Avila / Pismo Beach KOA Reviews

Lodging Reviews

Nov 11, 2019
We got cabin C1. The first night there was no source of heat and we got very cold. We were moved to C2. C2 has a sliding glass door that doesn’t close properly leaving a half inch gap from the handle down. The glass window in the other door has a half inch gap where it has slipped out of place. That caused the loud heater to come on frequently disturbing our sleep. Those things need to be fixed.
Nov 11, 2019
After having problems on our way . The staff made our weekend work out very nicely
Nov 10, 2019
It was hot and the room was dusty and it had lots of spider webs.
Nov 09, 2019
What a great place - clean, friendly staff, lots to do! We stayed in a studio cabin. It had everything we needed! We will be back for sure!
Oct 22, 2019
Oct 20, 2019
We had a great weekend. The Cabin we rented was so cozy and cute. It had everything we needed. So close to sunny Avila beach. The pool and rec area was very clean and fun for adults and kids. The gals in the shop were very helpful. We will definitely stay again next year!
Oct 11, 2019
Very clean. Friendly, helpful staff. Close to beach. Though near the freeway the sounds of traffic were minimal.
Sep 23, 2019
Loved it: loved being near beaches, SLO and hot tub/pool.
Sep 23, 2019
GREAT PLACE TO STAY,CLEAN AND FRIENDLY.GREAT LOCATION
Sep 23, 2019
It was great
Sep 22, 2019
Sep 20, 2019
We go every year. This is a great site. During the day we rode our bikes to the beach, in the evening we sat outside and watched movies under the stars (Lilo and Stitch & the Wizard of Oz!). This place is great.
Sep 16, 2019
The staff is absolutely asome !!! So professional and friendly.. the cabin was great .. will definitely stay there again
Sep 06, 2019
The Cabins were neat and well equipped with bedding towels, toiletries, even beach towels! We didnt need to bring anything. We enjoyed our stay here. The only negative I would say was not having a sink in the attached bathroom. There is a sink in the attached kitchenette.
Sep 05, 2019
We had a very nice time. We stayed in a cabin and will be back with friends. Children under 15 are not allowed in the hot tub, and no wood fires, so a little different from other spots. Location and trolley are fantastic. It’d be nice for trolley to run later on holiday weekends, if you have any input on that. The KOA was very tidy and staff were friendly. Thank you!
Aug 29, 2019
We liked the effiency of the Studio lodge cabin and the grounds were nicely kept. The activities and pool were a plus, as well as, the access to the trolley. The pancake breakfast was great. It was a bit crowded and parking was tight.
Aug 21, 2019
Well maintained and nice amenities, great location for avila beach. Would like to be grouped with family when renting multiple sites
Aug 08, 2019
The sites are so close together there isn’t enough room to put out your chairs to enjoy the setting. The recreation room was great for the kids. We asked for a late checkout (2 hours ) but had to pay for an extra night. I found this to be unreasonable since the park had numerous vacancies ( including our site). For this reason I will be reluctant to recommend this park.
Aug 08, 2019
We stayed in a cabin by the pool. It was very clean and nicely decorated. Very limited storage areas or places to put luggage or clothing. Could have hooks in several places to hang clothing, and one by the sink for a towel. We couldn’t get our stove to work but we decided we didn’t need it so we never asked for assistance. Overall, the campground is very well kept and has nice options for kid
Aug 03, 2019
Always love it!
Aug 03, 2019
We go there every year for the last 4 years because the place is very nice, good location, clean facilities, very family and dog friendly .But this will be our last year because our reservation was messed up. No one from the management made an effort to help us, despite they had another bungalows open. Sorry , not going there again.
Aug 03, 2019
We rented one of two large cabins. Staff was friendly and stay was nice, but the cabins need to be dusted and the bed in C1 needs to be replaced/upgraded. Paying $250/night should equate to a good nights sleep. Great location and overall good stay
Jul 29, 2019
We love this campground. This is the second year we have stayed at this KOA. Very friendly staff and they provide a clean safe place for our family to enjoy our vacation. The only issue I personally have is the lack of good internet.
Jul 29, 2019
I thought the sites were way too close to each other. Also,the bed in S3 was very uncomfortable. The campground was very clean considering how crowded it was and the pool was very nice. The cabins are decorated nicely.
