Munising / Pictured Rocks KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 15, 2020
walked into cabin & smelled extreme smell urine/mold? cabin, turned on baseboard heatr, smell continued, poured water on it & ozzed dirt, had layer of dust. discover hair from previous user when lifted plastic trash bag out. looked under bed & ball found from previous user, cabin not sanitized after use. bathrm smelled mold bad, mens shower not drained from shower stall, not enough water pressure.
Sep 15, 2020
Sep 15, 2020
No outside lite on sign on main road. Wasn't turned on. Really need base course in road going into koa. Bathrooms sucked. Crumpy showers. Poorly kept up. Need better standards.
Sep 14, 2020
I prefer larger more rustic sites. The staff was great.
Sep 14, 2020
The campground is easy to access, is close to a lot of attractions. It was a quiet campground. Our one knock is that there is just dirt roads and dirt sites and this makes for one messy camping experience. They should think of placing gravel on the roads and the sites to cut down on the mud and sand.
Sep 14, 2020
beautiful campground.
Sep 14, 2020
Sites were nice. But bathroom latches were broken, showers were dirty, roads needed paving or grading. Huge potholes. Dump station in bad location and needed work. No parking for bathroom. For all the fees you charge, you should upgrade your Campgound.
Sep 14, 2020
Fire rings a little to close to pull in spot
Sep 14, 2020
Hosts were helpful, site nice. Would like a fenced dog run. The gravel stayed with us for days not a great surface cover.
Sep 13, 2020
Front office was clean & staff was friendly & helpful. Most of the sites where we were needed some gravel & leveling, our whole site was sandy dirt. The bathrooms were in need of repair/renovation! Door locks on stall doors were falling off, 2 of the soap dispensers had fallen off the wall & were empty every time I went in. Septic system had issues & we were unable to use our FULL HOOKUP site.
Sep 13, 2020
Are stay was ok. There needs to be lots of work done. Having to face another site is not much privacy. Every other site going opposite direction is very confusing. Also there was no way to get to restrooms unless you cut through a site or go all the way around. On a plus side when we were there you had problems with sewer for full hook up and got it fixed ASAP. I give you a lot of credit for that.
Sep 13, 2020
Nicely wooded site at the back of the campground with water and electric . Very friendly and helpful hosts.
Sep 13, 2020
The road to the office is filled with potholes. Typical overpriced KOA with postage stamp sized spot. I paid 35 a night for the same amenities at a non KOA the night before. I had a motorhome and because of the way the spot was setup, there would have been no way to have a campfire.
Sep 13, 2020
The bathrooms was disgusting. People screaming till we hours in the night. I would not recommend this campground to anyone. Flys all over in both bathrooms.
Sep 12, 2020
The site was updating their septic system, so although we paid for a full hook up site, we had to pull up and use the dump station. I would have preferred a refund for the difference in a full hook up site versus water/electric only site. We also were placed in a group site with other single campers. Given the covid situation, again, I would have preferred to NOT have been in a group site.
Sep 12, 2020
Campsite is extremely loud with road noise and trucks backing up everywhere. Camp roads need paving, as it turns into waterlogged mud and makes accessing the wash house difficult. Wash house does not appear to be maintained well and needs updating.
Sep 12, 2020
Great camping experience and everyone was so kind
Sep 12, 2020
Very clean campground. Friendly staff.
Sep 11, 2020
Nice campground and very friendly hosts.
Sep 10, 2020
This KOA has great potential. Staff were outstanding. Check in was great and the store had nice local items. The owners need to focus on putting down several tons of gravel to cut down on the dust and mud holes. We were in the field out front and the dust was incredibly bad!!
Sep 10, 2020
A very pleasant and nice campground in the woods.
Sep 10, 2020
The campsites are literally on top of each other. Could hear every conversation of the people camping behind me and next to me. Not very relaxing of an experience.
Sep 10, 2020
Sep 09, 2020
The campground did not have any pad so it was very dirty and muddy the sites were close together and the staff were not very friendly
Sep 09, 2020
Sep 09, 2020
Had a great time, wonderful cabin
Sep 09, 2020
Sep 08, 2020
Friendly staff. Our fire pit did not have a grate. Women's bathroom was in bad shape. Getting out of the shower onto tiles that are not secured down is not safe. The tile would pop up. Broken grout was in chunks on top of the tile & could hurt. Shower drains full of hair. I have stayed at many KOAs and their bathrooms are clean. Revving up loud snowmobiles in the morning was extremely unpleasant.
Sep 08, 2020
Campground was nice but the bathrooms were not great.
Sep 08, 2020
Bathrooms old and falling apart, no ranger for loud partying 4 wheeling neighbors. Sites small, very uneven. All dirt, no grass on sites
Sep 08, 2020
Sep 08, 2020
The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the campground overall was nice. BUT we were placed in Site 8, which has the entrance to an ATV trail at the rear. SO we had people walking and riding right through our campsite--right next to the table where we were trying to eat--constantly! I will book elsewhere next time.
Sep 08, 2020
Sep 08, 2020
Aside from the fact that when we arrived our campsite was given to the group checking in ahead of us because there was a puddle on their site the gentlemen that was working there by himself was very accommodating. They could use some fly trips in the ladies bathroom and the tiles in the shower need to be redone (stubbed my toe on a few loose ones. We will be back
Sep 08, 2020
Although it seemed to be a nice campground, it was hard to get to our spot. All the manager said was "go this way until you get to the sign, make a right until you get to this point". It was a very tree lined campground and it was easy to miss a turn, no one lead us to our spot. The fire pit was full of burnt out logs from the previous campers, no one cleans the fire pits.
Sep 08, 2020
Was a nice experience. It is close to most of the touristic places. The sports are really close to each other. That's the only thing I didn't like. But in general was nice.
Sep 08, 2020
The campgrounds were very close to the things we planned to do and see while we were in the area. Very friendly staff.
Sep 07, 2020
We have a membership with KOA. When we booked our stay here 2 months prior, we saw other reviews about the bathroom situation. We thought that by the time we would be there, those issues would have been addressed. They where not! We understand they just took over, but cleanliness, paint and TLC doesn’t take much money! They don’t deliver wood to site. Our cabin was comfortable.
Sep 07, 2020
Sep 07, 2020
Sep 06, 2020
Staff are very nice and very accommodating. Nice trees. Pricing is high. The sites are too close together. Fire pits are either next to the road or behind the camper(nice) but so close to the neighbor’s fire pit that you can hear all their conversations. We had 5 days of continuous dog barking on two sides of us because people left their dogs in their campers unattended.
Sep 06, 2020
Our cabin was clean and the fire pit was in good condition with a grill attachment. The campground has a small playground but nice volley ball and basketball play area. The pool is clean and well kept. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our stay was great.
Sep 06, 2020
Sep 05, 2020
Nice treed camping spots. Employees EXTREMELY helpful at check in. We had originally been assigned a very tiny, noisy spot between two huge motor homes that were right out by the entrance and the highway. I asked the nice gentleman if he could put us in a bit remote location. He willingly found something that worked out perfectly for us. One negative - restrooms/ showers not well maintained. Upgra
Sep 04, 2020
A perfect stay close to Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. Well maintained facility.
Sep 04, 2020
Bathrooms were disgusting. Mold on the walls and ceilings, broken tiles in the women’s showers, broken door latches and not regularly cleaned as they were suppose to be. Campsite was uneven and no grass at most. Also dealt with the unpleasant smell of the landfill across the street. Would never stay here again.
Sep 04, 2020
The staff and campground itself was nice but the proximity to the landfill is less than desirable due to the odor. The wind must’ve been blowing in an unfavorable direction when we were there.
Sep 04, 2020
Place hasn't been renovated in 40 years other than having a nice office / store ... Only has one dump station hole that is in poor conditions ... No paths to get to pool and play grounds which forces people to walk thru other camp sites or walk way around ... Site I reserved did not exist and was placed right next to playground and pool when I purposely choose a site type that wasn't near this are

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to do the survey. Yes this is an old campground. Every year we make improvements as we will continue to do. You were placed in an electric site as you requested, I am sorry it did not meet your standards. Once again thank you.
Sep 03, 2020
Sep 03, 2020