Gunnison KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 31, 2020
Cozy. Friendly
Jul 30, 2020
We love going up to Gunnison and staying a week up there Dave is a great host and does a great job taking care of the place the kids love the animals and there's always something to do up there love it good job Dave
Jul 30, 2020
We really enjoyed all the grass and trees the KOA had and loved the donkeys and goats roaming the property.
Jul 30, 2020
Jul 30, 2020
Wonderful campground! Very clean and loved the animals!! The only reason you aren’t receiving 5 stars is because of the mosquito problem. Our site was next to a small pond and the mosquitos were so bad we couldn’t sit outside. You really need to spray/mitigate, as this isn’t only a nuisance it’s a health concern for your guests.
Jul 30, 2020
Has so much fun. Cabins we stayed in was so neat and clean.
Jul 29, 2020
Nice place. Enjoyed our stay
Jul 29, 2020
Very friendly and clean. Ample room between spaces. Easy access to Gunnison. The goats were a fun amusement.
Jul 29, 2020
Best KOA ever! Great staff, fun animals, and cordial guests. We'll be back!
Jul 29, 2020
Jul 29, 2020
Always a pleasure to stay with you ! Thank you for keeping everything clean and safe for all campers!
Jul 28, 2020
Jul 28, 2020
The owners were extremely welcoming and wonderful to interact with! We are the type of people that don’t really rely on the amenities though, so we were just happy to have the basics. We also looked at the map before we booked and acknowledged that it is right next to an airport. The donkeys and goats were great! The only part that was difficult was the pooling in the tent sites due to heavy rai
Jul 28, 2020
Clean campground - tent spaces were close but not as close as some other KOAs I have been too. This is one of the better KOAs however I felt with the current COVID situation, the bathrooms were too crowded. I don't know how you would enforce a limit, but in the morning there were so many people in the women's restroom I felt very unsafe.
Jul 28, 2020
It is a grass facility. Many potholes filled with rainwater. No picnic table, but several piled up behind our unit; along with a 5 ft spool of heavy cable. Was the most uncomfortable KOA at which we have stayed.
Jul 28, 2020
I'm new to RV camping and this was my first KOA stay. I loved the animals and the staff was very friendly. The nearby open space was a pleasant surprise because I'm a jeep owner, and we got some mountain biking in as well. Gunnison is a fun town and we ate at the Gunnysack twice while there. Can't wait to come back!
Jul 28, 2020
We had no idea the Gunnison KOA was right next to an airport. We enjoyed watching the free ranging goats.
Jul 27, 2020
Beautiful area, loved the grass. Perfect place for dogs. Enjoyed the goats and the donkeys, enjoyed watching the planes land and take off. Very nice stay. Will definitely come back.
Jul 27, 2020
Friendly, courteous staff. Nice, flat, grassy areas for tents. Convenient location away from highway noise. Next to airport so helicopters and aircraft were noisy for brief periods mid-morning. Enjoyed the burros and goats... great for kids. Would like to see the bathroom expanded and updated. I prefer the separate toilet and shower rooms I've used at the Moab KOA. Overall good experience.
Jul 27, 2020
The koa was lovely and overall we enjoyed our stay. Our kids enjoyed visiting the animals on the premise. However the farm animals were allowed to roam Freely which meant we had goats and a pig come through the camp. We weren’t too happy about the goat poop in our campsite. The park could use maintenance and blocked from the goats. Loved the spacious campsites and views!
Jul 27, 2020
We love the Gunnison KOA! The grounds are lovely. We appreciate that the sites are well spaced and there are trees at many. There did seem to be more noise this year fro traffic at the airport but it wouldn’t keep me from staying again. The kids and adults all enjoy the animals and the visits from the goats made us laugh!
Jul 27, 2020
My first stay ever in a Kabin Kottage. It's very cute and comfortable. There were a couple issues; the keurig coffee maker didn't work and there were no 'complementary' k-cups as stated online. The stove top's buttons are catywampas, but when figured out, it cooks well. They really do pack-em-in though! Neighbors in camper just 20 ft away. Still quiet and peaceful. Was difficult to leave.
Jul 27, 2020
Fun campground! Animals everywhere. Love that there is so much grass!
