t aloud.
Aug 11, 2019
Very nice place! Always improving. Staff helpful.
Aug 11, 2019
Staff were very helpful and friendly and willing to answer any questions we had. The park was clean, pool was wonderful and we loved the dog park area and play area. Hook ups were easy and all worked well. The only complaint we had was the noise of the freeway which was likely worse due to being at the back of the park, close to the freeway. Spaces were spacious and had great picnic tables.
Aug 11, 2019
Our first overnight stay ever at any campground. Loved it! We'll stay longer next time.
Aug 10, 2019
The sites are so close together it is impossible to spread out some chairs and enjoy an evening of making s’mores (gas fire). The recreation room is great for the kids but could use some tlc. We asked for a late checkout (2 hours) since our site was vacant the next night. We had a fishing trip the day of our checkout and would be a bit late. Our request was denied and we had to pay $75.00.
Aug 10, 2019
Unique
The cabin was very nice and clean. The employees were very friendly.
Aug 10, 2019
Very courteous and informative, area clean and neat, always friendly and a wave when drive by site... will return
Aug 09, 2019
My well behaved kids were not allowed into the hot tub. Apparently it is a 14 and up age rule here. I wish we would’ve known about this rule before we booked our family vacation here. We probably won’t stay here again if that is enforced. The regular pool is too cold in this climate for children.
Aug 09, 2019
Beautiful place staff very friendly and helpful. Only criticism and its really nothing sites are a little tight making it slightly difficult pulling in and out.
Aug 09, 2019
Unique
We had no issues. The cabin was cute... I expected it to be more camping like, but it was more hotel like. Staff was nice. Everything was clean.
Aug 09, 2019
New management is great. Bathrooms smell good cleaner grounds. Everything seems to flow better since last we stayed here bout a year ago Thank you!
Aug 09, 2019
Facility was nice, well cared for with good amenities. The site we stayed in was a pull-through, however the "thru" was such an incredibly sharp right turn with little clearance so we almost didn't get out. Complex is right on the highway, lots of road noise all day and night.
Aug 09, 2019
Aug 08, 2019
Staff was awesome! Helpful friendly and accommodating. Sites were clean bathrooms were clean and there was a lot to do for the kids playground, movie night, adults as well... we played shuffleboard use hung out by the outdoor fire pit, jacuzzi and Pool were clean and kept up and a great little gift shop, better prices than in town!
Aug 08, 2019
Aug 08, 2019
The sites are so close together there isn’t enough room to put out your chairs to enjoy the setting. The recreation room was great for the kids. We asked for a late checkout (2 hours ) but had to pay for an extra night. I found this to be unreasonable since the park had numerous vacancies ( including our site). For this reason I will be reluctant to recommend this park.
Aug 08, 2019
We stayed in a cabin by the pool. It was very clean and nicely decorated. Very limited storage areas or places to put luggage or clothing. Could have hooks in several places to hang clothing, and one by the sink for a towel. We couldn’t get our stove to work but we decided we didn’t need it so we never asked for assistance. Overall, the campground is very well kept and has nice options for kid
Aug 07, 2019
We LOVE staying in Avila. Location is great, staff is friendly and accommodating, and the grounds are nice.
Aug 07, 2019
Just an overnight stay. The staff was amazing.
Aug 18, 2019
Friendly staff, nice quiet place. Great for the children.
- David Zambrano on Google
Jul 27, 2019
Deluxe Cabin is Great
- Sarah Kimbrell-Redd on Google
Aug 05, 2019
(Translated by Google) Super restrooms, very Helpful, pleasant size, bike rental, half hour bike ride to the beach! Unfortunately very noisy if you have the parking space on the side of the highway 101! (Original) Super Restrooms, sehr hilfsbereit, angenehme Größe, Fahrradverleih, halbe Stunde mit dem Fahrrad zum Strand! Leider sehr laut wenn man an der Seite der Autobahn 101 den Stellplatz hat!
- Babette Striethorst on Google