This area memorializes one of the last armed efforts of the Northern Plains Indians to preserve their way of life. Here in 1876, 263 soldiers and attached personnel of the U.S. Army, including Lt. Col. George A. Custer, met death at the hands of several thousand Lakota and Cheyenne warriors.
The Sheridan Inn is a national historic landmark. It is home of the famous "Buffalo Bill Cody Saloon." Open daily and guided tours and historical lectures are available at a nominal fee.
Recently accepted into "America's Book of Castles." Summer hours are June through August 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. daily. Open Memorial Day, Independence Day and Labor Day. Winter hours are September through May. Guided group tours are available by appointment only.
Immerse yourself in the colorful Cultures, Commerce, and Characters of Sheridan County history. The newly opened museum features a gift shop, interactive exhibits, dioramas, and Western art which present the local perspective on the history of the American West.
In addition to the amenities listed on this website, our campground also offers the following: