Avila / Pismo Beach KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 24, 2020
Jun 24, 2020
Small campground with RV’s packed upon each other. Internet service didn’t work and besides wearing masks no other measures to maintain social distancing. The cabin was clean and kitchen with just bare basics. For the price paid I don’t think it was worth it.
Jun 24, 2020
KOA pamphlet given during check in did not have WiFi and bathroom code information. When we went to the front desk to ask for it, the female had the nerve to tell us that it was in our pamphlet. Also, when we checked in Thursday, we were not told that there was an outdoor movie on Friday and Saturday night only. The people managing this KOA are not happy.
Jun 24, 2020
Jun 23, 2020
Jun 23, 2020
There was very little space between units, we were within 3feet of the unit behind us. The bathrooms were clean..
Jun 23, 2020
Jun 23, 2020
Weather was great. Sites too close
Jun 22, 2020
Pros: extremely friendly staff, cute general store, location (close to Avila Beach), very family friendly KOA. Cons: extremely loud freeway noise, very tight spots and our neighbors (Thank goodness they were very nice) were so close to us - It felt like we were all camping together �) If you’re ok with the cons, give this KOA a try. Avila Beach sunsets are amazing. � �
Jun 22, 2020
We were here a week and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The restrooms and showers were spotless. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We'll definitely stay here again.
Jun 22, 2020
The staff was not friendly and it felt like they were agitated with everything and everyone. The sites are small. The landscaping is beautiful around the park. And fun amenities for kids. I think it could be a really nice park but some of the staff need training in customer service and hospitality. It really affects the tone of the park.
Jun 22, 2020
For our first camping trip with our trailer, this was a perfect place to stay. We love the full hookups. The camping spaces were a bit tight but we managed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We weren’t able to utilize all the amenities due to COVID-19 so we look forward to going back when restrictions are lifted. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Jun 22, 2020
Wonderful stay, thank you
Jun 21, 2020
Jodi and Jim are the best managers I have encountered at KOA's. The grounds are clean, everything works, and all the workers are friendly and helpful!!!! Great place to enjoy Avila/Pismo Beach!!!!
Jun 21, 2020
We had a great stay, very friendly and helpful staff. My only complaint is we felt packed in like sardines. Tight spaces and not much room for hanging out outside if your vehicle is parked at your site.
Jun 21, 2020
Always love our stay at Avila/Pismo.Sad to see the Jacuzzi wast available.
Jun 20, 2020
Appreciated the escort and assistance guiding me into the site. Property was very clean, including the bathrooms and showers. Yes, the sites are narrow, but you rarely saw your neighbors, unless you wanted to. The gravel, in my opinion, was great. My trailer stayed clean. You can’t walk barefoot but I’m okay with that! No smell, like other reviews mentioned.
Jun 19, 2020
Great campground. Tight spaces so make sure you know how to back your rig! Place is very clean. Awesome pool. Staff in office courteous & friendly. Some noise from the 101. Great walking path just a 1/2 block away. �
Jun 19, 2020
More, higher fencing/greenery between spaces would improve privacy. Clean grounds, nice store. Woman directing parking especially courteous. No smoking policy REALLY appreciated. First day very hot & windy-when Avila fire broke out-not your fault, but we won’t forget that excitement! Letting our friends move spaces to be behind us made a big difference for our stay. Great farm stand close by.
Jun 19, 2020
Rudest employees I have ever met at a campground.
Jun 19, 2020
Very friendly and helpful staff. They make you comfortable and at home. We really enjoyed it. It was our families first RV trip. A staff member who worked at the store even remembered me mentioning zip ties for a wire harness. She brought it to our site on her break. Nice job!! Highly recommend KIA. Many amenities. Like a private oasis or resort
Jun 19, 2020
Jun 18, 2020
Stay was wonderful. The only downside was the smell of the sewer grate in our actual campsite. would have like
Jun 18, 2020
We love this place, however the #74 site we stayed at is barely big enough. Backed up tight to the fence to extend the slide out then pulled forward to have room to walk behind trailer. All of this because the hose faucet is too high. We have stayed at #72 site one time and there was a strong sewer gas smell coming from the manhole cover. Wish we could pick our site #. Thank you
Jun 18, 2020
Our stay was short but I noticed how clean and organized you were, offering many activities for families. My only complaint was the young bearded man who attempted to park us, hit our trailer with his golf cart by wedging himself between us and a pylon. He left a 2’ black mark along our fender. He offered no apology nor did he offer to make things right for us, i.e. clean it. VERY disappointing
Jun 17, 2020
Campground is very small and close together. No campfires allowed so we had to rent a propane fire ring and were not allowed to roast marshmallows on it which was disappointing for the kids. We kept getting whiffs of sewage due to close proximity to bathrooms. The service from the staff was very good. No complaints there.
