Sussex KOA Reviews

Opening May 14, 2020!! We have seasonal sites available for 2020.

Learn More

Campground Reviews

Oct 11, 2019
Large kampground. Wonderful helpful professional staff. Enjoyed my stay.
Oct 03, 2019
Sep 30, 2019
Bad management
Sep 27, 2019
Great staff ! Friendly, informative young ladies at office, and the maintenance managers very friendly . Nice, clean washrooms. Easy to locate off highway, and very close to town. Plus a drive-in movie theater RIGHT THERE ! Bill & Liz
Sep 22, 2019
Great friendly staff.nice to come off hey and rest . All was ready to just check in. Clean and friendly . We even added another day or two just to rest and explore. Thank you again.
Sep 22, 2019
Friendly staff, good location, nice sites
Sep 18, 2019
Sep 17, 2019
Good site managers--helpful & offered useful advise on where to have dinner.
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 15, 2019
Campground is nice; staff is friendly and helpful. Washrooms are exceptionally clean. The cabin was clean and looked new on the inside. All in all our stay was very pleasant. A couple of small problems: There was no hot water in the dish sink, which makes it difficult to get your dishes clean and the drain was plugged and drained very slowly. There were a lot of spiders in the bathrooms.
Sep 14, 2019
We found the campground very well clean, with Nice grass. But a bit expensif
Sep 11, 2019
Washrooms exceptionally clean. Tough getting leveled as the grounded away.
Sep 11, 2019
Unfortunately do to Hurricane Doiran we were unable to camp in Sussex.
Sep 10, 2019
Sep 10, 2019
Friendly staff. Large grassy camping spot.
Sep 09, 2019
During hurricane Dorian..heavy rain..our site was soft mud..very messy..dead end lane and no room to back in or get out..on a side hill..not Good! This is more of a seasonal place now!
Sep 09, 2019
Nice location on river, Camping cabins nicely co- located with tent sites. Cabin had a dorm size frig with freezer. Had adequate microwave. Pretty garden outside the registration building.Staff was welcoming and friendly..Clean restrooms.. A few negatives: Drive-in movie theatre screen faces campground; minimal noise from highway, camp store not well stocked, no chair or writing surface inside.
Sep 08, 2019
We did NOT stay at Sussex KOA for Balloon Fiesta 2019. I understand the cancellation policy on this busy weekend BUT we where coming from Halifax area where the entire province of Nova Scotia was bracing for Hurricane Dorian to hit. Due to these extreme weather conditions I feel it’s appropriate to at the very least issue a partial refund.
Sep 04, 2019
I hate to give bad reviews but this place was party central. Most campers here were full time seasonal - which I understand the economics. There were three different very loud parties going on within sight of our campsite. I'm talking outdoor speakers, patio lights, and lots of adults. When I looked at the quiet time, it was MIDNIGHT TO 8. This was not a quiet place to spend the night.
Sep 04, 2019
Very pleasant. Just be aware that although the pull-through sites are very large, you will be forced to locate very close to one end (front of site) as that is where the water/sewer/electrical are located. Also beware that most of those sites are right next to the jumping pad, playgroung, and bathrooms. Not very private or quiet.
Sep 03, 2019
1st season tenting and over 3 trips, we spent 9 nights and loved every minute of our experience.
Sep 02, 2019
Great lot, we’ll kept grounds and clean, staff was friendly and helpy
Sep 01, 2019
Very friendly, accommodating staff and very professional.
Aug 30, 2019
Short stay but enjoyable.
Aug 30, 2019
Very crowded. Pull thru sites were challenging to get out of when leaving.
Aug 30, 2019
I believe I was overcharged and when I asked the attendant he just avoided the answer. When I was on line the rate was lower and that’s what I told him. They charged me like $73.00 less 10% discount but I told him the on line rate was like $57.00 not happy about that.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hello, based on the lot that you occupied there is no $57 rate. It is $64.10 + tax. If you are a VKR member than you receive 10% off this price.
Aug 29, 2019
Aug 29, 2019
Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The facilities were clean and the grounds were nice. We stayed twice during our trip because of the convenience.
Aug 29, 2019
Aug 27, 2019
Nice Campground , people were great, Tent sites are small, had to upgrade to a tent trailer site, too close to the interstate, noisy, plus train tracks, at least the train came through everyday around 7pm so that wasn't to bad, don't forget anything not a lot of supplies and stuff at the store on site. crazy rules for the jumping pillow?Bathrooms and showers need a upgrade, overall not to bad.....
Aug 27, 2019
General manager Ron went out of his way to assist in helping me to back up.
Aug 26, 2019
Our stay was great, Nice quite spot. Although the site could have been a little more level. But i would recommend this KOA very clean.
Aug 26, 2019
Great time clean facilities lots for the kids and staff and owner's are great to deal with.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

