Thunder Bay KOA Canada

Open April 15 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-4162

Info: 807-683-6221

Email

162 Spruce River Road

Shuniah, ON P7A 0N6 Canada

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 11, 2017
The season is winding down, but the campground still looks amazing. Just one little hmmmm....the bulldozer going at it while we sat by the fire was really quite depressing. All the rest was perfect!
Oct 02, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
We had a very enjoyable stay even though it was just for the night! The staff was welcoming and helpful with getting to local places. They were very good about the exchange of US currency and we appreciated all of their tips for travel.
Sep 08, 2017
The absolute best time! Staff so helpful and friendly tons of fun. We made lots of new friends and cannot wait to return to spend the summer with our new camp family next year!
Sep 08, 2017
Was wonderful ! Showers should be like that everywhere!
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
I was extremely happy with my experience. I was thankful for the camp drivers who came around as I needed some help twice. They helped me right away.
Sep 04, 2017
Great facilities, and a little further away then others from the Trans Canada. Enjoyed the pools, mini golf, etc. The only negative experienced was a staff yelling at my 11 year old son "you look with your eyes not your hands" while in the gift shop. He was attempting to read ingredients on the back of an item for allergy reasons. Needless to say we felt less than welcome after that.
Sep 04, 2017
Extremely clean lot and bathrooms/showers. Everything was awesome, minus the wood we purchased the last night of our stay. It wouldn't burn no matter what we tried. Other than that, we will definitely be coming back!
Sep 02, 2017
Family oriented campground. Pool area wonderful with heated pools! Staff very busy yet very friendly.
Sep 01, 2017
While travelling across Canada with my 4 teenaged sons I had the opportunity to stay here twice. It was intended to be a place for us to sleep along our journey & nothing more. It turned out to be one of our favorite places we visited. Every single staff member I dealt with was warm & friendly. The sites were huge & clean. I cant wait to visit again! Thank you all! The MacGregor Family
Aug 30, 2017
Changing sites to accommodate our somewhat large tent (1 male senior with 2 sixteen year old girls needs a bit of room) was done easily and without question. The fast food facility was a real bonus and those who operated it did a really good job. A nice playground and the games room for almost ages kept all of us entertained. The happy staff made me want to stay longer.
Aug 28, 2017
Great place to stop well traveling. This was the 2nd visit. The people operating the camp are very good.
Aug 24, 2017
Beautiful campground-- very, very clean restrooms and lovely shower facilities. My kids enjoyed the saltwater pool and I was routinely blown away by the friendly and helpful customer service. My dog enjoyed the fenced in off-leash area (I appreciated having TWO areas, as I don't tend to trust other owners to have voice command of their dogs). I will definitely recommend the Thunder Bay KOA!
Aug 22, 2017
Absolutely the best washroom/shower facility that we've stayed at anywhere in Canada or the U.S.A.
Aug 21, 2017
Annual visit on way out west. Will return on way back plus hopefully next year
Aug 19, 2017
A well maintained park.
Aug 17, 2017
My daughter, wife and myself stayed for one evening. It was a great experience, from the friendly, helpful and welcoming young lady at the office when we arrived (Georgia) to when we left was a great experience. There was lots for our daughter to do, she loved the pool and the splash pad. All the staff were very friendly and we will definitely be back for another visit.
Aug 16, 2017
We enjoyed our stay; the facilities and staff were awesome! Hey, we chose the kamper kitchen to serve the buffet wedding meal as it was so rustic and beautiful there!
Aug 12, 2017
Wonderful resort, exceptionally well maintained with all amenities and visible friendly staff ..,
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Beautiful Camp. The Grandchildren loved it, many activities kept them busy and entertained. The staff were friendly and worked very hard to make it a pleasant stay. One unfortunate incident was the University students from Manitoba who partied into the early hours of the morning which made it difficult for some campers to sleep. Over all it was a pleasant experience.
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
Beautiful park Wonderful hosts
Aug 05, 2017
Up graded to the premium site. Very nice. The only thin I did not like was pitching the tent on stones. My pegs where too short, they would not hold. After pitching, my jeans where dirty from kneeling on the pad. Bathrooms the best I have seen.
Aug 04, 2017
Friendly, helpful staff- lots to do for families, beautiful washrooms!
Aug 04, 2017
I arrived late - about 9:15pm. The male staff that checked me in went out of his way to be welcoming and helpful many thanks
Aug 03, 2017
Lots of great things for kids to do! Friendly helpful staff and very clean!
Jul 31, 2017
Friendly staff. Super clean facilities.
Jul 30, 2017
Excellent place to stay We will come again!!!
Jul 30, 2017
Best Koa we've stayed at and we have stayed at plenty.
Jul 30, 2017
Our stay was absolutely wonderful although it was only one night we were very pleased there were no bugs the firewood was nice and dry and the people in the office were very accommodating the campgrounds were very clean and the washrooms awesome the showers fantastic.
Jul 26, 2017
We arrived just at closing time. Staff went above great to help us out. Even though we had to stay in overflow parking. Area was perfect.
Jul 20, 2017
Every stay is amazing. Clean sites and facilities. The kids love the pool and splashpad. There's always something for them to do and staff goes out of their way to make everyone welcome and feel like family. Being remembered when you come back after winter makes you feel like your important to them....and you are!
Jul 18, 2017
Love the pool area - warm water and the kids love the 3ft pool cause they can touch. We had so much fun doing the Easter egg hunt and hayride. Friendly staff. Washrooms are very clean.
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
Staff friendly and helpful. Would be fine if you have a large group with kids, or want to stay up till all hours at the campfire, talking loudly. Not great if you just need a place to set up a tent and camp for a night.
Jul 16, 2017
Clean, quiet and friendly.
Jul 13, 2017
Easy to find. Very friendly staff. Lots to do for families. Excellent bath houses and showers. We weren't prepared for all the biting insects in Canada. We're from Virginia, U.S.A.
Jul 13, 2017
It was a last minute drop in thankfully you have after hours or we would have been sleeping in the truck amazing place!!
Jul 10, 2017
Relaxing, great place to visit and stay with kids
Jul 03, 2017
The Kupers work tirelessly at a very demanding job perfectly everyone's camping experience!
Jul 03, 2017
Very neat and clean!! Had everything you could need.
Jun 26, 2017
Great as always. They helped me brew enough tea to last for three days. Yea!
Jun 22, 2017
Friendly staff and great facilities!
Jun 19, 2017
We had an amazing time!!!!
Jun 19, 2017
Girls were welcomed with enthusiasm and great attitude!! Parents loved girls stay!!
Jun 14, 2017
We stayed in a new deluxe tent site and it was wonderful! The grill and charging stations were great additions to the amenities provided at this KOA. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we had a great visit.
Jun 13, 2017
Absolutely wonderful campground, with good water pressure in the showers, and a nice outdoor kitchen area.
Jun 12, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff, location is great! We loved your salt water pool!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award