Strafford / Lake Winnipesaukee South KOA Reviews

Start Planning your Summer Escape!

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

RV Reviews

May 26, 2020
May 26, 2020
Great place to stay. Ryan is awesome!
May 26, 2020
Even without CoVID the bathrooms could be cleaned more. With the current situation I figured the bathrooms will be cleaned more often than they were. I went into find dirty bathrooms and the same markings are on the toilet when I went back hours later so I could tell it hadn’t been cleaned. Staff was wonderful and very friendly especially Ryan!
May 26, 2020
There was a bush that interfered with my ability to lower my canopy and especially to raise it backup. Everything else was perfect. Everyone we worked with was accommodating, friendly and helpful.
May 26, 2020
the staff was excellent - how ever the over usage of electric golf carts by the guests was a problem and would be the only reason why we would consider not staying here. It is up to the family's who use the carts to us them responsibly and they can't. Other wise the property was clean and the staff was over the top friendly and helpful especially with the Covid
May 26, 2020
The staff was extremely friendly!! Every time I called I spoke with Jenna. She was very sweet. We also interacted with Ryan who was very nice and always made sure we had everything we needed from wood to propane to fun. The facilities were very clean. I did find it a little pricey compared to the resort campgrounds we typically stay at.
May 23, 2020
We stayed during the Covid-19 Pandemic. On Tuesday when we arrived it appeared they were adhering to the rules set by our state. They wore masks and had social distancing practices in place and it looked like they were going to follow the 50% capacity rules. However, By Thursday afternoon the campground was at least 85% full every spot around up was occupied, it made us nervous.
May 23, 2020
The campground is coming along great. Improvements are nice. The site was clean. Staff is friendly. As a suggestion, because of the current situation, during check in when staff come to the car they should have a mask on, not just with them.Also it would be great if documents could be signed electronically to further reduce contact and shared pens.
May 19, 2020
Wicked Awesome!
May 19, 2020
Campsites were a good size and the campground was very well maintained. They had some very nice cabin options The! The staff was exceptional - friendly, helpful and courteous! Absolutely loved and appreciated the delivery services offered!
May 18, 2020
It was nice. Not sure why a resort fee was collected cause nothing could be used. I understand the governor closed activities.
May 16, 2020
May 12, 2020
Great place, we've stayed here numerous times and are never disappointed. Great staff and location. - We stayed in a TT, Site "B".
May 11, 2020
Our 1st trip in the new 5th wheel and we were so excited we were allowed to check in early. The wood delivery to our site was a bonus. Due to the snow & cold we couldn't take the kids on the barrel rides or use much of the campground but there is always next time. The patio sites are great! Glad to see more were added. Thanks for the great memories!
May 11, 2020
This was our first trip to this KOA. I cannot thank the staff enough for all their help and guidance during our stay. Heather, the manager of this location is super friendly and goes above and beyong to ensure the guests are happy and comfortable. Our heater went on our camper, and Ryan dropped one off to get us through the night. I cant thank everyone enough, and we will be back Thursday!
May 11, 2020
Our first trip for 2020 was a memorable one. The owners and staff did a great job making us feel comfortable and welcome during these trying times. The campground is clean and the sites are large and level. We really enjoyed the snow, that was a first. We look forward to returning to enjoy the outside activities.
May 11, 2020
Great place well run and taken care of.
May 10, 2020
Dec 29, 2019
Staff is great. Activities were very fun and kids had a blast. We love staying at this campground!!!
Nov 28, 2019
We had been seasonal campers for the last 5 years. Since the new owners took over the rules have become very lacks. Also the new owners waited until the last minute to tell the seasonal campers the rate was being increased by $600 to $800. If you are looking for just a quick stay it is nice.
Oct 23, 2019
Oct 21, 2019
We were there for our 3rd season of the 6 weekend fall special. There were plenty of activities for the kids and adults. The new managers are awesome and the entire staff was extremely friendly. We stay on a site (1) that gets a lot of traffic. I wouldnt mind seeing the 5 mph speed limit enforced more, especially with golf carts as we had a lot of road dust each weekend. Great season though
