Madison / Pittsburgh S.E. KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-4034

Info: 724-722-4444

Email

764 Waltz Mill Road

Ruffs Dale, PA 15679

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jun 13, 2017
We loved it. staff and other camper from around the states were so kind. bathrooms were clean, lake fully stocked and the kids loved swimming. My family will be returning soon. Great for first time tent campers!!!!!!
Jun 04, 2017
May 29, 2017
Easy to find off interstate, kampstore was very nice, great staff, pool area and play area looked very nice. But the tent sites were less than nice. Tent pad was not clean. Horrible smell in that portion of campground and site was rather small.
May 13, 2017
It took the campground manager an hour to make it to the lodge to check me in. There is raw sewage running through the tent sites into the pond. I have reported this to the Pittsburgh DEP.
Sep 20, 2016
great customer service
Sep 11, 2016
Sep 07, 2016
Only thing we did not like was the horrible smell! We were by the lake at a tent site, and the smell was unbearable at times. We had to eat our meals at the main pavilion, and I bought air fresheners for our tent. Other than the smell, we had a great time! We always do at Madison KOA!
Aug 25, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Tent sites we separated from other campers pretty well. Only complaints I have were poor water drainage of tent pad caused some issues during a storm, and water runoff from other sites ran nearby during the and was a bit dirty. Other than that, the staff was nice and the camp store was well stocked. Thanks again.
Aug 11, 2016
Very quiet and peaceful.
Jul 26, 2016
Very nice campground. Set up early- t hen sent to Pirate game in Pittsburgh. Nice tent site. Quiet. Staff very accommodating. Would gladly stay again.
Jul 25, 2016
All was great - Critique: - Not ready for the mosquitoes in the tent site. (Told there weren't any.) Also, was not made aware, via phone, that the tent sites were not 'primitive' (I had asked) and therefore less expensive. Found this all out once we drove to the KOA and were too tired to drive elsewhere. Positive: The grounds are vast and lovely.
Jul 12, 2016
We tented here over the 4th of July weekend. All we could smell the whole time was sewage. There is a small stream that runs behind the cabins and down by the tents that is filled with sewage sludge. They had several activities planned for the weekend. We went to make tye dye t-shirts... first of all there were not even enough rubber bands for everybody, you would think that they would have been p
Jun 20, 2016
3 families camping in tents. The manager and staff did backward flips to get us together and happy. We fished, swam, ate Pancakes, played bingo and just hung out. Many rvs, but still idyllic! Will go again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank You! I am glad your family could all be together and enjoyed!
Apr 19, 2016
Quiet place with nice sites. Good people.
Sep 21, 2015
The staff was super nice, for an RV I would totally recommend it, however for tent camping, I would not! The "tent sites" are all gravel and very small with no picnic tables.
Aug 18, 2015
Tent camping area was near a putrid creek that had the strong odor of feces. The actual site we were given was not a grassy area as seen in the pictures but a square of dirt covered in rocks..
Jul 22, 2015
Great rates. Tons of things to do! Gladly make it a yearly visit.
Jun 10, 2015
The spots are all rocky. It was wet and muddy by the bathhouse, and it hadn't rained yet. The bathhouse was exceptionally nice, but getting there was difficult for me. The trash being picked up by a large, noisy truck, at 2:30 AM made sleeping difficult.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have many natural springs around the grounds. We are trying to address this one abundant one. Our waste containers are quite a distance of the campsites, we are sorry the garbage truck awoken you.
Sep 15, 2014
The biggest issue was a pervasive septic smell where we were camped beside a small stream at 109.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
Debi the manager was amazing even though the pool was down for maintenance she did whatever she could to make my kids weekend awesome!!! Loved it here and would definatly come back!
Jun 25, 2014
Great time, good fun!
Jun 23, 2014
This was a terrible experience. There was only 1 tent site for us and it was completely rained out. Even if it hadn't been rained out, the site was small and not condusive of tent camping. There was no call to let us know of the rain out so we had to scramble late at night to find a hotel. The kids area was in terrible shape - peeling paint on equipment. Not recommended at ALL!
Jun 09, 2014
We will no longer stay at this park because: 1 - Security cards are no longer being used - anyone can enter. 2 - Our site smelled of sewage. All water was chlorinated - we had to use bottled water. 3 - No activities or events. 4 - Kids kept smoking pot near our tent. 5 - Lots of drinking & loud noise after 10p.
Apr 05, 2014
Sep 02, 2013
Aug 30, 2013
It rained. I was trying to read. They just KEPT grading the road for Four Freaking HOURS! No kidding, I thought I would lose my mind. Plus first few days they were drilling a well. I usually rate high - not this one
Aug 21, 2013
I appreciated the relative privacy of tent sites due to surrounding brush. My only criticism is that the tent site was hard to find, as road not visible from office. Some KOAs escort with golf cart. It required extensive walking to find road/site. Also, gravel road through tent area very steep and a challenge for a street motorcycle loaded with camping gear.
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. Very nice setting.
Aug 16, 2013
the firewood that I purchased at koa store was wet and couldn't be fired at all. Just waist of 6 dollars.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals