Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Email

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Get Directions

RV Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations, Cabins

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Sep 08, 2017
Multiple times the staff encounter was rude and they seem stressed and bothered by my questions. I also heard them be rude to other kampers too so I realized it wasn't just me. I'll chalk it up to the heat wave and holiday weekend this time since our 1st stay was so pleasant and the complete opposite experience of this last stay.
Sep 06, 2017
I wish they had individual grills and fire pits but other than that it was awesome. People were super friendly and cabin was adorable. Great wine selection!
Aug 19, 2017
We loved it here. Clean and safe campground. Our cabin was right next to the pool which the kids loved. The cabin had everything and it felt like home. My favorite part was the Bob Jones Trail located outside that leads to Avila Beach. We will definitely come back again.
Aug 18, 2017
Great, very helpful and friendly staff, lots of hot water in the showers, very clean and great activities for the kids
Aug 15, 2017
Very good place,nice employees.
Aug 14, 2017
The campground was well maintained and clean. I plan on coming back in the fall.
Aug 14, 2017
Although it was clean enough, it was overly crowded with vehicles and cabins. It actually felt like a RV park. There aren't nearly enough picnic tables. Cabins apparently don't rate one. We were kicked off of a table because it belonged to an RV spot. The thing is, there wasn't an RV there and no RV came that night. The has BBQ is a mess and catches fire. The staff need to smile more.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comment. We certainly will address the issues you mentioned as we are always looking for ways to improve the campground.
Aug 12, 2017
My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at KOA. It was our first time camping so the deluxe cabins were a fantastic way for us to have a taste of camping in a convenient manner. The staff was helpful and the activities were fun. We look to return again with our grandchildren in the future.
Aug 10, 2017
Clean well maintained place, a pleasant surprise in California!
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
Family had a great time. The cabin was comfortable and the pool was awesome! See you next times.
Jul 29, 2017
The cabin was very nice. There are kitchen with cookwares and dishes, shower with lots of towels, nice bed with beddings, etc. The only thing we wish we had was a picnic table. It was not woodsy like real camping, rather it was like RV park. However our kids had good time playing at the strucute. The swimming pool was cold and we did not stay there too long.
Jul 21, 2017
Friendly staff, beautiful flowers and trees everywhere, a great place to stay!
Jul 21, 2017
Had a great time and awesome for kids. Wished the pool hours were earlier like 8 and stayed open later like 10pm. Other than that it's a great place to stay. Glad we are KOA members
Jul 19, 2017
Realy enjoyed our stay loved the movies they showed at night. Plenty of things to do very clean.
Jul 17, 2017
I stayed in a "deluxe" cabin. Deluxe was not a word I would use to describe what I stayed in. I paid $167 per night. It was smaller than a motel room. The pool and hot tub area were not maintained to my expectation. There was lots of debris in both at around noon on Saturday. I would have thought that by that time in the day someone would have already netted out the pool and hot tub.
Jul 16, 2017
This was my first stay at a KOA and was very impressed with all the amenities. Gas fire pits, outdoor games, warm pool, and movie nights. Not to mention wine tasting and bike rentals. We stayed in a one-room cabin which was so cozy.
Jul 16, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. Will definitely come back.
Jul 13, 2017
Great campground, wonderful and helpful staff. Lovely family atmosphere and lots for kids to do within the campground. My 10 year old grandson was torn each day between going out and seeing sights or staying in the camp to play. Over our 4 day stay, we had days of doing both - at his choice.
Jul 11, 2017
Nice updated cabin. Great staff. Pool area nicely maintained.
Jul 08, 2017
Facility is great. Staff not friendly and made me feel dumb. Our first "camping" and KOA experience. Manager Debbie was friendly and take the time to talk to me.
Jun 22, 2017