Jul 28, 2019
We just adore this campground. We appreciate the effort in the improvements over this past year. The addition of the personal fire pits, cafe lights etc was a nice touch. We stay in the model homes and we will mention that attention needs to be given to these now. The deck on C1 is at a dangerous level, in need of repair. upgrades are needed: beds, blinds etc. it’s just time. But we’ll be b
Jul 27, 2019
Cozy cabin, it had everything you need. Friendly staff! Great location.
Jul 23, 2019
Our stay was fabulous. The generosity of the staff was top notch. The accommodated our group of four families with warmth friendly service. And the cabins and facilities were nicely clean. Definitely would come back. Thank you so much.
Jul 21, 2019
Perfect spot to rest and enjoy the so many day trips and bicycle trails!!
Jul 21, 2019
Pulled in and parked at the wrong spot because it’s not immediately clear where to go. I got out of the truck with my 5yr old son and was accosted by a woman walking her dog telling me I couldn’t stop where we had. Check out is at 11. At 11:01 I got cal from the office telling me I was late to check out. We were on our way to the office. I was late, but seriously. Most uptight place ever.
Jul 19, 2019
Studio cabin was clean and cute .My daughter asked for a space next to the playground & I asked for my cabin to be near them so I could help with the kids. Neither one of those things happened. A space opened up next to the playground the 1st morning and we asked if they could move their RV to that space but were told no because the computer algorithm wouldn't allow it.
Jul 18, 2019
Since the price for a cabin was as expensive as a hotel, the room should have had less spider webs and better sleeping accommodations. Such a small bed for two people.
Jul 13, 2019
Wonderful experience. Clean, quiet, close to Avila Beach. The staff members were great. We stayed in a cabin. It was fun and easy.
Jul 11, 2019
We have never stayed at a KOA prior to our stay and family reunion at Avila KOA. We stayed in a deluxe cabin and it was perfect for our family. Very charming, clean and very comfortable. The grounds are extremely well kept. The staff was friendly & knowledgeable in the surrounding area which was very helpful as we are not from the area. Shoutout to Kimberly, Tammy and Chris! Thank you all -
Jul 11, 2019
Jul 10, 2019
Jul 07, 2019
Paid a lot but not enough space.
Jul 03, 2019
Loved it! Friendly staff great value beautiful camp grounds
Jun 29, 2019
Jun 22, 2019
Jun 20, 2019
Jun 20, 2019
The KOA would have been rated better if I had not just stayed at the KOA in Petaluma. The spaces were small with no natural dirt or tree or shrubbery. The front desk staff was overall helpful and friendly. However, I was lectured by at least two staff about their rule for childrens health safety regarding use of the Jucuzzi. There are no health concerns for children using Jucuzzi.
Jun 18, 2019
This was our first time renting a cabin and we were more than pleased. We had a cabin with a full sized bed and it was super cute. I was worried after reading some reviews about the cleanliness but found everything to be spotless. The kitchen had all of our needs met, coffee, filters and plenty of dishes. Only issue was that the freezer in the fridge was frozen so we couldn't store our ice.
Jun 17, 2019
We were late arrivals.I called ahead and spoke to a very nice gentleman who made sure our cabin was open and the lights were on. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cabin! The pool was clean and excellent and the location is wonderful. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay there again!!
Jun 15, 2019
Our rv is in the shop so we decided to try the cabins. Loved it! KOAs are always kid and family friendly. This was a great one that exceeded our expectations! Quiet at night so we can sleep and tons of great activities around the area! Grounds were clean, staff was friendly!
Jun 10, 2019
Jun 02, 2019
It rained yet we had fun in the jacuzzi anyway! Grounds were clean. People were friendly. Loved our stay!
May 23, 2019
Always feels like home.Miss it already.
May 22, 2019
Great but the beds in the cabins need plywood or real slats underneath. The bunk bed slats were small and when you lie down the mattress would go in between the small slats so no cushion being provided. You’d feel like your laying on the slats, very uncomfortable.
May 21, 2019
This place is awesome! We have a dog and we were able to get a cabin right next to the dog park and pool. Everything was very easy. Staff had great customer service. The cabin was super cute and we enjoyed our stay!
Apr 28, 2019
Nov 12, 2019
Great RV park. Very nice staff. Clean facilities. Very quiet. There is a little freeway noise but we slept soundly.
- Pea Whot on Google
Nov 04, 2019
Stayed the weekend in a studio cabin. It was great! So clean, had most everything we needed to cook and eat, quiet, well maintained. The staff were all extremely helpful! Looking forward to or next stay there.
- Peg Rockwell on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.