Oct 17, 2019
Our stay is always a great time. Matt and Heather and all the staff are all accomodati g. I cant wait to see everyone next season as we already boomed our first campi g trip for 2020. Thank you for a fantastic season.
Oct 17, 2019
Oct 17, 2019
Friendly and clean facilities
Oct 16, 2019
Loved it there. Until.... Blue Water Development. Needless to say we won’t be back.
Oct 16, 2019
Very Disappointed on how the corporation handled the next year seasonal contract waiting till the last minute.
Oct 16, 2019
We enjoy the campground, activities, campers and staff. We have been camping here for the past 10 years. However we feel we are getting priced out of camping. What used to be a fun family adventure, we now have to decide if the fun is worth the cost. With a restriction from bringing outside fire wood we have to purchase the way over priced campground firewood. Would recomend and let them decide
Oct 15, 2019
Always love it there! Everyone is so friendly and the campground is well maintained! Can’t wait to go back next spring
Oct 15, 2019
We had a large group and everyone had a great time!
Oct 15, 2019
It is always nice at KOA
Oct 15, 2019
I came in with 10 other camping friends and we had a blast. It was our last trip of the year. On Saturday we had our annual Thanksgiving (4 turkeys) and ALL the fixings (36 of us). We are even going to rebook a week next summer and possibly the Columbus Day weekend. We use to go to the KOA in Lincoln/Woodstock, but it's getting to far (2hrs) for some of us to go. Overall, this place ROCKS!!
Oct 15, 2019
Great time and great staff!!
Oct 15, 2019
Oct 14, 2019
The camp ground staff was very helpful. There is however a problem with the water quality. We changed our sediment filter on arrival and by the time we left it was clogged with orange colored clay. This is the worst water quality that I have encountered in the last 7 years.
Oct 14, 2019
Very nice, the site we had was near the playground. Several children were there to all hours of the night unattended. Other than that it was very good
Oct 12, 2019
Oct 11, 2019
Great and very helpful staff...quiet and clean!
Oct 11, 2019
Enjoyed our stay and Gary was fabulous!
Oct 09, 2019
everyone was very friendly and the place was clean we look forward to staying here again
Oct 08, 2019
Nice campground. Great bathroom facility. Magnetic card allowed easy access after hours.
Oct 08, 2019
Nice campground. Very nice new bathroom facility. Best shower we had on our trip!
Oct 08, 2019
Well maintained campground, great staff, really large and pretty sites nestled in the trees. We were impressed to see staff blowing leaves and raking pine needles off sites. Great location for visiting Portsmouth and driving around Lake W! The negative: wood has to be purchased there (State law) and is $7 for a small bundle (good for 2 hr fire). Seemed pricey to us. Otherwise, highly recommend.
Oct 07, 2019
enjoyed our time there
Oct 07, 2019
I asked to have a site near the playground as I have 3 small children.... Last year I made the same request and was right next to it.... This year I was 3 streets away and plenty of open sites near the playground
Oct 07, 2019
The staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds were very well maintained and I was very impressed that once a site became vacant the grounds crew were immediately cleaning it. I will be back next season for sure!
Oct 07, 2019
They had many fun activities for the kids including hayrides and trick or treating which our son loved!! We had a spacious site with a grassy area for the kids to run. What really stood out for us though was the great customer service- when we couldn’t get the heater in our camper working the owner came out to try to help. We couldn’t fix it and he loaned us a space heater saving our trip! Tha
Oct 07, 2019
enjoyed our stay, good to get away.
Oct 07, 2019
Very pleasant. WiFi did not work for us at our campsite. The cable was very much appreciated.
Oct 07, 2019
Pricier and cold showers not a good combination.
Oct 28, 2019
my wife and I were seasonal here going on 5 years. great place and made life long friendships. unfortunately a corporation bought the campground and 3 weeks before closing 25 families where tossed out to make room for transients. people who have been there for 20+ years spent there last weeks braiking down screen rooms and decks trying to figure out how to move and were to store campers. others were told they were taking there sites and if there was an opening they could move to that site. the new managers, heather and Matt are great people and we wish them well. but if you’re looking to go seasonal there beware- they could purge more campers next year.
- Kevin6431 on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.