Avila / Pismo Beach KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jan 25, 2020
The bathroom should should be heated at least to 68 between 5-9. We were comfortable in our space but thought it would be crowded if there was someone behind us. The camp host was very nice.
Jan 23, 2020
Only complaint was a very small space even for our 14ft trailer. Barely enough wiggle room
Jan 23, 2020
Very enjoyable. Wished the weather would have been a little nicer. Campsites are a little crowded. It would be nice if we had a little more space, especially to park our vehicle.
Jan 22, 2020
Great place and friendly staff. Clean. We were disappointed that KOA would not honor our request for a later check out (1:00 pm instead of 11:00 am) without being charged $25.
Jan 22, 2020
A place we camp every year. The facilities are clean and well managed. Close to bob Jones trail and the beach. Management quite helpful and escorts you to your site for easy parking. There’s a store at the office for some basic essentials. I highly recommend this KOA facility.
Jan 22, 2020
This is a great campground if you'd like to stay in the Avila Pismo area. Very clean and peaceful. Nice camp sites and just minutes away from the ocean.
Jan 22, 2020
Very clean, nice amenities, easy hook ups, level sites. Only negative is noise from highway. Definitely would stay again.
Jan 21, 2020
Jan 20, 2020
THE CAMPGROUND WAS WELL MAINTAINED AND THE STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY. I WILL BE LOOKING FORWARD TO VISITING THE CAMPGROUND LATER THIS YEAR..
Jan 20, 2020
Friendly folks, nice pool and hot tub, bike trail nearby, game room, a satisfactory KOA overall. Not great for kids, our site was shaded and received little sun...other sites were out in the open more. Lots of freeway noise (Hwy 101). Adequate overall. We were new to the area. For our purpose this trip, location was fine.
Jan 18, 2020
A few years ago we drove through that campground and said we would never stay there. It was a dump, full of garbage, nothing maintained, and it was full of full timers, with garbage and belongings everywhere. Then a friend of ours told us it was cleaned up, so we stayed a week there. What a difference, it must be new managers or owners. Very clean and well maintained. Keep up the good work.
Jan 18, 2020
Jan 18, 2020
Great
Jan 18, 2020
Wish you had a kitchen..with a fridge.
Jan 16, 2020
This KOA is well maintained, clean and dog friendly. The staff helpful and friendly. The reason for 3 stars is the freeway and it’s constant noise. The website stated that the sites I choose backed up to a green belt. It actually backs up to the freeway with a thicket of trees and berries between you. Safe but noisy. Ok for a layover but too far from beach and restaurants for longer stay.
Jan 14, 2020
We enjoyed our time here. It's a very clean. The park was quiet, even though it is next to the highway. The noise was more of a background hum. The park is very easy to get to. As with all parks along the California coast the spaces are close together. We will definitely stay here again when looking for a campground around Pismo Beach.
Jan 13, 2020
Very nice staff and grounds, game room was nice too.
Jan 13, 2020
Quite, nice staff, ready to stay again.
Jan 13, 2020
Very nice KOA campground. At check-in, the people were courteous and friendly. The campground was organized and well cared for. The bathrooms were absolutely spotless! It is located right next to the freeway so it is loud but not the fault of the campground. Will definitely return.
Jan 12, 2020
The Avila-Pismo KOA is well-run, location near Avila Beach, Pismo Beach, & S.L.O is excellent, and is the very best feature. Our concern is false advertising of 3 "premium patio sites" in online page and park map, which are 60'x20' gravel, no "patio"; and there are wider sites in the park. Deceptive description, we were charged a premium rate for standard sites, and we will likely not return.
Jan 11, 2020
Loved the shady bike trails that were close by the rv park. Enjoyed the spa. But was disappointed by the horrible internet. Hardly anyone there and no internet? Also can hear the noise from the freeway/roads?
Jan 09, 2020
We appreciate the staff making sure that other guests were following the rules, especially in the spa. Twice while we were in the spa, other guests allowed their toddler-aged children in, and staff were there soon after, reminding guests of the rules, and making sure that the rules were followed. We did not like that the Wi-Fi was very slow, and not what we are used to in similar KOA stays.
Jan 08, 2020
Nice place to stay walking distance to Avilia Farm. Facuilty has a nice game room and pool and spa.
Jan 07, 2020
Very nice people working there. Campground clean and kept up. Sites are just to narrow. Had a lite pole also in our site. Could barely get our truck backed in and avoid the pole. Truck had to back in under our awning.