thanks for staying with us again! Always a pleasure to see repeat clients!
Aug 25, 2019
Aug 23, 2019
Decidedly O.K!
Aug 22, 2019
Cute place - they have a drive in movie! Staff extremely friendly and helpful!
Aug 22, 2019
Aug 22, 2019
Good campsite
Aug 22, 2019
Aug 22, 2019
Aug 21, 2019
Grand terrain avec beaucoup de monde. Beaucoup de saisonnier Accueil chaleureux Séjour de une nuit .
Aug 21, 2019
Staff was very friendly, they do not communicate with one another. The facility should not be called a campground since the majority of the sites are occupied by full time, older shabby campers & units. They advise 50 amp sites, but there are none available because the permanent units occupy all of them. Very rutted & unlevel grass sites are the norm. No cable. Not worth the exorbitant prices

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Like most campgrounds in Atlantic Canada, 50% are comprised of "Seasonals" and the remainder "Weekender" Traffic. There is not enough business to support a "Weekender" only Campground in this region unlike many places that you are accustomed to in the US.
Aug 20, 2019
Very friendly and accommodating staff at all times. The sites for larger RV’s needs to be leveled better. When our jacks are down the tires come off the ground. Not safe. RV could roll
Aug 20, 2019
Nice site just what a weary traveler needed.
Aug 20, 2019
Great amenities and being near the drive in was amazing! Great place to stay
Aug 19, 2019
Aug 19, 2019
Sites are great and grass is nice, drive in is a bonus, the cleanliness of washrooms isn’t the greatest and they need more showers
Aug 19, 2019
Advertised as KOA/Drive un but didn't find out you’re required to drive into the drive-in to watch. Did not have shade for parents to sit at pool/playground. No lounge chairs at pool. Parents have to sign out key for jumping pillow and all of the kids flock to it when you do. You have to ask them all to leave when you leave/lock up. Didn’t have activities like most KOAs. Not likely to return.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your misunderstand but a "Drive In" implies that you must "Drive In" with your car/truck. We have many scheduled activities during the weekend for our campers, during the week the traffic is lighter and less participation in these types of activities.
Aug 18, 2019
This was our fifth year staying in the cabins. Always a great time with lots of things to keep the kids busy. Can't wait until next year!
Aug 18, 2019
Super friendly.
Oct 09, 2019
What an amazing campground!!! Stayed with my family for one week an we had a blast. Campground and Bathrooms were impeccable!!! The owner, Don, even swung by one night asking if everything was fine!!! How is that for service!
- Pyth0ss on Trip Advisor
Sep 24, 2019
Always a great place to visit, whether it is to stay or for the drive in movies! They've got wonderful activities for kids, adults, and pools to cool off on the hot days. They've done a great job changing things up and its working in their favor!
- Keirsten J on Trip Advisor
Sep 24, 2019
We had a great season camping at the Koa. Love the staff and all the fun family activities and the adult dances are amazing. The drive in is so much fun for the whole family!!! Can’t wait to go again!!
- Missy M on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.