Charleston KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Email

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 27, 2017
On arrival, the associate, Fatima, was very friendly and helpful. Fatima asked if I wanted to use my rewards points for my stay. She was very knowledgeable and responsive. She then took us to the two sites available, so we could choose. Another evening and another associate, Abraham, was very knowledgeable and helpful. We wanted to check out a day early, again excellent process, full refund.
Aug 27, 2017
had a very nice stay, enjoyed the campground. nice staff, clean facilities.
Aug 27, 2017
cable connection is VERY bad and been that way for some time. Almost all the sites have standing water when raining
Aug 27, 2017
Very efficient and friendly office staff. Despite the tremendous rain, grounds were kept usable. Love Charleston and this KOA added to our enjoyment.
Aug 27, 2017
The park was not clean or kept up.
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Very nice Campground very pleasant and helpful employees very clean convenient two other tourist attractions but not in all the congestion
Aug 24, 2017
I was a bit hesitant when I booked this campground because of some unfavorable reviews. Our experience, however, was quite pleasant. The restrooms were clean, the staff was helpful, and our campsite was small, but fine. And they even handed out eclipse glasses for their guests!
Aug 23, 2017
We are two adults and one small dog who stayed for two nights in a full hook-up pull-through in our 35 ft motorhome. Although we did not utilize many of the amenities at this KOA, it met our needs well except for slow WiFi and puddling of water on the sites during heavy rain showers.
Aug 23, 2017
Awlful- I should have paid attention to other bad reviews. We were on E row with about 15 or more residents not campers. The place is a mess and a mud hole ! . The sewer pipes are open and there is a constant cow manure odor. Bathrooms are small and have flushing issues. We will not return.
Aug 23, 2017
Weak wifi
Aug 23, 2017
Nice people in the office. Quiet and well run. So clean!
Aug 21, 2017
Convenient and friendly. Shady spot and the rates are good. Campgrounds needs updating and loud hwy noise. I will stay there again. Seems like wifi in all koas will not keep up with demand. I would be willing to pay a little more for reliable wifi.
Aug 21, 2017
We had two disappointing occurrences during our stay that I wish to mention. Most important is the fact that the keypad on the lock for the ladies bathroom does not work properly. My wife could not open it even with help and that nearly caused an embarrassing event. According to other guests it's not the first time.
Aug 20, 2017
It needs gravel or concrete sites it floods to much. Facilities need updating and the trailer park is a concern.
Aug 20, 2017
Park very nice but needs flooding issues addressed. Hard rain one afternoon turned many spaces in row c into waterfront property. Otherwise very good.
Aug 17, 2017
Very unfriendly workers. People in pool from outside camp ground. Camper spots need maintained because of flooding.
Aug 17, 2017
We paid extra for the camp site with the fire pit and the swing and it was horrible the grass needed to be cute some of the pavers were missing on the site the firepit was a mess the worse Koa we ever stayed at
Aug 16, 2017
The wi fi was intermittent. The portable shower was less than satisfactory. It was storming and asked for gravel for door area of rv. Nothing was ever done or was I ever approached to let us know that they could not accommodate the request
Aug 15, 2017
What a DUMP. The only thing nice was the pool. Why did you put us with long term campers? We were short stay. Clean up this campground KOA!!!!
Aug 14, 2017
stayed at site C15, it had a great cement area with BBQ pit and Table n Chairs, but to the back side my slide out was next to neighbors picnic table, and the dump connections was broken and we were advised to use a brick to hold discharge hose in place.
Aug 14, 2017
Can't help the rain, but the sites could have better drainage or more fill so they don't flood. Sites needed to be mowed. Tables need to be replaced. Could not sit at tables for fear of getting dirty. Almost got stuck in a mud hole on site.
Aug 14, 2017
Grounds needed tending to. Weeds in plant areas and really in a poor location. it worked for what we needed it for. Campground employees friendly and responsive to our needs. Bathrooms not too clean.
Aug 14, 2017
Even taking into consideration of the rainy season this KOA has gone down hill over the past few years. Landscaping is horrible most picnic tables are rotten fire ant hills everywhere and water standing water filled campsites on top of one another. Several sites with so many vehicles we couldn't park at our site. Very very disappointing. No excuse why the grounds are bad. Need gravel all over
Aug 12, 2017
To many "permanent" spots. Looks like ppl have been there forever. Multiple spots look run down with campers and cars that look very run down
Aug 12, 2017
Very nice and professionally run.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
I was very disappointed in our first stay at a KOA. The sites are all too close together.There was no firepit!!! You can't camp without a campfire. It had just rained and our site was ankle deep under water. I'm glad we didn't have to spend much time at the campground. WeWe were visiting family close by, so we spent most of our time there. I'll never come back!!!
Aug 09, 2017
Very nice park and convenient to the freeway. The back spaces are a little tight for our 35' unit, but we made it work. The front spaces are heavily treed. If you use a satellite dish, you may give up reception for the larger space and shade. All in all, we will be back for our next visit. Enjoyable stay.
Aug 08, 2017
Been coming here for yrs Being taken over by the trailer park. They carry loads of clothes back and forth and use all the facilities, 3 teenage boys from the trailer park came into the pool area stripped down to their underwear in front of my wife, and my 13 yr old daughter to change into their swim suits. I should have called the police because the campground acted like I had a problem. Unsafe!
Aug 08, 2017
Let me say up front that I was concerned about staying here after reading all off the online reviews but we didn't encounter any issues at all. POSITIVE: Everyone was very friendly and helpful. NEGATIVE: The site we were on wasn't as large of a site as we are accustomed to. It was tight getting in with a 40 foot camper and even tighter getting out but it was doable.
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
It raining and flood around the RV up to 4in
Aug 01, 2017
Aug 01, 2017
Real nice Wooded campground. Well laid out. The only real problem was that they had young kids working there who knew nothing about camping. I had a couple of camper problems and they had no idea of who in the area could help.
Aug 01, 2017
Did not like that is was attached to a trailer park..poor drainage after rain storms.Some staff really didn't know what they were doing.place needs a complete overhaul
Jul 30, 2017
Park is old and has permanent trailers. Also adjoins an old mobile home park. Sites are mostly dirt. Showers are actually portable event trailers. It's great that current owners want this to be a KOA but this place needs serious upgrades before it meets KOA standards.
Jul 30, 2017
Decent, but the attached mobile home park sharing everything is very unlike the KOA I have stayed in the past. Should not be able to operate as a KOA and a trailer park!
Jul 30, 2017
This was a disappointment. Person on the phone quoted us a tent price of $33 for our 22ft MH since we only needed W/E, but we were charged $40 upon checkout. There was a rotten smelling open dumpster near the main bathrooms which we discovered were out of service, so we had to use these portable bath houses.
Jul 28, 2017
The bathrooms and shower houses were closed during our stay. Temporarily facilities were available, but quite dirty and so we chose not to use. Laundry facility is open air and was very dirty. Pool was nice. But overall not what we expected when booking a KOA campground.
Jul 26, 2017
To small of driveways for new 40' RV with trailer. Need 30ft of sewer hose.
Jul 24, 2017
No problems what so ever.....well facilitated and friendly.
Jul 22, 2017
we had to leave swimming pool twice because other guests came in area smoking and there language and actions made us uncomfortable as our grandchildren were with us .we told your staff about our discomfort but no corrections
Jul 22, 2017
Lot of flooded camp sites A little pricey
Jul 19, 2017
Great for an overnight or very short stay. Not really a destination stop unless you will not be in the campground much. Sites are very close together. Pool is nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is good for sightseeing in Charleston.
Jul 19, 2017
The staff are friendly, professional and extremely helpful. Always eager to make sure you enjoy your stay. The grounds are well kept with beautiful flowers and vegetables. Great Charleston stay!
Jul 19, 2017
AWESOME pool and clean grounds BUT the shower/bathroom and washer and dryer area was being remodeled.
Jul 19, 2017
Staff was very helpful but the issue is a STRONG mold and mildew odors in both the office and the rec room. It was gross.Also cable hookup never worked even after it was fixed by maintenance.
Jul 19, 2017
Very unorganized. I contacted the staff ahead of time to tell then I was going to be arriving after hours. They left a map taped to the door but didn't leave a spot # for me to park my camper. At 1:30am I had to just find a spot and park. Park was not well kept, full of fire ants and lack of trimming and mowing. Not up to koa standards.
Jul 18, 2017
After visiting this campground since I was a child, I am appalled by how overgrown it was, not including the disgusting bathrooms, and how our cabin smelled of cigarettes. The only way I would recommend this location, is if they did a major over haul.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy