Allendale / West Grand Rapids KOA Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 02, 2019
It rained quite a bit but we had fun!
Oct 02, 2019
Staff was nice, bathrooms and showers were decent. We had a very small campsite right between two other ones that made for a not very private camp. We were awake most of the night listening to the neighbors talking and playing music both nights. Would definitely ask for a different spot next time. Location was nice being 20 minutes from the lake though. Quite a few activities for kids also.
Oct 02, 2019
Sep 24, 2019
Staff was kind, grounds and bathrooms were clean and well kept, a ton of activities, and the firewood delivery was very convenient. No complaints!
Sep 07, 2019
We had a great time and the property was well kept. The only negative I have was the men's room near tent site did not have lock on bathroom. Otherwise the kids loved activities and the tent site was nice.
Sep 07, 2019
Tons of activities for our kids to do. Would come back for another stay.
Sep 03, 2019
Very wonderful and clean place to stay. There was a worker there who could have been more friendly and polite but maybe it was a bad day for him. The owner of the campground though was very friendly and understanding, I will be back soon.
Sep 02, 2019
Very enjoyable! LOVED our campsite! It was big and perfect location for us!
Sep 01, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Our stay was amazing, we stayed in tent 1 location and although it didn't have a water spout or plug in we didn't need it for tent camping. The owner is very friendly and helpful and the campsite as a whole was an awesome experience. I am an eagle scout and have been camping my whole life and I would recommend this location to anyone especially camping newbies. Lots of family oriented activities!
Aug 21, 2019
The boys loved all the things this camp ground offers. We as scout parents loved the pond view and walking trails on our site. The owner the kids loved and he was a hoot. Would love to come back for halloween weekend. or any other weekend we can
Aug 19, 2019
Everyone was very friendly and the campground was clean and well kept!
Aug 14, 2019
The koa was nice and relaxing it could use some more kid activities but overall me and my son had a good time
Aug 12, 2019
We had a wonderful stay at this KOA. I do not have kids, but this place seemed to keep the kids busy. Especially the 9pm music hayrides. They were fun to watch. Scott at the store was great. Very friendly and fun to talk to. Enjoyed the tent site. Very secluded in the pines.The bathhouses need some attention. Few toilets not working and showers need attention: paint and new shower heads.
Aug 12, 2019
The campground was very clean and everyone was friendly. I loved all the family activities and they delivered our firewood to our site and picked up our trash. My only complaint would be that the fire ring was buried, which made cooking difficult and also dangerous for kids to be around. All in all, I'd say it was a great trip and I'd definitely return.
Aug 09, 2019
It's an amazing place to stay. You can camp in beautiful tent sites and if you have kids, there is just enough activities to keep them happy and enjoying the stay too. The staff is amazing and the owner is a fantastic guy who loves what he does. The cabins and RV sites are great. You just can't go wrong with this KOA. Z
Aug 07, 2019
Love staying here! Lovely campground! Owner and workers do a phenomenal job!!
Aug 05, 2019
The campground was nice, well-maintained. The bathroom I used was small with only two showers (had to wait a while). A guy several tents over was up vomiting all night long, but I slept through most of it. Most everything was as expected.
Aug 04, 2019
Jul 31, 2019
Jul 29, 2019
When you pull into the drive you see a run down house on one side and an overgrown pond on the other. This is the nicest part of the camp. Permanant residence sites are disgusting. Ponds are really swamps that you can't get close to. The showers are old with collasping ceilings. No mosquito control. Over grown tent sites. No quiet time enforcement. Potholes everywhere
Jul 29, 2019
Excellent service group! Super customer mindset. Best KOA ever I stay.
Jul 26, 2019
Despite reading a few negative comments , Our family decided to check this place out ourself. Pool was great ,facility was clean . People are friendly , lots of child activities . I'd rate it 4 star
Jul 26, 2019
Let me check in early, excellent customer service will definitely be back! Thank you
Jul 24, 2019
Jul 24, 2019
Noisy generators, noisy people till after midnight.
Jul 23, 2019
Wow! J'ai utilisé un terrain pour tente à terre sans service. Il était spatieux, boisé et très propre. J'ai adoré! Très bon accueil. Grand espace. Good maintenance. Je recommande ce KOA fortement.