Jul 27, 2020
The campsites were too close together to feel like camping-- it felt more like a hotel. We also didn't know that there would be aircraft early in the morning. It wasn't the cleanest KOA I have stayed at.
Jul 27, 2020
Jul 27, 2020
Need to address the swamp [mosquitos], staff was friendly, easy check in. Could use some rock build up on camper entry ways to eliminate water seepage in the grass.
Jul 27, 2020
Front desk personnel are very knowledgeable and professional, not to mention their great attitudes. The park is very nice with lots of trees, nearby streams and donkeys and goats on-site which is great for the kids
Jul 26, 2020
Stayed in cabin and enjoyed sitting on porch and watching the animals. Office gals were very helpful.
Jul 26, 2020
Comfortable stay with plenty of amenities and clean bathrooms.
Jul 26, 2020
Everyone was very helpful and everything was very clean. There were animals wandering around that the kids loved playing with, shuffleboard and a nice pavilion where you could cook.
Jul 26, 2020
Jul 26, 2020
Jul 25, 2020
I was disappointed that Jennie was penned up after one complaint was written. I am a disabled vet that has severe chronic PTSD and have problems communicating with people. Jennie was in my campground every morning and my service dog took a real liking to her. I don't think that one complaint of someone that couldn't pick up the phone and ask for the poo to be cleaned up justifies being penned up.
Jul 25, 2020
Staff was wonderful. Tent campsite was terrible. Mosquitos were awful, site was wet and muddy, no gravel pad, sites way too close. There really needs to be some improvements for those sites. Ended up leaving and going to Snowblind. Appreciate the shower and staff but won't be back.
Jul 25, 2020
We love the big grassy sights so we can play croquette. Thank you for letting us reserve specific sights. One concern is Covid related Too many people in the bathroom to allow social distancing. Perhaps limit tent camping since that is their only option. Also bathroom cleaning times starting at 11 would allow for campers to hit the road with an empty bladder. Love seeing Norman fed him a bottle.
Jul 25, 2020
Stayed here many times. Friendly and clean.
Jul 25, 2020
What really mad me mad was the 2pm check in. Iam sure it was on the reservation which I missed. When I was told I could park at Wall Mart but I needed to leave the property. Other than this the koa was a nice place to stay. I am planning on returning the end of August for 3 days. I wont check in before 2
Jul 25, 2020
Good value for camping with a tent.
Jul 25, 2020
We had a great time staying our cabin. The location was perfect (other than the few planes that took off).
Jul 24, 2020
Great service!
Jul 24, 2020
Dave and the Gunnison KOA is awesome! Very clean, beautiful grassy sites, and friendliness all around!
Jul 24, 2020
Enjoyed the stay. Cabin was what we expected. Would have gave 5 stars but our only complaint was the mosquitoes where very bad we had off but we could not keep them out of cabin if you even open the door a few where in. Next time I will bring something to spray as soon as we get there. Staff was very nice and professional.
Jul 23, 2020
Wonderful stay. Our kids loved the animals!
Jul 23, 2020
Awful! close to airport and street. Space for tent camping is super tight. the worst camp site I've been in. We left early
Jul 23, 2020
We loved this campground, but it might not be for everyone. The barnyard animals were fantastic, my son loved camping in what was pretty much a petting zoo. Ice was very well priced and the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, it's a little campground with a lot of heart!
Jul 22, 2020
Loved the campground! The no masks was an issue. Though you had signs, campers largely ignored it. The desk crew never mentioned them and no one enforced them though it’s a state-wide mandate.
Jul 21, 2020
Bathrooms not clean. Need to improve laundry. Not desirable to be near tent compound. Cant arrive an hour early....never experienced that a another KOA.
Jul 21, 2020
Lovely campground, spacious RV sites. Enjoyed the daily visit from a resident burro.
Jul 21, 2020
We stayed in an A frame. It was clean and exactly what they described on the inside. Bathrooms were nice, masks required and wipes provided to clean if you wanted. Nice play set and fishing pond. Best thing about this KOA is the animals. My son was hurrying down our hike to get back so he could see them again.
Jul 21, 2020
We had a wonderful time and appreciate your commitment to staying safe and open during this difficult time!