Avila / Pismo Beach KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 18, 2019
This place very clean, super helpful and ready to serve as needed
Jul 17, 2019
Jul 17, 2019
Awesome place for entire family. Customer service was exceptional. Highly recommend staying here and hope to go back again soon.
Jul 17, 2019
Unique
It was a great location (short drive to Avila Beach, Pismo and San Luis)There were a lot of amenities including game room, pool, hot tub, fire pits, basketball courts, shuffle board, play ground and nightly movies as well as kids activities.We only took advantage of the pool/hot tub, game room and movies.We would've liked to enjoy the hot tub later than 9pm and wish we could've had a wood fire.
Jul 17, 2019
Jul 17, 2019
Spent 3 nights at this KOA. It was a last minute decision and were very glad there was availability. The restroom and showers were very clean with plenty of hot water. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a small leak with our water hookup but the staff solved the issue in a timely matter. We like the bike trail that takes you to the beach and the trolly on weekends to Pismo Beach. Thanks
Jul 16, 2019
Did not like the size of the gravel, you should use something smaller to make it easier to walk on. think about marking or labeling your electrical panels, so ordinary folks know which breaker they should power up. The free theater at night is very cool, but the volume on the movie is high enough so that if your in close proximity, you have to talk over the movie volume. Other than that, it's O
Jul 16, 2019
Jul 16, 2019
Very nice staff. We’ve never stayed in tighter sites. Literally on top of each other. Gravel sites. Restrooms were clean.
Jul 16, 2019
Unique
The staff was great, room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay again. Thanks
Jul 16, 2019
Very enjoyable
Jul 16, 2019
Great stay, park was very nice, bathrooms super clean! All the staff very courteous and helpful. Possible exception was Lady who checked us in, very abrupt. You have a check in procedure, works well, but as a new guest we don't know that. When we arrived at 11 to ck in, if spot was empty, were told " one o'clock ck in, come back then" came back at 12:40 "nobody cks in till one!" No explanation,
Jul 15, 2019
The resort is beautiful, the staff are awesome, but the spaces are very small and tough to get in to. To me, that's HUGE! Make bigger spaces and you'll probably get a better rating.
Jul 15, 2019
Unique
Very enjoyable. I had never stayed in a cabin. I was totally surprised that it was equipped with everything. Almost like staying in a hotel! My grandchildren really enjoyed it.
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 14, 2019
Showed up at 12:27 to check in, the rude lady at the front desk told me I had to wait in the overflow lot outside because no escort was available. At 1, I went back to check in and there was a line of 5 plus RV’s, again all the escorts were busy. Staff was more worried about my dog on leash in my campsite, then me having to move my truck 4 times from its assigned parking spot for campers to fit.
Jul 13, 2019
The campsite was clean and well maintained with great facilities. The space itself was a little small and felt crowded, especially with the huge rigs parked so close together. We were a small pop-up tent and felt very closed in by all the huge RV's around us.
Jul 13, 2019
Unique
Clean grounds and friendly/helpful management. Great store has enough variety from pool toys, knick knacks to food. Game room is FUN (well for the adults anyways). A bit of a tight squeeze if in an RV and pool seems to be colder than the reported 82 degrees. ALSO, don't advertise Wi-Fi if it doesn't work. The bed in the "F" Model cabin is horrendous - needs to be changed.
Jul 13, 2019
Wonderful experience. Clean, quiet, close to Avila Beach. The staff members were great. We stayed in a cabin. It was fun and easy.
Jul 13, 2019
The pool did not open until 10AM. Very cramped quarters. The guys that worked about the place were very nice.
Jul 13, 2019
Jul 12, 2019
Unique
Everything we needed was provided. Lots of fun activities for kids and adults. Could not have been better
Jul 12, 2019
Staff is friendly and helpful. Love the cool weather. Park is kept very clean
Jul 12, 2019
Walking/biking nearby, nice dog park, community area with gas bbq, wonderful clubhouse and lots for kids to do.
Jul 12, 2019
We had a great stay. Extremely friendly staff. We couldn’t decide if we wanted to stay two days or one day. They said book 2 days so that nobody else will get your spot. And if you want to leave early we will give you a refund. That was great news. We had the exact opposite experience in Sonoma. They would not refund our money when we wanted to leave a day early. Stay away from Sonoma. Stay here
Jul 12, 2019
We had a wonderful time. Many amenities and stuff for kids to do. Clean facility and staff works hard to maintain the facility. The location to Avila Beach was excellent. s The site mangers do need to improve on coustmer service.
Jul 11, 2019
We have never stayed at a KOA prior to our stay and family reunion at Avila KOA. We stayed in a deluxe cabin and it was perfect for our family. Very charming, clean and very comfortable. The grounds are extremely well kept. The staff was friendly & knowledgeable in the surrounding area which was very helpful as we are not from the area. Shoutout to Kimberly, Tammy and Chris! Thank you all -
Jul 11, 2019
Jul 11, 2019
Bad wifi, but good camping
Jul 11, 2019
Jul 11, 2019
excellent ... nice pool with large spa bike to avila was nice included a free concert at the golf course ...lyle lovett! staff was always around to help with backing in bbq and answering all my endless questions across the street at the fruit stand had the best roasted corn
Jul 10, 2019
Jul 10, 2019
Sardines and the spaces were not angled making parking very difficult due to only back in sites. No children in the Spa not enforced so it was crowded with children.
Jul 09, 2019
Great people, well kept bath rooms and grounds, central location. The only thing that could be improved is monitoring of the pool area. We were there on a holiday weekend so lots of children were enjoying the pool, however, with no parents around to supervise them they constantly made their way to the spa even though the rules require them to be 14 to be in the hot tub. Lifeguard???
Jul 09, 2019
Was great.... sure would like to check in early around 11am.
Jul 09, 2019
Very nice campground. Beautiful area and close to the Avila Beach. Nice bike trail to the beach. Store has all your needs and the staff is very friendly. The problem we experienced are the sites are very small and it was hard to park our truck next to our trailer and had be parked in the front of the trailer. We left early in the morning and had a very tight squeeze to make turns and exit.
Jul 09, 2019
Spaces are very close together
Jul 09, 2019
Jul 09, 2019
Very nice staff .... 5 star ! .... like any KOA , very tight quarters but the customer service made up for it .
Jul 08, 2019
Jul 08, 2019
The staff were friendly and professional. The grounds were well kept. The Wi-Fi/internet was poor. Some sites are too cramped - almost too small for your vehicle. We should be able to request a specific site when scheduling - this was denied.
Jul 08, 2019
Jul 08, 2019
Everything was great! Jewels and Jeff were awesome host! Thank you so much! I’ll be back ��
Jul 07, 2019
Very good campground, with nice staff and infrastructure! Wi fi could work better...
Jul 07, 2019
Really enjoyed the park. No fires and no smoking were great. Friendly staff works hard at keeping the park clean. The spaces are tight and I think we should have had a larger space for our trailer. Loved the privacy fences. The wi-fi isn’t good away from the main tower. We couldn’t use it at all. It took me 45 minutes to empty my tanks. The obstruction to catch the wipes is a bad idea.
Jul 07, 2019
Paid a lot but not enough space.
Jul 06, 2019
Staff was incredibly pleasant & helpful. Went above & beyond to assist us with a problem unhooking.
Jul 06, 2019
Unique
Stayed in a Park Model cabin and loved it! Loud people and dogs in the morning but the KOA can't help that.�
Jul 06, 2019
Jul 06, 2019
Dec 26, 2019
We only stayed over night and it was good for us. We came in late and they had our packet ready. The shower/bathroom area was nice and clean as well. They also have a rec area that looked great.
- Michelle Agbigay on Google
Jan 07, 2020
It's close to the Bob Jones trail which is not to be missed! You can walk or ride a bike a few miles to the beach. Lovely pool and kids playground. There is a bit of freeway noise.
- Jennifer T on Google
Jan 02, 2020
(Translated by Google) Nice campsite (Original) Mooie camping
- Frank Van Leuken on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.