Jul 22, 2019
The staff were nice and very helpful. Our site was clean and exactly what we needed. Unfortunately late at night we had some boys arrive and keep us up all night. They were very loud and obnoxious when we were trying to sleep. I wish there were rules on that. And if there are I wish they were enforced!
Jul 19, 2019
Pluses: � Quiet -- except for kids having fun, but what can ya do? Haha. � Heard some spotted owls at dusk. � The firewood delivery service was a nice perk. � Quality tent sites in a wooded area. Minuses: � The wrist band gets annoying after a few days, especially if you're doing other tourist things in the area. � The pool is small, and it's easy to bump into someone.
Jul 18, 2019
Only complaint we have is the toilet paper. It was literally unusable. Other than that we loved the campground and it's staff! Highly Recommended!
Jul 17, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
The bathrooms were not very clean and the toilet paper was so thin that it ripped into a bunch of pieces every time. Other than that, it was a nice stay.
Jul 15, 2019
Very clean camp ground. Staff were fantastic. only complaint we had was our water was shut off, which was corrected as soon as we notified staff about it. Our kids loved the pool, wagon rides and playgrounds.
Jul 11, 2019
Jul 09, 2019
Good maintenance, nice staff
Jul 09, 2019
Been here several times and it’s always great! We love it!
Jul 08, 2019
Our family had a great time at the KOA. There are many activities, the facilities are clean, and the owner is quite personable!
Jul 08, 2019
This is a hidden gem! Friendly and helpful staff, clean and well kept common spaces, and many family friendly activities. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anyone going to the area. The tent camp sites are a little close together, however not all sites were full.
Jul 07, 2019
The staff was so kind and helpful. The pool area and bathrooms were clean and easy to use, especially on a holiday stay. My only “complaint” was that I wished our campsite was mowed beforehand, but honestly nothing that bothered me too much. We will definitely be back! This is our boys’ new favorite place to stay! Thanks again Allendale KOA
Jul 06, 2019
Jul 03, 2019
Hands down the best campground we've stayed at (and we camp A LOT)! Tons of things for the kids to do with very well maintained facilities. The staff was amazing and so accommodating! You can tell they are all passionate about their campground and giving their guests an awesome, fun-filled experience. We are already looking for an excuse to make the 11 hour drive back!!
Jul 02, 2019
Jul 02, 2019
My little kids really enjoyed the pool and dance party. I appreciated having no headaches with loud neighbors or fast vehicles on the road
Jun 25, 2019
This was one of the nicest campgrounds we've ever stayed at. There were nice wooded lots with plenty of room to spread out. The owner is extremely friendly and a fun host....featuring a "glow-ride" each night behind his tractor. Fun for kids and adults alike. They had great things to do there: the bounce area, octagon ball, pool, and more. We had such a great time and would gladly return!
Jun 25, 2019
Very clean well taken care of campground. Staff was very nice and helpful.
Jun 25, 2019
The web site stated that there where three stocked ponds. We were not sure where we could fish and the ponds were full of vegitaion. Made for a real stressful time. Other than that my family and I had a great time and look forward to returning again.
Jun 23, 2019
The KOA itself was clean and well taken care of. I appreciated the amenities like the dishwashing station and laundry. Members of the staff were very friendly and helpful, like Scott. I do wish there were fire rings for the tent sites. I understand these are expensive, but having some available upon request would have been nice. I also wish there was a recycling or compost area on site.
Jun 21, 2019
Everything was fantastic. Campsite was very nice. Lots of things to do for the kids. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to come back
Jun 17, 2019
Lovely grounds, good amount of tent camping privacy, organized, clean bathrooms, friendly workers; Great job guys!
Jun 11, 2019
We will be back!!! The campground is extremely clean, updated and scenic. The staff was wonderful - extremely friendly and accommodating. The activities were outstanding - the ball toss on the hay ride was an absolute favorite. Bouncing pillow, tether ball, pool, Gaga ball and play set were enjoyed by all the kids. They have thought of everything. I can’t say enough wonderful things. Thank you!!

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.