Reno KOA at Boomtown Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jan 16, 2020
The prices have gone WAY up (45.40/night). There are no more winter rates and with no added amenities it's not worth the cost anymore to stay there. It is a shame but we will be finding another place to stay while in Reno.
Jan 07, 2020
Excellent campground with very friendly people checking us in. Site was nice however not very level. But... big issue for us was showers appeared moldy and as such we did not take a shower.
Jan 06, 2020
Very nice park enjoyed the time we were there very good base camp to go different places exploring from.
Jan 05, 2020
Jan 02, 2020
The outside, code-locked bathrooms should be bigger, and cleaner! Arrived late and needed a shower, but they were disgusting!! If you want privacy from your camping neighbors, this IS NOT the place either. We only paid to stay for the showers, and to have to wait for the office to open in the a.m. and walk past people and employees to take said shower, was not what we expected.
Jan 01, 2020
This KOA is not for everyone but it was clean, the staff is pleasant and it is very convenient. An affordable option for visiting the Reno/Tahoe area.
Jan 01, 2020
Awesome
Dec 23, 2019
Lots of problems from the moment of arrival until departure over 10 weeks later. Billing turned out to be a nightmare with being overcharged and having my credit card charges without consent. Terrible wifi, loud neighbors, kids running the grounds, dogs barking, loud vehicles all hours of the day and night, trashy sites with very long term old RV's and old vehicles with no tags, etc.
Dec 21, 2019
This was a typical KOA. Close to the highway, clean, etc. I was a little surprised at the cost...$70+.
Dec 11, 2019
Very helpful staff and a great camp grounds
Dec 08, 2019
Campground was nice and well kept. Backside had a nice view and located just down the hill from Boomtown. Boomtown Casino was eh. Most of the attractions in the family fun center were out of order. There were several games that did not work or just took your money. In the Casino they had a slot machine tournament and it appeared to us that they were only calling the names of local regulars.
Dec 08, 2019
Just an overnight while going through. Nice park, friendly people. We would definitely consider staying again when passing through.
Dec 06, 2019
Always good at KOA Reno. Friendly, helpful staff.
Dec 05, 2019
Very nice park. I'd give it a 5-star if it wasn't so pricy.
Dec 04, 2019
had a reservation. now I know it snow a few days before but the only places plowed were the roads, one path, empty sites were not plowed.They wanted to put us in a site with over a foot of snow,We asked to be moved one row forward where a previous rig had been during the snow storm so it was somewhat cleared.The response from the lady who was TOO busy filing her nails, don't let your tow stick out

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you felt that we were putting your rig into an unplowed site. We would never put you into a site that you were not able to get in and out of. We always inform our guest to unhook if they are more than 55' long with a tow vehicle. Our staff would never be too busy to assist your needs. Sorry for the misunderstanding. Look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Dec 03, 2019
Dec 02, 2019
Enjoyed our quick stay . We will back and spend more time next time
Nov 29, 2019
Nov 26, 2019
This was the trial run for using our new 5th wheel and the staff at the Boomtown KOA went out of their way to make sure it was a success. Looking forward to warmer weather and many more trips there.
Nov 24, 2019
The staff was very friendly. The campsites were all well maintained and clean. We had a small issue with water leaking from the water outlet and they fixed it right away.
Nov 24, 2019
We enjoyed our stay at the campground. So much we stayed an extra day. Thanx for having us! Sandy and Dominic
Nov 23, 2019
It was nice, they put us in wrong spot, they on on their computer 112 but when i came up to extend my stay they said they put us in wrong spot. They had us in site 76. So in order for us to stay we had to move. We wouldnt.
Nov 23, 2019
Nov 20, 2019
Our spot was so uneven took us to get level
Nov 12, 2019
Nov 12, 2019
Nov 10, 2019
Been stopping here for years; thought I’d give it one last chance before I gave up on it. No more winter rates. 84 degrees and the pool is closed. Deferred maintenance throughout the park. Cleanliness problems. Only two after-hours bathrooms. “Security code” is posted for late arrivals (for anyone to see). Equipment and furnishings around and under rigs: all the charm of a homeless encampmen
Nov 09, 2019
This use to be a nice campground, but now all the grass is dead, sites are very close together and mostly paved, very few trees and they don't control the amount of garbage permanent residents keep around their trailers. The "dog park" is very small, it is fenced but nothing but dirt. For the money - it's not worth it. Will not stay again or recommend. Gave a 1 but should be a 0!
Nov 08, 2019
Great experience! Very well maintained.
Nov 08, 2019
Best water pressure of any campground
Nov 07, 2019
Nov 07, 2019
Everything was okay. Even though it was November the landscaping could have been maintained better. The last time we stayed there it was nicer and so was staff. Not bad, but just that "I don't really care" attitude. Being past KOA owners we really look at service. Your guests should always feel that are important to your business.
Nov 05, 2019
Nov 05, 2019
We’ve stayed at this KOA twice, always quiet and clean.
Nov 04, 2019
Nov 04, 2019
Nov 04, 2019
The gals that work in the office are very accommodating and so very nice to all. The lawn areas need a lot of upkeep, they let the lawn die!! Maintenance needs to improve!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We do maintain our lawns. Our maintenance works very hard to ensure all sites are properly maintained. We do our best to inform guests of the damage that can be caused due to running over sprinklers and or parking on the grass. We hope you will visit us again. -KOA Management
Nov 04, 2019
Not very family friendly A lot of the “permanent” resident type trailers.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so sorry you felt as though it wasn't family friendly. I can say that we have families that stay all of the time and have been very happy. We hope that you will visit us again and any feedback is always appreciated. Thank you and enjoy your day. KOA Management
Nov 02, 2019
Ok KOA with beautiful views. Try hitting the "inside" bathrooms before they close the office, the 24hr ones are co-ed and can be a bit spooky.
Nov 01, 2019
I really like this spot. Easy in and easy out. The staff are helpful and friendly.
Nov 01, 2019
The spots are very small when you have a large set up! Bathrooms were not well kept! Dirty! Dirty! Staff was friendly! Easy access of the interstate!
Oct 29, 2019
I became ill while at the KOA. The staff were very accommodating and helped ease my wife's mind.
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 28, 2019
Nice view. Not too much traffic noise. Great neighbors. The lady at check out was very nice.
Oct 28, 2019
This rating never changes....friendly staff, nice sites, close to where you want to be or go.
Oct 28, 2019
I'm not sure what it is about boomtown, maybe that the sunrises over Reno and you're along the river. Or maybe the people that work there are really nice..... I will definitely stay here for the convenience and comfortability. The town Verdi nextdoor has a great little BBQ joint the casino has food and a Cabela's. If you need bigger city, Reno is about 10 minutes.
Oct 28, 2019
Too many full timers who didn’t take care of their sites. Staff was my re interested in closing the office then providing us with information about the camp.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We work very hard at maintaining our sites. Our goal is to provide you with the best customer service and for you to have felt that we were not concerned with your needs is disappointing. We hope that we can do right by you in the future. All the best, KOA Manager
Oct 27, 2019
Nice staff, quite and clean but nothing special.
Oct 27, 2019
Oct 26, 2019
Dec 27, 2019
Clean, well kept, will stay again.
- Sherri Cartwright on Google
Dec 26, 2019
Very convenient having KOA to pull in late.
- Becky Gaddis on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.