Benson KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 13, 2019
Sep 13, 2019
The site is being upgraded. But is a great place to stop. Wonderful staff.
Sep 11, 2019
The cabin was clean, but the bed is very uncomfortable. Once in the bed your down below the frame and it is hard to get out. The overhead light is blinding, needs a small lamp. The tv is right next to the ac and you can’t hear the tv. The owners need to stay in a cabin to check it before renting. The restrooms were clean. They are doing a good remodel.
Sep 02, 2019
The owners were really great. They upgraded us to a camping cabin when we requested it, and it was a minimal extra charge. The facilities were ok, definitely in need of updates. The bathrooms were pretty clean. We would stay here again if we’re ever passing through.
Aug 31, 2019
Needs lots of love!
Aug 26, 2019
The park is being “renovated”. The owners tried to place us in an area inundated with weeds and overgrown trees. They guided us to one place where you could not see the ground/hook-ups for the weeds and we could not extend the slides for the trees. We asked to be moved so they guided us to a space. Overgrown trees, stuck us and they had to cut several branches to free us to avoid damage CLOSE
Aug 21, 2019
Aug 15, 2019
Aug 06, 2019
Jul 31, 2019
Benson was the perfect stop while we were on our way west toward Phoenix it was a short drive to Tombstone AZ where we visited for lunch. It’s in the desert but had everything we needed including a swimming pool!
Jul 28, 2019
WiFi and the cable didn’t work! No staff to assist after 6 pm.
Jul 22, 2019
We were delayed with truck problems and didn't get to the camp on time. They very graciously changed our dates for all of us. They are doing improvements and it will become much nicer thanks
Jul 21, 2019
Awesome stay. Katie and her husband are awesome! Highly rated place and people! Thanks
Jul 19, 2019
Really enjoyed the quiet . The lady at reg was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 18, 2019
Very friendly hosts
Jul 17, 2019
Camp was clean but old. Didn’t get to meet the staff but they seemed nice over the phone. Just stayed overnight and it was just me and I think two other people. So really couldn’t give it a fair rating. But it was nice being close to Tombstone and Kartchner Caverns. Would probably stay here again while passing through.
Jul 16, 2019
Our overall impression is that we won’t likely return. We don’t live far away and was looking someplace close with a pool for the kids. The pool was closed early due to storms one day, but remained closed after the storms and before dusk. Also, we didn’t even realize there were spots available in shaded areas behind the office. As few campers as there were we should’ve at least been offere
Jul 15, 2019
The stay at Benson KOA was amazing !! We had a lot of fun ...the Pool was very clean and has new equipment for added fun. Nights skies are filled with stars and the sound of owls hooting, bunny’s hopping around and the smell of s’mores. Larry and Katie are the hosts and they make you feel like family...we will definitely return. Thanks again Larry and Katie see you soon!
Jul 15, 2019
It was a quick stay to test out our equipment - and it was AWESOME!! Katie and Larry were very welcoming and very helpful with all of the questions we came with - if you are driving thru southern Arizona and need a place to set up camp - this is a great place to do it!! We will be back!!
Jul 14, 2019
The new General Managers are working to renovate and update. We look forward to visiting again to see their progress. Thank you for your hospitality!
Jul 13, 2019
Jul 10, 2019
The road into the campground is absolutely horrible. I had to drive at 1mph to avoid the RV from being thrown side to side. The campground itself was clean, but in need of some updating.
Jul 09, 2019
Jul 05, 2019
Friendly and helpful management. The sites were very level and roomy. It was close to town and restaurants, but felt like we were out in the country for that quiet, starry sky experience.
Jul 02, 2019
a great place to stay, and in the process of even getting better. Great satellite reception.
Jun 27, 2019
Horrid road leading into the campground, which was virtually empty, with only 4 other units all night. However, we were placed in a spot that was too small for our trailer, 28 feet, despite our reservations clearly stating the size and slideouts. We had to enter the wrong way to get to the hook ups which were placed at the opposite end of every other vacant spot in our row. Won't return ever.
Jun 24, 2019
This KOA is very 'rustic'. They just re-did the pool and are working on other upgrades. The bathrooms/showers definitely need work. But the staff were very friendly, and we had a very nice time.
Jun 23, 2019
Very nice and helpful staff. They're in the process of updating the facilities, a understandable slow process given their location. This location had everything we wanted for an enjoyable stay.
Jun 22, 2019
Really friendly staff, looks like they have big upgrades planned!! Ideal location!!
Jun 21, 2019
We habe staued there many times. It is an awesome koa surrounded by many points of interest. Camp is clean and well kept. The new owners are in the process of updating the camp sites. Will stop again.
Jun 20, 2019
This KOA had some nice features like TV in the cabins. Solid tent structure over tables were nice. Mini golf looked nice, but balls and clubs weren't available when it was cool due to limited store/office hours, could have them outside for use. Would be nice to have a cooled indoor activity room for kids. Parts of the kampground looked unfinished. Was ok, felt like had potential to be really nice
Jun 20, 2019
Jun 18, 2019
Jun 17, 2019
The facility was nice and clean. The managers very friendly and helpful. My husband and I will stay there again.
Jun 15, 2019
Going from el paso to california. Needed to stop half way. Benson was the spot
Jun 10, 2019
We liked it. The new owners are still working to fix it up so I'm not going to knock them. Very nice people that are willing to help in any way they can. People talk about the entrance to the park being bumpy but we just drove slow and it was fine. The road to the park is owned by several land owners and the park owner is trying to work with them to get it repaved. Just give them some time.
Jun 09, 2019
Jun 08, 2019
I know the campground is under new management, but the campground needed a lot of restoration. We pay top dollar to stay at a KOA and it was not acceptable. The pool was not functioning correctly, we couldn't hook-up our sewer because it was all broken-up, the picnic table was very weathered and full of spider webs and the spots were full of weeds. It was not worth the $52.00!!!
Jun 08, 2019
Very nice customer service in the office . Campgrounds were poor, ants everywhere. Pool was sad . For how much I paid a night .
Jun 01, 2019
Price to high $46. Tv cable would not work.
May 31, 2019
We enjoyed our stay there and can tell it's going to be awesome when they finish all the repairs.
May 29, 2019
Pas d’eau chaude dans les douches Internet très faible même proche de l’office Les tables de pique-nique brisées Terrain mal entretenu Ne correspond pas au standard des campings KOA à laquelle je m’attends
May 28, 2019
The management team was amazing! They are super friendly and very responsive. We had a great time visiting southern Arizona can't wait to return to this camp site later this year!
May 23, 2019
The KOA was very unkempt, lots of weads. It was very difficult to enter and leave with a big rig. I am amazed that KIA corporate would allow this park to use KIA name. Will never stay there again.
May 19, 2019
Perfectly quiet and satisfying. I will be back.
May 18, 2019
May 17, 2019
Friendly staff, clean bathrooms and showers.
May 17, 2019
Not the nicest KOA we’ve been too but there was nothing wrong with it either! Just a little more remote and rustic than some. Hosts were very nice and accommodating! No complaints at all.
May 17, 2019
Very bumpy road to get to the campground. Very dusty. Check in was very easy, nice staff.
May 17, 2019
The grounds were clean and well kept. They are working on even more improvements. Friendly staff.

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.