Rapid City / Black Hills KOA Reviews

Save 5% when you book online!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Sep 18, 2020
I can’t say enough nice things about this campground! First they adjusted our reservation to check in a day early without issue. Then a big storm was rolling in and they let us sent up our tent at 9:30am instead of making us wait until 1:00 which could have been a disaster. Everyone I spoke to over the phone and in person was so nice!!! It really was a good day at the KOA! Thank you for everythi
Sep 18, 2020
Nice, quiet campground.
Sep 18, 2020
Sep 18, 2020
Good
Sep 18, 2020
Passing through on our way home. Got caught up in Halloween in September. A novel idea. Everyone had fun.
Sep 18, 2020
Sep 17, 2020
Customer service was excellent. Sites are worn out. Sand and gravel roads are extremely unappealing. We paid extra for a premium site that had a patio and flower planter - plants were long dead. Only place that charged $2 my for our dog. I would give a higher rating, but this is overpriced for what they offer.
Sep 17, 2020
Nice park... WiFi absolutely sucks. Worst I have had on my trip. They tell you it’s for only to check emails. Could not even do that. A park on of this caliber should improve their connectivity.
Sep 17, 2020
We enjoyed our stay. The park was clean, quiet at night and a good location for our daily trips out. The registration staff was courteous. My only suggestion would be to have the store stocked a bit more.
Sep 17, 2020
We really appreciated the KOA help in retrieving our lost RV keys! And it was very handy to have a car rental available right there at the KOA office. The facilities were very good, clean bath house and grounds. We loved the few hours we spent downtown Rapid City as well. Thank you!
Sep 17, 2020
Great showers easy in and out had wi fi no internet like so we stayed at close to stores good place to stay
Sep 16, 2020
Everything was wonderful! Very nice place! Thank you... we will be back!
Sep 16, 2020
Nice park. Not much shade. Very tight to get OUT. Very sad that no staff wore mask during this pandemic.
Sep 15, 2020
Good location. Everything went well.
Sep 15, 2020
Convenient to all black hills sites. Campsites are gravel. There is a racetrack nearby that is quite noisy, bring earplugs
Sep 15, 2020
Sep 15, 2020
We arrived 40 minutes early then there 1 pm check in and was told there would be a $10.00 additional charge for early check in. I have a problem with this and it’s principal the spot was empty and we had a 5 night reservation. I could understand the charge if it was one day rental.
Sep 15, 2020
Just for an overnight but everything went so smoothly just like it should
Sep 15, 2020
Sep 14, 2020
Sep 14, 2020
Sep 14, 2020
We do not tow a car and it was very convenient that the koa had a rental car available. Friendly and courteous staff.
Sep 14, 2020
Sep 13, 2020
Campground is nice. Nearby race track was noisey on Friday night.
Sep 13, 2020
Sep 13, 2020
The campground was nice and had all needed services. After exploring the area, we would have stayed someplace else that had better atmosphere and activities close by, such as one of the campgrounds in one of the many parks. Since this was our first trip to SD, we chose a KOA but will do more searches next time. The staff was very friendly and the campground very clean.
Sep 13, 2020
All KOA should require masks for anyone entering an enclosed public space- shocking this is not done in any KOA in South Dakota we stayed at. Also, curbside checkin (no bags) should be performed to limit touches.
Sep 13, 2020
Sep 13, 2020
Our spot was a mud hole and cable tv was unwatchable
Sep 13, 2020
Friendly staff. Great store. Level sites.
Sep 13, 2020
For some reason they out the fire rings right next to the sewage connections. Couldn’t have a fire any night. Other than that it’s a nice campground.
Sep 13, 2020
2nd time I stayed here in the past 8 years (2k mile trip for me). Staff very friendly and entire camoground extremely clean. They have a fantastic pet area ( I have 2 shepherds) and they loved it. Easy on and off the highway far enough away so there are no highway sounds. Best bang for your buck in Rapid City. If you get the chance stay there for 1 night or week!!!
Sep 13, 2020
Sep 13, 2020
It’s perfectly adequate but not as nice as other KOAs. There is a auto racetrack next door. They raced til after 10 which would have been an issue if we’d had kids with us.
Sep 12, 2020
The KOA seemed well maintained and clean but the sites were pretty close together and little shade. The staff was very helpful though, in re-booking my reservation as I booked the wrong day. There was room for us so they found us a sight. We only stayed one day and did not use the facility to its full potential.
Sep 12, 2020
Park was clean and maintained. Laundry facilities were great. Nice and quiet.
Sep 12, 2020
Understand you can't control rain but the sights need some gravel--lots of muddy areas
Sep 12, 2020
Muddiest site I have stayed in so really muddy. clay that would not come off shoes got in truck and camper. Needs to have better gravel or more of it. Really was bad trying to clean up. Don't use after rain or snow.
Sep 12, 2020
I always love staying at your KOA in Rapid City. It's neat, clean, organized, and has the best gift shop of any KOA I've been in!
Sep 12, 2020
Would have rated higher, but they need more gravel in sites and drive. Raining when we got there and all night. Muddy mess! We didn't use facilities so we can't rate them
Sep 12, 2020
Sep 12, 2020
Loved the walking area next to the campground and creek. We had deer visit us at dusk. An added attraction.
Sep 12, 2020
Clean bathroom and showers, my space 40 could use some more gravel to avoid having to walk through the mud after the overnight rain some. Staff was reasonable welcoming, helpful with questions.
Sep 11, 2020
Sep 11, 2020
Convenient
Sep 11, 2020
Great place. Had a delux patio spot. Loved it. Great place to stay. Although it was in town...was close to eveything we wanted to see. Was our 2nd stay here. Will stay again.
Sep 11, 2020
Short but great.
Sep 11, 2020
Lovely host and great location.
Sep 10, 2020
Our site was a deluxe patio site, everything was convenient, the location was great, close to everything. We would definitely stay here again. Staff was wonderful.
Sep 10, 2020
Sep 18, 2020
Great people and a very nice campground.
- Leonard Christman on Google
Sep 13, 2020
Excellent clean and quiet.
- Gordon Mooney on Google
Sep 11, 2020
Great stop for the night.
- Tonya Ernhart on Google