This is a nice clean park. Fairly tight with limited trees at RV sites. Cabins are excellent and the staff is very helpful. Nice pool and picnic areas.
Jun 20, 2017
We enjoyed our stay, but our cabin was very hot in the afternoon and early evenings. The sun was shining right into the windows heating up the cabin. No a/c. The pool was very nice and activities for the kids were fun. Staff was very friendly.
Jun 18, 2017
Jun 09, 2017
Cabins clean and updates from the last stay were nice! My kids loved the loft and nice that management has put mattresses in the loft, with bedding. I came a day early and management changed my dates and accommodated my request.
Jun 08, 2017
Really enjoyed the activities that were hosted during our stay.
Jun 07, 2017
.
May 22, 2017
It was great, everyone was very nice and helpful
May 19, 2017
Loved the $3 weekend pancake breakfast, the free movie nights, the $1 sundaes, the clean playground/pool and grounds along withthe adorable & clean cabin. I loved that the store/campground had lots of reasonably priced items. The couple who runs the place are a delight. Such a wonderful mother's day weekend. Thank you!
May 18, 2017
Clean friendly wonderful place to stay
May 17, 2017
This KOA is great for family's. We had a cabin close to the pool and community area. I would have liked to have a wood burning fire pit at my site, I did not enjoy the group propane pit. The closeness to the 101 has its good and bad.
May 09, 2017
Clean, cute, and quiet. Great place for families.
May 07, 2017
people in the office were wonderful had a great time
May 07, 2017
Campsite was very clean and the amenities were better than expected. The general store / office was well stocked, especially the wine selection. Stayed in a cabin and it was awesome!
Apr 27, 2017
We stayed in a cabin and the only negative was the TV reception.
Apr 21, 2017
We stayed in a cabin! It was very comfortable. We walked to a farm stand that has fantastic pies, jams, roasted corn. Pool was fun too. Easy 3 mile drive to beach.
Apr 13, 2017
The only reason I am not giving this place a perfect score is because of the road noise. Everything else was perfect! ;-)
Apr 09, 2017
This was a disappointing experience. The check-in staff was curt and the long list of "don'ts" that I had to read and sign at check-in felt quite un-welcoming. My next encounter with staff was someone also telling me about something that I shouldn't do - that I wasn't doing. My inquiry about bike rental was met with a gruff response. The grounds are plain, and cramped. It was OK, not great.
Nov 03, 2016
Check-in was quick. Facilities were clean. Easily accessible from the freeway. It feels like camping in the mountains, but you're near the beach. The Bob Jone's Trail is 3 miles from town and a peaceful walk or bike ride. Loved the tiny house we stayed in. We'll be back.
Oct 07, 2016
I was not informed when I checked in that I had to turn a switch on to have access to hot water. Ice cold showers are incredibly annoying to say the least. Otherwise a nice stay.
Sep 28, 2016
This was my 2nd time visiting this KOA & staying in a cabin. My stay was pleasant & the staff friendly. The Bob Jones hiking trail to Avila Beach was fun; its a nice & easy trail.
Sep 16, 2016
The campground is in a great location, and there are nice people running the show. Plenty of activities for all ages. We will be back.
Sep 12, 2016
Amazing staff. Lots to do !! We need to come again for sure
Aug 21, 2016
Cabin great. Missed bath sink, but we signed on for studio. Should not advertise the phantom farmers market. Doesn't exist per locals.
Aug 18, 2016
Bathrooms could be a little cleaner and need the long mirror back I the bathrooms. Other then that it was a very nice stay. Can you bring back the coffee for members
Aug 16, 2016
It'a a great location, but the camp itself is nothing great. The pool is nice. However, the rest of the camp is largely just taken up by campers. Hardly any open space.
Aug 13, 2016
Staff was very helpful at check in and helping with getting us a different cabin when the one we originally were suppose to have was full of tree sap. They quickly gave us keys to a clean cabin.
Aug 09, 2016
Aug 06, 2016
The campground has been recently updated felt very family oriented and lots of activities for the kids and parents to enjoy. Will definitely be back next summer.
Aug 03, 2016
Camp sites are way too close to eachother...the mattress in the cabin needs to be upgraded
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy