We're Sorry!

Internet reservations are currently not available for this KOA: Newton / Des Moines East KOA Journey

Please call the campground directly to make your reservations at 1-641-792-2428. Thank you.

Campground Reviews

Jun 19, 2024
Jun 19, 2024
Reservation was made at $49.95 a night got there rate was changed to $75 a night!! Owner said to bad if you don’t like it leave we got people waiting. A simple email would have been nice. Left her poor staff in a bad place.. Staff was great!!!!!
Jun 19, 2024
As in the past the workers were all AWESOME
Jun 19, 2024
The staff was wonderful and they did everything they could to make our stay memorable. The effort they did in running the shuttle back and forth to Iowa Speedway was awesome!!!
Jun 19, 2024
Everyone was so nice so happy to help us with anything! Stopped by our site regularly to see if we needed anything
Jun 19, 2024
Jeff has an excellent group of employees! The campground, bathrooms and pool were always clean. Moses did a great at parking us in the boondocks campground. Ron an Clarence did a great job of shuttling to and from the Iowa Speedway.
Jun 19, 2024
Okay for an overnight! Right next to I80, so it’s convenient but very loud. Bad Wi-Fi
Jun 19, 2024
Loved everything about this campground,I would reccomend this to all my friends!!
Jun 19, 2024
Well kept park very friendly staff
Jun 19, 2024
Absolutely wonderful stay! We were in the Boondocks area and loved it. The staff was welcoming, helpful, friendly and answered every question. I got excellent directions where I needed to go for a walk. The shuttle was the best - Clarence and Ron were funny, kind, and we couldn't ask for better. ALL staff were outstanding - thank you! We will be back.
Jun 18, 2024
Had the best time. Everyone that works there was extremely nice and helpful. Enjoyed the wine tasting at the campsite, appetizers, drinks and music at Alta house. The free pancake breakfast was very good as well. Jeff, Moises , Clarence and everyone there made you feel at home
Jun 18, 2024
We have been staying there for almost 10 years. Great staff and ownership. Highly recommend!
Jun 18, 2024
Staff tried so hard as it was sooo busy. Nice staff!
Jun 18, 2024
Weekend was great at the Newton KOA!!
Jun 18, 2024
Jun 18, 2024
You raised the prices without calling us. You tried to be sneaky about it & when I mentioned the price seems different you then tell us you raised the prices due to an event in town. The lady said if we didn’t pay more money she has other people waiting. Taking advantage of people is not ok. A friend that camped with us and he didn’t even know you raised the price until he read the original em
Jun 18, 2024
Friendly, knowledgeable and hardworking staff. Well maintained campground with a nice pool and playground area. Pancake breakfast on Saturday morning was very nice.
Jun 18, 2024
Jun 18, 2024
We have a 40 ft RV with 4 slides. I made our reservation then called to make sure we'd be in a large enough spot with 50 amp. The lady said no problem. When we arrived, we were put in a spot made for a travel trailer. We are staying again in July so I went to the office to make sure I'm in a larger spot as we couldn't even open one of our slides. We were told "no promises, we're full". REALLY?!
Jun 18, 2024
The campground Was very clean. Unfortunately There was no hot water In the shower For the 3 day stay. Sites were also too close together. Less than 6 foot of grass between you and next site.. Located on a hill. Sites were not level. Good over note stay but not long term. Weekend is pushing it. Staff was very nice and helpful. Good electric voltage.
Jun 18, 2024
The staff is awesome, shout out to Moises.
Jun 18, 2024
our stay was incredible. the staff is so friendly and will do anything to ensure your stay is great. Moses, Jeff and all the staff were amazing. Thank you! you!
Jun 18, 2024
Jun 18, 2024
The new owners are top notch!! They are more than helpful with any questions you have and to make your stay the best as possible!! (And it was!) We only had 2 minor things that happened, when we paid cash we didn't get a receipt and there was a LOUD group next to us (just having fun) but everything turned out GREAT!!! We have and will always LOVE TO CAMP THERE for the races!! Thank you to all
Jun 18, 2024
Awesome service from all the KOA staff!!! Loved the shuttle service that was provided to and from the race track. Staff would deliver wood directly to camp site when requested. Camper we rented was clean and enjoyed that it came with a coffee pot and coffee grounds!
Jun 18, 2024
Jun 18, 2024
We have stayed her for a couple years now and definitely will return again. Everyone is very friendly and the koa is so clean. We tried the shuttle this year for the race it went very well. Clarence was very friendly also. I would definitely refer this koa :)
Jun 18, 2024
Everyone at this KOA go above and beyond to help guest with all aspects of their stay. Definitely an example of how a KOA should be run.
Jun 18, 2024
Staff was awesome!
Jun 18, 2024
Great customer service. Thanks to all the campground workers for making our stay awesome!
Jun 18, 2024
The service at this KOA was fantastic! I don't give 5 start reviews often because I believe there is always room for improvement, however this place deserves a 5 star review! EVERY single staff person we came in contact with were beyond helpful and pleasant. The facilities were nice and very clean. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone!
Jun 18, 2024
Our stay was in order to attend the NASCAR races at Iowa Speedway. The shuttle service was a plus! was super friendly. When in the area, we hope to enjoy the campground again.
Jun 18, 2024
Jun 18, 2024
The staff were super friendly! Always willing to give a golf cart ride to the shower house or to the office. They did a great job of shuttling us to the race track and back as efficiently as possible. I can't wait to come back next year!
Jun 18, 2024
We got there and thought at least we had electric. We literally had a spot on farmland which was $58 a night. Nobody asked us if we needed fresh water when we got in late so we had no water for a day. Took us two hours out of our day the next day to unhook everything and hook back up. Thank god we brought our generator that kept us up all night long. The shuttle was great
Jun 18, 2024
The nicest and friendliest campgrounds we have stayed at! We will be back.
Jun 18, 2024
Sam and Sheryl were so helpful and pleasant. They stayed in touch with me as I was on a waiting list. Just when I thought we weren't going to be able to camp there...they had a cancelation and was more than happy to get us taken care of.
Jun 18, 2024
We were there over NASCAR weekend, the staff was outstanding!
Jun 18, 2024
Jun 17, 2024
Stayed once before this and both times were great.
Jun 17, 2024
Very clean campground but there is a lot of noise from I-80 that it backs up to. Noise is not overwhelming but irritating especially in the middle of the night. Great friendly staff and facilities. Would definitely stay again. Just use ear plugs-LOL
Jun 16, 2024
It was awesome and the staff went above and beyond to make sure that we were comfortable, we'd definitely stay there again and have told our friends and family to stay there
Jun 15, 2024
Newton KOA makes camping an experience to be enjoyed time and time again. Thank you Newton KOA for a wonderful stay and a wanting return visit.
Jun 15, 2024
This KOA is very nice clean and friendly. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Nothing to complain about except it is right next to I80 and is Very loud with traffic noise all night long. would stay here again.
Jun 14, 2024
Jun 14, 2024
We stayed overnight Staff was very friendly location was convenient The pull through sites are very narrow that we could not open our awnings
Jun 14, 2024
Staff was friendly and helpful, we enjoyed our overnight stay.
Jun 13, 2024
One of the better places, very nice place, clean
Jun 12, 2024
The intensity of traffic on I-80 makes this place virtually uninhabitable. Low rumble will leave you nauseous. The people on staff are wonderful and friendly.
Jun 11, 2024
Jun 20, 2024
What a wonderful experience and adventure, very satisfying.
- Gordon Fisher on Google
Jun 17, 2024
I had a great race weekend! Jeff, your team did an excellent job at the Campgrounds with greeting people and had the answers to everything. Moses parking campers in their spot and checking to see if we had garbage or anything. Very clean and well maintained shower and bathroom areas. I didn't make it to the pool, but looked very clean. Shuttle service NASCAR style with Ron and Clarence, LOL! They worked their butts off to get everyone to the track and back. Thirsty Thursday was also cool. Thanks All!
- Trent on Google
Jun 17, 2024
We've been coming to the races in Newton for 10 years and prefer staying in a cabin at this KOA over one of the hotels. They are always clean, have everything we need and the staff is nice. It's a pretty and quiet area.
- Shelly Linnabery on Google