Carbondale / Crystal River KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 970-963-2341

Info: 970-963-2341

Email

7202 Highway 133

Carbondale, CO 81623

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 07, 2017
A bit minimalist for a commercial campground (aside from the showers) but that also makes it a quaint place to stay the night! Nice setting, but traffic can be noisy at times on the highway it is next to. Grab a spot close to the river.
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
Friendly staff, really clean bathrooms, and a beautiful location.
Sep 24, 2017
Sep 22, 2017
A wonderful campground. Staff were very hospitable, bathrooms immaculate, location perfect, campsites spacious!
Sep 20, 2017
Nice river access tent site. Great, new shower facilities. phone coverage tricky, to be expected. I found service at the charging station/wash basin. Hot water in outdoor wash basin, always a nice surprise. Out of town, and nice and quiet at night, seems like a respectful crowd is drawn to this one. Came for golf and was a perfect stay for River Valley Ranch. will be back for sure!
Sep 19, 2017
As far as KOA's go, this is a nice place. Everything looked well kept and the caretakers were nice helpful. The kids loved having a store, hot water and a shower (they're used to digging holes to use the restroom). The only complaints we have are that the road noise is loud and the campsites are very close together. But, that's expected at a KOA.
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
Very nice dog run area. The staff was friendly and kept things clean and running smoothly. I think, however, only one bath area with two toilets for each sex is inadequate for the number of tent campers possible. We once stayed at a KOA in Cloverdale, CA during a busy weekend and it was terrible - only one bath house for all the tent people and one of the toilets in the men's was plugged.
Sep 17, 2017
Erin Nielsen, the owner, has zero integrity, and is a very condescending person. Stay away. A more detailed review was left on The TripAdvisor.com website.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Here is the situation. This gentleman rented a tent site, departed early and was told if re-rented would get refund. It was not re-rented and thus no refund. Threatened to give bad review if no refund and thus the bad review. Erin was the unfortunate one that had to reiterate the policy and situation. When he did not hear what he wanted to hear, he became vindictive.
Sep 12, 2017
Beautiful area. Very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. We had a tent site by the river. Lovely and peaceful. We will come again!
Sep 11, 2017
great campground and pleasant staff.
Sep 10, 2017
Too many people.. They were rude and there were people cheating the system by having 2 families stay on one lot.. The adults were drinking and letting their toddler kids run amuck and digging around in our cooler and whatnot.. If you want peace and quiet.. Do not go here!!
Sep 07, 2017
The campground was kept in excellent condition. It was one of the nicest KOA's I've ever stayed in. Would definetly stay there again. Location was great!
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
One of the best campsites! Love it!
Sep 03, 2017
Thought it was great. Facilities were updated and clean. Peopl very nice. My only complaint was there is a lot of road noise. I think a site on the river would be more natural.
Sep 02, 2017
Great tent sites. We got a site that was secluded from the others and close to the river. The bathrooms are new and very clean. The staff is very friendly! It is a bit close to the road so can be a bit loud but the location is great for Mt. Sopris, Carbondale, Aspen and Maroon Bells.
Sep 02, 2017
Terrible site!! Not for large RV's. Ours is 44 ft. plus towed car. The site was not built to accommodate large RV's. The "larger" RV sites were overgrown with trees, they were not level, and there were no sewage dumps at the individual sites. Nice location for tent camping or small RV's (trailers, small 5th wheel's (maybe). Staff was accommodating.
Sep 01, 2017
Well maintained. I was in a tent site directly next to the river, felt secluded from adjacent sites which is very nice. Highway noise in the morning and evening was my only complaint because the speeding cars and trucks often drowned out the sound of the river. Very friendly staff. The region around this KOA is loaded with wonderful mountain roads and small towns...off the main tourist routes.
Aug 31, 2017
such a beautiful, clean & cozy campground! we wish that we could have stayed longer, we will be back without a doubt!
Aug 31, 2017
Bien situé à côté d'une petite rivière. Les aires communes sont propres et le personnel serviable. Cependant, le camping est trop près de la route qui est passante la nuit. Le bois (de pauvre qualité) et la glace sont chers donc prévoir d'en acheter ailleurs.
Aug 31, 2017
Very clean. Bit expensive for just a âºï¸ tent
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
The staff are amazing. The site was unbelievably beautiful and the amenities are pristine. Great place. Can't wait to return.
Aug 28, 2017
Stayed there 4 times now, very nice improvements to the tent areas. Good location for biking into Glenwood Springs.
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
We had so much fun camping by the river! It was great to be able to play cornhole, charge our phones at the base, and use nice bathrooms while still having the camping experience.
Aug 23, 2017
We loved our tent site next to the river. The office personal were polite and helpful. The bathrooms were very clean. We used the laundry which was also convenient and clean. Great location to use as a base to explore the area.
Aug 23, 2017
We overall had a good experience at this KOA. The staff were very friendly and check in was quick and easy. The bathrooms were kept clean. The showers looked brand new and there was plenty of hot water. It was free to shower and to wash dishes. Our only complaint is the sites were close together. They had fences between some of the sites which helped with privacy.
Aug 22, 2017
Quick overnite tent site A little pricey but fine
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Definitely will return!
Aug 21, 2017
Stayed in the Tee-Pee. Bed was great. Restroom facilities clean and shower was very good. Thanks.
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
This is not a good place for tent camping. The majority of the sites are very close to the highway and noisy. The bathroom was nice but with so many amazing campgrounds all around I would never stay here again just for the bathroom.
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Beautiful site. We were late check-in and early departure so didn't have a chance to talk with staff. Bathrooms/showers were clean.
Aug 15, 2017
Great campground, whit verry nice tentsides and bathhouse! We have been traveling for 3 weeks from campground to campground. The crystal river KOA was the best of all 13 campgrounds we have been!
Aug 14, 2017
Great site, great staff and great amenities
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
This is an excellent commercial campground, a very clean, well run operation. All of the staff were polite and extremely helpful. They provided help charging my deep cell batteries for use with my CPAP sleep apnea machine, even carrying the very heavy battery in their vehicle and by hand into their office/lounge area. The facilities are beautifully maintained and easily accessible. Great place!
Aug 09, 2017
I loved the camp ground but was very disappointed with my time there because of our neighboring campers. The group behind us was up until 2am drinking, playing loud music, shouting and hollering. I was disappointed no KOA staff came and dealt with it, especially because the group was saying awfully racist and crude comments. I ended up sleeping in my car. I would've left if I had a family.
Aug 09, 2017
The site was amazing. It did storm that night, which made the walk to the bathroom and forgetting the code a nightmare, but overall an enjoyable experience.
Aug 08, 2017
Clean. Friendly. Great location
Aug 07, 2017
Our tent site on the river was amazing! We enjoyed the sound of the river and the beautiful trees. The bathrooms were well maintained as well. Loved our time there!
Aug 06, 2017
Our first night, we had a huge loud crass drunk party happening right behind us that was incredibly disturbing. We asked the KOA person on duty to do something about it and he simply said "We've never had a problem before," and did nothing. The only way we could sleep a little better was by moving into our car. A refund would be awesome.
Aug 05, 2017
Clean, nice amenities and beautiful site.
Aug 05, 2017
Great Stay!!! Right on the river in the tent was AWSOME
Aug 05, 2017
Best KOA we have stayed at so far. We had a tent site on the river with a view of the mountains. Peaceful sounds of the river made for a great nights sleep. Everything at this campground is perfect.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy