Gatlinburg East / Smoky Mountain KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 844-557-6778

Info: 423-532-7183

Email

4874 Hooper Highway

Cosby, TN 37722

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 254 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 14, 2017
Oct 13, 2017
Great campground. Staff was a big help with everything.
Oct 13, 2017
Very nice campground. This was our 2nd visit. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!
Oct 13, 2017
Friendly people. Clean grounds. I have a 42' fifth wheel so I could have used a little more turning room for this novice.
Oct 12, 2017
Great location, easy access to Gatlinburg. Grounds were extremely clean including the restrooms/showers. Staff were extremely friendly and went above and beyond to ensure we had a great stay!
Oct 12, 2017
This is one of the best KOA we've been visiting (6 nights). Absolutely quiet location, beautifully landscaped, large sites, perfect laundry facility, very friendly helpful keeper and staff. We hiked the Great Smoky Mountains National Park on 4 full days. One trailhead is within walking distance from the campground! Anyway, you're away from busy Gatlinburg area, which we find is an advantage.
Oct 12, 2017
Oct 11, 2017
Immaculate and well-maintained property! Friendly staff! Washers & dryers are large, quite efficient and reasonably priced per load. Shower area was clean every time I was there. Pool not heated but refreshing in September heat. Recommend you take the UTV ride!
Oct 11, 2017
This is the nicest campground ever! Clean, quiet, level sites (hard to find In the mountains), wonderful staff, and the best bath house ever!
Oct 10, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
This was our first trip to a KOA. I would give this 4 stars only due to the premium spots not being completely secluded behind you. But my husband would rate 5 stars. Definitely due to the people running the site. GREAT PEOPLE. Good location, not far into Gatlinburg, very nice, clean park, beautiful trees, little store on site, etc. We loved it. Kelly was fantastic.
Oct 10, 2017
The cabin I stayed at was very clean and nice. My kids and I absolutely loved our time there. The people at the front desk where very helpful and accommodating. If we come back to the area we'll definitely stay here again.
Oct 10, 2017
Oct 09, 2017
All the staff were extremely friendly and the grounds were very nice and well kept. The owner was very friendly as well and the side by side adventure was well worth it. Great stay.
Oct 07, 2017
Great staff.
Oct 05, 2017
Oct 04, 2017
Enjoyed every minute we were there. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Campsite and grounds were excellent .Could not ask for anything better.Keep up the good work. Will be back.
Oct 03, 2017
Awesome location in a quiet area away from the road, could not hear any traffic. Staff very friendly and helpful. They reopen their store after it was closed to allow to purchase a few items so we didn't have to make a shopping trip after traveling all day. Facilities were very clean.
Oct 02, 2017
Great place to camp. The campground was very quiet and the restrooms were the best that we have seen at any campground. Just wish that we had more time to stay.
Oct 02, 2017
Very nice campground. Friendly staff. Very clean overall. I will be back. I highly recommend.
Oct 01, 2017
Sep 29, 2017
Great camp setting: Laundry. Work out room. Full service. Mt. Setting. Hiking, kayaking is our favorite activities. Gatlinburg is too commercial for us.
Sep 29, 2017
We arrived late on a Friday and was unable to get a car rental till Monday (closed on the weekend). That would have left us no time for sightseeing. We discovered the campground had a car that they rented. We rented it for the weekend and was able to visit Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. This FRIENDLY campground saved our vacation!
Sep 27, 2017
I wish we could have stayed longer should sum up how much we enjoyed this campground. We will definitely be back plus it sets the bar pretty high for our next camping adventure.
Sep 26, 2017
We enjoyed our stay from check-in to our departure. The camp staff were wonderful. Very friendly and helped us with planning our activities while we were there. Our assigned location was spacious and plenty of shade.We liked the gated concept. Very nice resort.
Sep 25, 2017
Great people great facilities teated my family like they was their family absolutely love this place will be back over and over
Sep 24, 2017
This is an attractive, quiet and well-maintained campground but the real stars are the staff! When we had problems with our tow vehicle they made space available to extend our stay, greatly reducing the stress of such a situation.
Sep 23, 2017
Sep 22, 2017
Had a blast. Be sure to rent the ATVâs for a fantastic time. Everyone at the Campground was very polite and helpful. Great level lots with a lot of space. Very clean and family friendly. Canât wait to visit again.
Sep 21, 2017
We had a fantastic stay at the Gatlinburg E/Smoky Mountains KOA. The staff there is super friendly and helpful. A highlight of our stay there was the UTV tour!
Sep 21, 2017
WI FI did not work well, kept going off.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you had problems using our Wi-Fi. As soon as we found out we contacted our provider to help us correct the issue. We are not perfect but we did get this one fixed. Again we are sorry for this inconvenience.
Sep 19, 2017
Sites were very nice. Great tv reception. (Football weekend)
Sep 18, 2017
IT WAS A "NO" ZONE everything we asked for was a NO. and on top of everything else.... I had a personal Emergency and had to leave one day early..they couldnt even give me a partial refund. The personnel there were terrible...the rest rooms and grounds were clean....I cant say anything positive other than that. I use KOA all the time...I will never come to this one...TERRIBLE STAFF
Sep 18, 2017
This site is on the other side of Gatlinburg (about 30 minutes out). Not much nearby...we don't use restroom or other facilities -everything in RV. We just need a level site with full utilities. We got the utilities, but getting in/out of one of the back in (or likely even one of the pull throughs) was a problem for us-we have a 36 ft. RV. It is so unlevel that I feared the RV would tip over!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you had such a problem. The parking area on all of our sites seems to be fairly level. You should have brought this issue to our attention and we would have been happy to help.
Sep 16, 2017
Clean, comfortable campground. Nice pool, playground, dog park. A little far from town, but just hop in the car and go. Great that it backs up to the national Park.
Sep 16, 2017
Very courteous staff, clean restrooms and laundry, convenient to most attractions. This was our second trip to this park.
Sep 16, 2017
Beautiful campground Large level sites. Very clean and maintained.Excellent staff.This was one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed at. We camped in our motor home.
Sep 14, 2017
This park is beautiful. Nestled in the forest far enough away from the hustle and bustle of things but close enough to Gatlinburg and all the attractions. The folks running this KOA were fabulous. Very kind and gracious. We planned on 2 nights and stayed 5! We also went on the UTV ride set up by the park. Highly recommend!!!
Sep 14, 2017
Very friendly and professional staff. Campground was well kept, and easily accessible to all of the local fare. Would recommend anyone interested in the area to stay here.
Sep 13, 2017
stayed for two nights. very quiet and well groomed grounds. Without a doubt the cleanest and best thought out bathrooms ever.
Sep 13, 2017
Desk staff extremely nice/helpful. Groundskeeper extremely rude and threatened removal of my family over my puppy's poo being left on an empty gravel lot before I could return to remove it. I apologized at least 8 separate times during the conversation, only for him to state that he was not interested in my apology but rather what I was thinking and to explain why I would do such a thing.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You failed to mention that this was a campsite and you had left it for several days and that our staff had cleaned it up. Other campers had noticed your actions and reported you as the irresponsible pet owner. I am sure that the fine folks in Goose Creek would not expect you to leave poo in their yard.
Sep 12, 2017
Friendly staff who were more than willing to work with Hurricane Irma evacuees. Beautiful wooded setting.
Sep 11, 2017
Beautiful campground! The friendly staff & a spacious site made our 2 week stay perfect. Laundry & bath facilities were spotless, the pool was clean/well maintained and the play area was great. A well stocked camp store also came in handy several times during our stay. Try the hike behind the campground - great walking out of your camper into the Smoky Mountains!
Sep 11, 2017
The staff was great. I wish they had more grass and a less gravel but I understand that would be difficult considering terrain. We made our reservations at the last minute and reserved a lot smaller than I should have but we still managed to wedge our 40' fifth wheel in. Hook ups were very good, few enough trees that I managed to get a signal with Dish on the eastern satellites.
Sep 09, 2017
We enjoyed your stay. The parking spacing were large even with having a picnic table and fire ring in the gravel area. The whole place looked brand new. Will mark this as a place to come back to.
Sep 07, 2017
We just stayed overnight, but plan on returning for an extended vacation next year. The campground is nestled in the smokey mountains and is just beautiful.
Sep 06, 2017
The sites are fairly level. Amenities are great, including Disc Golf. Close and convenient to Gatlinburg. We'll be back.
Sep 06, 2017
Always a pleasure to stay here!! The owner interacts with the campers and always lets us know how much he appreciates our visits. He stopped by Monday night to invite us to watch the Tennessee/Georgia Tech game on the big screen TV on the porch at the office. Adjacent to the Smokies, nature is right at your back door. You cannot go wrong staying here!
Sep 06, 2017
Beautiful place,staff so friendly and helpful, bathrooms,best I've ever seen at a campground!!
Sep 06, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award