Jan 07, 2020
Jan 07, 2020
Hard to get in and out of campsite because they are 90 degrees to the road.The camp guide had to ask other campers to move their cars so I could get in. If others are trying to leave on the same day there is a traffic jam blocking the roads during hook ups. Campsites are "packed in"; very little room between campsites. Slow WiFi, low megabytes. Low power WiFi, kept getting dropped.
Jan 07, 2020
very beautiful place, staff was very friendly and helpful. Having a store and washers and dryers is so convenient and restrooms very clean.
Jan 06, 2020
Jan 06, 2020
As stated in the KOA book, this Kampground is a tight fit. So, there were no surprises on being squeezed in. It was quite okay. The grounds are well kept, the staff very helpful and friendly, the noise from Highway 101 was loud (can't be helped), location to all attractions in the area very central. We will be back.
Jan 06, 2020
Clean bathrooms, many amenities, pet friendly...will definitely be back again!
Jan 05, 2020
Cons: Lots of freeway noise, not much for pre/teens to do, management complaints over kids & noise, sites very close together making night fires hard. Pros: sites raked, clean facilities, close to Avila Beach.
Jan 05, 2020
Jan 05, 2020
The campground facilities, store, and employees were all very nice. Everything I would expect from KOA. The spaces are very tightly packed, however, and the location is adjacent to a highway with fairly significant road noise. If I go back to this area, I would do more research for alternative campgrounds.
Jan 05, 2020
Jan 04, 2020
Great experience as usual. We’ve stayed here several times and never had a bad experience. Campground is super clean and staff always willing to help. We had to leave a day early, and the staff refunded us the one night stay without me even asking! Will definitely be back for years to come!
Jan 04, 2020
amazing
Jan 04, 2020
This is a wonderful relaxing KOA. Great Staff and Service! Thank You for the Great experience and stay!! See y’all soon!!
Jan 03, 2020
Unique
Deluxe cabin was perfect. Very well laid out, everything you’d need for kitchen, bed and bath is provided. Lots a gathering areas throughout park.
Jan 03, 2020
Location is convenient to Avila, Pismo, and SLO. Sites are SUPER small and on top of one another. This KOA is not family/kid friendly. Insane rules for children. Should not advertise as a family friendly campground. Would be perfect for adults only.
Jan 03, 2020
I am shocked that the folks that manage this resort are still there. The rudest, most condescending, and unfriendly people. They were referred to as “Nazi’s” as they drive around in their golf carts yelling at the guests for offenses as small as having part of a tire on the road. And, mind you, the sports are so tight, you have to park your vehicle right up against your trailer. Never go the
Jan 02, 2020
It was fine
Jan 02, 2020
Just a short overnight stay to avoid driving during New Year’s Eve. Clean restrooms, quiet camp after 10 or so which considering that it was Dec 31 was an unexpected surprise. Nice dog run area. Overall a nice experience.
Dec 31, 2019
Our assigned site was terrible. Zero outdoor space and near impossible angle to park or exit. Even maintenance staff agreed site was awful. Was charged for KOA membership after declining. Strange adult men lurking and hiding behind dumpsters at night. They ran away when I tried to confront them. They were either doing drugs or trying to steal something. Only positive is proximity to bike trail.
Dec 31, 2019
Excellent campground! First time stay in Avila, we will definitely return! The whole family loved it.
Dec 31, 2019
Everything was kept very clean. The staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
Dec 31, 2019
Dec 30, 2019
Fantastic!!! Thank you!!!
Dec 30, 2019
Manager is beyond rude and unfriendly. Gravel sites that are tiny. Hot tub is nice. Bathrooms are clean. Location is awesome by the dog beach, Bob Jones bike trail, Avila Hot Springs, and the Avila barn.
Dec 30, 2019
The only thing that was bothersome, was the fact they park was virtually empty and we were put in a very small spot for 3 nights. Other than that, this is our favorite KOA! We love visiting Avila Beach and the surrounding areas. Very clean and well kept! Cannot wait to return!
Dec 30, 2019
The people checking us in were very helpful. They even helped guide us into our spot with flashlights since we arrived when it was dark. The spaces were tight but the facilities were clean. We enjoyed the campground and will definitely be back!
Dec 26, 2019
We only stayed over night and it was good for us. We came in late and they had our packet ready. The shower/bathroom area was nice and clean as well. They also have a rec area that looked great.
- Michelle Agbigay on Google
Jan 07, 2020
It's close to the Bob Jones trail which is not to be missed! You can walk or ride a bike a few miles to the beach. Lovely pool and kids playground. There is a bit of freeway noise.
- Jennifer T on Google
Jan 02, 2020
(Translated by Google) Nice campsite (Original) Mooie camping
- Frank Van Leuken on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.