Jun 16, 2020
nice relaxing weekend
Jun 16, 2020
This was our first stay, and it was perfect! The grounds were clean and maintained. The movie nights were super fun! And the staff was extremely kind and helpful. Definitely booking another stay!!
Jun 16, 2020
This is basically a parking lot - nothing at all charming about this location.
Jun 16, 2020
Cable TV didn't work, also checked other locations with cable and they didn't work as well.
Jun 15, 2020
The park was nice and clean and the staff went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. Great location!!
Jun 15, 2020
Everyone of your staff was friendly and courteous. Great store, check in was easy, awesome location, clean place overall. Our only problem was it was too tight of a space. We couldn’t open our slide outs and awning at the same time. Our truck didn’t fit well in our space. Pretty much everyone we met complained about their site size too. Nevertheless, we had a great time and for that we thank y
Jun 15, 2020
Jun 15, 2020
Jun 15, 2020
This KOA is right near Avila Beach, and very easy to get into and out of (for my 24' Sprinter). I stayed in Spot #21 that was at the end. It was easy for me to back into my spot. Spaces are rather close together. Good General Store has most items you may need. On Friday, they had Movie night with free popcorn, which I didn't attend.
Jun 15, 2020
Very nice and easy! Bathrooms/showers were very clean.
Jun 15, 2020
Jun 14, 2020
Jun 14, 2020
Downside freeway noise. Upside very clean and well maintained. Close to paseo Robles breweries and Pismo Beach v
Jun 13, 2020
Nice staff but spaces are very small. Internet did not work. Also not sure why the restrooms were closed and they are open at other KOA camps?
Jun 13, 2020
great location, due to covid I couldn't use the amenities. when we were about to leave, we had brought our second vehicle to the site for loading. two staff gave us a hard time about one car per site rule. I really felt uncomfortable, and belive it was due to the color of our skin. I really like this place and would think about revisiting. but we'll see.
Jun 13, 2020
The manager is a miserable person, I parked my truck in my neighbors space with his permission, and the manager threatened me and was going to tow my vehicle. The neighbor was kind enough to let us use the spot , but the manager is on some kind of power trip
Jun 12, 2020
We purchased our first travel trailer and Avila/Pismo Beach KOA was our FIRST camping trip. We loved it. The employees are so nice and helpful. The guests we met were really friendly. Location is awesome and the park is SO nice. Looking forward to returning (we booked for September). Hopefully the pool, game room, etc will be open. I HIGHLY recommend this location.
Jun 12, 2020
The rv spaces were very narrow. Barely had room for the awning to extend. The space between the fence and the trailer and the picnic table was very tight. It seem we were packed in like sardines.
Jun 12, 2020
Check In Staff not friendly! Put us in a spot that was difficult to maneuver even though there were many open sites that would have been easy to get in and out of! The support staff (men taking you to the site and checking on us) were friendly and helpful! The attitude of the check in staff needs to improve!
Jun 12, 2020
Sites are pretty tight. I simply asked the workers in the store for reservations the following week and they wouldn’t even take a minute to look- they just immediately said they are booked. I looked online and found what I needed with sites available
Jun 11, 2020
Unfortunately all facilities were not open (Covid-19, but nonetheless the superb service made it up. Would definitely recommend this site and will come back to stay!
Jun 11, 2020
We had to leave early because the wifi is no good. I talked to another man that was leaving for the same reason. Lots of camper travellers work remotely and need good internet connections. Also I think the stay should've been cheaper since all the amenities were closed that people like in your park. We may come back if wifi improves. Thanks
Jun 11, 2020
Very nice property and the staff was very helpful. All amenities were closed due to the virus.
Jun 11, 2020
Campsites too close together people packed in like sardines, No social no one wearing face coverings. There was a small town close by not very friendly. We decided to head inland instead of staying on the coast.
Jun 29, 2020
Great place to stay. Helpful staff
- Matt Furrer on Google