Madison / Pittsburgh S.E. KOA

764 Waltz Mill Road

Ruffs Dale, PA 15679

Reserve: 800-562-4034

Info: 724-722-4444

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 09, 2013
Very nice campground and very friendly staff.
Jul 09, 2013
A slightly better stay. Ran into a difficulty using my VKR points as a discount upons checking in, but it all worked out OK. July 4 karaoke was fun. Unfortunately, men's restroom flooded yet again, making it impossible to use. Staff seems frustrated over this recurring problem. Hope to return when all is fixed.
Jul 09, 2013
Good no problem
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
An OK stay. I probably had the least-favorite cabin (#98) as it had very poor lighting at night and no readily available water source (neighboring cabins did). Also, my cabin had no picnic table upon check-in (they delivered one on the second day), while all others did. Sewage system in men's room was bad. Staff is nice, but often distracted.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
The tent sight I was on needs a new platform. Everything else was fine.
Jul 08, 2013
Toilets and showers were not clean. Bugs crawling everywhere. Site was too low to allow easy dump access. Dusty and pool was closed indefinitely. Plus at $54 it was no bargin.
Jul 07, 2013
We never stayed here. Extended our stay at Virginia Beach KOA which was awesome and drove straight Home
Jul 07, 2013
Worst KOA I've been too, bathrooms not cleaned nor very good to begin with (they clogged ontop of it and were useless for part of the stay no apology etc, pool had issues and was closed for part of the stay, just generally not a good campground let alone a KOA. Can't believe they won a Presidental Award 15 years ago. Wonder who they bribed.
Jul 06, 2013
There was a lot to keep my children occupied with the playground, pool, jumping pillow (their favorite), and lake. However, the bathrooms were often clogged and extremely dirty. The campground also had a sewage smell especially around the lake. The lake was pretty gross and nobody was receiving any bites/catches. There was no grass around any of the sites and it was a muddy mess after the rain
Jul 06, 2013
Jul 05, 2013
Cabin sites are too close together. Neighboring campers had to walk across out site in order to reach their cabin site. A very cramped campground. We left a day early and stayed at a nearby hotel. No more KOA stays for us.
Jul 05, 2013
Jul 05, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Not very clean. Very old and beat up. Pool was gross.
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
Great staff, very nice. The place itself was pretty dirty - the lake filthy, the rental boats unattended for days, bits of trash here and there. The site itself is very nice if not too crowded. Great pool.
Jul 02, 2013
Only stayed 1 night, passing through. Facilities were good, enjoyed the small pool.
Jul 01, 2013
Problem with cable TV but this was not the campgrounds fault
Jul 01, 2013
We had a nice stay and hope to enjoy this and other koas in the future. Love the cabin. This was our first time. The camp itself seemed a little tired and old in spots, but clean, very clean. I appreciated that.
Jul 01, 2013
We love KOAs but this one was a real disappointment. The staff was wonderful, I should point that out right away. BUT the place overall needed to be cleaned desperately! The lake was filthy and had garbage and dozens of filthy water balloons floating in it. The boats were filthy. Bathrooms could use a bleaching and on & on.
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Too much like a trailer park. Too many long term workers. Not a campground feel. Laundry inconvenient. Access to Pittsburgh too lengthy.
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
roads Are Bad, NarroW, And Sites Are Not Well Suited For Larger Rigs. Also Had Neighbors Who Partied Well Past Midnight, And We Had Items Ztolen From Our Site.
Jul 01, 2013
Very family oriented campground. However children were allowed to operate gas powered vehicles on the roads within the campground which I think is unsafe.
Jun 30, 2013
Roads were dirt. No lights around campground. Small pool-not very clean. Not really what we expected of a KOA.
Jun 30, 2013
The restrooms were clean. We did not use the pool or other facilities, it was just an overnight stop.
Jun 30, 2013
Internet service was very poor!!!!!!!
Jun 29, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
Staff was great, helpful. Site was slightly uneven but no problem. All services were fine
Jun 28, 2013
Beautiful setting. Close to highway. Needs a little road work but very nice overall.
Jun 28, 2013
Unlevel site. Sewer connection elevated too high -- up on the site of the hill and was higher than the campsite.
Jun 27, 2013
Great staff, had problems with my Motor Home and needed emergency 911 and firemen to check out a possible gas leak. All clear but the staff and KOA campers were all very helpful and supportive. So happy you were there in our time of need. Steve Di.
Jun 26, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
Ok, internal roads could be improved...level sits. Trash pick up a problem. Great laundry...a little pricey though. Institute a recycling program to help with the trash situation.
Jun 25, 2013
Great cabin
Jun 25, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Employees were very nice and helpful. The shower house could be updated and the laundry needs to have 24 HR access.
Jun 24, 2013
My family stayed over father's day weekend we had family from PA and Ohio. about 45 of us total. Great time was had by all. The cabins were clean and spacious and had air conditioning!!! Definitely would come back. Staff was helpful and friendly.
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Area smelled heavily like sewage. Smell was absolutely disgusting. Bathroom flooded twice in 24 hours with waste water. People were not overly friendly. Owner seemed irritated when brining firewood to my site, and had to wait over an hour to get it. Worst KOA I've ever stayed at.
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
The staff was very frendly and answered my questions on places that we could eat dinner. I was very surprised to see the amount of trash piled up at the dumster.
Jun 22, 2013
The only complaints I have are that the water pressure in the women's bathrooom in the early morning was very low, so made it difficult to get a shower. Also the bathrooms were too far away from the laundry room to get a shower while the wash was running.
Jun 22, 2013
Jun 22, 2013
We really expected this KOA to be better after reading the description in the KOA Directory. Our site needed to have the grass cut. The owner of the Class A RV beside us told us the next morning that a half tank of gas had been siphoned from his RV during the night. This RV Park seems to have more year-round and/or out of state workers staying there.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.